View Full Version : O'Callaghan
:rolleyes: As someone said your **** stirring and i agree with them so as i said let it go :rolleyes:
As regards following you around check the posts and you'll see i don't:p
There is 3 pages of replies to the orignal post i put up yesterday. I linked to the story to see what people thought about what O'Callaghan had to say, and it got a response. It's not a made up story but something he said in an interview.
That's Hardly s*it stirring now is it ? if i wanted to do that i would have just posted O'Callaghan is a moany p*ick or something along those lines.....
O'Callaghan is much better than McCourt as McCourt does not have as much impact on a game on the wing. Almost all City attacks go through George. If McCourt can excel in European i'll revise my opinion.
Gamble should have got player of the year last season but doesn't get as much media attention as George.
sullanefc
29/03/2006, 2:30 PM
Tbh, I agree with Georgie here. Not so much the career ending tackles but the pure cynical ones, it was the same on Wes last year. The kind of fouls where players just take the player out when he's beaten them either by just kicking them in the ankle or dragging on the shirt that on the continent are automatic bookings but here your lucky to get a free kick. If you want people to come out and watch the league you need to stamp down on that kind of thing and make the league playable for flair players. The referees just bottle it and never punish the players enough and as a result the flair players are limited and struggle to get into games and the games are scrappy, the Derry Linfield match was a prime example, it was happening to McCourt all night and frees were given but the referees need to book the players too. The referees on the continent clamp down on this and we should follow suit.
Good post. The best opposition player I saw last year was Wes Hoolahan at the Cross. He was immense. Its players like this that we should be attracting to the league and it was dissappointing to see him go.
For me, I think the refs need to improve. If they don't, our game will turn into a version of Gealic Football where you can't use your hands. The likes of Drogheda and Longford seem to base their games on this approach.
PROTECT THE GOOD PLAYERS IN THIS LEAGUE LIKE O'CALLAGHAN AND McCOURT!!!!
now i know your on the wind up ! how in gods name do you make that out about drogs style of play.We have nothing in common with how longford play .We have some great ball players and been playing some great football in the setanta.usaual blinkered cork view.Just because some other corkie says it you all end up with this opinion .
29/03/2006, 9:51 PM
I agree with you about your style of play ndrog but i think the view of City fans is explained by the negativity ye show when playing against us lately(3 games, no goals, 4 reds).
As for Georgie, he's not moaning at all, just stating fact.
Even though he's obviously gonna be crippled before the seasons out, i don't think referees protection has been a problem in the games against Drogs.
Makes me laugh how fans say 'so fecking what . . .?' about him being targeted yet give out that he makes the most out of it when he's fouled.
Georgie was up for only one goal in the goal of the season, McCourt had three and all were crackers !!
Some Cork City fan you are...i bet you have a picture of Mc Court on your bedroom wall...;)
Some of you Cork fans really should think before you post. You call the Drogs fans in this thread Johnny come latelys and yet 2 out of 3 of us have earlier "joined dates" to this site than you do (I think the other one probably is a Johnny come lately though
Leg/pulled.....joke/craic/messing...all the terms i can use for what i said about where have all the new Drogs fans come from on here..:D
You lot are worse than the Cork City fans for moaning...:D
By the way Drogs are a credit to the league for pushing on and becoming a Professional club..there is a nice little rivalry building up with our clubs and its all good...
Oh and lastly if i had not changed my name on here my join up date is actually 1853...i swear..:D
Dazzy
29/03/2006, 10:12 PM
Some Cork City fan you are...i bet you have a picture of Mc Court on your bedroom wall...;)
It must be the hair, its hypnotic:D
It has to be the hair because whats under that is frightening...and i dont mean the skill...:D
McCourt is a great player but an even bigger luxury than O' Callaghan. I think Kenny said it all when he didn't even start him in the biggest game of the season last year.
29/03/2006, 10:52 PM
I think Kenny f*cked up when he didn't start him in the biggest game of the season last year.
30/03/2006, 1:06 AM
McCourt is a great player but an even bigger luxury than O' Callaghan. I think Kenny said it all when he didn't even start him in the biggest game of the season last year.
I think all the other players are luxuries, not McCourt and O'Callaghan !!
