View Full Version : Bohs initiative to attract recent immigrants

sonofstan
08/03/2006, 12:18 PM
think this is brilliant - I don't expect a 1000 Poles in Dalyer on fri. but if it's kept up it can only pay dividends both for us, and, as importantly, it sends out a very clear welcome to recent immigrants in an area where the composition of the population has changed hugely over the last few years; I know Pats have done something similar, and I would hope other clubs would follow suit. Plus, a whole bunch of people who are never - one would hope - going to be seduced by gah have to be a natural audience for our, ahem, 'product'.

http://gypsiesweb.proboards48.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=1141822039

08/03/2006, 12:24 PM
One of the lads was telling me about this the other night. fair play to all involved look forward to welcoming our new "Brothers" to the jodi

08/03/2006, 12:56 PM
"Dublin's premier professional football club.":D

And

"During the game you can eat fish and chips from one of our restaurants..":D

08/03/2006, 12:58 PM
Nice positive gesture. Great poster. It might not work, but you've got to try. Fair play to Bohs.

sonofstan
08/03/2006, 1:06 PM
"Dublin's premier professional football club.":D

And

"During the game you can eat fish and chips from one of our restaurants..":D

don't see what wrong with either statement - 'premier' in the sense of being in the premier division - that's the one above you - and in the sense of being first historically, and biggest, in terms of support, and we are undeniably from Dublin and a football club.

and...

we have two restaurants - and you can eat fish and chips from both of them...

08/03/2006, 1:13 PM
would i need to ring in advance to book a table ????

08/03/2006, 1:48 PM
Maybe the dublin clubs could have a draft style raffle where get to choose an ethnic community. Bohs could have the Chinese, Shels the Poles & so on...? :D

08/03/2006, 2:50 PM
don't see what wrong with either statement - 'premier' in the sense of being in the premier division - that's the one above you - and in the sense of being first historically, and biggest, in terms of support, and we are undeniably from Dublin and a football club.

and...

we have two restaurants - and you can eat fish and chips from both of them...

Where are these "restaurants"?

Biggest in terms of support??????? And you dont see whats wrong with that statement:D :D

Bald Student
08/03/2006, 2:51 PM
Maybe the dublin clubs could have a draft style raffle where get to choose an ethnic community. Bohs could have the Chinese, Shels the Poles & so on...? :DThe last name out of the hat gets the spanish summer students.

Hecko
08/03/2006, 2:55 PM
Great idea and fair dues to those involved...but did anyone else see Paulo di Canio in a Lazio shirt if you look down thro' the BOhs message. Maybe not teh best message for some of our foreign friends ;)

08/03/2006, 2:59 PM

Biggest in terms of support??????? And you dont see whats wrong with that statement:D :D

res·tau·rant A place where meals are served to the public.
restaurant
n : a building where people go to eat

sonofstan
08/03/2006, 3:05 PM

I know loads of people used to follow rovers n' all - but if you look at the attendance threads here based on people who actually go to matches - as opposed remember been lifted over the stile in milltown - then, yes, biggest club in Dublin

08/03/2006, 3:24 PM
lying to your new "fans" is hardly getting the relationship off to a good start!

08/03/2006, 3:26 PM
The last name out of the hat gets the spanish summer students.

That would be UCD then :)

sonofstan
08/03/2006, 4:08 PM

obviously if this initiative works, there will be an international food hall, serving dishes from all over the world to our new fans - underneath the redeveloped Connaught St. Stand, rebuilt to accommodate that new fan base - right beside the red n' black superstore

sfc red
08/03/2006, 4:29 PM
And another thread is ruined by Bohs/Rovers sh!TE

08/03/2006, 4:39 PM
Maybe the dublin clubs could have a draft style raffle where get to choose an ethnic community. Bohs could have the Chinese, Shels the Poles & so on...? :D

You'd have to allocate the Fijians or the residnets of Tir Na n'Og to Shels, as there's not a lot of them and they're very young..... :D

This is an excelent idea. There's so little done by any of our clubs to actively market themselves to ANYONE that any effort whatsoever is to be applauded. Makes sense to target newcomers who won't have any existing allegiances, and won't be as in-awe of English or Scottish football as the indigenous population.

