View Full Version : Official 2006 Attendances Discussion

09/03/2006, 10:58 PM
Another season upon us...will give the attendances thread another bash. If it's good enough for Genesis to plagiarise without credit, it's good enough for us!

A recap on the last two seasons' figures (figures in bold are Premier Division) -

Club 2005 2004
Athlone Town 316 291
Bohemians 1,976 2,340
Bray Wanderers 1,550 818
Cobh Ramblers 403 240
Cork City 3,644 4,033
Derry City 2,698 1,672
Drogheda United 1,682 1,554
Dublin City 175 592
Dundalk 474 591
Finn Harps 1,347 1,106
Galway United 566 571
Kildare County 186 298
Kilkenny City 185 110
Limerick FC 669 188
Longford Town 1,004 1,131
Monaghan United 183 182
St Pat's Ath 1,599 1,882
Shamrock Rovers 1,539 1,349
Shelbourne 1,949 2,158
Sligo Rovers 1,794 781
UCD 653 306
Waterford Utd 1,513 1,753

Premier Div 1,759 1,853
First Division 520 512

Overall average 1,195 1,218

10/03/2006, 9:08 AM
where is 2005?

trevy
10/03/2006, 1:01 PM
It should be easy enough to guess Waterford United attendances for the first few months as fans will be allowed in the stand only because of work on the relaying of athletics track and a new stand on the far side.Capacity will be only 1250 in the stand till new stand completed later in year.No standing around the ground allowed:(

sfc red
10/03/2006, 1:04 PM
Just stick 50,000 down for every Cork game :rolleyes:

10/03/2006, 1:20 PM
Just stick 50,000 down for every Cork game :rolleyes:

Just stick this (http://www.farmersjournal.ie/2003/1025/image/frontpage_251003.jpg) in for every $h€l$ game. :rolleyes:

10/03/2006, 1:29 PM
Turners Cross will be restricted to max of 6000 now so might make a bit easier to judge too.

Kildare Lad
10/03/2006, 5:39 PM
Was Limericks attendance's really around 600? I was there at the end of last season and I could almost swear there was only about 150.......

REVIP
10/03/2006, 9:34 PM
Maybe 2200-2300 at the Carlisle tonight.

Only two sides of the ground open. Seated area holds 1800, empty seats would have been compensated for by those standing.

400-500 behind the goal?

Rebal Boy
10/03/2006, 9:44 PM
I'd say arould 3000-4000 at the X tonight. Its good for our 1st game. Hopefully we'll get more then that at the Bohs game.

caolan
10/03/2006, 11:03 PM
probably 1900 at Pats waterford game- only the stand open

adamcarr
10/03/2006, 11:12 PM
I'd say arould 3000-4000 at the X tonight. Its good for our 1st game. Hopefully we'll get more then that at the Bohs game.
Yeah id say 3200-3500 tonight!

JC_GUFC
11/03/2006, 1:09 AM
Monaghan v Galway - probably about 183 at the game!

sfc red
11/03/2006, 1:14 AM
Great crowd at Shels and Bray I thought,
Even better for Cork considering their opposition, fair play :ball:

11/03/2006, 1:20 AM
Couldn't give exact figure's .but the jodi was abssouletly jammers and the new away end(shed)had about 2-300 fans

P.S Nice to see quite a few non-Irish born people at the game tonight the initiative seems to be working. but after tonights perforamce who'll know's if they'll be back

Dr.Nightdub
11/03/2006, 6:14 AM
probably 1900 at Pats waterford game- only the stand open

Caolan, the club announced yesterday that capacity would be limited to 1750 cos of only the stand being open. Dunno how packed the away end of the stand was but at the Shed End of it, it was three people standing for every two seat spaces. If one of the Waterford lads lets us know what it was like at their end, we'll know how far short (if at all) the attendance was against 1750. My guess is not much.

11/03/2006, 8:42 AM
where is 2005?

Ummm...it's just above your post?

Just stick this in for every $h€l$ game.
Actually, he has a point that Cork fans exaggerate attendances more than any else. We have it here that capacity is limited to 6,000 - how long before someone swears blind that there were 6,500 at a Cork game and never mind capacity.

