View Full Version : Setanta Cup

Pages : 1 [2]

15/03/2006, 3:29 PM
I have to agree with one of the Drogs lads, if you say anything about Cork that isn't praise you get shouted down in this forum...it's getting rediculous.
This is precisely why Dublin is the capital city. :p

15/03/2006, 3:36 PM
...if you want hate to be your driving force then thats up to you but I would ask that you refrain from such hate driven abusive messages in future as quite simply it is uncalled for and hurtful.

Where's the hate???

You're clearly new to this game because you are blissfully unaware the massive national love-in, which is the eircom League.

Poor Drogheda fans (http://www.kevinmccaughey.com/photos/3%20girls%20crying-500.jpg). I'll try to be nice to you in future. :rolleyes:

if you say anything about Cork that isn't praise you get shouted down in this forum

Why don't you just shut up!
What do you know anyway! :p

Seriously though, I think what Pete was trying to say is that there seems to be a "what we have we hold" mentality in the City team at the moment. We've been keeping a lot of clean sheets though, so I'm not overly concerned.

Mr_T
15/03/2006, 3:53 PM
Originally Posted by Peadar
Now little man

..this says more about the pretentiousness and arrogance of the poster than it does insult the postee....imho.

15/03/2006, 4:10 PM
Having read this, i have to admit i really worry at times.

Lads, this started because Hoopy said "Drogheda were well on top in the Cross until the sendings off" and i disagreed. Am i not allowed to disagree ??

Peader, you probably should have noticed that people were that bit extra sensitive when you replied with "now little man", you should have picked your words more wisely.

ColinR ..... Cop on and act your age ffs ..... and stop trying to 'play by the rules', you're clearly trying to exercise them to your own benefit.

For the record, (i dont know if its been added yet or not but) that is/will be part of the rules now aswell, this 'play by the rules' 'look what hes doing to me' nonsense. This is a perfect example.

Lads ... grow up.

15/03/2006, 4:13 PM
Jayzuz lads what a load of cack.
Give it a break.

Personally loving the SC. Looks like another Drogs-City final to me if ye can beat Linfield.

15/03/2006, 4:16 PM
Did nobody else find this funny? Obviously not. Pete, ye make it sound like if Cork decide to beat someone 3 or 4-0 then thats what happens...there are TWO teams on a football pitch, the rest of us aren't here to make up numbers in the "Cork" league.

I have to agree with one of the Drogs lads, if you say anything about Cork that isn't praise you get shouted down in this forum...it's getting rediculous.

I actually cant make out if you are taking the píss or not, but if you're not then the answer is get over it, its not a play ground. Given the context and what is in bold in this quote it is laughable.

Lads, silly stuff like this is only making extra work. A small bit of common sense goes along way.

hoopy
15/03/2006, 4:23 PM
Have to apologise to the mods, I didn't mean to open the proverbial can of worms:eek:

15/03/2006, 4:32 PM
Have to apologise to the mods, I didn't mean to open the proverbial can of worms:eek:

Ha ha !! :) ... no worries.

CuanaD
15/03/2006, 4:56 PM
calling the kettle a pot I assume.

No, I get it now - its Mr Black & Mr Kettle, they are both PARANOID from too much POT!

Back to this:ball:
I'm really enjoying the Setanta Cup & the coverage is the best we see in Ireland IMO
Still think it would be a good idea to have a seperate Setanta Forum too

15/03/2006, 5:15 PM
I actually cant make out if you are taking the píss or not, but if you're not then the answer is get over it, its not a play ground. Given the context and what is in bold in this quote it is laughable.

Thats MY opinion a face, so do as you say.

About the cup. DCFC v Drogs in the final. Cork will buckle if faced with a sterner challenge from a full strength Drogs, Derry, Linfield or Shels (if they hit form). However Shels are blowin' hot and cold so I reckon Derry and Linfield will make the final four along with Cork and Drogs. But its gonna be a really tight affair come the final four.