CharlesThompson
30/03/2006, 8:27 AM
It wouldn't be Kenny's first time f@cking up a team selection.
lofty9
30/03/2006, 9:37 AM
O callaghan forgets that he can dish it out as well as take it, he is a fabulous player who gets in the thick of things. I don't really see what he is moaning about. As for this debate about McCourt and O Callaghan, Paddy plays on the wing can beat people for fun and is a different palyer from O Callaghan. McCourt has the talent and ability to play at a different level. He just needs to believe he can do this and work harder on the dirtier aspects of the game. O Callaghan for me is up there with McNulty and Treacy(formerly of ST pats) in that he will always antagonise the opposition players and fans. He might have the respect of the Cork fans, but he is no Dave Barry, and he could take a leaf from his book, a genuine league of Ireland legend.
WindmillWarrior
30/03/2006, 9:38 AM
Oh and lastly if i had not changed my name on here my join up date is actually 1853...i swear..:D
Well, you must be the only adult Cork fan on the web then! ;)
30/03/2006, 10:42 AM
This seems like an appropriate place to put this.
I do know he (George) met our manager to sign for the club at one stage (just before Pat Dolan was appointed manager there) but we couldn't meet his demands.
from the webchat.
Imagine how much he'd be hated now if Shels had met his demands! :eek:
30/03/2006, 11:08 AM
*shudder*
Dricky
30/03/2006, 11:15 AM
This seems like an appropriate place to put this.
from the webchat.
Imagine how much he'd be hated now if Shels had met his demands! :eek:
Imagine Imagine
That was a long time ago so why did Ollie bring it up now???? but Ollie splashed out of Crowe and co from bohs so I take what he said with a grain of salt....... Sure Georgie spoke to Drogs as well. He's deflecting attention from issues that are more prevalent and relevant today..... no title and a high tax bill.
Tax dodging smuggler sure who would believe him.....
On the Georgie front, he has calmed down and he walks away from a lot more than last year so credit to him. He has also helped defensively as well which is another improvement. Of course he tries to wind up opposition players, every player does. Skippy was the expert on that, he used to stand beside the defender give him loads of stick and next thing he was gone defender left behind wondering what Skippy had said concentration broken, meanwhile Skippy is off down the pitch after a ball.
Some player just do it more than others but they all do it, part of the game just as sticking your hand up for a throw or a corner, when you know it's not you ball, is also part of the game.
harry crumb
30/03/2006, 11:57 AM
George is not a luxury player. He works his ass off in games.
WindmillWarrior
30/03/2006, 12:00 PM
Sure Georgie spoke to Drogs as well.
Indeed he did. And he got a nice extra wedge out of Cork for it!
30/03/2006, 12:21 PM
That was a long time ago so why did Ollie bring it up now????
He brought it up because Cosmo asked him about Georgie. The drogs obsession with Georgie is getting worrying at this stage.
Dricky
30/03/2006, 12:34 PM
Indeed he did. And he got a nice extra wedge out of Cork for it!
And Cork got a title out of himself and Co. So we get more back than it cost us....... Drogs should try that sometime;)
sullanefc
30/03/2006, 12:56 PM
now i know your on the wind up ! how in gods name do you make that out about drogs style of play.We have nothing in common with how longford play .We have some great ball players and been playing some great football in the setanta.usaual blinkered cork view.Just because some other corkie says it you all end up with this opinion .
I was not referring to your style of play, I was talking about your rough house tactics/persistant fouling against us. When I saw the Dungannon V Drogs game on Setanta I was very impressed with ye. It seems only against us that Drogheda resort to the more violent approach.
When I was talking about Longford I did mean style of play zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
WindmillWarrior
30/03/2006, 2:09 PM
The drogs obsession with Georgie is getting worrying at this stage.
Though isn't it funny how fans of most other clubs don't seem to like him either :rolleyes:
WindmillWarrior
30/03/2006, 2:11 PM
And Cork got a title out of himself and Co. So we get more back than it cost us....... Drogs should try that sometime;)
We got loads of money, we got loads of money! ;)
30/03/2006, 2:14 PM
Though isn't it funny how fans of most other clubs don't seem to like him either :rolleyes:
Very few people like Trevor Molloy but we don't stalk him like Bunny Boilers! :rolleyes:
Dricky
30/03/2006, 2:27 PM
We got loads of money, we got loads of money! ;)
Your mother was always right, money doesn't buy you happiness.... :D
30/03/2006, 2:35 PM
Your mother was always right, money doesn't buy you happiness.... :D
I think it's time for that classic Bohs song, "Can't Buy The League!"
