View Full Version : Tickets for Keane testimonial
Anyone know when they're on sale or how people can apply for them?
Information here... (http://www.csd.uoc.gr/~gvasil/stuff/pictures/simpson-google.jpg)
25/03/2006, 6:23 PM
Anyone know when they're on sale or how people can apply for them?
I hope only one man and his dog turn up for this non-event. RMK himself and his dog, Triggs. :mad:
25/03/2006, 6:49 PM
It might be an interesting game if it was a pre season warm up game rather than an end of season stroll around.
Rebal Boy
25/03/2006, 7:44 PM
www.whartonstravel.com. They have great deals on this game. I have my tickets booked for it. €229 return coach from Cork to Dublin, Ferry Dublin- Holyhead, one night stay in the Diamound Lodge Hotel plus your match ticket. Great value.:) Roll on May 9th.
TheJamaicanP.M.
26/03/2006, 12:42 AM
I hear Keane is giving some of the testimonial money to charity. I wonder will he mind being called Mother Teresa after the way he treated Niall Quinn. Frankly, it just shows the lack of principle he has when he's willing to return to Old Trafford after being ousted.
26/03/2006, 2:18 AM
Roy Keane is a legend! Love him or hate him, he was still one of the best midfielders ever, back in his day.
26/03/2006, 10:35 AM
Keep it on topic lads. I don't want to see this turn into a Keane bashing thread.
26/03/2006, 10:47 AM
Fot those interested I found this on Celtics website today:
'Roy Keane Testimonial
This match has yet to be officially confirmed.
A date of May 9th has been suggested for this match however there is no official information. As soon as the match is confirmed officially we will announce ticket sales details.'
Fot those interested I found this on Celtics website today:
Search engines are amazing ;)
Junior
27/03/2006, 2:02 PM
games has been confirmed for the 9th May - check celticfc.net for info.
27/03/2006, 5:05 PM
I thought he doesn't do friendlies :eek: :D
Testimonials should be gotten rid of other than for players falling on hard times. They date back to the times of the minimum wage when players weren't earning 50k plus a week. Fans dipped in to their pockets to help the player on the way to retirement at 35 or 36 - unless, they're specifically stated in advance to be a charity gig 100%.
I wouldn't attend a testimonial even if it was in aid of Jack Charlton or John Sheridan or both.
28/03/2006, 2:04 PM
Testimonials should be gotten rid of other than for players falling on hard times. They date back to the times of the minimum wage when players weren't earning 50k plus a week. Fans dipped in to their pockets to help the player on the way to retirement at 35 or 36 - unless, they're specifically stated in advance to be a charity gig 100%.
I wouldn't attend a testimonial even if it was in aid of Jack Charlton or John Sheridan or both.
Completely agree. Farcical for multi millionaires to have testimonials. Irish people travelling to give traitor money?:rolleyes: Oh dear.
Dave Langan should be given a testimonial, finally.
28/03/2006, 3:25 PM
Irish people travelling to give traitor money?:rolleyes: Oh dear.
On topic, last warning. No Saipan etc. If you have info on the fixture then give it. If not, don't post.
28/03/2006, 3:49 PM
I don't think he knows exactly what he's doing but I'd say he'll give it all to charity.
“Nothing’s been fully agreed and sorted out but there will be a charitable benefit to having it – lots of people in Glasgow, and Manchester and Cork and Dublin, I imagine, will benefit.”
This will certainly be nothing like Jackie McNamara's testimonial, it'll be just a kick about with Keane probably being allowed to score his last goal at Old Trafford. It's 2 days after the last league match and 2 days before Shearers testimonial. There's also a testimonial arranged for Coventry's Richard Shaw in a couple of weeks. Why Celtic agree to all these I don't know. At least Shearer and Keane are giving there earnings to charity.
28/03/2006, 4:06 PM
I am not sure what the problem with Keane having the testimonial is. He has already said that he will be giving the money to charity. It is the business of Man Utd and Celtic fans to do whatever they want to do with the money. The testimonial is not for people who despise Keane. Keane has already said that he is pretty uncomfortable with the idea and wants to keep it as low key as possible with no golf day outs or race days etc. Man Utd fans consider Keane a legend and if they want to go to the game and give him a final send off thats their entitlement. I agree that testimonials are not as relevant as they once were but Quinn did set a good precedent by giving it to charity. I am sure Keane will give his to charity.
From celtics website:
'Roy Keane Testimonial
Man Utd v Celtic, May 9th
We have now received confirmation of the match and are currently discussing allocations and prices and will confirm as soon as possible.
Tickets will be sold on a first come first served basis to season ticket holders only.'
If anyone hears the craic with tickets for either celtic or man utd supporters could they post it up here please bacuse i couldnt be @rsed checking celtics website every day
Junior
28/03/2006, 8:38 PM
If anyone hears the craic with tickets for either celtic or man utd supporters could they post it up here please bacuse i couldnt be @rsed checking celtics website every day
well unless you're a season ticket holder there'd be no point would there?:D
I'll post up when I hear anything.............
well unless you're a season ticket holder there'd be no point would there?:D
I'll post up when I hear anything.............
