View Full Version : Setanta Cup Tonight

chippie0001
20/03/2006, 7:42 PM
For anyone watching, can anyone tell me what the Linfield player was sent off for as I am baffled. Have no idea what he did to merit a yellow let alone a red. Always disliked both Kelly and that midget linesman but even for them it was a crazy decision.

Philo
20/03/2006, 7:48 PM
Because the taxman takes Setanta vouchers?

Roverstillidie
20/03/2006, 7:51 PM
come on out of that. he gave him a kick to retaliate. silly boy

chippie0001
20/03/2006, 7:55 PM
But did he, he looked to me as he squared up, didn't see a kick at all. Will look again at HT. But what about Crawley, did he not kick as well?

chippie0001
20/03/2006, 7:58 PM
Watched it again and for the life of me I can see no kick at all. No one understands the sending off.

Roverstillidie
20/03/2006, 8:02 PM
Watched it again and for the life of me I can see no kick at all. No one understands the sending off.

i can. he retaliated. i will concede crawley should have gone too.

hoopy
20/03/2006, 8:12 PM
For anyone watching, can anyone tell me what the Linfield player was sent off for as I am baffled.

Kelly's a fool, that's why. But hey, he's done what he set out to do, ie be the centre of attention

20/03/2006, 8:26 PM
Jason Byrne is pure rubbish! Glen Crowe is a far superior player.

The sending off was harsh but it must have looked like retaliation to the assistant ref. as he was right there when it happened. Crawley should get punished for his involvement. There would be a riot if he scored the winner. Not a bad game though.

Shedender
20/03/2006, 8:43 PM
hawkins has been sent off now as well

20/03/2006, 8:48 PM
Glens 1-0 Derry (RES)

20/03/2006, 8:48 PM
And Hargan for Derry too. Also two lads for Drogs v Cork, O'Donovan v Dungannon and Glenn Ferguson v Glentoran taking it to 7 so far for the cup or have I forgotten any? There seemed to be a few last season too.

20/03/2006, 9:01 PM
hawkins has been sent off now as well

Anyone else think hawkins meant the stamp??

Btw couldn't belive the linfield chap got sent off :eek:

Shedender
20/03/2006, 9:01 PM
all over in the shels match, this opens up the group, the so-called whipping boys
glentoran are well back in it now

20/03/2006, 9:02 PM
Yip only 2 points separatin' the entire group :o

20/03/2006, 9:27 PM
Shels had some serious attacking options tonight but couldn't score for love nor money. The potential in their squad is huge but they're just not getting it together. Any chance they'll never get it together? I fear they'll click and tear through the league.

Why was Gault holding his head when Hawkins stood on his lower back???

sullanefc
20/03/2006, 9:51 PM
Anyone else think hawkins meant the stamp??

Btw couldn't belive the linfield chap got sent off :eek:

Yes and yes. Crawley and Hawkins are thugs.:mad:

sullanefc
20/03/2006, 9:53 PM

Well I'm sure his neck wasn't the best after it. Big impact on his upper back made his head go backwards, which I'm sure was painful. Hawkins knew what he was doing.

CharlesThompson
20/03/2006, 10:00 PM
Hawkins knew what he was doing. McAreavy was pure unlucky to get sent off. Not surprised by either decision. Alan Kelly is a useless f@ck€r and that linesman is not far behind him.

20/03/2006, 10:00 PM
Hawkins knew what he was doing.

Never knew Hawkins to have a nasty streak. He's competitive and physical but is he cynical???

iceman
20/03/2006, 10:01 PM
It has to be said again - the standard of referreeing here is diabolical. While clubs are doing their best to bring a level of professionalism into the game , their effort is being ruined by incompetent officials. Maybe the time has come for full-time referees to be introduced. We cant go on like this week after week.

sfc red
20/03/2006, 10:01 PM
Shels had some serious attacking options tonight but couldn't score for love nor money. The potential in their squad is huge but they're just not getting it together. Any chance they'll never get it together? I fear they'll click and tear through the league.

