View Full Version : Cars

Pages : 1 [2]

06/04/2006, 11:50 AM
two great reasons to buy a car......

Why else would u buy a Rover?????:D

Wiseguy
06/04/2006, 11:52 AM
I Drive an Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE 130 BHP and i love it.55mpg and cruises at 100mph.The advice i would give anyone is if you can to buy your car in England.I bought mine for €16,600 and that covered the VRT which was €5k.The dealer also fully serviced the car and delivered it to Holyhead port for me.Myself and my friend who is a mechanic got on the boat and went over to collect it.We checked everything out and paid for it by cheque.I then had brought to an Audi dealer and had everything fully checked out the next day and if their was a problem i could cancel the cheque.After everything i saved over €6k.I will never buy a car in this country again as we are being feckin robbed.

anto1208
06/04/2006, 12:16 PM
I Drive an Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE 130 BHP and i love it.55mpg and cruises at 100mph.The advice i would give anyone is if you can to buy your car in England.I bought mine for €16,600 and that covered the VRT which was €5k.The dealer also fully serviced the car and delivered it to Holyhead port for me.Myself and my friend who is a mechanic got on the boat and went over to collect it.We checked everything out and paid for it by cheque.I then had brought to an Audi dealer and had everything fully checked out the next day and if their was a problem i could cancel the cheque.After everything i saved over €6k.I will never buy a car in this country again as we are being feckin robbed.

what happens if it breaks down after a month you either haev no warrenty or have to ship it back to england . good idea though a few garages will ship them in service them and pay the vrt then sell them . they still come out cheaper than over here .and the cars haev been taken care of normally are fully specd aswell .

my 406 came from england had 70,000 moterway miles all electric full leather heated seats ced changer everything you could think of , and it 6 grand cheaper than a basic model here with no leather etc

Wiseguy
06/04/2006, 1:21 PM
what happens if it breaks down after a month you either haev no warrenty or have to ship it back to england . good idea though a few garages will ship them in service them and pay the vrt then sell them . they still come out cheaper than over here .and the cars haev been taken care of normally are fully specd aswell .

my 406 came from england had 70,000 moterway miles all electric full leather heated seats ced changer everything you could think of , and it 6 grand cheaper than a basic model here with no leather etc

Any car you buy can break down it dosen't matter where it is from.You have to take a chance and get it well checked out before you pay for it.The car i bought had it's full service history with it plus receipts for all work that was carried out on it.It was a top of the range model,was very well looked after with all works done by an Audi dealer & it also only had 56k motorway miles so the sh1te isn't shook out of it from driving on pot hole riddled roads.You just need to shop around and make sure the car has all the proper paper work i.e service history ect.Any car you buy you will save thousands so it has to worth looking into.

Eire06
06/04/2006, 1:45 PM
Ya i'm still in love with the mini's they are very over priced for what you get though €25,000 new..
Anyone have a Jeep?
What are they like, wouldn't mind one of the cute blue ones I see about!

Drumcondra Red
06/04/2006, 2:14 PM
Ha! Cute blue ones, a Jimny??? By the way, be very careful with imported cars from the UK, 8/10 of them have been clocked and may end up costing you a hell of a lot more...

06/04/2006, 2:16 PM
Anyone have a Jeep?
What are they like, wouldn't mind one of the cute blue ones I see about!

I am sorry but this is the attitude that really gets me, in ireland, dublin particularly and galway even, there are NO NEED for big 4 x 4s, they guzzle fuel as quickly as an alcoholic guzzles beer in the happy hour. Jeeps were built for being able to be driven by farmers/agri workers to go from one terrain to another, being employed for every day use, but now they are a choice of the middle classes, and for no need at all. THey cause serious pollution and should be avoided at all costs unless really required par exemple for your day job. I hate seeing these yokes round london with some numpty with a hat or some bird with designer labeled shades being the only occupants in them....waht a waste. cosmopolitan my bollicks.

06/04/2006, 2:25 PM
I thought a Jeep might have been ideal for Irish roads.:D Look. (http://mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/penninebranch/Irish_roads.jpg)

Eire06
06/04/2006, 2:38 PM
there are NO NEED for big 4 x 4s
Its the little one I like :rolleyes:
And they are soooo cute and you never know might want to do some off road driving ;)
And I love my Prada shades BTW

Wiseguy
06/04/2006, 2:41 PM
By the way, be very careful with imported cars from the UK, 8/10 of them have been clocked and may end up costing you a hell of a lot more...

