View Full Version : eL = an escape from football commercialism?

14/03/2006, 9:27 AM
Italian fans choose eL over Serie A polemics (http://www.threemonkeysonline.com/article_cork_city_fc_love_affair.htm)

A good article.
Not too sure how knowledgable the lads are while saying
"The decision to look further afield, away from Serie A, came at the end of the 2004-05 season when Bologna were controversially relegated to Serie B (despite the fact that at least two clubs in Serie A technically should have been relegated first, for accounting irregularities). Fed up with the politics and polemics that surround winning and losing in Serie A . . . . . . . "
I don't think the eL is totally immune from that sort of thing but other than that it's a good read.

Make ya feel thankful for the product we have.

14/03/2006, 9:35 AM

We had you mean. If the plans in motion for the new structure of the league come to the fore then the league will be anything but what they found romantic about it.

14/03/2006, 9:42 AM
Well, while professionalism flourishes, there is going to be cruel casualties such as Dublin City (UCD should prevail).

What you'd be proud of is the relationship between fans of clubs.
I don't see why that will change.
Also, the majority of chairmen are decent characters and to the most part, clubs are usually in the hands of supporters rather than dodgy politicians etc.

14/03/2006, 12:36 PM
Well, while professionalism flourishes, there is going to be cruel casualties such as Dublin City (UCD should prevail).
A nice thought, but ultimately naive.

From talking to various people in the know - both for and against; I don't see the need to name the people or their affiliations - as well as reading comments from the likes of Delaney in the papers, it would appear fairly clear cut at this stage that, if the proposal goes through, UCD and Dublin City will both get shafted (in fact, I've been more or less promised we will), Bray will probably get done and Longford and Waterford will probably be in trouble as well. Rovers, Dundalk, Galway and Limerick would be the main contenders to benefit. Any league which picks a Premier Division and subsequently decides on promotion and relegation by comparing the two clubs concerned (i.e. bottom of the Premier v top of the First) and grading them on history, crowds, facilities, geography, league position and potential is about as cynical as you can go in the commercialism stakes. It's also a disgrace that the FAI - whose remit is to look after the interests of all its members - are actually openly backing this plan to screw over some of its clubs. Anywhere else, the head of the organisation concerned would be forced to resign over blatant unconstitutional activity.

Bald Student
14/03/2006, 12:48 PM
What you'd be proud of is the relationship between fans of clubs.
I don't see why that will change.That's it exactly. You can go to a football match here, meet people you don't know, have a few pints and enjoy the game all in complete safety. That's something you can't do in a lot of foreign countries.

The argument about the game here going too commercial is a valid one but it shouldn't distract us from what a nice league we have.

14/03/2006, 12:50 PM
I don't doubt your sources pineapple but i'd have been convinced that Waterford would have been one of the one's to benefit seen as they're doing up the kip and all.
+
catchment area of a city
+
a sympathetic Mr.Delaney.

14/03/2006, 12:53 PM
Possibly. I'm going on the basis of poor ground and facilities (other clubs are improving their too), poor crowds, not a huge amount of history (OK, won a few titles in a row in the 60s and the Cup 25 years ago, but not much apart from that) and there's already a team in the broad south-east area (i.e. Cork). Longford may be more likely for the chop. The Delaney link could well be important, though was it Waterford who abstained from the vote last month in the end? With all the various reporting, I can't remember who was the fourth club.

Bald Student
14/03/2006, 12:56 PM
there's already a team in the broad south-east area (i.e. Cork).I hope you're not studying geography.

14/03/2006, 12:57 PM
Trying to see which set of fans takes more offence! :)

14/03/2006, 12:58 PM
That's it exactly. You can go to a football match here, meet people you don't know, have a few pints and enjoy the game all in complete safety. That's something you can't do in a lot of foreign countries.

The argument about the game here going too commercial is a valid one but it shouldn't distract us from what a nice league we have.