Cheers, the man utd website is firewalled from work :mad: and I hate having to go on to that other teams site ;)
So, why would you want to see them play?:confused:
If all the gate money goes to charity, worthwhile;otherwise a waste of space.
To show appreciation to one of the greatest players that ever played for Man Utd (I am a Man Utd supporter too), in the Premiership and for Ireland of course
Along with Cantona and Andy Myler ;) , he has been my favourite player ever :)
29/03/2006, 12:17 PM
I honestly can never understand this player worship. From the days of following football as a kid (Frank O'Neill (Rovers), Jack WHitham (Wednesday) and Johnny Giles (Ireland) were my favourites), I still always put club/country devotion before my allegiance to the players. The players came and went but the clubs/country went on. My all time favourite football person is Jack Charlton (brought Wednesday back from the brink and we all know what he did for Ireland) but I still wouldn't pay to go to a testimonial for him unless he had fallen on hard times. He was a professional doing his job and getting well paid to do it.
Football is about opinions and I accept many people think differently to me and good luck to them. I just don't do testimonials.
29/03/2006, 12:26 PM
I still always put club/country devotion before my allegiance to the players.
Just because you want to go to someones testimonial doesn't mean that you put you put the player before your club/country :rolleyes:
klein4
29/03/2006, 4:01 PM
Football is about opinions and I accept many people think differently to me and good luck to them. I just don't do testimonials.
:D :D :D
Is there nothing that book cant do!!
29/03/2006, 4:24 PM
To show appreciation to one of the greatest players that ever played for Man Utd (I am a Man Utd supporter too), in the Premiership and for Ireland of course
Along with Cantona and Andy Myler ;) , he has been my favourite player ever :)
Well said. The man is a complete legend, the best Irish and Man Utd player ever, imo. Testimonials sound like great games to go to. I'd say the atmosphere will be even more electric than usual. I just hope I can my hands on a few tickets.
29/03/2006, 6:28 PM
I honestly can never understand this player worship. From the days of following football as a kid (Frank O'Neill (Rovers), Jack WHitham (Wednesday) and Johnny Giles (Ireland) were my favourites), I still always put club/country devotion before my allegiance to the players. The players came and went but the clubs/country went on. My all time favourite football person is Jack Charlton (brought Wednesday back from the brink and we all know what he did for Ireland) but I still wouldn't pay to go to a testimonial for him unless he had fallen on hard times. He was a professional doing his job and getting well paid to do it.
I think the money is going to a more worthwile cause than a professional footballers bank account.
01/04/2006, 4:46 PM
If it was the Republic of Ireland giving him a testimonial I would be against it on the ground that players of his generation made sick amounts of money from playing unlike the likes of Davey Langan etc. Given that it is his club and he is most likely going to donate a large portion of it to charity anyway ... good luck to him.
Junior
03/04/2006, 2:48 PM
Celtic will receive an allocation of 25,000 tickets for Roy Keane's Testimonial match at Old Trafford. Celtic supporters will occupy the North Stand and tickets will be priced at £25 for the first and second tiers and £20 for the top tier seats.
Tickets will go on sale at 10am on Monday, April 10th and will be available to season ticket holders only to begin with on a first come first served basis, one ticket per season ticket. Further sales details will be confirmed once we establish demand.
Tickets will be available from the Ticket Office counter other sales points will be confirmed as soon as they have been agreed.
from celticfc.net
Im sure there is an equivalent announcement on utds website.........
Can't get on to it from here, but there is one on the united webiste. General public can apply for tickets through the united site
07/04/2006, 9:15 AM
Well if he is giving the money to charity fair play to RMK. He is a complex individual and my feelings towards him are equally so. He is an extremely charitable individual and is generous to a fault, which I have to admire. When he is arsed to play on the field for a team he gives full commitment, possibly too much in some instances.
But his reaction to, a justified in my mind issue he had, was misplaced and will always taint the overview. But fair play to him for his generosity and the Irish Guide Dogs For The Blind will probably do well out of it.
07/04/2006, 12:43 PM
ya can say what yee want, i have my ticket and i'll be there, saying thank you for all those wonderful football memories. The Juve Cl semi away will live with me for the rest of my life, one of the most amazing performances i have even seen a player from any team produce.
Forget the siapan stuff and just focus on him as a player, if you think he is not worth the hype, then......ya should have gone to specsaver:D
08/04/2006, 8:36 PM
...Forget the siapan stuff ......
As the good Dr.Paisley once said 'Never, never, never'!
TheJamaicanP.M.
09/04/2006, 11:55 AM
Forget the siapan stuff and just focus on him as a player
Ha, what a lame attempt at convincing us. Just because he's agreat footballer doesn't mean we should forgive him.:rolleyes:
09/04/2006, 2:54 PM
People were wanred earlier. The thread has outlived it's purpose.