Doing the right checks on the history of the car will sort these problems.Cars are also clocked in this country so it's not unique to the UK.A lot of people have a preconception that all cars are clocked in the UK or something else is wrong with them.What i did was locate the car i wanted,rang the dealer who was selling it.He sent me pics by e-mail and faxed over a copy of the service history.I struck a deal with him that i would get a long warranty with the car and arranged to have it delivered to Holyhead port.I met him at Holyhead port, drove the ring out of it and had the car checked over by my mechanic then told the dealer that i didn't want the warranty to he knocked £250 off the price.If you do it right you will get a great car at 60-70% of the cost here.

06/04/2006, 2:47 PM
Its the little one I like

ya i didnt mean you in general, sorry about that.

theres plenty of room in any standard 5 door car for off the road riding ( as the americans like to call it ) , trust me ;)

06/04/2006, 2:47 PM
Its the little one I like :rolleyes:

Are you talking about this little fella (http://www.neoriotravel.gr/suzuki_samurai.jpg) or girlie if you like? Good on petrol, not too pricey, but they have rollover issues. Not the safest thing in the world.

06/04/2006, 2:54 PM
Minis very common in NI & UK. Must say I like the look although bit girlie...

Hyundai Coupe - downside is too many women driving these...
Toyota Celica
Audi TT

Any opinions?

Eire06
06/04/2006, 3:03 PM
ya i didnt mean you in general, sorry about that.

theres plenty of room in any standard 5 door car for off the road riding ( as the americans like to call it ) , trust me ;)
Was only a wind up about the Jeep!
Was waiting to see if anyone would jump in complaining bout it!!
Do really like them but wouldn't get one for environmental reasons

Minis very common in NI & UK. Must say I like the look although bit girlie...
Sorry to any lads driving mini's I think it looks funny fellas driving them bar the old ones or the black ones with the racing grid pattern on the side of them

Love the Audi TT, they are just class:cool:

06/04/2006, 3:09 PM
Hyundai Coupe - downside is too many women driving these...
Toyota Celica
Audi TT
Any opinions?

I don't know why I didn't recommend the celica, as that is my wifes car:o. She loves it. It's a 2000 model, auto, with a 1.8 ltr. Great on fuel and has a nice look to it and it drives nice. Here. (http://www.theautochannel.com/vehicles/new/showroom/2000/0508/side4.jpg)

Drumcondra Red
06/04/2006, 3:13 PM
Doing the right checks on the history of the car will sort these problems.Cars are also clocked in this country so it's not unique to the UK.A lot of people have a preconception that all cars are clocked in the UK or something else is wrong with them.What i did was locate the car i wanted,rang the dealer who was selling it.He sent me pics by e-mail and faxed over a copy of the service history.I struck a deal with him that i would get a long warranty with the car and arranged to have it delivered to Holyhead port.I met him at Holyhead port, drove the ring out of it and had the car checked over by my mechanic then told the dealer that i didn't want the warranty to he knocked £250 off the price.If you do it right you will get a great car at 60-70% of the cost here.

Don't get personal, I'm only stating facts!!!

anto1208
06/04/2006, 3:18 PM
a cow gives out more harmfully green house gasses than a land rover .
i get better mpg out of my jeep than i do my car .
they are safer , if i get hit i dont die , this rubbish about rolling them only applies to people who drive them too fast driving under 60 mph they are perfectly safe .plus i know a guy who rolled 2 and didnt even get a scratch so if they do roll your more likly to survive .
the wheels dont have to be replaced every time i hit a pothole .
they are way cheaper to keep as they dont fall apart from being ratled to peices on irish roads like my old car did .

anyway if they guzzle gas fair play if every one drove one then all the oil would be wasted up in 10 years meaning people would be forced to turn to more cleaner energies ,

but most of all all the evil oil companies would be out of business no oil = no oil comps

every one ruch out and get a hummer ( with the foot down it does 1 mile to the gallon !!!!!):D

06/04/2006, 4:14 PM
The Audi TT is a beautiful car, but it's no thriller. Like the MX5 - another lovely car - it's really a bit of a hairdresser's car when you get right down to it -- all show and no go. (Handling is another matter, but what's the point in handling if you haven't got serious umph to play with?) Which isn't to say it won't feature in my sheik-beating collection someday. The new TT will be unveiled in the next couple of hours on audi.com/TT (http://www.audi.com/TT) btw; and it will be a thriller, by all accounts.

