View Full Version : Atmosphere: The showgrounds versus away games!
SRFC Head
06/04/2006, 4:03 PM
Yee were great craic up the railway end last season, some good songs lads...
Guts&Glory
06/04/2006, 11:17 PM
I tell you want damaged the Atmosphere in the Showgrounds was IMO the new stand and to a lesser extent the Dressing rooms going underneath it ! Like to be fair to a view a game the new stand is very good and well the Shed is not i think a lot of the charcters left there and can now be found in the main stand !
Very true RogueTrader I am a shed head pre and post new stand but alot of the old shed heads are indeed in the main stand - some have kids along with them now etc.
The dressing rooms being moved definately changed the atmosphere, remember the roar at start and half time of games when the players were housed in the shed end changing rooms, a kip I grant you but not the same now.
I fear with the committee plans for redevlopment the shed will soon be a thing of the past and that would be a great pity.
First time I was in the shed I was a mere 5 months old.
Lads are we all ready for the Jinksy again on Saturday night? Same story as the Pats Game, The more the merrier!
Bravo
20/04/2006, 12:25 PM
I am shocked that Some People seem to have a problem with us trying to generate an atmosphere in a different part of the showgrounds & some people are using this forum to take cheep/petty swipes at what we are trying to do & who’s doing it, COP ON & GET A LIFE……
As I said before this idea came about at the Derry games when a few old Shed Heads decided that we needed to do something about atmosphere in the showgrounds, the reasons we chose the Jinks avenue stand was 1. Fcuk all people go there 2. it is enclosed, allowing for a better atmosphere 3. we don’t like the shed anymore (its boring & realistically even the New stand is more fun & more comfortable) 4. If the young vibrant Shed Heads! don’t like Drums then the occupants of the Treacy avenue stand, which are predominantly older, wouldn’t either.
We appealed to everyone to join us some did (Cheers!) & some didn’t (their decision), every one is welcome, members of the clubs, individuals, inbreeds & even Leitrim Folk!!! All supporters of our beloved Bit’O’Red.
A Persons presence dose not mean they condone the actions of everybody there it means we have a common interest in supporting Rovers in the most vocal and what some would say, the best possible way.
sligobhoy67
20/04/2006, 1:50 PM
Chill out Bravo - do what you want and didn't worry about the knockers! "If you build it, they will come"
I agree that one of the main reason IMO that the showgies has lost some of its atmosphere is that the changing rooms have been moved to the main stand.
I was a former shedite back the the most recent heydays 93-97 when the shed was really rocking. However I don't get to go to the showgrounds that much anymore as I don't live in Sligo. Back in the days the shedheads knew that all the players and managers would have to come by the shed fans before, at half time and after the match and if they wernt performing the shed fans would let them know all about it - the refs were also included in the - what the name of that wee ref from DOnegal that hated us??. That really got the shed going - then we had a little bit of power of at least we thought that we did. Then there was nothing between the shedheads and the players but some chicken wire than had seen much better days. In fact we were so close that the players could smell the booze on Tut Toners breath as he would should at Damien Richardson calling him a "fat, west brit, jackeen, poncy, Dublin coooont" - in fact Rico commented in the press that we were like a bunch of caged animals that were only allowed out on matchdays! Personally I took that as a compliment. My favorite target was Galways finest Dub and former Arsenal trainee (i never believed that) the then Pats manager Fat Pat Dolan.
The last time i was in the Showgies was the Bohs match on Paddy's weekend. The place looked great - very impressive - and the crowd wasn't that bad also. So I bought my half time ticket and programme and headed down towards the shed. To my disappointment there wasn't that many people in there but i put that down to my eagerness to get into the shed as I was 15 minutes early for kick off, however, I didn't fill up much after that and there was only about 30 - 50 people in there.
Also the chants started by the new "leaders" of the shed were abysmal "oh the Bohees are shiiite, oh the Bohees are ****e" "**** the Bohs" and "we hate Bohs, we hate Bohs" - pathetic. All negative chants - back in the days we got behind the team and tried to urge OUR team on and not just slag off the opposition. Needless to say we left at half time and went to the Jinks Ave stand.
What has it been like recently?
20/04/2006, 3:55 PM
What has it been like recently?
TERRIBLE..to say the least...
20/04/2006, 8:23 PM
When are the knocking the shed anyway?
The sooner the better I say.Build a new one that will attract people into it to get it back to what it used to be.
Chill out Bravo ;)
the refs were also included in the - what the name of that wee ref from DOnegal that hated us??. Wilfred Wallace, if I am not mistaken!
What has it been like recently? On the Mend my son!!
sligobhoy67
20/04/2006, 9:56 PM
good good - anyone remember the wee Donegal refrees name. Willie Wallace or something like that.
