View Full Version : A Big Thank You

hoopy
02/04/2006, 10:42 AM
Well done to Kildare fc last night. Firstly it was great to get to the ground soaking wet (after an aborted attempt to go into a certain bar in Newbridge who had 3 bouncers on the door at 6oc!) to discover the bar was closed(of course this had absolutely nothing to do with the fact it was Rovers in town), then only certain individuals were allowed into the 'stand' when people tried to get in out've the rain, and to cap it all we had to listen to the biggest fool that ever lived over the loudspeaker. Could anyone actually make out the teams he was calling out? Did he actually read the teamsheets before crediting goals to the wrong people? All I can say is that from now on I'll get up every day thanking God I'm not from Kildare. Memo to Kildare 'people', please take a trip to you're next away game to Finn Harps to discover how to treat people with respect and courtesy

02/04/2006, 10:55 AM
Closing the bar is a bit stupid....they would have made a killing?:confused:
Ara ye'll have no problems like that Hoopy when yee come west to Terryland.;)

02/04/2006, 11:37 AM
No.
At the top of the present clubhouse is a sort of tea and sandwhich room....for executives,guests,players etc.
Closest bars are town.

daithi
02/04/2006, 12:27 PM
maybe ye have a little bit of a bad reputation! Just an idea.... :rolleyes:

Patrick Dunne
02/04/2006, 12:34 PM
All proceeds from the bar go to Newbridge Town FC, who own the ground.

I presume that Newbridge was pillaged, the locals massacred and the town razed to the ground by marauding Rovers hordes :rolleyes:

manic da hoop
02/04/2006, 3:43 PM
No doubt they were tipped off by their counter-parts in Longford:rolleyes:

As for our reputation: yes, the club that will bring the largest away following ever to visit Station Road, and we'll be back to spend our cash in August. So, who knows maybe looking after your customers just, ya know, might be a good way of doing business. Unless, of course, KCFC wish to continue to eek out an existance in the lower reaches of Divsion One for the remainder of their existance. Just a thought!

That said, they probarbly did pay too much attention for their own good to some hysterical ramblings from someone from Flancare Park about the rape and pilliage of their towns folk the last time the notorious Rovers came to town. Hopefully, they'll learn from their experience last night as 600 Rovers supporters pay them a visit, sang their hearts out, mingled with the locals in the clubhouse and, ye know, generally behaved themselves immpecably and had a good time watching a football game.

02/04/2006, 4:08 PM
and to cap it all we had to listen to the biggest fool that ever lived over the loudspeaker. Could anyone actually make out the teams he was calling out? Did he actually read the teamsheets before crediting goals to the wrong people?

welcome to the 1st Division!!:D

ye should be glad, ye won 3-0!

Philly
02/04/2006, 4:25 PM
Just a few points:

-The stand was open to both KCFC and Rovers fans on a first come - first served basis. The stand is limited to 300 people, and the club did let in as many as they could.

-The bar is the property of Newbridge Town FC, not Kildare County FC. We do not have any control over the bar and don't make a cent out of it.

-The stewarts present got on grand with the Rovers fans

-Getting into the Main Building was limited to those with slips because of the size of the crowd. Once again, Rover's fans were not singled out there.

-There was, for your information, damage done in the ground by Rover's fans.
You don't see County fans going online going mad about that.

-The stewarding / organisation in Station Road might have shocked you because it was done properly, but you should consider the facts before moaning.

02/04/2006, 4:34 PM
FAO manic de hoop and hoopy ... lads, have you emailed the clubs, Kildare and Newbridge ... they'll have to know about this first if you want them to change it, just an idea like.

Roverstillidie
02/04/2006, 4:55 PM
Just a few points:

-The stand was open to both KCFC and Rovers fans on a first come - first served basis. The stand is limited to 300 people, and the club did let in as many as they could.

-The bar is the property of Newbridge Town FC, not Kildare County FC. We do not have any control over the bar and don't make a cent out of it.