Here here, Bald Student. Forza Eircom League.
We don't know how lucky we are in some instances.
I take my little bro to some matches and has a great laugh singing songs without being exposed to any racist chanting etc. Sometimes he sits in Citys Family Enclosure. He gets to go on trips to Dublin, Waterford, Drogheda etc, has met most of the City first team whom he idolises and he's got the phone number of some Derry eleven year old young wan in his phone.
A content childhood.:)

hoops1
14/03/2006, 1:08 PM
Your last post on Waterford is absolute nonsense!
Talk to someone over the age of 10 about it you might learn something

14/03/2006, 1:14 PM
Your last post on Waterford is absolute nonsense!
Talk to someone over the age of 10 about it you might learn something
Oh well thanks. Superb contra argument there...:rolleyes:

Before this goes hopelessly off topic, by the way, Risteard's original point is obviously true and often overlooked, especially by barstoolers and the likes. Though you have to add in the craic of meeting up at Ireland away games as well and camping in a random field in the Faroe Islands with Harps, Galway, UCD and Sligo flags around the site!

Mental Man
14/03/2006, 9:15 PM
Have to agree with Hoop there about us and our club, look , no matter whos in charge of Found Another Imbecile cos if we dont have our act together then we dont stay in the premiere league, all this ****e of a sympathetic John Delaney is bull, are u seriously trying to say that he could over rule the licencing body of the EL to show a blind eye to our inadequacies within the club, if u believe that then ur a bigger fool than i thought u are!
A club that has its house in order deserves to stay in the premier league and thats it!

14/03/2006, 9:34 PM
If you've heard some of the things mooted about and talked to certain people you'd see there's enough ambiguous criteria and talk out there to include or exclude just about any club in a new set up.

14/03/2006, 9:56 PM
look , no matter whos in charge of Found Another Imbecile cos if we dont have our act together then we dont stay in the premiere league, all this ****e of a sympathetic John Delaney is bull, are u seriously trying to say that he could over rule the licencing body of the EL to show a blind eye to our inadequacies within the club, if u believe that then ur a bigger fool than i thought u are!
A club that has its house in order deserves to stay in the premier league and thats it!
As far as I can see, the criteria are just a screen-guard for the FAI/whoever is in with them to justify picking whatever Premier Division they want. The criteria are meaningless in reality. They'll just be pointed at if clubs cry foul.

14/03/2006, 10:18 PM
Well let's see if clubs without a ground are excluded,that would get rid of Dublin City and Shamrock Rovers in 2006 and in future seasons , if rumours are to be believed, could get rid of St.Pat's and Shels thus leaving Bohs, UCD and Bray Wanderers being the only clubs reachable by Dublin Bus :D

14/03/2006, 11:25 PM
Have to agree with Hoop there about us and our club, look , no matter whos in charge of Found Another Imbecile cos if we dont have our act together then we dont stay in the premiere league, all this ****e of a sympathetic John Delaney is bull, are u seriously trying to say that he could over rule the licencing body of the EL to show a blind eye to our inadequacies within the club, if u believe that then ur a bigger fool than i thought u are!
Jayz, relax there Mental Man.
By sympathetic i wasn't implying any corruption, just that he'd be a bit communicative with the blaaas, suggest to them what might be required etc.
Nothing untoward in that at all.

Just like there would have been nothing dodgy in him (and this is hearsay, may or may not have happened) getting involved in lobbying your City Council for the ground developments along with Minister Cullen (surely not??) and some City Councillors. Read before ya whinge Mental Man.

nd stp d hole txt langwich in d post sht

15/03/2006, 6:51 AM
Italian fans choose eL over Serie A polemics (http://www.threemonkeysonline.com/article_cork_city_fc_love_affair.htm)

A good article.
Not too sure how knowledgable the lads are while saying
"The decision to look further afield, away from Serie A, came at the end of the 2004-05 season when Bologna were controversially relegated to Serie B (despite the fact that at least two clubs in Serie A technically should have been relegated first, for accounting irregularities). Fed up with the politics and polemics that surround winning and losing in Serie A . . . . . . . "
I don't think the eL is totally immune from that sort of thing but other than that it's a good read.

If they come here on their holidays and actually go to matches that will be significant. Otherwise let's get them ordering replica shirts, scarves etc by credit card;)

ConfusedBlue
15/03/2006, 11:17 AM
Jayz, relax there Mental Man.
By sympathetic i wasn't implying any corruption, just that he'd be a bit communicative with the blaaas, suggest to them what might be required etc.

Just like there would have been nothing dodgy in him (and this is hearsay, may or may not have happened) getting involved in lobbying your City Council for the ground developments along with Minister Cullen (surely not??) and some City Councillors. Read before ya whinge Mental Man.

