View Full Version : A Big Thank You
dapman1
03/04/2006, 3:50 PM
Dapman for the record I think KCFC brings something to the league and fully merit their place there unlike a couple of other clubs.
Have you any more details re the 1000 seater stand?
Mostly though what trouble in the town before and after the game?:eek:
The only difficulty outside the ground I thought that had to with the poor access and avoiding cars for what has to be the most dangerous entrance to a ground since bishopstown.
The planning permission is in place. The funding has been applied for. The required amount from our side is in place.
The entrance to the ground is terrible, but a new bridge with paths etc will be built soon as the new Dept of the Defence offices are to be located on the opposite side of the road from the Station road pitch. this requires the county council, the dept of defence and Iarn Road Eireann to get together and agree a plan. So it might just be finished by the end of the century.
dapman1
03/04/2006, 3:53 PM
[QUOTE=dapman1]
Complete and utter rubbish. The trouble in the town - in the one pub I was in anyway - was all down to the locals in their Liverpool shirts. They threw the digs, they started all of it. I talked to the Guards outside and they agreed 100%. Sorry to burst that little bubble.
Strange how trouble follows Rovers and its always started by the locals:confused: At least you managed to get into a pub. That option wasnt available to anybody else afetr the game as a result of a few of your supporters. Why dont you stop making excuses and do something about it.
03/04/2006, 4:10 PM
Dapman good to hear about the access. Where is the new stand gonna be?
You're wrong about pubs being shut after the game and has already been pointed out there was no trouble. Do not depend on second hand information unless you work for the herag.
03/04/2006, 4:23 PM
[QUOTE=WeAreRovers]
Ah don't qoute that from me when i didnt type it.:rolleyes:
Eh, I didn't, don't know what happened there. Apologies.
Dapman - For decades now, local townies have had a pop at Rovers in one-horse hellholes all over this country. It happens. And I saw what happened on Saturday, you didn't.
03/04/2006, 4:24 PM
It's just happened again. Time to go home. ;)
dapman1
03/04/2006, 4:29 PM
The stand will be on the opposite side of the pitch from the existing stand an club house. It will allow ambulances and buses to travel under it. I believe that it will look like a typical French municipal stadium stand when its finished.
The pitch is also going to be lengthened and widened. If I can find any plans I will post them.
Sound. I'll keep it undercover. :cool:
But be prepared to get kicked out of the ground if caught :D
(I suppose just like any other EL ground :o )
03/04/2006, 6:12 PM
I love this thread. It seems that the following things happened:
Well done to Kildare fc last night. Firstly it was great to get to the ground soaking wet It rained. Which was Kildare's fault.
(after an aborted attempt to go into a certain bar in Newbridge who had 3 bouncers on the door at 6oc!) Some bar in the town wasn't letting Rovers fans in. Which was Kildare's fault.
...to discover the bar was closed(of course this had absolutely nothing to do with the fact it was Rovers in town), The gardai closed the pub in the ground. Which was Kildare's fault.
then only certain individuals were allowed into the 'stand' when people tried to get in out've the rain, A 300 seater stand that's normally for home fans prioritised home fans wasn't open to all 1000+ people in the ground. Home fans were prioritised.
... and to cap it all we had to listen to the biggest fool that ever lived over the loudspeaker. Could anyone actually make out the teams he was calling out? Did he actually read the teamsheets before crediting goals to the wrong people? And the PA was crap.
All I can say is that from now on I'll get up every day thanking God I'm not from Kildare. Memo to Kildare 'people', please take a trip to you're next away game to Finn Harps to discover how to treat people with respect and courtesy I hope Finn Harps have a weather machine, the gardai in their pockets, ownership of all the pubs in the area and a good PA man.
I'm betting they'll have to make do with one out of four.
Moany ******* Rovers fans.
Bald Student
03/04/2006, 6:23 PM
I'm betting they'll have to make do with one out of four.Which one?
Can't be the weather machine, ours is broken at the moment and we're having fierce problems getting spare parts.