Peadar, that performance was improved tenfold on our last two. Crowe was outstanding again, our best player ATM. We did everything but score, but at least we look like clicking now.

20/03/2006, 10:06 PM
Peadar, that performance was improved tenfold on our last two.

I agree, but you've got to start scoring.
Ryan did well and Rogers was solid, which was important to your team performance. The group is very interesting now.

sfc red
20/03/2006, 10:19 PM
Very true Peadar, why poor Gary O'Neill is being ignored I don't know. Thought Cahill had a very good game, starting to regain some confidence. Ryan and Crowe our best 2 players so far this season. Crawford was missed when he came off, Reynolds was poor. Joey can be frustrating at times, he has the potential to do so much more. Rogers very solid too.

David
21/03/2006, 7:50 AM
To say that we feel hard done by with some of the decisions in this competition is a major understatement. We had a ridiculous penalty given against us when playing the Glens and another very harsh sending off in that game which deprived us of a key player last week (not that it mattered). David McKeon who refereed that game is quite simply the most blatantly biased referee that I have ever witnessed. We got very little given to us in our home game with Derry and then last night we had to play a large chunk of the match a man down after a quite ridiculous sending off. Despite all this we still top the group after an absolutely heroic performance by our team last night and what other team could bring those sort of numbers for an away group game on a Monday night?

The Sheliban
21/03/2006, 8:07 AM
Couldn't see what happened for the first sending off. Thought Hawkins deserved to walk for the second. He does have a bit of retribution in his make-up - I remember him walking for headbutting Robbie Doyle too. This kind of petty stuff needs to be stamped out (excuse the pun)
While I thought we bossed the game. even before the sending off, our inability to score is worrying. Three games now. Jason was muck. You can say we were unlucky, but if you can't score, you won't win.
Incidentally, I saw nothing 'heroic' about Linfield's performance last night. They simply brought Ferguson back in defence, and played for a draw. And Gault seemed to stay down after every slight challenge.

stickyjoe
21/03/2006, 8:08 AM
Ridiculous sending off last night for the Linfield lad. Haven`t seen the Hawkins incident again, should he have gone? Not all decisions have gone against you, what about the elbow on delaney last week for the 2nd goal? All these incidents just show up the standard of refereeing, I wouldn`t call them biased just inept.

Great numbers from Linfield last night and hopefully there wasn`t any trouble. Seemed as if it was going to kick off at the front of their section of fans at one stage in the first half. Talking to a few of the Linfield crowd before the game and they were sound enough but WTF are the Bobby Sands songs about.......has nothing to do with the football and really ****es me off listening to ****e like that at matches

Lux Interior
21/03/2006, 8:16 AM
To say that we feel hard done by with some of the decisions in this competition is a major understatement. We had a ridiculous penalty given against us when playing the Glens and another very harsh sending off in that game which deprived us of a key player last week (not that it mattered). David McKeon who refereed that game is quite simply the most blatantly biased referee that I have ever witnessed. We got very little given to us in our home game with Derry and then last night we had to play a large chunk of the match a man down after a quite ridiculous sending off. Despite all this we still top the group after an absolutely heroic performance by our team last night and what other team could bring those sort of numbers for an away group game on a Monday night?

FFS, there is NO conspiracy!!

PS: a team that just wins the title will always turn out in numbers - as I seem to recall our lot down on a Monday night in Longford last year.

And it's easier to get to Dublin:p

CharlesThompson
21/03/2006, 8:24 AM
Plus they have more fans...

21/03/2006, 8:44 AM
Fenlon said before the match that they had been out-fought last week. Clearly, he sent out his troops to do some kicking, and they did, just as they've done before.
Disgracefully weak, inept refereeing. Cawley should have walked. Hawkins' cowardly stamp was deliberate and disgusting, and there were a series of other incidents where Kelly failed to act.
Is there no mechanism to follow-up on violent conduct, or is this cheating to be rewarded?

21/03/2006, 8:55 AM
David McKeon who refereed that game is quite simply the most blatantly biased referee that I have ever witnessed.