Would also make sense for a Dublin club to target the communities of any European player they sign. i.e. if Bohs signed-up a Polish fella, would be a good opportunity for them to use that to target that community in the city.

08/03/2006, 4:45 PM
Would also make sense for a Dublin club to target the communities of any European player they sign. i.e. if Bohs signed-up a Polish fella, would be a good opportunity for them to use that to target that community in the city.
We tried it with this big lanky Cork bloke last year. Unmitigated disaster.:D

As for Bohs/Shams ****e, I agree. This thread began with yet another unwarranted, gratuitous and vindictive assault on Sham sensibilities. :rolleyes:

CharlesThompson
08/03/2006, 5:12 PM
The idea of this scheme is obviously to welcome immigrants in Ireland to Dalymount Park and to adopt Bohemians as their football club in Ireland. As per usual by the way things are going recently on this mb, it's gone off topic by a number of begrudgers. Maybe it needs to be spelled out to these people, but if your own club were to advertise itself to a new audience, would you not think that they would try to sell the good points of the club, or would you think that the advertisement should read along the lines; "come to a kip in the cold with not great toilet facilities and watch a team in a third rate European Leauge where the country throws cartwheels when one of it's clubs manages to get into round two of the qualifiers for the Uefa Cup."

Begrudgery is not becoming and when a clubs supporters get together to not only come up with a scheme such as this, but then follow it through I think it deserves applause.

08/03/2006, 5:16 PM
Begrudgery is not becoming and when a clubs supporters get together to not only come up with a scheme such as this, but then follow it through I think it deserves applause.

Most of the posts above are just attempts at humour... :rolleyes:

08/03/2006, 10:12 PM
Hope it works out, all clubs should be doing something similar to try and get more people in the gates.

08/03/2006, 10:15 PM
I reckon a fair few Czechs will go for it. well the Bohs Prague fans anyway!

CharlesThompson
08/03/2006, 10:36 PM
Most of the posts above are just attempts at humour... :rolleyes:

Fair enough,... some of them. Thing is, I wasn't directing the post at those ones - just the begrudging ones. :rolleyes:

Roverstillidie
08/03/2006, 11:32 PM
Fair enough,... some of them. Thing is, I wasn't directing the post at those ones - just the begrudging ones. :rolleyes:

lighten up, its a great idea and much as it pains me to say it, fair play to the pox for getting their act together.

but nonsense like 'resteraunts' and 'Dublin's premier professional football club' are fair game.

you do know bohemians prague wear green & white? :D

09/03/2006, 9:55 AM
the pox
I don't think that's acceptable. On an Ultras board, perhaps, but not on a mixed EL forum.

I'd welcome mod's opinions on the same poster's chronic attachment to this word, as well as 'filth', and 'scum' when referring to fans of another club.

Sorry in advance for being so pernickety. Up to now, I haven't been too exercised about this, but over the past few days another poster on this board was edited and threatened with a ban, partly because he had the timerity to call someone else a culchie or some such. When I pointed out this anomaly, I was told I should complain. Now I'm complaining.

Paddy Power's foot.ie book on this post:
Move to Rubbish or other limbo: no market
edit, to make no sense or to reverse meaning: 2/1
deletion: 3/1
public threat of ban: 7/2
hysterical defence by mod: 1/2
'I'm so important I haven't got time for this' response by mod: 3/1
ban: 2/1
Rebuke for abusive poster and appeal for civilised debate: 33/1. Surprise me!

09/03/2006, 10:00 AM
Get over it.......................build a bridge or something! :rolleyes:

09/03/2006, 10:05 AM
Get over it.......................build a bridge or something! :rolleyes:
Or report the post properly.

