View Full Version : Buckfast in Bulgaria

Sir Rantalot
22/06/2001, 12:08 PM
Lovech..........c'mon de town.

22/06/2001, 12:29 PM
Nice one, see ya lads down there! Shels got Brondy, jammy beggars! Whats the travel arrangements, ive to book my hols off work....

Sinéad
22/06/2001, 1:00 PM
Its bein all go here at work this Morning (Shannonside/Northern Sound). We have been in contact to told us that "the Bulgarian side came 4th in their league and won the cup" but they have sod their star player for £100,000 which he seemed very happy about! He seemed very excited and said "that he was delighted for the home support"....C'mon De town!!

22/06/2001, 1:44 PM
Where abouts in Bulgaria is Lovech. Their site is slow as **** - must be all the hits it's getting :)

22/06/2001, 1:55 PM
Its as slow as feck, even the travel guide websites are going slow.... ill check it out this evening... What you think of the draw Macy?

22/06/2001, 2:09 PM
From what JC the anorak was saying they have a fairly crap record in Europe whereas we're unbeaten ;) Apart from that, I'll wait and see what the damage for the trip will be - the beer will be cheap anyway - not sure of the armpit hair of the women mind:confused:

22/06/2001, 3:40 PM
Heard from Adrian Massop who heard it on the radio, its a small town in the middle of Bulgaria, miles from anywhere. Could be in the Balkan mountains. Still cant wait though.... Longford invasion of the Balkans....:p

22/06/2001, 3:57 PM
Heard from Adrian Massop who heard it on the radio, its a small town in the middle of Bulgaria, miles from anywhere.

That sound like somewhere in Ireland...... :D

22/06/2001, 4:05 PM
wonder where!

22/06/2001, 4:10 PM
A meeting of like minds is on the cards so? ;)

Comparing Masseys, heffers etc....? ;) :D :cool:

JC_GUFC
22/06/2001, 4:24 PM
Just for Macy,
Their results aren't as bad as I first thought!

99/00 CL 1st qualifying round

Lovech v Glentoran 3-0, 3-0; 6-0 on aggregate

2nd qualifying round

Lovech v Widzew Lodz 4-1, 1-4; 5-5 aggregate (lost on pens)

98/99 CL 1st qualifying round

Lovech v Halmstads (who Bohs might play!) 2-0, 1-2; 3-2 on aggregate

2nd qualifying round

Lovech v Spartak Moscow 0-5, 2-6; 2-11 on aggregate

Not much point going further back than that - they're probably just rebuilding after losing most of their league winning teams!

CU
JC

22/06/2001, 4:39 PM
Address:
Stadion Lovetsch (Gradski)
5500 Lovetsch
Tel.: (0 68) 2 90 91
Fax: (0 68) 2 90 91
Stadium (Capacity): City (7.000)
Club colours: Green-White
199? Renamed in FK Liteks Lovetsch
1999 Renamed in FK Lovetsch

Keepers:
12 Stoyan Stavrev 07/12/75 BUL 1.84 FK Haskovo
1 Vitomir Voutov 22/11/71 BUL 2.00 keine / none

Defence:
13 Nikolay Dimitrov 04/11/70 BUL 1.66 Belasitsa Petritsch
3 Jivko Jelev 23/07/79 BUL 1.83 Olimpic Teteven, Liteks Lovetsch, FK Beroe
16 Dimitar Karadaliev 29/04/71 BUL 1.80 Belasitsa Petritsch
4 Stefane Kolev 11/10/66 BUL 1.82 Slavia Sofia, FK Shumen, CSKA Sofia, Yantra, Lokomotiv GO, Etar Veliko Tarnovo, Levski Sofia, Academic Svistov
18 Marjan Zivkovic 21/05/73 YUG 1.80 FK Obilic, Crvena Zvezda Beograd

Midfield:
6 Rossen Emilov 03/08/77 BUL
23 Nebojsa Jelenkovic 26/05/78 YUG 1.80 FK Obilic, FK Novi Sad
5 Ibe Johnson 04/10/75 NGR 7.8

Forwards:
???

daithi
22/06/2001, 5:13 PM
Went to Bulgaria about 4 years ago, the beer was about 40p a
pint for the local brew and about 60p for the better stuff!!!!
I dont know how much has changed since, but the people there were sound, plus they get great weather.

ps did'nt see any buckfast!

Sinéad
22/06/2001, 8:02 PM
It'll be great to hear them pronounce those names on the radio....:p

sorbothegreek
22/06/2001, 10:52 PM
6,488 seater stadium, just sold their star player for £100.000.
Nothing to be ****tin ourselfs about, in fact sounds like $hell$ to me.

gheewhizz
24/06/2001, 2:49 PM
LTFC are checking out deals for the Lovech trip & they are hoping that the fans will be able to travel with the players;) That'll be so :cool: :cool: I'll let ye all know more details asap

Sinéad
24/06/2001, 5:39 PM
Travel with the players...........ok........Deep breaths.........in.......out.........in........out ..........:o

25/06/2001, 10:30 AM
I've heard that the holiday resorts are dirt cheap - was told around £300 for two weeks. Factor in bud at 25-30p and cigs no doubt **** all - you've a great holiday for £400 :cool:

25/06/2001, 10:39 AM
25-30p for Bud??? Thats it, taking a stash back home with me so.... :cool: Anyone know what the arrangements are, games on a Thursday so i heard, so will we back by the Saturday or wot?

JC_GUFC
25/06/2001, 2:45 PM
But Macy what will you do for your 1st round game if you're in Bulgaria for 3 weeks?! ;)

I know a UCD fan who made his own way to Bulgaria for the Intertoto game - I think he flew to Budapest (or maybe Prague) and then from there to Sofia and got a connecting bus. It seems as if it's very like Ireland in that the only busses/trains in the country either go to or come from Sofia - just like if you're trying to go from Longford to Athlone by train you have to go to Connolly station, get a connecting bus to Heuston and then get the Galway train to Athlone!

CU,
JC

25/06/2001, 3:06 PM
You could always get the bus from Longford to Athlone scumland - assuming the wheels aren't nicked when it's stopped in Athlone. Prob. see the damage of the club trip - not sure I can be arsed with the messing of trying to sort it meself.