Bald Student
03/04/2006, 6:57 PM
Can't be the weather machine, ours is broken at the moment and we're having fierce problems getting spare parts.That's just typical of the excuses for a lack of ambition you hear in this league. When the new league comes in next year no team without it's own weather machiene should be allowed in the premier. Some type of witch-doctor should be the minimum first division requirement.
In fairness we have several witch-doctors, several of whom are UEFA-qualified weather manipulators.
I've no problems with witch doctors and weather manipulators as long as the fixture manipulators stay away and ensure that the game is not played only on the second Tuesday of Lent in a leap year and give a special vip box to try and fit in all those ever moaning and complaining Hooped egos that we all have...:rolleyes::D
Sam Savic
03/04/2006, 10:27 PM
The stand will be on the opposite side of the pitch from the existing stand an club house. It will allow ambulances and buses to travel under it. I believe that it will look like a typical French municipal stadium stand when its finished.
The pitch is also going to be lengthened and widened. If I can find any plans I will post them.
Your pitch is already the maximum width. I measured it the other night.
Sam Savic
03/04/2006, 10:30 PM
Finn Harps definitely have no weather machine. However, the other three were never a problem.:)
04/04/2006, 10:33 AM
I love this thread.
Moany ******* Rovers fans.
Congrats John you have joined speranza in the "I have a chip on my shoulder regarding Rovers fans" club. Membership always open:D
04/04/2006, 11:58 AM
Congrats John you have joined speranza in the "I have a chip on my shoulder regarding Rovers fans" club. Membership always open:D
Actually, I take it on a case by case basis. Excuse me, I'm late for my weather manipulation lecture. :p
04/04/2006, 12:23 PM
And the PA was crap.
That was Kildare's fault. And he is crap, drove me mad the last time we played down there.
dapman1
04/04/2006, 12:59 PM
Cant say that I disagree with the comment on the PA. Nobody has a clue what is being said. I think he must have trained as a station announcer for Iarnroad Eireann or something. We have offered to do it for the club, but this didnt go down too well....
dapman1
04/04/2006, 1:02 PM
As for the weather manipulation shaaman, I think that our one has only ever attained Leinster League Witch Doctoring qualifications. I cant see us bothering with getting anybody else in untill its actually contained in the Uefa licensing regulations:)
04/04/2006, 5:11 PM
Cant say that I disagree with the comment on the PA. Nobody has a clue what is being said. I think he must have trained as a station announcer for Iarnroad Eireann or something. We have offered to do it for the club, but this didnt go down too well....
That was Kildare's fault. And he is crap, drove me mad the last time we played down there.
Agreed. He's nearly as bad as Pats' one, and worse than Bohs'.
04/04/2006, 5:40 PM
I will be doing the PA at the Shamrock Rovers game....hope that they dont complain bout me! *Gulps nervously*
04/04/2006, 6:51 PM
I will be doing the PA at the Shamrock Rovers game....hope that they dont complain bout me! *Gulps nervously*
Don't try to whip up the crowd, or act excited. I've never seen a PA attempt either and achieve anything but get sworn at.
Make sure you're not holding the mike too close to your mouth.
Beyond that, people don't expect much from a PA.
04/04/2006, 6:59 PM
Oh, and also, don't ask the visiting fans to be quiet for a minute so you can read the teams out. :p
04/04/2006, 7:05 PM
Make sure you're not holding the mike too close to your mouth.
She might have a problem with that.:D
Seriously magicme, you'll be fine. Just concentrate on what you are doing and speak clearly. Just be glad you're not from Dundalk! Oh, and don't forget to invite the Rovers fans in out of the rain.;)
05/04/2006, 8:38 AM
Ha ha....I do hope to use the classic line from our friendly with UCD.....
"there have been a multiplicty of substitutions" Brill!
Learned last year not to say that a footballer "is coming on the field"
monutdfc
05/04/2006, 8:45 AM
The UCD PA is superb. Is he a classically trained actor?
05/04/2006, 8:47 AM
Can we hire him for the nite??? *gets more and more nervous as days go by*
BohsFans
05/04/2006, 11:38 PM
Agreed. He's nearly as bad as Pats' one, and worse than Bohs'.
Yeah? and what did he do to upset you?