09/03/2006, 10:06 AM
im so important i dont have time to mod this :P

i think personally its a great idea by Bohs and something we in Cork should look at too definitely. I dont mind a bit of slagging thrown in here and there, most if not all people here are well capable of dealing with it.

In Cork City there are loads of eastern europeans as well as other European nationals here working in the different multi language call centres etc. Thats website they had done up looks v good
http://www.bohscommunity.com/Bohemians/

I know a City fan has done something similar for us too, last season
http://www.rebelarmyworldwide.com/

i'd love to see all EL clubs try to get on board this idea and promote their club to al locals.

09/03/2006, 11:44 AM
Or report the post properly.
Will do.
It's probably blindingly obvious, but I'm a bit of an abuse-reporting novice, so I've put a post in the Support forum asking for a how-to.

09/03/2006, 11:48 AM
And now done.

sonofstan
09/03/2006, 12:15 PM
Will do.
It's probably blindingly obvious, but I'm a bit of an abuse-reporting novice, so I've put a post in the Support forum asking for a how-to.

so you walk 25 miles of barbed wire, you've got a cobra snake for a necktie, but you're still an 'abuse reporting novice'?

Shimokita
09/03/2006, 1:49 PM
I know a guy in Dublin who predicted that Ireland would have an amazing football team in 20-25 years when we started getting Nigerian immigrants and their kids had Irish citizenship. He should have been more vocal when they changed the rules... :(

09/03/2006, 2:22 PM
so you walk 25 miles of barbed wire, you've got a cobra snake for a necktie, but you're still an 'abuse reporting novice'?
We all have our weaknesses!

09/03/2006, 5:30 PM
I know loads of people used to follow rovers n' all - but if you look at the attendance threads here based on people who actually go to matches - as opposed remember been lifted over the stile in milltown - then, yes, biggest club in Dublin

Keep telling yourself that.

de·lu·sion (d-lzhn)
n.
a. The act or process of deluding.
b. The state of being deluded.
2. A false belief or opinion: labored under the delusion that success was at hand.
3. Psychiatry A false belief strongly held in spite of invalidating evidence, especially as a symptom of mental illness: delusions of persecution.

As far as the others here moaning get a sense of humour. When the gypos come out with this they deserve to be brought down a peg or two. But fair play for trying though.

ThatGuy
09/03/2006, 5:33 PM
Keep telling yourself that.

de·lu·sion (d-lzhn)
n.
a. The act or process of deluding.
b. The state of being deluded.
2. A false belief or opinion: labored under the delusion that success was at hand.
3. Psychiatry A false belief strongly held in spite of invalidating evidence, especially as a symptom of mental illness: delusions of persecution.

As far as the others here moaning get a sense of humour. When the gypos come out with this they deserve to be brought down a peg or two. But fair play for trying though.

Do you honestly think that Rovers' attendances have been higher than Bohs' in recent seasons?

09/03/2006, 7:42 PM
Do you honestly think that Rovers' attendances have been higher than Bohs' in recent seasons?

If Rovers were a Premier**** club - they would be Middlesbrough

bohsmug
09/03/2006, 7:51 PM
If Rovers were a Premier**** club - they would be Middlesbrough

Atleast Middlesbrough won't get relegated

hamish
09/03/2006, 8:08 PM

Check out Bob Seger's version of that song on "Live Bullet". The song Bo Diddley is just before it on that album. His versions rock like a bitch in heat:D

I think it's a great idea by Bohs. Surely to God, with the thousands of folks we have here from so many countries, there must be loads of pretty decent footballers among them.
I hope Junior clubs also are scouting the, Good way to make them feel at home in our communities as well.:)
There are Russians, Polish, Brazilians, Phillipinos, Ukranians, Arabs and loads of other nationalities here in Beeslow but it's been hard to get them to play with our local footie club - not for the want of trying, mind you. Their work scene makes it hard for them to be available to train 'cos, like many immigrants, they do the sh!t jobs/awkward hours Irish people won't bother doing.

