View Full Version : Disgruntled Shels fan!

Welshman
29/03/2006, 9:10 AM
The start of the new Eircom season and I am filled with hope that this year Shels squad will perform to its full potential and run away with the title.

Three games into the new season, and Shels record played 3, won 0, lost 0, drawn 3, pathetic!

Am I the only fan who believes that the root of the problem is Pat Fenlon? Last season I was dismayed at the tactics employed with such a talented squad. Go 1-0 up and it was 10 men behind the ball, Crowe or Byrne left alone upfront, hold what we have, then with 10 minutes to go an equaliser and suddenly we have to throw everyone forward. Quality teams go one up, then try to get a second to kill off the game, the players don't make up the tactics, it comes from the manager.

European teams control the game by controlling the ball, they pass the ball forward and make the opposition chase, then they play a 10-15 yard pass into the danger area for the strike, we have players who can competently carry the ball out of defence Hawkins, Harris & Ollie will all hold the ball and carry it forward, instead we see long hit and hope clearances from the back, which just result in throw ins or ball given away. Statistically in any game I doubt Shels ever have more than their fair share of the ball, to make it significant we need 60:40, and that means holding the ball until it can be used creatively.

Now anyone who knows me will tell you I was never a Wes fan. I lost count at how many times he lost the ball near halfway while trying to beat one to many, and we were immediately under pressure. I hated the way a small man would get himself booked or sent off squaring up to players twice his size with half the talent, he should have been walking away and leaving it to Rogers or Hawkins to sort out later off the ball. I hold up my hand and say I was wrong! He was the creative midfielder who made things happen, and openned the spaces & played the killer passes that put Jayo #1 season after season. Now he's gone and how we are missing him, Ndo is brilliant, he has great football skills and is super strong but he lacks the killer pass, and Bobbie Ryan will be the creative player but he needs that final polish so that its either a shot or a killer pass, not caught between the two.

If you want evidence of how Fenlons system destroys talent, look at Alan Moore! I couldn't believe it when he first arrived. I knew nothing about the guy, suddenly Shels had this super player who dominated every game, he held onto the ball for long periods, he was strong, he scored goals and he had the brain of a player who had played at a high level. With Moore, Hoolihan & Byrne you knew Shels would score goals, the football was exciting and Shels won consistently. Six months on and Fenlon had coached the enthusiasm out of Moore, now he wasn't the outstanding player in the league, he had been cloned into an Eircom journeyman, what a waste of proven talent.

Am I the only Shels fan who feels that Fenlon has had his chance? He took us to the third qualifying round of the Champions league granted (1 win in 6 games), but there was no building on that success, and the next year Champions league and Eircom mediocrity, and this year has started even lower.

I call to true Shels fans to make your voice heard "Fenlon your time is up!".
When they ask you who we want instead be ambitious lets get a real coach with a love for the game, and proven talent, lets get Brian Kerr to coach Shels and lets get the full potential from that talent squad.

CharlesThompson
29/03/2006, 9:21 AM
Holy mother of God Jamie. Should you not sort this out face to face with Nutsy?

29/03/2006, 9:31 AM
Given the moniker, could it not be Steve Williams. Seeing as he's been displaced by an inferior Dean Delaney.

29/03/2006, 9:31 AM
Why do we need to be subjected to this?
Is the Shels forum not good enough for you?

By the way, Bohs, who have lost all their games in the league so far, will beat Waterford on Friday night and go level with Shels on points.
Hope that cheers you up! :D

29/03/2006, 10:34 AM
By the way, Bohs, who have lost all their games in the league so far, will beat Waterford on Friday night and go level with Shels on points.
Please stop making such reckless and irresponsible posts. :D

29/03/2006, 10:55 AM
I call to true Shels fans to make your voice heard "Fenlon your time is up!".
When they ask you who we want instead be ambitious lets get a real coach with a love for the game, and proven talent, lets get Brian Kerr to coach Shels and lets get the full potential from that talent squad.

That's just what a club on the brink of a winding-up order from the Revenue Commissioners needs - employing the services of a Manager who's been on a serioous 6-figure salary recently. :rolleyes:

Whether and when Fenlon goes will be entirely Ollie's choice. He doesn't care what the fans think, and has rather 'strong' views on anything affecting your club himself. I suggest you lobby him, rather than let threads like this escape from the Shels board, where they belong.

sfc red
29/03/2006, 11:20 AM
You don't sound like a Shels fan. We never go one upfront, Moore never controlled games for us, and Wes never squared up to anybody!! (Are you thinking of Richie Baker??) Dont be so fickle about Fenlon either, especially if you're gonna call for that idiot as his replacement

higgins
29/03/2006, 11:24 AM
I think its very unfair to be calling for his head at this stage of the season. We are top of the Setanta Group 2 and 3 draws in a row is hardly a sacking offence.

I will admit I don't think Nutsy has got the best out of the players over the past year or two and we don't seem to have stepped up another gear after the great European run (it was a tad lucky but all teams have luck when playing well).

Most annoying factor for me that he has never sorted out the indiscipline he shows. Himself and Collins are a disaster in the dug out and this transfers to the players. I like players like Heary who play hard and are fair (99% of the time) but this moaning to refs and back chat yellows every game is annoying.

He seems to have created a bubble and from interviews with players it does seem they still have this "everyone out to get us attitude" still but what is the use in sacking him ?
I don’t think Brian Kerr would be much better at this stage.

Fenlon has earned himself time with the great football he played 2 and 3 seasons ago so lets hope he can sort it out. I like the guy and I hope he does sort things out. I can remember back to Keely and there is no way in the world I want to go back to that style of football so I'm happy with Fenlon.

Not sure if your even a shels fan but if you are sacking someone then saying ehhhhhhhhhhhh so who's out there is pointless. Even the FAI wouldn’t do that !!!

29/03/2006, 1:44 PM
welshman - shels have turned the corner - to salavge a draw away to the league leaders is no mean feat - however scrappy your football. I admire the fight yous showed and your ability to 'get stuck in' and cause rucks more than made up for the skill and style advantage that Pats had in spades over shels.

29/03/2006, 5:57 PM
And the title for biggest arseh*le with one post is..............Welshman!!

29/03/2006, 5:59 PM
And the title for biggest arseh*le with one post is..............Welshman!!

Ollie doesn't like disgruntled fans voicing their opinions. He has ye well trained.

01/04/2006, 7:10 AM
Hope that cheers you up! :D

Hate to say it, but, I told you so!

stevieontour
24/04/2006, 4:47 AM
Why do Cork fan's spend so much time on our Message Boards??

Such a chip on the shoulder I have never known

24/04/2006, 8:54 PM
Why do Cork fan's spend so much time on our Message Boards??

Probably to spare ya that feeling of talking to yourself.
It's a website for the Leagues fans, once there's no blatant trolling of course.
I prefer getting the thoughts of other fans on things, which is the reason i am here.
You'd be better off joining Shelsweb otherwise.:)