20/04/2006, 9:59 PM
this is badly needed! the shed is startin ta become borin thses days!
dead right!
Tis bliddy sh!t3 now!
SING YOUR HEART OUT 4 THE LADS!
20/04/2006, 10:05 PM
I am shocked that Some People seem to have a problem with us trying to generate an atmosphere in a different part of the showgrounds & some people are using this forum to take cheep/petty swipes at what we are trying to do & who’s doing it, COP ON & GET A LIFE……
As I said before this idea came about at the Derry games when a few old Shed Heads decided that we needed to do something about atmosphere in the showgrounds, the reasons we chose the Jinks avenue stand was 1. Fcuk all people go there 2. it is enclosed, allowing for a better atmosphere 3. we don’t like the shed anymore (its boring & realistically even the New stand is more fun & more comfortable) 4. If the young vibrant Shed Heads! don’t like Drums then the occupants of the Treacy avenue stand, which are predominantly older, wouldn’t either.
We appealed to everyone to join us some did (Cheers!) & some didn’t (their decision), every one is welcome, members of the clubs, individuals, inbreeds & even Leitrim Folk!!! All supporters of our beloved Bit’O’Red.
A Persons presence dose not mean they condone the actions of everybody there it means we have a common interest in supporting Rovers in the most vocal and what some would say, the best possible way.
Bravo,
Joined ye 4 the 2nd half of the game last wk and i found it 2b far better than the shed. Atmosphere, Spirit etc.
Will go to the shed at the start of the shels game bt if its as sh1t3 as it usually there, i'll join ye again with no hesitation.:)
20/04/2006, 10:33 PM
good good - anyone remember the wee Donegal refrees name. Willie Wallace or something like that.
Not sure about him but i remmber a red haired linesman from Donegal called Seamus that took a lot of abuse!
20/04/2006, 11:29 PM
was his first name wilfrid by any chance?memory's a bit fuzzy
dublinred
21/04/2006, 8:18 AM
was his first name wilfrid by any chance?memory's a bit fuzzy
Yes thats him , he was brutal and we used to have him nearly everygame , just before he retired he awarded us 2 dubious penalties in a 5 1 win against Galway or some other crap team at the time , a nice gesture but many years to late, its bad when the ref is on first name terms with the players and knows who he is going to book before the game every starts.
Fivesilver
21/04/2006, 10:00 AM
Wilford Wallace - nasty slick haircut, pompous attitude, not particularly popular anywhere in the league, but inspired a special loathing among Rovers fans.
sligobhoy67
21/04/2006, 3:18 PM
thats hims - Wilfrid Wallace what total cooont. Years of pain.
21/04/2006, 10:22 PM
a cooount if eva i heard about 1.
http://www.sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=89&Itemid=88
From the official website!
Conall, ya will have to join us!
nephin
26/06/2006, 11:45 AM
Where have the boys in the Jinks avenue stand gone to? Very quite the last few home games.
26/06/2006, 11:46 AM
The whole ground has been quiet, the shed too:(.
26/06/2006, 11:50 AM
we dont even have the rovers clap clap clap thing anymore in the stand.....
theres only one thing for it...they have to sell alcohol in the blue stand and then the shed and the jinks avenue brigade will unite together!!!:}
26/06/2006, 12:14 PM
we do need to liven it up 4 tonite..
the lads will need every bit of help possible
26/06/2006, 2:29 PM
we dont even have the rovers clap clap clap thing anymore in the stand.....
theres only one thing for it...they have to sell alcohol in the blue stand and then the shed and the jinks avenue brigade will unite together!!!:}
i agree!:D
26/06/2006, 2:35 PM
i agree!:DID required though;) :p.
nephin
26/06/2006, 2:42 PM
The whole ground has been quiet, the shed too:(.
Its a pity. I don't think Firday night games will help it either.
26/06/2006, 9:58 PM
Its a pity. I don't think Firday night games will help it either.
Whatever about Friday Nights....Having them on a day that doesn't exist is desprete!
red bellied
26/06/2006, 10:23 PM
It livened up a bit in the second half Derry supporters never stopped singing through out the match a fair few of them as well for a Monday night.
26/06/2006, 10:46 PM
Taunting the Derry fans when they were leaving the ground with the song “You wish you were back in Derry” was very cruel lads :D :D ;)
or "we're small, but we're better than you!" after they had been calling us a small team in the first half!
26/06/2006, 10:58 PM
I heard there was not a bad atmosphere in there tonight ?It was all from the Derry fans though.
"What's it like to be Sligo, what's it like to be small, what's it like to never win nothing at all"It's ****ing great Derry;) :D.
27/06/2006, 7:08 PM
great atmosphere last night...
especially when the shed filled up in the second half