View Full Version : New match day regulations

17/03/2006, 8:25 PM
Sligo Rovers FC have announced a number of new regulations which will be in operation for the 2006 Eircom league season. Due to E.U.F.A. licensing guidelines, all gates at the Showgrounds will be shut 5 minutes before half time during all matches. As a result of new regulations on crowd segregation, anyone leaving the ground before the end of a match will not be able to gain re admission.
The club have also announced that due to ongoing works at the Showgrounds, no parking will be allowed inside the ground with the exception of Disabled drivers who have the proper accreditation. Disabled drivers who wish to avail of this facility must be inside the ground by 6.15pm on match days.
Fans are also asked to please note that the turnstiles will be open from 6pm this Saturday evening for the opening game of the season against Bohemians. A large crowd is expected and fans are encouraged to arrive early.
The game kicks off at 7.30pm.

http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimsport.php?articleid=000001037

On a side note, anyone know are Ocean covering all away games aswell as home this season? Hopefully they'll do the Derry game anyway cos I wont get to it:o.

MervilleUnited
17/03/2006, 9:23 PM
The Death Knell for that old treat, the rushed half time pint in Mooneys:eek:

Sad Days:mad:

17/03/2006, 9:57 PM
does this mean no centra?? oh no... what will we do?

18/03/2006, 9:07 AM
Centra might not be so happy about this.....dont they sponsor Rovers.
If there is nobody allowed over at half time they may not be so generous with there sponsorship in future

18/03/2006, 10:33 AM
yeah....thats what i thought! they will lose a load of money over this! at half time previous year they would have taken in around E1000+ in just 15 minutes!

18/03/2006, 10:37 AM
dont think it will last

clearly the club are trying to get more money for their own shop so you cant blame them for that.....

18/03/2006, 10:58 AM
ya but if that is the reason they will need at least another shop or make the other ones bigger.

18/03/2006, 5:31 PM
rovers shop is crap! no soup anymore....used to be class in that massive place years ago at half time wen ya could get soup! it was too hot tho sometimes!!! lol

Guts&Glory
21/03/2006, 2:10 PM
Jesus the memories alright, peeing out of the heavens at half time scalding your mouth on cup o soup, holes in the shed shop dripping in, Johnny Chada behind the counter, Bomber Savage on the pitch.....the happy times of following Rovers when I was a kid!!!

Bravo
21/03/2006, 3:28 PM
Apparently it’s to stop opposing fans mixing at half time. For the last 12 years I have went to Harloes/ Mooneys at half time & never seen a riot.
Me Bolix UEFA, like UEFA closed the shed two years ago!!!! keep the people in side to spend their money. (IMO)

21/03/2006, 3:31 PM
i felt like a prisoner saturday!!

21/03/2006, 3:54 PM
if u have a season ticket surely u could leave the ground at half time

roversforever
21/03/2006, 4:50 PM
its a balls!some of us sometimes can only make it up for the second half cos of work commitments. we still always paid full price to get in so what's the problem?i don't think the club should be turning away loyal customers who have been going to rovers games for years just because they cannot get there until half time.

ali2005
21/03/2006, 5:32 PM
I think its a disgrace. Centra will be raging

21/03/2006, 9:17 PM
my father was away on saturday nite nd could only come at half time. he shouted to a steward the other side to let him in.....steward said he cant because the gates are locked!! so he rang my uncle who was in the stand.... he had 2 leave his seat, go 2 the office and get someone to open the gates to let him in! so then he was let into the ground by the steward that said b4 he cant come in! this is no way to treat a season ticket holder for the past 15 or so years!!!

Bravo
22/03/2006, 11:53 AM
As a result of new regulations on crowd segregation, anyone leaving the ground before the end of a match will not be able to gain re admission.
http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimsport.php?articleid=000001037

On a side note, anyone know are Ocean covering all away games aswell as home this season? Hopefully they'll do the Derry game anyway cos I wont get to it:o.
According to this you are not entitled to re-admission! So new comers should have no problem been admitted.

Redzer
22/03/2006, 12:15 PM
I think its a disgrace. Centra will be raging
Whats wrong with going to Centra BEFORE the match, and load up with enough goodies to last for all of 90 minutes?

Guts&Glory
22/03/2006, 1:13 PM
Your dead right Redzer....jeez what age ye all , surely ye can last 90minutes without another MArs bar!!

As Redzer said its not rocket science buy the goodies pre game.

As for a pint at half time, that usually meant lads leaving 5 minutes before half time and coming back 5-10 after the second half started..........true supporters???????

roversforever
22/03/2006, 3:23 PM
i don't have a problem with people not being allowed to leave once they go in. my problem is with the fact that people who can only make it to the ground at half time are not allowed in.

22/03/2006, 4:19 PM
that's a loada ring if u can't get in at half time. if that ever happened me I wouldn't be too pleased. sum of the ppl involved with the club are thick as f*ck

roversforever
04/04/2006, 9:47 AM
sorry to bring this up again lads but i feel something needs to be done about it.the regulations say that the gates will close 5mins before half time but last weekend they were closed at 5 past 8 which is at least ten minutes before half time. there was a group of us left standing outside and we had to after rattling the gates and stuff they eventually let us in. they were on the other side of the gate and we actually had to put our point across by shouting in to them.in fairness they did let us in in the end. its a stupid rule in the first place, that needs to be done away with but if they are going to insist on implementing it then at least don't close them until five minutes before half time.

akearins
04/04/2006, 10:21 AM
The problem with locking teh agtes and all this UEFA licensing is that ther is no consistency in implementation.We went to Derry and lads were allowed in and out at half time, UCD leave their gates open after half time to allow fans in and I was told in Cork last year at the cup game lads were allowed leave and come back.the FAI license is available on the Fai website and i have read it quite a few times and cannot see any stipulation that stated spectators cannot leave and return to teh game (maybe its ther but I cannot see it so if anyone find it let me know) it does atte specattors cannnot move form one side of te ground to another without permission, but tahts the closest reference to specactor movement I can find.Ridiculous taht fans have to battle to get in after a certain time when someone is on the gate.
If ypu read teh FAI license you will notice there are 3 catergories UEFA, Premier and First Div.There is little difference betwen them but at no point does it say that you are allowed leave the ground and return at half time WHEN in the first division, as we wer allowed to do last season, and not in the Premier.Certain criteria are being hammered home while others are arent.

roversforever
04/04/2006, 12:02 PM
i don't have any problem at all with the rule about people not being allowed to leave the ground once they get in.its the fact that there are people who cannot get to the ground until near half time because of work and when we get there we can't get in.we knew the gates were closing five minutes before half time so this week we actually left work early and were there just after 8(5 past at the latest) and the gates were already closed.we are talking about people that have been supporting sligo rovers for years here and i just think its a ridiculous situation.

04/04/2006, 12:48 PM
Does this happen at any other grounds? As far as I know it doesnt, so why only in Sligo? I would suggest someone to ring the office and ask why this is happening only in sligo? Im sure if they knew they were the only club missing out on " bums on seats" in this fashion they wouldnt be so tough on the ruling.

Guts&Glory
04/04/2006, 12:52 PM
I agree roversforever once people are in they can stay in we have food and drink (nonalcholoic of course!) aplenty inside the ground these days.

I cannot see why people still cant get in through the turnstiles / gate right up to the end of halftime break. After all its more revenue for the Clubs.

Geez if you can trek out of Old Trafford at HT to meet someone etc. and get back in, only thing you have to comply with is that you will be checked again by security when reentering, why is there such a problem in The Showgies?

Redzer
04/04/2006, 2:31 PM
Likewise, I can't understand why one turnstile can't be kept open, for the sake of late comers. Come on Rovers, cop on.:mad:

Red Army
04/04/2006, 7:45 PM
I heard the reason the gates are closed at HT is because the Gards don't want children crossing the road unescorted. Which was happening a lot last season. It's was only an accident waiting to happen

Bald Student
04/04/2006, 8:01 PM
I heard the reason the gates are closed at HT is because the Gards don't want children crossing the road unescorted. Which was happening a lot last season. It's was only an accident waiting to happenThen the solution is a steward or a guard to mind the children from the traffic. Anyway, that's a reason to not re-admit people, not a reason to refuse entry in the first place.

bomber82290
05/04/2006, 6:21 AM
There is a meeting on thursday nite in the showgrounds at 8 30 can carry this message if ye want for the next home game

bomber82290
07/04/2006, 3:28 AM
As a response from the meeting last nite. It was proposed that one turnstile be left open around half time to accomodate people ariving late.Main gate cant be used as per safety reason of traffic and children.People getting in and out at half time is for fan segregation.As the only way i could get in apart from over the wall at treacy avenue alleyway 27 years ago was at half time im glad they see the sense in this.

bomber82290
07/04/2006, 3:31 AM
Sorry was only seven and the wall was easy wouldnt like to try it now