View Full Version : Exhaustive training

corbyeire
07/04/2006, 11:45 AM
Ive been hearing about this hard training regieme since they started using connaughts facilities and going over to play wycombe that time in the friendly

Is all as bad as has been reported - its been going on a while now - surely its filtered back to lally and co.?!?

It has to be admitted from what ive seen this season they all look sluggish even to say mentally unfit also - not reading the game too well at all - the period before the break and full time in the last 3 games are testament to that

They have had an intense enough few days even with the players rested Monday - hopefully they will have recouperated for athlone and the 3 points required for us to have a season different from the last few

come on gufc:confused:

Patrick Dunne
07/04/2006, 12:32 PM
Fair play to Stephen, Jim Noone, etc. They have tried to prepare professionally for the season ahead (Killary, Wycombe, friendlies, gymwork). Obviously certain elements within the squad would be totally opposed to this.

A look at last nights line up will give you a clue as to what I'm talking about :mad:

gazza2
07/04/2006, 2:12 PM
This week they are training Saturday, Sunday,Tuesday, Thursday and match against Athlone on friday

07/04/2006, 2:16 PM
Pros dont have other full time jobs to juggle as well though. If the players are to train ti has to be 2 or 3 times a week and not 4 times with running everyday !!! it just wont work

07/04/2006, 2:18 PM
This week they are training Saturday, Sunday,Tuesday, Thursday and match against Athlone on friday

Whoever came up with this training regime for part time players would want to be shot!

corbyeire
07/04/2006, 2:19 PM
yea - that is very intense

no wonder theyre wrecked come match day:eek:

07/04/2006, 2:54 PM
tail trying to wag the dog here lads .Gazza is obviously a player and with respect to you Terry everyone knows the players you are talking about.

Read PD's post again to see where the problem really lies.It doesnt take rocket science to work it out.

When they train on saturday and sunday the lads who train on Sunday are those who cant make training on saturday because of work. There was training on wednesday night because over half the squad werent involved on Monday.

Patrick Dunne
07/04/2006, 6:13 PM
Any player claiming to be burnt out at this stage of the season is being disingenous. Other codes train way harder. I'm sure that Breen Geraghty is fitter now than when he was with United, for example.

I would be more inclined to believe that certain individuals have a serious attitude problem.

hynzy
07/04/2006, 7:50 PM
ya i agree with Pa Dunne on that one. with the way people are talkin lately about exhausted players, ya wud swear we were comin to an end of a grueling season. the players were delighted that they were doing such proffesional training and now that some of them arent finding form there blaming everythin but themselves. The last thing we need now is for players to start bitching. Just get on with it and lets start puttin a few results together.

pixiehead
07/04/2006, 7:53 PM
Please name these players?? im lost . This is a forum. What are ye afraid of

Patrick Dunne
07/04/2006, 8:08 PM
If the likes of Alan Matthews, Sean Connor and Dermot Keely would, quite correctly, not tolerate this type of behaviour, why should Stephen Lally ?

Our players are well paid, and well looked after. Our wage bill is three times the size of at least one other First Division club.

07/04/2006, 8:23 PM
with respect to you Terry everyone knows the players you are talking about.

I doubt it as Quirkey and O'Connor dont play for the club anymore !!:D

This was the first time I've ever talked to the lads, and I'm afraid I wont be naming them pixiehead as I dont want some sort of hate campaign against them, sorry

bomber82290
08/04/2006, 5:10 AM
hows our rafael doing for ye.Big steal we could do with him back.Any chance