Anto, I realise some of your comments were probably somewhat tongue in cheek, but it doesn't stop them being rubbish. If your jeep does get better mpg than your car, it's because they're not evenly matched -- your car is old, or thirsty, or your jeep is underpowered. And they are safer for you, but every new jeep on the road raises the risk for everyone else. And try capital letters at the start of your sentences if you'd like to look like a literate adult.

anto1208
06/04/2006, 6:57 PM
Anto, I realise some of your comments were probably somewhat tongue in cheek, but it doesn't stop them being rubbish. If your jeep does get better mpg than your car, it's because they're not evenly matched -- your car is old, or thirsty, or your jeep is underpowered. And they are safer for you, but every new jeep on the road raises the risk for everyone else. And try capital letters at the start of your sentences if you'd like to look like a literate adult.

Rubbish hardly everything i said is correct
my car a 2001 406 coupe and gives 30 mpg my pajero gives 33 mpg .
If i hit a pot hole the wheels dont buckle due to the amount of rubber .
My last car needed 3,500 euro worth of repairs to axles bushels etc after 1 year of driving around irish country roads , ive had my pajero for 4 years and ive had to change the oil and belts thats all and ive driven that on roads across fields and on building sites .

The sooner the oil is wasted the sooner we will have to rely on other cleaner energy's.

Show me some proof that jeeps are more dangerous on the roads your allways telling people to back up there statements . if i hit another jeep the people inside are much more likely to survive than if 2 cars crash due to the protection offered from the sheer build quality of a jeep .if everyone had jeeps there would be a lot less road deaths .if you hit a person walking at 35 mph in a car they have a 80% chance of being killed (thats from the road safety ads being run on tv )these odds dont increase if its a jeep or van also surely if some one steps out in front of a car or jeep its there fault not the vehicle .

Im talking jeeps here not SUV's (before its pointed out i know jeep is a brand name not a type of car )

06/04/2006, 7:44 PM
When an SUV hits a pedestrain it will definitely do more damage. Jeeps were meant for farmers & builders not lawyers & PR people. Its a steroetype that seems to be true but SUV drivers are more arrogant than your average irish driver. Sometimes the truth hurts but its like when you tell people their MPV is a van they somehow get offended ;)

Hyundai Coupe & Toyota Celica looks very similar.

06/04/2006, 9:21 PM
Rubbish hardly everything i said is correctAn excellent start Anto, well done.

my car a 2001 406 coupe and gives 30 mpg my pajero gives 33 mpgWhich proves nothing. What size engines do these motors have? How old is the Pajero? Are they driven on the same roads, in the same style? What's in the boot of each motor? Etc, etc, etc.

I drive a 13 year old 525i BMW and my girlfriend drives a 5 year old 1 litre Polo. I'd have no trouble whatsoever getting better economy out of the former if I put my mind to it (particularly the way my girlfriend drives).

Show me some proof that jeeps are more dangerous on the roads your allways telling people to back up there statements .You're the one making statements without proof Anto, I'm simply highlighting them as rubbish. If you'd like my proof, post your evidence and I'll rebut it.

if i hit another jeep the people inside are much more likely to survive than if 2 cars crash due to the protection offered from the sheer build quality of a jeep .if everyone had jeeps there would be a lot less road deaths:rolleyes:

Im talking jeeps here not SUV's (before its pointed out i know jeep is a brand name not a type of car )"Jeep" is an Irish colloquialism for an off-road vehicle (Jeep vehicles only became available in Ireland in the last decade). "SUV" is the term Americans use to describe the same thing. So you're talking both. And something else... ;)

anto1208
06/04/2006, 10:31 PM
I lefty out a coma it should have read rubbish hardly , ......

it proves that i get better fuel consuption on average out of my out of my 2 tonnes 2.5 litre jeep rather than my 1 tonne 2 litre car . Which is my point .(Average driving on the same road to work in about the same level of trafic split 50 50 between city and county driving .)

why they are safer
1 4 wheel drive gives greater traction on roads in dodgy conditions ie ice rain oil etc than either a front wheel or rear wheel drive which over and under steer thus making them more likley to skid off the road .