15/03/2006, 5:19 PM
DCFC v Drogs in the final. Cork will buckle if faced with a sterner challenge from a full strength Drogs, Derry, Linfield or Shels...

Just like we did in the league last season??? :D
You boys think that losing Kearney suddenly made us a bad side?
Check out the tapes of his games for Shels. We made Kearney look good.

15/03/2006, 5:30 PM
Losing Kearney doesn't make you a bad side but losing Kearney, Doyle and O'Halloran makes your squad weaker than it was this time last season.

15/03/2006, 5:53 PM
Just like we did in the league last season??? :D
You boys think that losing Kearney suddenly made us a bad side?
Check out the tapes of his games for Shels. We made Kearney look good.

I don't recall mentioning Kearney...but anyway. I don't think anyones been overly impressed by Cork in their 5 competitive games this year so far. I'm not saying they're worse than last year but yis definitely stood still while everyone else strived for improvement - and I believe that Cork might well regret that.

15/03/2006, 6:31 PM
Thats MY opinion a face, so do as you say.

About the cup. DCFC v Drogs in the final. Cork will buckle if faced with a sterner challenge from a full strength Drogs, Derry, Linfield or Shels (if they hit form). However Shels are blowin' hot and cold so I reckon Derry and Linfield will make the final four along with Cork and Drogs. But its gonna be a really tight affair come the final four.

If drogs keep scoring then they will be hard to defeat as they are strong defensively(although still think Connor is a bit dodgy).

Am confident though that City can up it when the time comes against Linfield or Derry(shels arent looking good at the mo).

Hopefully winning the group and playing at the cross will also give us an edge. Would like to see a Cork City vs Linfield final but a derry game is always a good laugh too.

15/03/2006, 7:56 PM
a derry game is always a good laugh too.

Yeah, the last one was a scream !! :p

Its actually in Citys interest if people think we're not up to it. I'd hope we are underdogs all year long.

15/03/2006, 8:25 PM
Yeah, the last one was a scream !! :p .
Ya, i nearly ****ed myself that night.:D

Its actually in Citys interest if people think we're not up to it. I'd hope we are underdogs all year long.
Exactly. We haven't impressed anyone at all, we look dodgy in closing out games , miss Kearney etc etc.
What harm?
We're through to the Setanta and won our first league match.
I think everyone would rather be in that position.
Fine, we look fecked for depth. Softic, Lally and maybe Guthrie need to be blooded soon as they most definitely will be required sooner or later.
McNulty could do with practise too.
We already know that Lordan has something to offer and what Billy can do, like him or not.
Colin T is looking very well, Fenn or Behan is going to have to sit on the bench and we should have Vinny Sullivan for the Portadown match.
So, as long as what's in bold is done, we'll be as good as last year.
Its not as if we need every young fella to come through.

16/03/2006, 6:52 AM
Young Mc Nulty needs to learn to keep his cool. Saw him play in Belfield and he was yellow and red carded in the game.

16/03/2006, 7:32 AM
Its not as if we need every young fella to come through.

McCarthy and Connell seem to have something to offer as well.
The League Cup might be handy to give them a run out.

lofty9
16/03/2006, 8:23 AM
Ya, i nearly ****ed myself that night.:D

Lets see you really **** yourself when you forfeit home advantage in the league and you play at the Brandywell twice this season.

16/03/2006, 10:28 AM
Lets see you really **** yourself when you forfeit home advantage in the league and you play at the Brandywell twice this season.

You guys are making such a big deal out of home advantage.
We had far more trips to Dublin last year, and that to us is a lot more difficult than two trips to Derry. This year, we have Shels at home twice along with Bohs and Waterford. That's a clear advantage for us.

Aaron
16/03/2006, 10:45 AM
Cork fans need to accept once and for all derry and shels are the two main contenders for the title. Its clear to see derry have made an impressive start AGAIN this year and altho shels havnt they wont make the same mistakes as last year. Shels and Derry and good quality and cover throughout the side as well as quality first elevens.:D :p

16/03/2006, 11:40 AM
Setanta announce further coverage

Irish satellite broadcaster Setanta Sports has confirmed two more Setanta Sports Cup matches to be broadcast live on the channel in the coming weeks. Next Tuesday, March 21st, the Setanta cameras will be at Stangmore Park as Dungannon Swifts host Drogheda United (kick-off 8pm).

Dungannon have taken just one point from their four games to date to lie bottom of Group 1, but Drogheda are well-placed to follow Cork City into the last four – a win in south Tyrone will seal their place in the knock-out stages.

Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/setantacup/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=21602)

16/03/2006, 11:46 AM
Cork fans need to accept once and for all derry and shels are the two main contenders for the title. Its clear to see derry have made an impressive start AGAIN this year and altho shels havnt they wont make the same mistakes as last year. Shels and Derry and good quality and cover throughout the side as well as quality first elevens.

Ha ha !! :p :) :D

16/03/2006, 11:50 AM
...derry and shels are the two main contenders for the title.

Don't you mean the club formerly trading as Shelbourne FC? :D

daveh
16/03/2006, 11:55 AM
Cork fans need to accept once and for all derry and shels are the two main contenders for the title. Its clear to see derry have made an impressive start AGAIN this year and altho shels havnt they wont make the same mistakes as last year. Shels and Derry and good quality and cover throughout the side as well as quality first elevens.:D :p

hmmmmmmm.........The league champions arent even in the top 2 contenders in a 12 team league??

Im not complaining if thats the way people see it, write us off all ye want,all I know is that we havent been playing anywhere near our best and so far this season we've played 5, won 4 and drew 1, I'll take that:)

16/03/2006, 12:08 PM
Was about to lose my marbles there til i noticed your smilies.
Oh how much City yearn for Delaney,Ollie, Hawkins, Greg and Crawford to be in our first eleven.:)

16/03/2006, 12:55 PM
Irish satellite broadcaster Setanta Sports has confirmed two more Setanta Sports Cup matches to be broadcast live on the channel in the coming weeks. Next Tuesday, March 21st, the Setanta cameras will be at Stangmore Park as Dungannon Swifts host Drogheda United (kick-off 8pm).

Do they have something against Portadown?:confused: No disrespect to Dungannon, but how can they be shown 3 times and Glens and Portadown have yet to be shown?:confused:

16/03/2006, 12:57 PM
Actually here's a reply they sent me to an e-mail I sent them on Monday.

Dear ________,

Thank you for your recent email and feedback regarding our Setanta Sports Cup coverage. Your comments are noted. I am sorry that we have as yet not shown a live game involving Glentoran in the competition and that you feel we are not sharing the coverage around equally. Unfortunately, Glentoran as I say, and Portadown have both been without a live game so far in the competition. As I’m sure you can understand, editorially, we try and pick the best game of the night to show, and apart from the night of the Derry V Shelbourne 0-0 when Glentoran and Linfield drew 3-3, I think we have fared pretty well.

I would say thought that all the games are very important to us which is why we have cameras at the night’s other game each time. And while Cork may be one of the best supported and highest profile teams in the competition, we are not showing them in the live game next Tuesday deciding instead to show Dungannopn V Drogheda.

We have not picked the live game past the 27th of Marc, so on the last Group 2 night on April 3rd, Glentoran’s visit to Windsor Park may well be the live game, depending of course on the state of the group going into those fixtures.

Once again, thank you for taking the trouble to contact us and I hope you will be able to enjoy the rest of our coverage of the competition over the next few weeks.

Kind regards,

Tim Tuomey

Football Editor, Setanta Sports Channel

Ph: (00 353) 1 474 4934

Mobile: (00 353) 87 231 4163

16/03/2006, 4:08 PM
You guys are making such a big deal out of home advantage.
We had far more trips to Dublin last year, and that to us is a lot more difficult than two trips to Derry. This year, we have Shels at home twice along with Bohs and Waterford. That's a clear advantage for us.

Far more? Are ye serious? Cork played 8 games in in Dublin, we played 7 in Dublin. So if ONE game more is your definition of FAR more...well I'd say your grasping at straws.

Oh and last year - your away record was better than your home record ;)

daveh
16/03/2006, 5:59 PM
Far more? Are ye serious? Cork played 8 games in in Dublin, we played 7 in Dublin. So if ONE game more is your definition of FAR more...well I'd say your grasping at straws.

Oh and last year - your away record was better than your home record ;)

It doesnt matter how many times we played away from home or at home, or who the opposition was,the fact is WE won the league so this argument about us playing ye at home twice giving us an advantage is total crap

dancinpants,i dont know if this is true or not,but some of your recent posts lead me to believe that your bitter about us winning the league or something. If your posts are 100% your view of things fair enough but to me it does sound like they're influenced by bitterness

16/03/2006, 6:28 PM
It doesnt matter how many times we played away from home or at home, or who the opposition was,the fact is WE won the league so this argument about us playing ye at home twice giving us an advantage is total crap

You are correct, you won the league and its done and dusted. I didn't bring up the home/away advantage thing. I merely corrected Peaders wild assertion that you had a more difficult league campaign. On a side note, if you discount the 3 games that Derry and Cork played - we had 69 points ye had 68 points. And in such a close title race of course people are going to look back at that fact and say Cork had that advantage of having us at home twice - especially knowing that on your one visit to the Brandy you got spanked. So don't try and tell me that if you were in our position you wouldn't say "****, I wish we had them at home twice". But as I said earlier its all hindsight, and not worth dwelling on.

dancinpants,i dont know if this is true or not,but some of your recent posts lead me to believe that your bitter about us winning the league or something. If your posts are 100% your view of things fair enough but to me it does sound like they're influenced by bitterness

dave, I aint bitter at all, ye beat us fairly and squarely at the Cross on the final day...if we had been robbed of course I'd have been bitter, but we weren't and the best team on the day won and got the big prize. But what ANNOYS the sh#t clean out of me though is certain Cork fans making out your title winning campaign to be some world beating season - ye won it by 2 points FFS!! Ye were the best team in the country last year, but not by as much as you make out. RANT OVER

Shelsman
23/03/2006, 12:52 PM
Lads is anyone fed up with Felix Healy? I mean he keeps knocking the teams from the North ( which is justified most of the time, particularly in the Cork Group ) but he hasn't given any credit to Linfield -he justs says they are fit players and you expect that from Linfield.

I thought Linfield have played some great football so far, particularly in Tolka. They look a class act and truly the best game ( goals aside ) in the competition so far, was between these two ( most classiest sides on the Island ) in Tolka. The standard of football was excellent. Wait for all the Cork Biys to start spitting venom coz I excluded them :D -oh well!. As a consolation, I'll say that the top three sides on the Island are Shels, Linfield and Cork -in no particular order.

It just goes to show the standard of football that could be expected from an all-Island/Ireland league. Linfield would force the other clubs to raise their standard as they would be major candidates for the league title each year.

23/03/2006, 1:16 PM
was between these two ( most classiest sides on the Island ) in Tolka. .
:D :D Hilarious! Shels may have a stronger squad than City but when it comes to the First XI City, Derry and soon Drogs are a step up. Class?
Crawley?
Greg?
Crawford?
Hawkins? Ha.

Wait for all the Cork Biys to start spitting venom coz I excluded them -oh well!. .
Wow, prophetic. :rolleyes:

It just goes to show the standard of football that could be expected from an all-Island/Ireland league. Linfield would force the other clubs to raise their standard as they would be major candidates for the league title each year.
Exactly. Not only that, but Ports, Glens and Linfield have much better support than most eL clubs.

stickyjoe
23/03/2006, 1:38 PM
Exactly. Not only that, but Ports, Glens and Linfield have much better support than most eL clubs.

Glens and Linfield yes great support but Portadowns support has been woeful from what I seen on the telly. Never made it up last year but heard it was very poor

sfc red
23/03/2006, 1:44 PM
:D :D Hilarious! Shels may have a stronger squad than City but when it comes to the First XI City, Derry and soon Drogs are a step up. Class?
Crawley?
Greg?
Crawford?
Hawkins? Ha.

Wow, prophetic. :rolleyes:

Hey whats your problem with Crawford. Most underrated player in the league. Very classy player.

23/03/2006, 2:04 PM
Best 3 sides on the island in no particular order are Linfield, Cork City & Derry City.

Shels have the squad but not the team & seem to be living on reputation this season.

I think Linfield are very good attacking but don't control the game enough. Cork City are the best footballing team on the Ireland, best defense but not direct enough in front of goal.

Derry City v Linfield should be a cracking match next week.

David
23/03/2006, 2:18 PM
Lads is anyone fed up with Felix Healy? I mean he keeps knocking the teams from the North ( which is justified most of the time, particularly in the Cork Group ) but he hasn't given any credit to Linfield -he justs says they are fit players and you expect that from Linfield.

I thought Linfield have played some great football so far, particularly in Tolka. They look a class act and truly the best game ( goals aside ) in the competition so far, was between these two ( most classiest sides on the Island ) in Tolka. The standard of football was excellent. Wait for all the Cork Biys to start spitting venom coz I excluded them :D -oh well!. As a consolation, I'll say that the top three sides on the Island are Shels, Linfield and Cork -in no particular order.

Healy will never give us much credit, he has detested us since his playing days with Coleraine.

23/03/2006, 7:09 PM
Well Linfield's Mc Areavey should not have been sent off the other night.
Crawley should have got a red card for his two-footed assault on him!

Speranza
23/03/2006, 10:35 PM
David, Healy has a problem with everyone. IL fans seem to think he has a bias toward us but the opposite is true. He was actually involved in a fight with a group of City fans before our last derby with the bogmen when he was manager. He hates us as much as we do him.

Shelsman
24/03/2006, 1:04 PM
Best 3 sides on the island in no particular order are Linfield, Cork City & Derry City..

Can't agree. Derry may be found out this year. Kenny is an outstanding manager getting exceptional results from average premier division players ( Paddy McCourt aside ). How long can Kenny hold them up?

Shels have the squad but not the team & seem to be living on reputation this season..

Something to do with the manager?

Derry City v Linfield should be a cracking match next week.

Have to agree. Fingers crossed there will be no off the unsavoury incidents before, during or after the match.

24/03/2006, 1:12 PM
Honest opinions
1) Who will be in the final?
2) Who will win it?

24/03/2006, 1:15 PM
1) Shels - Linfield :)
2) Linfield :mad: :rolleyes:

Celdrog
24/03/2006, 2:42 PM
Honest opinions
1) Who will be in the final?
2) Who will win it?

1) Drogs - Cork
2) Drogs - always win cup finals against Cork:)

24/03/2006, 2:53 PM
1) Drogs - Cork
2) Drogs - always win cup finals against Cork:)

Would be surprised if drogs made it tbh.

I think Derry, Shels or linfield would be too strong-depending of course on those teams upping their game to the way theyre capable of playing

Speranza
24/03/2006, 5:13 PM
I will judge or ability to progress on our preformance tonight. We have IMO the best squad in the league, $hels on their day have the best XI. We have been toothless in attack recently and Farren needs to pick it up a bit. He is a player who needs to get a goal, after one his confidence will be back but ATM it just isn't there.

As an aside.....only 1,500 at the X on Tuesday night according to many papers. What a joke!

25/03/2006, 9:34 AM
As an aside.....only 1,500 at the X on Tuesday night according to many papers. What a joke!

Best supporters in Ireland? Typically fickle methinks :D

25/03/2006, 11:02 AM
Ya, twas disappointing alright but its not that exciting when you're already through to the semi with two matches left and everyone knows you're going to steam-roller Portadown.:cool: :cool: