View Full Version : The Brandywell

24/03/2006, 11:29 PM
Just back from the match there and as it was my first ime I was expecting to see a nice stadium,and a good view of the match.
What I got was 1 good stand about 20meters from the corner flag(where we were put) and the rest of the place was bits of sheds and huts all around the place.
Do Derry City FC own the place or what.
Some seroius work needs to be done about it.
Also,who the fcuk sells crepes at a football match.....I know we were over the border but we werent in feckin France!!!!

24/03/2006, 11:38 PM
Gettin beat 3-1 doesn't help either does it?

Derry don't own the Brandywell and therefore can't do anything about its current condition. But you're right, its not the best ground in the country (not the worst either mind you). City fans have been petitioning the Derry Cty Council for a long time now, to either hand the ground over or at least give us a long term lease to enable the club to up grade the stadium into something that deserves the title of "stadium".

As for the crepes? Well, you're the first to complain - so it must be a Sligo thing.

24/03/2006, 11:39 PM
Preaching to the converted.

The Brandywell is a kip, as recognised by our support and we are lobying hard to gain control of it

Crepes at one end, Burgers at the other end!

kevin_devine
24/03/2006, 11:40 PM
The Brandywell is a joke and the DCC need to get the finger out!!

DCFC are a title challenging team and having to play in the Brandywell is atricous

Speranza
24/03/2006, 11:43 PM
Are the grapes especially sour in Sligo tonight?

Every single City fan feels exactly the same as you do. We despise the Brandywell in its current state. We can not however do absolutely anything about it.

Derry City Council own the Brandywell and are quite happy to let it stay in its current disgracful state. The club are and have been in discussions with the council for the land for a year or so. the council put out a tender for the ground and we were the only bidder. That was the last we heard

City fans have bombarded local press with our campaign and at one stage set up SoS - Save Our Stadium but to no avail as the apathetic useless so and sos that makeup the council don't give a ****.

It would be amazing if you could direct your grievance to the Derry Journal even via email as a visitor to the city commenting in this manner is embarresing. Linfield fans have recently wrote and every letter counts.

24/03/2006, 11:54 PM
Also,who the fcuk sells crepes at a football match.....I know we were over the border but we werent in feckin France!!!!

Sory about that Stars. Word reached the Derry camp that the Sligo players were crepe-ing themselves in advance of the game, and our catering guys thought they'd lend yees' a hand. I think something must have got lost in translation somewhere along the line there.. :D

25/03/2006, 12:47 AM
Wasn't at(and never have been at) The Brandywell so can't really comment. But as for the "sour grapes", their are none on my side. Derry are a great team with a great manager, I never expected us to even get a point and from what I hear, ye totally deserved all 3 tonight(although, I heard the scoreline did flatter ye slightly). I hope Derry win the EL this season and I look forward to heading to the Bandywell later this season:).

25/03/2006, 8:56 AM
I didn't think you could eat crepes or any other pancakes during Lent ! :D

25/03/2006, 10:34 AM
Are the grapes especially sour in Sligo tonight?
not at all,as i said before ye deserved the win but because it was my first time to see the other side of the ground I just thought I might mention it.

lofty9
25/03/2006, 11:19 AM
Preaching to the converted.

The Brandywell is a kip, as recognised by our support and we are lobying hard to gain control of it

No crepes or burgers available at the terracing end! Lucky people, stop your moaning.:mad:

25/03/2006, 4:11 PM
Have Derry any plans to upgrade the stadium ? It badly needs it in fairness !!

25/03/2006, 4:32 PM
Have you actually read this thread Rodg? :confused: :rolleyes:

:ball: PP

25/03/2006, 5:16 PM
Very posh in the Brandywell now. No pancakes for ye lot but crepes... :p

eL first?

Roverstillidie
25/03/2006, 10:23 PM
ive heard it all now. sligo fans calling the bradywell a dump?:confused:

im flabbergasted.

25/03/2006, 10:31 PM
Sligo's main stand is way better than the one in the brandywell in fairness. Showgrounds is one of my favourite grounds actually. Derry didn't help the outside view by giving away fans the worst view possible

26/03/2006, 2:11 AM
Sligo's main stand is way better than the one in the brandywell in fairness.Cheers Dodge.
sligo fans calling the bradywell a dump?:confused:It is actually funny that this is coming from a team that has no ground. The Showgrounds is far from been a dump, obviously you haven't been there before. Clueless!:rolleyes:.