2 Higher seating . In the event of a side on collision from a car the majority of the force hits below the waist line of the pasenger reducing the risk to internal organs .

3 . Higher veiwing position :enabling the driver to react sooner to crossing pedestrians or hazards ahead.

4 . Manufacturers have added car-level bumpers to reduce the possibility of the other vehicle(s) sliding underneath .

5. If hit from behind the weight and grip offered from the increased tyre width on the road reduces the amount the jeep will jump foward reducing the risk of a broken neck or whiplash .

06/04/2006, 11:17 PM
[It should be noted that I don't object to SUVs across the board. Some - the X5, RX and RR in particular (albeit only in black) - are lovely-looking vehicles and seriously tempting; one in particular (duh) is even a bloody good off-roader. Much as I'd like to though, I wouldn't buy one unless I needed a vehicle that would spend the majority of it's time off-road, or in situations where an off-roader would be needed. Because otherwise I'd be just another a gaz-guzzling, self-important, greedy, careless assh*le. I'm already pushing my luck with the beamer.]

Anto, I'm not arguing that the SUV is safer for the passenger - in fact I explicitly conceded this point in my OP - so drop the deflection please. If you wish to debate a point, tackle the one I actually addressed: the issue of safety for everyone else, in the majority of vehicles on the road.

Frankly, if you're getting better fuel economy out of your SUV than your coupé, there's something wrong with your SUV, your coupé, or both. SUV's are less economical than regular passenger vehicles for very simple, very logical reasons: they're bigger, they're heavier, and they've got bigger engines. It's not up for debate, it's physics.

However there's zero doubt in my mind that you'll try to argue against nature, so here's my proof: US EPA economy listings for every major model in the States, including many European models. Pick a few and look at the economy figures. They're worse for SUV's. Go figure.

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/findacar.htm

Your comment about depleting all of the natural resources is hilarious. I'm sure your grandchildren will be rolling in the aisles. Short of breath, you know?

Metrostars
06/04/2006, 11:50 PM
Mine: http://fp.images.autos.msn.com/merismus/gallery/c447353a.jpg
2005 Toyota Highlander... yes an SUV. Wasnt crazy about purchasing an SUV but with the harsh Winters we get in the US Northeast, they are a must. I love it, sticks to the road like glue in snowy/icy conditions.

What the wife drives(kidmobile aka Chrysler Grand Voyager) : http://www.cardata.com/images/2006/chrysler_town%20&%20country.jpg

07/04/2006, 7:11 AM
8/10 of them have been clocked and may end up costing you a hell of a lot more...
8 out of 10 me hole. If it's that high in the UK, I'd put it higher over here.

My next car will be imported from the UK, as again saving 60-70%. I have a few trusted mechanics that I'll put on the case. I ain't willing to pay dealer prices over here.

Drumcondra Red
07/04/2006, 8:22 AM
8 out of 10 me hole. If it's that high in the UK, I'd put it higher over here.

My next car will be imported from the UK, as again saving 60-70%. I have a few trusted mechanics that I'll put on the case. I ain't willing to pay dealer prices over here.

Well your hole obviously didn't get what I said, 8/10 of imported cars from the UK are likely to be clocked FACT! There is a number you can ring in the Uk to find out if a car has been in an accident and what its actual milage is, this is not available here yet.

During the NCT is when its noticed that cars are clocked but legally they don't have to say anything so they don't, mechanics aren't always able to spot clocking.

Oh and its the VRT your not willing to pay, but you've to pay that when its imported anyway, and if your not willing to pay dealers prices you're obviously a shyte negotiator, not going to say any more then that, get your facts straight before you attack my profession!

07/04/2006, 8:28 AM
I'm thinking of getting a new car, I want a small sporty type of one! :cool:
Have my eye on a red Mini Cooper (http://www.mini.ie/ie/en/mini_cooper/index.jsp) with the white top!! But there seems to be a lot of them about at the moment!

I'm totally clueless about cars really, and not ashamed to admit the colour and look of a car would be first things I'd go for in one...

Any ideas for me?
what cars do you drive at the moment and what would be your dream car?

Do they come in Maroon or Claret? :D

07/04/2006, 8:33 AM
So only UK imports are clocked, as Irish dealers would never partake in such practices? It's you who's attacking your profession - you're the one making the accusation that imports are clocked, not anyone else or does that not include dealers that sell imports? Do you want to back up your 8/10 figure with statistics?

Even including vrt, there are big savings to be made by importing. At the very least, higher specs/bigger engines for the same money (including VRT) as the second hand market over here.

07/04/2006, 8:46 AM
So only UK imports are clocked, as Irish dealers would never partake in such practices? It's you who's attacking your profession - you're the one making the accusation that imports are clocked, not anyone else or does that not include dealers that sell imports? Do you want to back up your 8/10 figure with statistics?

Even including vrt, there are big savings to be made by importing. At the very least, higher specs/bigger engines for the same money (including VRT) as the second hand market over here.

have to agree with macy, if you are willing to put in the work there are great savings to be made, our next car will be imported also from the UK.

Wiseguy
07/04/2006, 9:12 AM
Well your hole obviously didn't get what I said, 8/10 of imported cars from the UK are likely to be clocked FACT! There is a number you can ring in the Uk to find out if a car has been in an accident and what its actual milage is, this is not available here yet.

During the NCT is when its noticed that cars are clocked but legally they don't have to say anything so they don't, mechanics aren't always able to spot clocking.

Oh and its the VRT your not willing to pay, but you've to pay that when its imported anyway, and if your not willing to pay dealers prices you're obviously a shyte negotiator, not going to say any more then that, get your facts straight before you attack my profession!

And what proof do you have that 80% of the cars in the UK are likely to be clocked.If this is the case which i severely doubt you should obviously ring that number before you purchase the car.Here is a fact for you,Cars get clocked in this country aswell.Cars are also involved in crashes in this country.It is much easier to follow up the history of a car in the UK than it is here.

I paid €16,600 for my 02 Audi which included the VRT.The same car here is selling for anything between €22k to €24k.You can be the best negotiator in the world but I don't know of any dealer who will knock €6k off the price of a car.It's you who should get your facts straight.

07/04/2006, 9:15 AM
Saying "FACT" does not actually make it a fact Drumcondra Red. If it's a "fact", where's the evidence? Sounds like a figure trotted out by an Oirish Del Boy to me, and parrotted by others until someone quotes it on a message board as FACT. In capital letters, cos it's extra true. :)

07/04/2006, 9:18 AM
Sounds like a figure trotted out by an Oirish Del Boy to me...
Oirish Arthur Daley, surely? :D

anto1208
07/04/2006, 9:45 AM
dahamsta my point was they are safer for the passengers thats the one im argueing ,as for other road users i find it amuzing some one driving a huge old 5 series bmw is arguing about road safety , do you really think if that moster hit a kid crossing the road that the kid would have a better of a chance of surviving than if he got hit by a jeep .I find it more amuzing that we are arguing over which car is SAFER to get knocked down by .(allthough 3 out of the 5 points i mentioned do affect other road users safety)

But as you admit they are safer for the passengers so then it makes perfect sence to asume that if everyone was inside a jeep they would all be safer as the majority of deaths are due to vehicle collisions not knocking people down .

on the mpg I said my jeep gives better mpg than MY car i didnt say all suvs will give you better mpg ,if you wish to debate a point tackle the one i actually address .;)

1 other small point my japaneese jeep has a turbo which when you put the boot down recycles the exhaust to give more power rather than the car which increases the amount of petrol pumped to the engine to give the required power , thus reducing the mpg in the car and increasing the mpg in the jeep . both are in perfect condition and are highly tuned to give the best possible performance .

ill ingore the nonsence about the grandkids because your talkign bull , if the earth had 50 years with out any greenhouse gasses being pumped out it would be a much cleaner healthier place to live ,

07/04/2006, 9:59 AM
dahamsta my point was they are safer for the passengers thats the one im argueingAgainst yourself. Hello?

do you really think if that moster hit a kid crossing the road that the kid would have a better of a chance of surviving than if he got hit by a jeepI don't think, I know; because I've seen images of both SUVs and regular passenger vehicles hitting crash test dummies, and the SUV creates a higher chance of death or serious injury because of the way it's designed. If they have trendy bull bars, it's higher again.

But as you admit they are safer for the passengers so then it makes perfect sence to asume that if everyone was inside a jeepYou're seriously arguing that we should all be driving SUVs? No, seriously?

on the mpg I said my jeep gives better mpg than MY car i didnt say all suvs will give you better mpg ,if you wish to debate a point tackle the one i actually address .Everyone here is intelligent enough to know that you were using your own example as a silly proof of a larger argument, trying to cover up the silliness now is just... silly.

1 other small point my japaneese jeep has a turbo which when you put the boot down recycles the exhaust to give more power rather than the car which increases the amount of petrol pumped to the engine to give the required power , thus reducing the mpg in the car and increasing the mpg in the jeep .Please tell me you're not trying to argue that a turbo increases economy. If not, what are you trying to tell me?

ill ingore the nonsence about the grandkids because your talkign bullYou should be in the Dail. No, really.

anto1208
07/04/2006, 10:50 AM
Again great responce dont try to argue your point or prove any points wrong make silly childish remarks instead :rolleyes:

of course a turbo increases economy thats the point of them , if you had to deliver the same power using just the normal petrol /air mix you would burn twice as much as a car that uses the allready burnt exhaust to deliver the power .
twice the petrol = twice the cost .its like im talking to a woman here

im not saying we should all drive suv's my point is if everyone in a crash situation was in a suv and not say a micra the number of fatalities would drop dramaticly stop being a smart arse .

i made a point about my own cars as they are the only ones i can safely say ive tested ,but again great responce .

also before you have a go at people driving large cars that guzzle gas !! have a look at your 5 series BMW !!!!! FFS

07/04/2006, 11:08 AM
lads just pull down yer pants and let magicme deicide who has the bigger one.....

anto1208
07/04/2006, 11:15 AM
lads just pull down yer pants and let magicme deicide who has the bigger one.....

i give up i need my jeep for driving through fields and across building sites !! a car wouldnt be able to manage that , plus im not going to listen to someone who chooses to drive a massive 13 year old BMW 5 series when all his driving is done on roads he could easily drive a hybrid or even a little 1 litre if he was that concerned about global warming and road safety .

07/04/2006, 12:00 PM
Anto, I'm sorry, but you're talking out your hat.

The sole point of a turbo is to increase power. Nothing is recycled, the gases from the exhaust are simply used to spin a turbine, which compresses the air going into the combustion chamber. This results in more fuel being burned in the mix, which leads directly to worse fuel economy. You can read about turbos here:

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/turbo.htm

Also, no-one said you didn't need your SUV. If you really believe that, you need to re-read the thread. What you're doing there is called deflection; I've already asked you to stop doing that, because it's a waste of time.

And finally, I've already admitted a certain liability in driving a 5 series, so you don't need to highlight it. I try to make up for my naughtiness in other ways, like recycling. I'm a car nut, we all have our faults. However I'm not arguing that performance saloons are more fuel efficient or better than regular passenger cars. Because that would be silly.

07/04/2006, 2:51 PM
The best and most efficient turbo I've seen in years....:D

07/04/2006, 3:38 PM
quality :D

Drumcondra Red
07/04/2006, 4:33 PM
Ok, lets look at this again, if its imported from a UK dealer, directly, fine, it should be ok, most UK imports are clocked, why? They can't be sold in the UK and can come here easily and not be fully checked over, that is fact!

I never said Irish cars aren't clocked, there are many dodgy traders out there, small back road ones that should be avoided but to say that dealerships are doing it? Bollo.x, its not worth it!

I originally brought this up to let you know what your getting into, and I hope you import a good decent car, but to try to make me look like a liar because you don't agree with me??? I'm not looking for your business, I don't need it, just offering advice thats all...

Anyway Eire06 any help wanted or you need a car sourced pm me