-The stewarts present got on grand with the Rovers fans

-Getting into the Main Building was limited to those with slips because of the size of the crowd. Once again, Rover's fans were not singled out there.

-There was, for your information, damage done in the ground by Rover's fans.
You don't see County fans going online going mad about that.

-The stewarding / organisation in Station Road might have shocked you because it was done properly, but you should consider the facts before moaning.

I dont think this deserves a thread, but some of those points deserve comment. There were no problems, and we all got on fine. Bonkers that than needs to even be mentioned.

We were told by stewards that Rovers fans were not being allowed into the stand regardless of slips. This is fine if you are going to segregate the rest of the ground, but when you show up that bit early to try to get a seat out of the rain.... First come first seerved my árse.

We were told by numerous people in town and at the ground that the bar was shut because of Garda orders.

If you think that stewarding was a shining example, you really are small time.

What was the damage done? Apart from to your back four?

sniffa
02/04/2006, 6:01 PM
As far as I know the gardai requested that the bar remained closed. As bad as the Rovers fans felt I can assure you that the County fans were equally disappointed.
Dont know anything about Rovers fans not being allowed in the stand as it was mostly Rovers in there. This is a pic from KCFCs website and i can see loads of rovers fans on the righthand side.:rolleyes:
This was a learning curve for the club and im sure lessons were learnt.
At the end of the day safety to all spectators was paramount.

BohsFans
02/04/2006, 8:35 PM
What's in the rest of the ground?

Hill? Terrace? Nothing?

02/04/2006, 8:50 PM
Nothing......a small 300 seater stand.
The rest is just a fence around the pitch pretty much.A nice ground but Kildare would struggle big time with away supports if they got promoted.

03/04/2006, 9:11 AM
Just to warn you Rovers fans that the bar in Monaghan will be closed when you play us Friday week. Nothing to do with us tho....stupid Government rules of no pubs on Good Friday.

03/04/2006, 10:42 AM
Just to warn you Rovers fans that the bar in Monaghan will be closed when you play us Friday week. Nothing to do with us tho....stupid Government rules of no pubs on Good Friday.

Now this sums up the small time approach of first division clubs we have played so far. To sum up:

Athlone needlessly changing their game from a saturday night to Paddy's eve therefore guaranteeing a lesser gate:rolleyes:

Saturday night in Newbridge. No blame in my book goes to KCFC but whoever is in charge of the bar lost out big time.

Monaghan not changing their game to saturday night is the worst example. So they play the game on good friday where the bar will be closed. Beggars belief really and you say it has nothing to do with you?:rolleyes:

HOW ABOUT CHANGING THE DATE OF THE GAME?

ColinR
03/04/2006, 10:44 AM
the league doesn't rolve around rovers and their fans :rolleyes:

maybe these clubc are trying to do whats best for their own club

03/04/2006, 10:50 AM

Never said it did. Doing whats best? How? By losing money:rolleyes:

Eire06
03/04/2006, 10:52 AM

It also doesn't revolve around drink!!

Can people not got to a EL match without having a few:confused:

Patrick Dunne
03/04/2006, 10:53 AM
NY Hoop,

Good Friday traditionally brings in larger crowds for EL clubs, Monaghan perhaps feel that this will outweigh the fact that their bar is closed.

St Pats weekend was always a toss up between Thursday, Friday or Saturday for any club playing normally on a Friday night. GUFC and Athlone went for Thursday.

The Newbridge situation , as you say, was out of Kildares hands.

I don't feel that clubs should chop and change fixtures based on what size of crowd the opposition may bring. GUFC have opted for Friday night football, we should stick with it.

PD.

03/04/2006, 10:56 AM

Of course not!! Only way to survive our brief stay in this division!

03/04/2006, 11:00 AM
NY Hoop,

Good Friday traditionally brings in larger crowds for EL clubs, Monaghan perhaps feel that this will outweigh the fact that their bar is closed.

St Pats weekend was always a toss up between Thursday, Friday or Saturday for any club playing normally on a Friday night. GUFC and Athlone went for Thursday.