WindmillWarrior
30/03/2006, 2:38 PM
Very few people like Trevor Molloy but we don't stalk him like Bunny Boilers! :rolleyes:
We're talking about Cosmo here aren't we!
30/03/2006, 2:40 PM
We're talking about Cosmo here aren't we!
I don't expect you to agree publicly that it's strange behaviour but deep down, you know he's obsessed!
ColinR
30/03/2006, 3:08 PM
I don't expect you to agree publicly that it's strange behaviour but deep down, you know he's obsessed!
tbh, cosmo has always been more obsessed with molloy than o'callaghan :eek:
I don't see anyone starting threads on Fabio (http://www.fabioifc.com/) as no one outside Drogs cares about him. George gets 4 pages here as worthy of eL-wide discussion.
Likewise would anyone care about Shels if they were in the 1st division.
But surely that could be said for the majority of threads in the EL section? :rolleyes:
WindmillWarrior
30/03/2006, 3:22 PM
So f*ckin precious :rolleyes:
I don't see anyone starting threads on Fabio (http://www.fabioifc.com/) as no one outside Drogs cares about him. George gets 4 pages here as worthy of eL-wide discussion.
Likewise would anyone care about Shels if they were in the 1st division.
no one bothers to post about fabio because he dosent come out with the type of ****** the boy george does in the media.He keeps his head down and gets on with it.A lesson boy george could learn ....
sullanefc
31/03/2006, 11:07 AM
no one bothers to post about fabio because he dosent come out with the type of ****** the boy george does in the media.He keeps his head down and gets on with it.A lesson boy george could learn ....
Does anyone else think that a bit of Pantomime and Needle adds to the games? Remember Ferguson V Wenger during their rivalry?? The amount of slagging in the press added to the build up of the games.
I think the reason GOC gets so much media attention is that when he opens his mouth its always very interesting/contraversial. It adds to the games V Drogs and spices it up. Its all healthy as long as the fans don't take it too seriously and start brawling in the terraces.
Owen Heary has had some digs at CCFC in the press lately and its great. The most eagerly awaited date in every Cork City fans diary is the visit of Shels due to Hearys comments/the return of Liam and Greg/Ollie Byrne being a **** stirrer/the history & rivalry. Is anyone honestly looking forward to this game just for the football???
Hulsey
31/03/2006, 11:35 AM
O' Callaghan is a great player, but a right moany ba$tard, who is constantly diving and trying to cheat his way to an advantage, which makes him a very unpopular boy. Can't say I have any sympathy if a team does set out to kick him to death.
31/03/2006, 11:38 AM
...but a right moany ba$tard, who is constantly diving and trying to cheat his way to an advantage...
I wish I was able to get to see every single Cork City game as you obviously do. :rolleyes:
I've seen him dive in the past but for people who don't even see our games suggest he dives in every game is a bit too much. I don't remember him diving in recent Bohs tv game that a lot of people would have seen...
31/03/2006, 2:05 PM
I've seen him dive in the past but for people who don't even see our games suggest he dives in every game is a bit too much. I don't remember him diving in recent Bohs tv game that a lot of people would have seen...
Thats about the size of it, its urban myth at this stage the way some people are going on about it.
its urban myth at this stage the way some people are going on about it.
Typical response from a cork supporter I suppose :rolleyes:
In fairness aface there's a lot mote tv coverage and if I know he's dived at Pats' games and cosmo knows he's dived at Drogheda games and Macy knows he's dived at Longford games, its not too much of a stretch to assume ihe's done it against other clubs
WindmillWarrior
31/03/2006, 2:46 PM
Thats about the size of it, its urban myth at this stage the way some people are going on about it.
I think you forgot the joke smiley at the end of that sentence A Face.
31/03/2006, 3:06 PM
I think you forgot the joke smiley at the end of that sentence A Face.
Nah ..... why not just use your selective vision and put one in !! :D
sullanefc
31/03/2006, 8:19 PM
Drogheda's Glen Fitzpatrick has just been booked
for....
Diving :D
oh the irony
31/03/2006, 10:32 PM
for....
oh the irony
No comment ..... none ..... i'm not gonna say a thing !! :)
for....
oh the irony
Apologies, thought I heard something there - we only listen to people that are top of the league :)
01/04/2006, 2:00 AM
Apologies, thought I heard something there - we only listen to people that are top of the league :)
Can i quote you on that ..... oh the mileage !! :p