David, I can assure you that Dave McKeon isn't at all biased. He's quite simply a very poor referee. That said, we've seen some very poor refereeing up north as well. In our first game against Ports, there wasn't a single bad tackle or any bad undertones, yet 4 of our players were booked. That was just plain ridiculous!

David
21/03/2006, 8:59 AM
David, I can assure you that Dave McKeon isn't at all biased. He's quite simply a very poor referee. That said, we've seen some very poor refereeing up north as well. In our first game against Ports, there wasn't a single bad tackle or any bad undertones, yet 4 of our players were booked. That was just plain ridiculous!

It certainly seems that referees are very quick with cards in this competition. The number of suspensions we have had is incredible. We were missing three last week against Shels and one last night against them and unless the red card from last night is rescinded then another one next week against Derry. In domestic competitions I think I am right in saying that we have no had a player sent off this season yet that is now two in four games in this competition.

21/03/2006, 11:12 AM
I think the Linfield player went over to the shels player to show the ref how unhappy he was with the challenge & also wanted to highlight how he wasn't retaliating, Strictly speaking pulling your leg back shows intent but he never attempted to kick Crawley & some common sense show have been shown by the assistant - i think Kelly took his word for it as did not see himself.

Hawkins clearly stamped on Gault & definitely deserved red card.

BohsFans
21/03/2006, 11:36 AM

Take the goggles off for a sec. Ferguson deserved to get sent off in that match, get over it :rolleyes:

David
21/03/2006, 11:45 AM
Take the goggles off for a sec. Ferguson deserved to get sent off in that match, get over it :rolleyes:

The camera angle was very poor and made it look worse than what it was, it was never a red card and worse challenges were let go. Ferguson was fouled and then stuck his leg out to block the Glentoran player getting to the ball. If that is a red card, we will end up with 5 a side matches.

David
21/03/2006, 11:46 AM
Just to point out by the way that we have actually had a player sent off other than in the Setanta Cup contrary to what I said earlier. McAreavey was sent off a few times recently and deservedly so.

21/03/2006, 12:24 PM
"Southern Agenda" eh David:rolleyes:

Courteney was brock for both sides at the Oval last night so get over yourself.......

21/03/2006, 12:27 PM
I think Shels have big problems on the pitch. Last night's performance was not good enough. I did not think they were going to score. I can't believe it is the same team that tore the Glens to shreds.

Linfield deserved their point for their organisation at the back and for their fighting spirit but the game was there for Shels to win it. Linfield offered nothing in attack and even balls cleared out of defence never stuck to Thompson. This meant Shels monopolised possession yet failed to open up Linfield.

Shels have the best squad in the league by a mile - on the island too I reckon yet they don't have the best team.

The Linfield sending off was a terrible decision but a point seemed to be the limit of their ambitions last night even before that.

Great atmosphere btw and great away support. Nice that there was no racism or sectarian chanting either (or at least none that i heard).

The group is heading for a really tight finish and impossible to call at this stage.

Really tempted to go to Derry now next Monday - should be an absolute cracker.

Tenebrous Soul
21/03/2006, 1:24 PM
FFS, there is NO conspiracy!!

PS: a team that just wins the title will always turn out in numbers - as I seem to recall our lot down on a Monday night in Longford last year.

And it's easier to get to Dublin:p

Agreed.
There is NO conspiracy. No Linfield fans really believe that crap.
There's just inept refs North and South and this applies to ALL teams.

You won the league last year yes, but still never brought any more fans to Longford than we did.

Tenebrous Soul
21/03/2006, 1:34 PM
FFS all the way down to Dublin and I managed to miss the most talked about point in the game (Mackers sending off)
At the toilet!
So can't comment on it at all.

As for the game. Shels bossed the game to be fair and after Mackers sending off with us having to drop Spike (Ferguson) back into midfield thus playing Peter Thompson up front on his own, really the best we could hope for was a draw. This we achieved with each and every Linfield player putting in a tremendous shift.
All in all we came to Dublin happy and left Dublin happy enough.