The Newbridge situation , as you say, was out of Kildares hands.

If don't feel that clubs should chop and change fixtures based on what size of crowd the opposition may bring. GUFC have opted for Friday night football, we should stick with it.

PD.

I agree that clubs should stick with the fixtures. Athlone would be an example there.

But when its a long weekend and a club has a bar in the ground that is their sole form of income it doesnt make any sense to play the game on good friday. In fact monaghan used to play their games on sunday but changed it to friday nights to suit the players!

Eire06
03/04/2006, 11:02 AM
Of course not!! Only way to survive our brief stay in this division!

You seem to go on like you shouldn't be in the 1st Division?!?!

If you were good enough to be in the premier division you'd be in it!

03/04/2006, 11:12 AM
You seem to go on like you shouldn't be in the 1st Division?!?!

If you were good enough to be in the premier division you'd be in it!

Wrong. We werent good enough for the premier.

03/04/2006, 11:56 AM
The league take a dim view on trying to change too many games and rightly so.

Also it is felt that we will have a better crowd on the Good Friday as alot of our support work in bars and clubs etc so this gives them a good chance to come out and see the game. You have a whole weekend to drink after the Mons game, dont see what is the problem tbh.

As for our bar being "our only source of income" we do actually have some sponsorship too you know. Yes the bar is important but a good gate crowd is more important.

03/04/2006, 12:08 PM
and did ye ever hear of cans???dont be so posh

CharlesThompson
03/04/2006, 12:20 PM

WHAT?!?!?!?! I don't see how anyone can go to an eL match and NOT have a few. Can someone have a word with this joker! No drink. I ask you. ;)

03/04/2006, 12:36 PM

I was just about to say the same thing :eek:

03/04/2006, 12:54 PM
Now this sums up the small time approach of first division clubs we have played so far. To sum up:

Athlone needlessly changing their game from a saturday night to Paddy's eve therefore guaranteeing a lesser gate:rolleyes:

I dont know how many times this has been said before but Athlone Town
changed the date of this game at the request of the Council

The council had a weekend festival planned and asked about moving the
game forward so as events wouldnt clash.

As it turned out there was more local support there on the Thursday than
would have been if the game was on Saturday.

03/04/2006, 1:02 PM
Yeah but the fixtures were announced early march so you knew it would be the saturday of Paddys weekend the game was on. Surely the council knew this so why the late change? You even delayed kick off for 15 minutes due to the amount of away fans coming in late.

Approximately 100 away fans couldnt attend.

03/04/2006, 1:12 PM
the league doesn't rolve around rovers and their fans

Look at the attendance for the two away games so far, given one on Patrick's weekend with departing culchies with us, and about a 1,000 Rovers fans away at Kildare when their average attendance is reportedly 120 and I think you'll be able to conclude that the largest possible Rovers' away support
is in the best interests for their own club..:rolleyes:

Patrick's weekend and now Good Friday in Monaghan...which is difficult to get to on a normal day. There'll still be plenty going, but you could always try and milk the Rovers support even more if they were smart enough - it's simple business logic - loads of Rovers (paying customers) coming, do you want to try get as many paying in or keep them away instead? Similar to Athlone - it would be in their best interests to try and get the game at home to us to be the first in their new ground and publicise it and get the local crowd out and involved - simple as that.

[Cue: How dare Rovers have such a superiority complex reactions...:rolleyes: ]

03/04/2006, 1:20 PM
[Cue: How dare Rovers have such a superiority complex reactions...:rolleyes: ]

Nope,
that may have been the case when ye were in the Premier Division,
"our club is bigger than yours", "no we're the biggest " , "we love that everyone
hates us" , "everything is always balmed on us" etc ... but the reality is that in
Division 1 nobody really gives a flying fcuk about ye.

monutdfc
03/04/2006, 1:25 PM
Good Friday in Monaghan...which is difficult to get to on a normal day.
There is one set of traffic lights between Dublin and Monaghan (and they will be by-passed by 2007). About half the journey is on motorway. From the M50 to Monaghan Town in 1 hour 20mins easily. I know, do it for every home game.