26/03/2006, 2:24 AM
Sligo's main stand is way better than the one in the brandywell in fairness. Showgrounds is one of my favourite grounds actually. Derry didn't help the outside view by giving away fans the worst view possible

Our Northern brethern get better away section........:D

1 9 2 8
26/03/2006, 2:53 AM

im flabbergasted.
At least we a ground sham. BTW hows the 1st Division going homeless:D

Roverstillidie
26/03/2006, 4:50 PM
Cheers Dodge.It is actually funny that this is coming from a team that has no ground. The Showgrounds is far from been a dump, obviously you haven't been there before. Clueless!:rolleyes:.

have been there regularly. havent been there in 6 years, because you were in your natural place at the bottom of the first.

i think the brandywell is a better stadium as it happens, but any loi fan who goes onto a forum to take the píss out of a ground is a ****. i cant point that out because im a Rovers fan?

At least we a ground sham. BTW hows the 1st Division going homeless:D

very well. top of the league. and we will be playing premier division ball in our all seater ground in less than a year. good one bog boy

26/03/2006, 5:40 PM
very well. top of the league. and we will be playing premier division ball in our all seater ground in less than a year. good one bog boy

the season goes on til november...dosent end yet:D

26/03/2006, 5:57 PM
the season goes on til november...dosent end yet:D

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

26/03/2006, 7:20 PM
havent been there in 6 yearsSo really you haven't a clue what our ground is like now then?:rolleyes: Their have been lots of changes in 6 years, maybe if yer good enough to make it to the Showgies next season you'll see that!

26/03/2006, 7:34 PM

What can you get with the crepes?
Can't beat a bit of ice cream!

Sure the Brandywell isn't the Nou Camp but it isn't the worst and you'll always get a good welcome there. Actually, in the Nou Camp, you're likely to be much further from the pitch. ;)

Are we going to have Sligo boys moaning about the eL grounds all season? Concentrate on the football lads, you've a lot to learn in that department.

maybe if yer good enough to make it to the Showgies next season you'll see that!

Only if they meet you in the cup because they're coming straight back up and you're going straight back down. Didn't anyone tell you that this was the Rovers' Exchange Season?? :p

26/03/2006, 7:46 PM
Peader,I wasnt moaning about the ground,just saying it wasnt what i expected.Why are you defending the brandywell when even the Derry fans agree with what I said......

26/03/2006, 8:29 PM
Why are you defending the brandywell when even the Derry fans agree with what I said......

Because in eL terms, it's not the worst ground. The Derry lads are simply saying that they'd like to improve it but I imagine 99% of eL fans would say the same about their own grounds.

You also had a go at them for selling crepes which makes your post even more pathetic. We're all awaiting a gourmet feast in the palace that is the showgrounds in Sligo. :rolleyes:

26/03/2006, 8:58 PM
Are we going to have Sligo boys moaning about the eL grounds all season? Concentrate on the football lads, you've a lot to learn in that department.

Well, if they're going to moan about Derry's ground, wait 'till they have to stand for 2 hours in a Flancare Park thunderstorm. :D They'll be begging for mercy after 2 minutes. :D

Only if they meet you in the cup because they're coming straight back up and you're going straight back down. Didn't anyone tell you that this was the Rovers' Exchange Season??

We're top of our league, are they top of theirs? :confused:

red metal
26/03/2006, 9:08 PM

im flabbergasted.

Such a muppet to come out with that!And no ground to call tere own!

pól-dcfc
26/03/2006, 10:41 PM
Jesus, why does everything on this forum come down to a slagging match and the old "you're homeless malarky"?

Everyone should relax. The Brandywell is a bit crap. We can't do anything about until the council decide what to do (hopefully at the end of this month). The Brandywell is not the worst in the league. Shamrock Rovers are getting a sparkling new ground within the next two years (thank fúck - an end to the madness). And crepes are really nice.

Roverstillidie
26/03/2006, 11:13 PM
Such a muppet to come out with that!And no ground to call tere own!

third week of the season and the gobshítery has begun. what did this thread achieve? are the showgrounds perfect? no. is the brandywell? no. all it does is remind us how long you have been out of the picture if it is your first time in derry. are we going to get a running whine about how none of your rivals grounds are the amsterdam arena?

a rovers fan points this out and a barrage of homeless shíte comes my way? blah blah. thank christ the sligo fans of 20 years ago had some sense and protested with us.

by the way this is from the same group of sligo fools who gave us this bullshít last season
http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=30940&highlight=ultras

just grow up.

27/03/2006, 10:09 AM
fcuk sake lads i was just making the point that I thought the brandywell would be better and was surprised they sold crepes at a football match in ireland.......
Was in Longford and they have a class stadium and we were in richmond,Tolka and The cross last season and we didnt complain about them becuase they were what we expected.
So why is it that Shams and Cork fans are having a go at me for this when derry fans agree with me.

Mods,this can be closed because shams and cork fans taking this way too seriously.

27/03/2006, 10:50 AM
Everyone should relax

that should be stickyed in every section:D