Was Limerick's attendances really around 600? I was there at the end of last season and I could almost swear there was only about 150.......
Started out around 900 but dropped down to about 200 at the end of the season.

11/03/2006, 8:46 AM
Monaghan v Galway - probably about 183 at the game!
Ah now - give them 184 at least and keep the average going up each season!

11/03/2006, 9:10 AM
2390 odd at the Brandywell last night

11/03/2006, 9:54 AM
Was Limericks attendance's really around 600? I was there at the end of last season and I could almost swear there was only about 150.......

at the start of the game id say 600 but at half time and balls beeing launched into orbit the attendence slipped away at a pace :rolleyes:

11/03/2006, 10:27 AM

Speaking to brother & we estimated 3500. St Aness End hard to judge as so big.

Partizan
11/03/2006, 10:40 AM
Caolan, the club announced yesterday that capacity would be limited to 1750 cos of only the stand being open. Dunno how packed the away end of the stand was but at the Shed End of it, it was three people standing for every two seat spaces. If one of the Waterford lads lets us know what it was like at their end, we'll know how far short (if at all) the attendance was against 1750. My guess is not much.

Couldnt make the game last night but speaking to someone who was there, he reckoned about 100 Waterford fans.

sullanefc
11/03/2006, 11:13 AM
Actually, he has a point that Cork fans exaggerate attendances more than any else. We have it here that capacity is limited to 6,000 - how long before someone swears blind that there were 6,500 at a Cork game and never mind capacity.

Shows how often you've been to Turners Cross :rolleyes: There are 6000 seats in Turners Cross. But there is loads of standing room around the St Annes end. At the back, the corners etc. So, on a busy night, a CCFC fan could "swear blind that there was 6500" and they would be right ;)

IMO you could have an attendance of 7k in Turners cross at the mo. Although there would not be much of a view at the back of the St annes.

11/03/2006, 11:41 AM
5800 seats at the cross. Will often have 100 empty for the missing away fans. I agree lots of standing room for the biggest league games so little chance have to turn people away at the gates.

Passive
11/03/2006, 1:14 PM
Will have an exact figure for the Rovers - Dundalk game later but the papers are saying around 2,000, which seems about right.

11/03/2006, 1:28 PM
seems good for shams considering the league they are in

bluemovie
11/03/2006, 2:11 PM
Dr Nightdub....as Partizan says, there were about 100 Blues fans, but loads of late-arriving Pats fans were sent to the away end too and there was the big Polish group. Very few seats available around us. You could take it that the stand ws virtually full. Probably 50 to 100 standing by the chip van at the Inchicore end too.

chippie0001
11/03/2006, 2:31 PM
The attendance for the Bohs v Drogheda game was 2,446, which seems small but is right. Drogs brought a smaller crowd than expected, 389 of them in the shed, although more were in the Jodi.

PS Should we try and get one person per club to post the actual gates to keep the thread smaller and also delete all the crap, makes looking back over the figures far easier.

11/03/2006, 2:36 PM
PS Should we try and get one person per club to post the actual gates to keep the thread smaller and also delete all the crap, makes looking back over the figures far easier.

I will re-name this the "discussion" thread. Can have separate sticky thread with actual figures...?

11/03/2006, 3:29 PM
2800-3200 easily at the Bray game.

11/03/2006, 4:30 PM
Me thinks about 800-1200 Shels fans there last night - great atmosphere at the game!

adamcarr
11/03/2006, 5:12 PM
Me thinks about 800-1200 Shels fans there last night - great atmosphere at the game!

Fair play if thats true.

What is the capacity of the carlisle Grounds btw?

sfc red
11/03/2006, 5:43 PM
Carlisle Grounds looked great with only 2 sides occupied as both sides were packed

11/03/2006, 6:13 PM
Speaking to brother & we estimated 3500. St Aness End hard to judge as so big.

Most papers said just under 4000. Not sure which but one said 3800 was official figure but thats probably bull.

id say anywhere between 3200 and 3800 would be about right(again very hard to judge St. Annes end)

SPXcyan
11/03/2006, 8:22 PM
How come the Main stand was the only side of the ground open at Richmond last night?? whats that all about?

hamish
11/03/2006, 8:57 PM
Will have an exact figure for the Rovers - Dundalk game later but the papers are saying around 2,000, which seems about right.

Sounded really noisy and atmospheric on the radio - great to hear TBH.:)

11/03/2006, 9:03 PM
Evening echo tonight gives the attendance for Cork City V Dublin city as 3,800

not great by any means

11/03/2006, 10:08 PM
So, on a busy night, a CCFC fan could "swear blind that there was 6500" and they would be right ;)
Well, that didn't take long!:)

Irish Times games 3800 for Cork-Dublin City as well (well, technically, it says there were 3800 Cork fans...). Doesn't claim that to be official though.

Dr.Nightdub
11/03/2006, 10:15 PM
How come the Main stand was the only side of the ground open at Richmond last night?? whats that all about?

You were obviously so rivetted by the on-pitch action that you failed to notice that there's approx €600k-worth of ground renovations and upgrading being done.

From the Pats MB:

The contractors expect to have the work at the shed end and on the Camac side completed over the next week and both should be open for the Shels game. They have been instructed that this is priority before the work on the Inchicore end.

thomas
11/03/2006, 10:16 PM
3,200 at hte carlisle grouunds, hat with the 1,800 seats being full and 1,400 standing opposite?

Sounds a bit much for the shack???

SPXcyan
11/03/2006, 10:25 PM
wasn't at the game mr nightdub!! I never heard of the upgrades been done up there.. fill me in on them please and thank you :D

Dr.Nightdub
12/03/2006, 12:26 AM
http://elitrix.net/saints/viewtopic.php?t=815&start=15&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

Go onto page 2 of the thread, scroll down to the really long post by Stephen Connelly

Sam Savic
12/03/2006, 5:30 AM
We had a problem with our ticketing system on Friday night so we havn't an exact figure for the Rovers V Dundalk match. Passive is about right - 2000 would be a close guesstimate ( which includes about 300 Dalk fans ).

Comic Book Guy
12/03/2006, 8:48 AM
498 at Cobh Ramblers v Kilkenny, not great but a **** poor night weather wise, how I know the attendance is apparently the club have electronic counters installed on their turnstiles.

Bravo
12/03/2006, 8:58 AM
Longford missed out on a big gate last night, I would estimate that well over a thousand travelled may be two, we were 2 miles outside Longford when we heard the game was PP, we were on the roadside & the line of cars from Sligo was relentless. Hopefully the same interest can be generated for the re-fixed game!

12/03/2006, 9:26 AM
I reckon our Galway game was closer to 200 and defo our own attendance was up on last season. The 30 or so Galwagiens were great craic and a lovely noisy crowd.

SPXcyan
12/03/2006, 10:51 AM
Jayzuz some nice stuff goin on in Inchicore!! nice to hear though :D

Dj Duffer
12/03/2006, 6:59 PM
498 at Cobh Ramblers v Kilkenny, not great but a **** poor night weather wise, how I know the attendance is apparently the club have electronic counters installed on their turnstiles.

498 wasnt bad i thought there was less. if we have a good start to the season that will pick up aswell.

12/03/2006, 8:52 PM
2800-3200 easily at the Bray game.

I agree, defo 3000+. And they were all treated to a cracker of a game with a great atmosphere.

JC_GUFC
13/03/2006, 12:28 AM
I reckon our Galway game was closer to 200 and defo our own attendance was up on last season. The 30 or so Galwagiens were great craic and a lovely noisy crowd.

Yeah it could well have been - I just picked a random number from the air which completely by chance was your average for last season!
It was one of the bigger crowds I've seen there for a 1st Division game so probably above average!

J

Roverstillidie
13/03/2006, 12:34 AM
Longford missed out on a big gate last night, I would estimate that well over a thousand travelled may be two, we were 2 miles outside Longford when we heard the game was PP, we were on the roadside & the line of cars from Sligo was relentless. Hopefully the same interest can be generated for the re-fixed game!

are you going to seriously suggest that 2000 bog rovers were travelling? :rolleyes: how would you know this?

are sligs the new cork? numbers just inflate....