You'll be off work, so be able to leave in plenty of time, traffic through Castleblaney will be lighter than on a normal Friday. Surely it's easier to get to Monaghan on Godd Friday than any other Friday?

In my opinion we should have switched the Rovers game, but Good Friday is usually a good night to have a home game for crowds - there's not much else to do. No doubt, Rovers coming to town is a big event for all First Division teams this season and hopefully we'll have a bumper crowd.

03/04/2006, 1:30 PM
Nope,
"our club is bigger than yours", "no we're the biggest " , "we love that everyone
hates us" , "everything is always balmed on us" etc ... but the reality is that in

Biggest home gates in Dublin; massive away support; 10 points out of 12; 1 goal conceded. No superiority complex, just the facts.

The point that Rovers fans are making about fixture scheduling in Div 1 is that for a Division that constantly moans about crowds and exposure one would think that clubs would be glad of a big away following....obviously not. :rolleyes:

03/04/2006, 1:33 PM
IN this division yer "the Kilkenny rejects" !:D

Patrick Dunne
03/04/2006, 1:39 PM
An SRFC with a "massive" complex, who bring hundreds to every game, are the biggest club in Ireland, deserve to be in the Premier ....

we've had them in First Division for years :p

03/04/2006, 1:43 PM
Nope,

Ha keep telling yourself that.

03/04/2006, 1:50 PM
An SRFC with a "massive" complex, who bring hundreds to every game, are the biggest club in Ireland, deserve to be in the Premier ....

Where did any of us say we "deserve to be in the Premier ...."?

And don't worry, we won't be hanging around for long, unlike Galway, Athlone, Dundalk, Limerick. ;)

We'll "deserve to be in the Premier" when we win this division, not before.

Speranza
03/04/2006, 1:51 PM
You have to love Rovers fans. Gripping for dear life onto the remnants of their justified arrogant nature when they were succesful. Stop whining and get to grips with the level your club play at.

Jaime
03/04/2006, 1:55 PM
Funny thread this, what a charm offensive from the "new Rovers", bleating on and expecting everyone to change their KOs just because it's Rovers, demanding access to stands and bars, "no one likes us, but we want them to". ;)

03/04/2006, 1:58 PM
You have to love Rovers fans. Gripping for dear life onto the remnants of their justified arrogant nature when they were succesful. Stop whining and get to grips with the level your club play at.

Or you have to love other fans with gigantic chips on their shoulders about Rovers. No gripping here son. We're in the first cos we deserve to be. Wasnt that long ago that you started there either.

03/04/2006, 2:04 PM
Funny thread this, what a charm offensive from the "new Rovers", bleating on and expecting everyone to change their KOs just because it's Rovers, demanding access to stands and bars, "no one likes us, but we want them to". ;)

Jaime - 1,200 paid into Station Road the other night. Kildare's average attendance is 120ish. I would gave thought the maths is simple enough to understand.

It's nothing to do with arrogance or charm offensives, more of a desire to see some common sense in the 1st Division. Surely clubs with average attendances in the low hundreds should embrace the large following that we bring?

dapman1
03/04/2006, 2:12 PM
[QUOTE=Conor H]Nothing......a small 300 seater stand.
The rest is just a fence around the pitch pretty much.A nice ground but Kildare would struggle big time with away supports if they got promoted.[/QUOTE

We will have an new 1000 seater stand starting at the end of this season. So, 1400 covered seats in what you correctly describe as a nice ground. Not a bad ground for a team that will by then only be five years old.

The Gardai shut the bar when they arrived. Believe me the man who has the franchise to run the bar wasnt too happy about this, but what could he do?

The stand is officially for home fans, but is usually open to all. This was the same on Saturday night, with those Rovers fans that had kids allowed in out of the rain. Eventually this amounted to about half of all those in the stand.