You'll be judged as fairly as everyone else on the following:
Hear-ability,
Diction,
Clarity,
Accent,
Decibel level,
Handling of any half time frivolities (or lack thereof)
Avoiding mentioning "Could Rovers fans please stay back 2 hours after the match" - the downfall of many a PA
The delivery of the odd comment such as to the effect of "it's our policy not to mention accrediting og's"
All shall be marked out of 7.35 individually with 7.35 being Rovers' shining beacon PA and 0.0 being Kildare's with an overall mark and an (un)official general performance report submitted for future reference.
No need to be worried, we'll only be listening to anything you utter afterall :)
06/04/2006, 8:49 AM
You'll be judged as fairly as everyone else on the following:
Hear-ability,
Diction,
Clarity,
Accent,
Decibel level,
Handling of any half time frivolities (or lack thereof)
Avoiding mentioning "Could Rovers fans please stay back 2 hours after the match" - the downfall of many a PA
The delivery of the odd comment such as to the effect of "it's our policy not to mention accrediting og's"
All shall be marked out of 7.35 individually with 7.35 being Rovers' shining beacon PA and 0.0 being Kildare's with an overall mark and an (un)official general performance report submitted for future reference.
No need to be worried, we'll only be listening to anything you utter afterall :)
Way to go with helping me relax! Must practice my voice projection in case our mic decides that it would be funny not to work that day....Just dont make me do my cross mammy voice boys or u will be very frightened!
Oh and do u like really deep bog Monaghan accents?? or will I fail on that score!
06/04/2006, 10:20 AM
:D Is that a good thing?
06/04/2006, 11:10 AM
Yeah? and what did he do to upset you?
He ran over my dog.
06/04/2006, 11:17 AM
He ran over my dog.
B*stard
06/04/2006, 12:34 PM
The UCD PA is superb. Is he a classically trained actor?
Just posh, I think!
BohsFans
06/04/2006, 4:41 PM
He ran over my dog.
I heard your dog deserved it. Bitc h :p
Is that a good thing?
It brings about a *harmonious* air of innocence and gay abandon to proceedings (oh and also something to brighten up the fact that our player had conceded it:D )
Just dont make me do my cross mammy voice boys or u will be very frightened!
Oh and do u like really deep bog Monaghan accents?? or will I fail on that score!
One has not been exposed to a Monaghan bog accent yet, I'm sure it will be the focus of much half time discussion however...if we can hear ourselves think over the pa that is..(psst Kildare)
Though I am not sure if I would want to know what some Rovers fans think about...:eek: ;)
06/04/2006, 9:18 PM
It brings about a *harmonious* air of innocence and gay abandon to proceedings (oh and also something to brighten up the fact that our player had conceded it:D )
One has not been exposed to a Monaghan bog accent yet, I'm sure it will be the focus of much half time discussion however...if we can hear ourselves think over the pa that is..(psst Kildare)
Though I am not sure if I would want to know what some Rovers fans think about...:eek: ;)
What kinda choons should I play? Last week I was playing mostly Hard Fi and Bell X1 before the game and during the break. Could play some Basement Jaxx if that suited u better? Or any suggestions?
Roverstillidie
06/04/2006, 10:59 PM
What kinda choons should I play? Last week I was playing mostly Hard Fi and Bell X1 before the game and during the break. Could play some Basement Jaxx if that suited u better? Or any suggestions?
play buttercup and we will love you forever
07/04/2006, 6:27 AM
Magic Me
That's " Build Me Up Buttercup" oh and another one for the Hooperati
" Hold Me Close" by David Essex....right lads?
07/04/2006, 6:55 AM
Just posh, I think!
He's a Galway man who had the good taste to study in UCD :D
07/04/2006, 7:39 AM
oh dear not sure if i have either of those songs....
BohsFans
08/04/2006, 8:18 PM
"Hold me now" for when we play you in the league cup next month!
Sam Savic
09/04/2006, 6:32 PM
oh dear not sure if i have either of those songs....
Kildare played "buttercup" for us. Unfortunately, most of the Hooped singers hadn't arrived at that stage.