By the way all ye ****ies will be delighted to know that due to said individuals "involvement in lobbying for ground redevelopments",as upgrading of the running track is taking place there will be no standing allowed on the running track,therefore no standing within any viable distance of either goal.New permanent barriers are to be put in place to prevent access to the running track,so looks like until our new stand development takes place;its a bad view of the game for visiting ****ies this season!!!!!

P.SWhy in Gods name is the word C A W K I E S moderated/edited/whatever it is I cant see how offence could be caused by it,but yet they are allowed to refer to us as BLAAS.If C A W K I E S is an offensive term,why too then is BLAAS not an offensive term????????????????????????.

15/03/2006, 11:27 AM
Can no one stay on topic here? :rolleyes:

For example, when the referee makes a poor or debatable decision, the Irish fans don't loudly call into question the man's wife's virtue, or scream for blood. Instead they boo. "It's amazing," says Cecca enthusiastically.

And there was me thinking eL fans were very agressive towards referees... Suppose its all relative to italian football...

15/03/2006, 2:26 PM
P.SWhy in Gods name is the word C A W K I E S moderated/edited/whatever it is I cant see how offence could be caused by it,but yet they are allowed to refer to us as BLAAS.If C A W K I E S is an offensive term,why too then is BLAAS not an offensive term????????????????????????.

In fairness, that does seem like a bit of a joke!

15/03/2006, 2:30 PM

If they come here on their holidays and actually go to matches that will be significant. Otherwise let's get them ordering replica shirts, scarves etc by credit card;)

Theyv already been in the cross for a game and have plans to return this year with a few friends.

Hope they keep ordering the merchandise too of course.

bigmac
15/03/2006, 2:41 PM

Yeah, himself and Milo Corcoran have really had the best interests of Waterford at heart over the last few seasons :rolleyes:
The guy has about as much interest in us as Kilcoyne had in Rovers - wouldn't count on him to **** on anyone if they were on fire.

btw, the C.awkies thing has been done to death, but it's impossible to have a rational argument about it without being edited to bits.

15/03/2006, 3:49 PM
Well, I still don't think he's going to let his citys club slide away leaving the south-east unrepresented.
Serious question, is blaas meant to be offensive?
I'd presumed it was until i heard several Waterford(onians) themselves using it.
Don't understand the term c awk at all.
Is that meant to be how we pronounce Cork?:confused:

Micls is right.
Fair play to Richardson and to the suits for sorting them out with free tickets.

15/03/2006, 4:30 PM

ConfusedBlue, you join date is 14/11/2003 so i'm not too such if you were around then (almost sure you were) .... the word is filtered out because of abuse by Blues fans, not offense taken by Cork fans.

And just to let you know that most of the people on both sides involved at the time aren't on here now, and for a few of them i think we are better off.

If you are offended by the term Blaahs or whatever please post something in Support or PM a mod to have it dealt with.

15/03/2006, 9:14 PM
Well folks we have been receiving small number of overseas visitors at Belfield Park for years. Germans come during the summer season.We have also had English , Scottish and Italian fans visit the club shop on matchday looking for merchandise. Last season a small group of English supporters came to the shop spotted my scarf and asked how much they were I told them €10.
Later when the shirts were on display the same guy bought a shirt instead spending €50 instead of €10.

If all of us as EL clubs can set up some system to sell merchandise online
then all of as EL clubs will do very well out of it.

15/03/2006, 9:20 PM
Confused blue

Maybe it's because Blaa's are tasty ;)

BohsFans
15/03/2006, 10:26 PM
No smoking in Turners Cross:eek:

I was smokin away down there last season and the Guards around me said nothing!

16/03/2006, 6:46 AM
Bohsfans

But were you in the uncovered area? :D

16/03/2006, 11:51 AM
No smoking in Turners Cross:eek:

Was wondering about that.
I think it's just a rule in and about the family enclosure ie, st Anns side of the main Donie Forde Stand.
Will check it out.
As for the online shop the lads at citys one (http://corkcityfc.buy.ie/catalog/index.php) do a good bit of exporting i hear.

BohsFans
16/03/2006, 1:19 PM
Bohsfans

But were you in the uncovered area? :D

No!

the away section, in the small little ****y stand.