The bars in the town where shut early, as I dsicoverd myself after the game. this was because of trouble in the town, both before and after the game. The gardai dont tend to take such restrictive decisions lightly. Saturday night is ofcourse the busiest night of the week for most pubs and clubs, so to do this was for a good reason.

The Rovers fans where treated well at Station Road, as are all visiting fans. To state otherwise would be a lie. The only difficulty on the night was outside the ground. This has nothing to do with KCFC or the pople of Newbridge. It has everything to do with a small number of Rovers fans who do that great club no good at all. Untill the Rovers fans manage to police themsilves better and rid themselves of this element, they will continue to find bars shut and doors closed. Rovers cant continue to say that everybody else is at fault, its happening too often.

03/04/2006, 2:19 PM
Dapman for the record I think KCFC brings something to the league and fully merit their place there unlike a couple of other clubs.

Have you any more details re the 1000 seater stand?

Mostly though what trouble in the town before and after the game?:eek:

The only difficulty outside the ground I thought that had to with the poor access and avoiding cars for what has to be the most dangerous entrance to a ground since bishopstown.

03/04/2006, 2:19 PM
[QUOTE=Conor H]

The only difficulty on the night was outside the ground. This has nothing to do with KCFC or the pople of Newbridge. It has everything to do with a small number of Rovers fans who do that great club no good at all. Untill the Rovers fans manage to police themsilves better and rid themselves of this element, they will continue to find bars shut and doors closed. Rovers cant continue to say that everybody else is at fault, its happening too often.

Complete and utter rubbish. The trouble in the town - in the one pub I was in anyway - was all down to the locals in their Liverpool shirts. They threw the digs, they started all of it. I talked to the Guards outside and they agreed 100%. Sorry to burst that little bubble.

03/04/2006, 2:21 PM
I was just about to say the same thing :eek:
Indeed. On an unrelated topic, how strict are Drogheda's stewards on drinking in the ground. :D

Speranza
03/04/2006, 2:31 PM
Untill the Rovers fans manage to police themsilves better and rid themselves of this element, they will continue to find bars shut and doors closed. Rovers cant continue to say that everybody else is at fault, its happening too often

Absolutely correct.

03/04/2006, 2:32 PM
Indeed. On an unrelated topic, how strict are Drogheda's stewards on drinking in the ground. :D

If they see ye with drink they'll take it off ye, but I remember you were drinking discreetly last time you were up, so do that again and you'll probably get away with it! Starting to check bags this season too, so make sure ye have it hidden in your pockets ;)

I like Good Friday matches. Day off work so can go on the beer all day before the match and it'll cost feck all as it'll have to be cans and not pay for overpriced pints!! Last season we were actually playing UCD in Belfield on good friday and had great craic drinking cans from lunch time near the ground (though I suppose we didn't look out of place as we were on a field in collage grounds :D )

03/04/2006, 3:15 PM
The bars in the town where shut early, as I discoverd myself after the game. this was because of trouble in the town, both before and after the game. The gardai dont tend to take such restrictive decisions lightly. Saturday night is ofcourse the busiest night of the week for most pubs and clubs, so to do this was for a good reason.

Another wind-up. :rolleyes:

I was in the town for over an hour after the game, was in one of the pubs too, and I witnessed no trouble at all.

03/04/2006, 3:26 PM
If they see ye with drink they'll take it off ye, but I remember you were drinking discreetly last time you were up, so do that again and you'll probably get away with it! Starting to check bags this season too, so make sure ye have it hidden in your pockets ;)
Sound. I'll keep it undercover. :cool:

03/04/2006, 3:35 PM
[QUOTE=dapman1]

Complete and utter rubbish. The trouble in the town - in the one pub I was in anyway - was all down to the locals in their Liverpool shirts. They threw the digs, they started all of it. I talked to the Guards outside and they agreed 100%. Sorry to burst that little bubble.

Ah don't qoute that from me when i didnt type it.:rolleyes: