View Full Version : Giles, Dunphy, Brady and Billo

10/04/2006, 12:50 PM
Giles, Dunphy, Brady and Billo are seriously getting on now and its time for change.

Who would you replace them with? Would you choose people who know more about the game than just the premiershi* ?

as_i_say
10/04/2006, 12:55 PM
the apres match lads.

10/04/2006, 1:04 PM
....all D4 loike, but I really enjoy listening to Ryle Nugent doing the 6Nations rugby. Plus his "Against the Head" programme is well presented and I'm nearly 100p.c. sure he has commentated if not fronted a soccer programme.

Ryle N. would be my presenter anyway. If we were going to have retired ex-pro's as analysts who would I choose?

Denis Irwin- possibly.
Andy Townsend - maybe, but also would have to lose the "Oirish" personna from ITV.
Quinn - no fcuking way.
Kenny C- Honest pro, maybe potential.
Chris Hughton - Ex player and coach, would know all the current players and Staff! Would be an interesting one.
Aldridge- always outspoken , could be the new Dunphy.

kingcolers
10/04/2006, 1:17 PM
Giles, Dunphy, Brady and Billo are seriously getting on now and its time for change.

says who? still the best around by a long shot. no point replacing them just for the sake of it.

whenever they do get replaced, hopefully it will be with somebody better than ray houghton. a ****e-talking, cliche-spewing windbag.

klein4
10/04/2006, 1:19 PM
cascarino always speaks his mind.....(even if sometimes its a bit empty in there...)

Roadend
10/04/2006, 1:27 PM
Roddy Collins and Pat Dolan with Peter Collins as anchor......;)

10/04/2006, 1:56 PM
Podge and Rodge with Jake Stevens as anchor.

10/04/2006, 3:13 PM
Podge and Rodge with Jake Stevens as anchor.

They'd pull no punches anyway !!

10/04/2006, 4:13 PM
says who?

Me !!

still the best around by a long shot.

hy'eah ..... the best .... any more tall tales for us there like?

no point replacing them just for the sake of it.

Its not 'just for the sake of it', its for 'qualitys sake' .... this is it, we shouldn't and dont have have to put up with their under parr performance, get rid of them.

[QUOTE]whenever they do get replaced, hopefully it will be with somebody better than ray houghton. a ****e-talking, cliche-spewing windbag.

Amen to that !!

el punter
10/04/2006, 5:17 PM
Dunphy et al are the best around...

Hansen and Andy Gray are the only ones that come near them.

10/04/2006, 5:24 PM

Not a chance fella !!

11/04/2006, 8:30 AM
I don't think Brady is as good as th eother 2. Giles has a deep understanding of the game. Dunphy does too even if he courts controversy by talking a lot of rubbish. Bilo plays to straight man role well pretending to be the "ignorant Joe" who knows nothing about football although he does.

I much prefer RTE's coverage to that of BBC or ITV. SKY are technically better but their analysis is more banal.

If they are to be replaced it should be with football people not with people who may be good presenters but not understand the game.

11/04/2006, 8:50 AM
I don't think Brady is as good as th eother 2. Giles has a deep understanding of the game. Dunphy does too even if he courts controversy by talking a lot of rubbish. Bilo plays to straight man role well pretending to be the "ignorant Joe" who knows nothing about football although he does.

I much prefer RTE's coverage to that of BBC or ITV. SKY are technically better but their analysis is more banal.

Agree with all of that except the O'Herlihy bit. I'd much prefer someone in there who gave the viewer a little bit of credit, although I can't think of anyone tbh.

All the British TV pundits are awful. John Toshack on TV3 is better than all of them. Hansen used to be good but start believing his own hype and now just trots out any old rubbish. David Pleat as co-commentator is the only one who provides any sort of insight

11/04/2006, 9:33 AM
Gerry Armstrong is very good also and he was excellent on RTE for teh world cup. I actually thought Brian Kerr did a good job for the last world Cup also. I agree with Gpain though, he has hit the nail on the head with all of them especially Bill O Herlihy. Although I think he loves Roy Keane more than Dunphy does and he does tend to let that take over the discussion too many times.

11/04/2006, 9:37 AM
Yeah Armstrong is great too. Kerr's knowledge is superb but he seemed like he didn't want to be there. Houghton and Trevor Steven are poor for RTE

Real ale Madrid
11/04/2006, 9:41 AM

Andy Gray? :D :D your having a laugh surely!!!!

Andy Gray and Sky Sports - Tabloid Television.

11/04/2006, 9:43 AM
I agree with the poster about Andy Gray. I think that is far too simplistic to brandish Andy Gray with the rest of the Sky coverage. I think he is pretty good and his analysis of the game is top class. However when an English side is in Europe forget about it as he is way too bias.

11/04/2006, 10:03 AM
Dunphys constant putting down of Serie A really ****es me off, you can tell he doesn't watch it. Giles can't remember any names (club or player) outside the English Premiership. At least Liam Brady has a little more understanding of the European ways.

I mean seriously how could those two gimps have started a "European style" coaching system at Rovers when neither of them played outside of the British Isles.

Giles and Dunphy-OUT NOW!!!

Brady...eh, hold on to him. He could come in handy.

My nominations...Pat Dolan and Brian Hamilton.

....and keep Roddy the **** away from RTE.

11/04/2006, 10:12 AM
gay byrne

and pat kenny and ryan tubridy would be pundits

would be great craic

Roadend
11/04/2006, 10:25 AM

Andy Gray is one of the worst pundits around, he turns you off wating matches.

11/04/2006, 10:36 AM
Giles knows nothing about anthing other than the Premiership. He admits he doesn't watch european football dispite being a pundit paid to analyse CL games...

11/04/2006, 10:47 AM
Houghton and Trevor Steven are poor for RTE
If we're looking for Irish people than Steven isn't an option but I believe he is by far the most knowledgable pundit on RTE. He knows most modern day footballers and that is needed as the other's haven't a clue.

Giles is the most overrated pundit out there in my opinion. He not only knows very little about modern day football but I don't even know how he got into management. Wenger said the other day that Arsenal were a lot more conservative when they had the ball in the 2nd leg against Juve and that keeping possession was the most important thing. Giles said he didn't believe him and why would he change his gameplan for the 2nd leg. I think it's a bit obvious that when you're 2-0 up there's no reason to take risks. He also doesn't seem to understand that just because he may not have been affected by confidence or the pyschology of sport as a player, the same doesn't apply to every player out there.

I think Giles was taking over from the sick Dunphy on Wednesday. He also said that he didn't believe Strachan wanted to sign Keane. He said Barcelona are not a good team, they're probably the best team in the CL, bad teams don't win the CL.

Ger Gilroy: "So, John, what do you think of Spurs' knew manager, Jaques Santini?"
John: "Serious, I didn't hear anything about it".
Ger: "Yeah, it was announced today".
John: "Oh, Tottenham seem to be changing everything now. Who's Santini by the way?"

11/04/2006, 11:13 AM
Giles knows nothing about anthing other than the Premiership. He admits he doesn't watch european football dispite being a pundit paid to analyse CL games...
So thats what he does. He doesn't bring (much) baggage with him but comments on what happens during the game.

11/04/2006, 11:59 AM
What I like about Giles is not that he knows the career stats of the players but that he understands and interprets the game very well.

In fairness Andy Gray can do it on Sky but Sky is setup for tabloid banal coverage rather than deep analysis. RTE allow Giles et al to do proper analysis.

11/04/2006, 12:01 PM
Next there will be moans about the type of adverts shown at half time.
Watching Ireland, enjoyment depends 100% on the game.
For any game I am watching I am happy enough with a commentator who efficiently names the player on the ball,describes the referees actions, says f'eck all else, and a co commentator who says little but agrees with me.
Too much emphasis is focussed on what the pundits are on about.
Can you imagine at half time in a game, the pundits taking their place in the centre circle and pontificating about the game to the crowd.
At 1/2 time I have more pressing engagements to fulfill in my home, at full time in the Kerr era coincided with too many post match despair moods to seriously care what the pundits say.
For neutral tv viewing, the 2 man show TG4 live coverage of the EL games is tops.

11/04/2006, 1:06 PM
Giles is the most overrated pundit out there in my opinion. He not only knows very little about modern day football but I don't even know how he got into management.
That's because you know a lot less about Giles the footballer/ manager/'superlative soccer technician' than Giles in your opinion knows about modern day football.

11/04/2006, 5:40 PM
That's because you know a lot less about Giles the footballer/ manager/'superlative soccer technician' than Giles in your opinion knows about modern day football.
I'm not going to let how good he was as a player cloud my views of him as a pundit. He's brutal on RTE and brutal on Newstalk, in my opinion. You'd have to be at least 45 to remember Giles playing football which I'm not so you're right, I know very little of Giles the footballer. Would you like to elaborate on why you disagree with my post other than the fact that Giles was a fantastic footballer and did ok in a management stint 30 years ago?

11/04/2006, 7:25 PM
I'm not going to let how good he was as a player cloud my views of him as a pundit. He's brutal on RTE and brutal on Newstalk, in my opinion. You'd have to be at least 45 to remember Giles playing football which I'm not so you're right, I know very little of Giles the footballer. Would you like to elaborate on why you disagree with my post other than the fact that Giles was a fantastic footballer and did ok in a management stint 30 years ago?
You are entitled to your views about Giles as a pundit.
But you wrote

I don't even know how he (Giles) got into management
I replied that you know little about Giles.... otherwise you would know how he got into management :)
He was nominated as the successor to Don Revie by Revie himself.
So obviously Don and apparently most of the Leeds players as well thought Giles was a natural for management.
You say he did okay as a manager.
He became player coach at West Brom and is well regarded there. Built up a very good team, played passing football and laid the foundations for Atkinson who inherited that good team.
His Irish managerial stint is well documented and the leap in standards for the Irish team is a matter of record not opinion. He frankly admits that he did not enjoy being manager.
I think you are letting your views on Giles as a pundit cloud your views on Giles the football genious and a more than decent manager.

11/04/2006, 7:36 PM
I think you are letting your views on Giles as a pundit cloud your views on Giles the football genious and a more than decent manager.
This thread is not about how good he was as a footballer or manager though. I think he talks some rubbish on RTE which is why I questioned how he got into management. You're right, it is my opinion and I'm probably wrong. :)

11/04/2006, 10:48 PM
You can always regard Giles's punditry as an old war hero receiving his deserved pension.
Was Santini worth knowing about? :)

klein4
12/04/2006, 12:07 PM
he is brilliant on newstalk!!!
some people on here are just footballing versions of trainspotters...:rolleyes:

12/04/2006, 12:16 PM
Andy Gray is one of the worst pundits around, he turns you off wating matches.

in fairness he does that to everyone....its a known fact andy gray turns no one on

Thunderblaster
13/04/2006, 12:33 AM
The ideal trio would be---Denis Cruise as the anchor man and the two analysts would be Noel Kennedy and Pat Quigley. Now, that would be fun!!:D