As for our fans, personally I thought they were absolutely magnificent. Great vocal encouragement the entire game.
We were our 11th man this time. ;)

Great win for the Glens against Derry in the other game. This group is going to the wire.

"Come on ye Blues"

21/03/2006, 4:32 PM
Linfield looked really up for the game & seemed to disprove my thoughts that IL team dodgy in defense. I agree that shels never looked like scoring. Shels have some of the best players in the league but unable to put them into a winning team... 3 goals without scoring. Only scored in 2 of 6 games so far this season...

21/03/2006, 5:25 PM
The game was just repeated on Setanta - the sending off for Linfield was a joke, maybe a yellow for Creepy and Mackers would have been alot fairer!

As for the performance, I thought Shels played brilliantly and the Barrel looked amazing! Has he lost weight - he looks like he has! I think neiler should start instead of Bryne for the trip to the Stains on Friday!

Tenebrous Soul
21/03/2006, 5:38 PM
:eek: :confused:

Just seen the Mackers sending off incident myself for the first time.
Fecking Hell!!!!

So, the rest of the mates down at the game last night who I talked to were right.
Joke decision.

ccfcgirl
21/03/2006, 9:26 PM
Cork City Beat Portadown 3-1 .Billy ,o.g (or Behan)and George were the scorers for City.

BleusAvantTout
21/03/2006, 9:51 PM
The Mackers sending off last night was an absolute disgrace........and there was me thinking (last season in the All Ireland Championship) that Kelly was a good ref! :mad:

After seeing referees, both North and South, in the Setanta this season I have to say - to use the well worn cliche - that they are consistant!

All bad - and bad, week in, week out!

21/03/2006, 9:53 PM
What I can't believe is that no-one was sent off tonight :eek:

JW.
22/03/2006, 12:36 PM
I'd be interested to hear particularly Blues fans' opinion on this: are there two Linfield teams this season? One which plays Shels, and one which plays every other team?
Even going back to last season, I remember ye going to Longford and looking very ordinary. Against Derry this season, ye were quite obviously the second-best team at Windsor (perhaps fatigued) and then couldn't beat Glentoran away from home.
Yet in three games against Shels, 2 of them at Tolka, ye've won twice and drawn once, playing like as if your players were possessed.
Accordingly, I can see Derry beating ye next week - but perhaps I'll be proved wrong by Linfield yet again.
As for Shels, there's something not right. The body language of the players suggests a lack of character and cohesion. Byrne was very petulant after being taken off the last night - chucking the jacket given to him on the ground - after a truly awful performance. There are two problems with Crowe and Byrne: (a) they're total confidence players; (b) they're both goalscorers. I don't think ye'll win the league with them.

Tenebrous Soul
22/03/2006, 1:45 PM
No mate.
Just the one Linfield team.
And as for playing against the "other teams", ask them, because none of them have managed to beat us either so far this season.
No matter how good, bad or indifferent we've played. ;)

JW.
22/03/2006, 2:07 PM
No mate.
Just the one Linfield team.
And as for playing against the "other teams", ask them, because none of them have managed to beat us either so far this season.
No matter how good, bad or indifferent we've played. ;)
In fairness, look at Group 1 of the Setanta Cup, in which the 2nd- and 4th-best Irish League teams are, and it says a good bit about the quality of the Irish League below Linfield.
Ye've some character, I'll give you that!:)

Speranza
22/03/2006, 3:15 PM
Leaving the agenda tripe aside....we were awful against Glentoran and would need to step up big time for our next few matches.

Ken Oman however was fantastic and has been a total rock since signing from Bohs. Put in quality preformances every single match. Cheers Bohs (again)

football fan
23/03/2006, 8:36 AM
Have Heard from a realiable source within the referees circle that it was Kellys decision and his decision alone to send off the Linfield Player. The linesman had Nothing to do with it. Will keep the board posted if I hear anything else. Interesting to know what they spoke about??