There was a French bloke who used to play with Killimor Rovers (near Portumna, clubs now gone) in the Roscommon League and was scoring goals like they were going out of fashion. He worked in the restaurant business and I think he's living in Galway city now.
Funny thing is, the Roscommon League secretary refused, at first, to accept his registration form 'cos he thought Killimor were taking the p!ss. His name was Pele.:D No kidding - that was his surname.

09/03/2006, 10:59 PM
Was Brendan F the secetary then Hamish?

hamish
10/03/2006, 12:25 AM
Was Brendan F the secetary then Hamish?

Yep, RonnieB, the one and only "Skinner" .:D
Great friend of mine.
Had a drink with him a fortnight ago - he's studying for his BA in UCG now. Fair play to him:)

10/03/2006, 11:17 PM
We tried it with this big lanky Cork bloke last year. Unmitigated disaster.:D
But Lanky Cork blokes only go to matches when they are lanky in Cork like :D

10/03/2006, 11:18 PM
Yep, RonnieB, the one and only "Skinner" .:D
Great friend of mine.
Had a drink with him a fortnight ago - he's studying for his BA in UCG now. Fair play to him:)

Anyone see the poster for the production of the "Taming of the Shrew"?
They have it set in Ireland apparently and your man the actor Owen Roe looks like one of Athlone's former( if not still a current) directors!

Anyway I heard that Dublin GAA are trying to sign up one of the Chinese community ... a certain Win Sam Soon ! :D

trevy
11/03/2006, 9:39 AM
Good idea by Bohs.Don't mind the knockers.Even if it gets only an extra 50 fans to a game its extra money for the club and new supporters. Waterford United have 2 Polish players and a Nigerian in their squad for this season so maybe some of their fellow nationals might come out to the RSC this season.

11/03/2006, 12:51 PM
This is feckin' Working there was at least 100 non-Irish born supporters in the new Phoenix Bar after the match. And just as I predicted quite a few Bohemians Praha Scarfs.

11/03/2006, 1:37 PM
After last night's dross, they probably won't be back. What's 'Patience, we are STILL in transition' in Czech?

11/03/2006, 9:45 PM
This is feckin' Working there was at least 100 non-Irish born supporters in the new Phoenix Bar after the match. And just as I predicted quite a few Bohemians Praha Scarfs.

Bohemians Praha nearly folded last Spring and have been saved by their fans.
Fans like that won't abandon ye overnight. Did you like their green and white scarves? :D

11/03/2006, 11:17 PM
Bohemians Praha nearly folded last Spring and have been saved by their fans. green and white scarves? :D
Im seeing a connection to another Dublin club here ;)

new blue
12/03/2006, 1:04 AM
so do I
accentuate the positive

Roverstillidie
12/03/2006, 3:03 PM
I don't think that's acceptable. On an Ultras board, perhaps, but not on a mixed EL forum.

I'd welcome mod's opinions on the same poster's chronic attachment to this word, as well as 'filth', and 'scum' when referring to fans of another club.

Sorry in advance for being so pernickety. Up to now, I haven't been too exercised about this, but over the past few days another poster on this board was edited and threatened with a ban, partly because he had the timerity to call someone else a culchie or some such. When I pointed out this anomaly, I was told I should complain. Now I'm complaining.

Paddy Power's foot.ie book on this post:
Move to Rubbish or other limbo: no market
edit, to make no sense or to reverse meaning: 2/1
deletion: 3/1
public threat of ban: 7/2
hysterical defence by mod: 1/2
'I'm so important I haven't got time for this' response by mod: 3/1
ban: 2/1
Rebuke for abusive poster and appeal for civilised debate: 33/1. Surprise me!

all this because yourself and bohsfans got laughed at when you tried to pin the riots on rovers? :rolleyes:

your right, everyone else is wrong.

heaven forbid rovers and bozos, harps and derry, cork and waterford etc will slag each other off. imagine that. hell in a handcart. :eek:

you need to grow up or find a new hobby.

to the bozos who exist on planet earth, let us know how this initiative pans out over the coming months.

12/03/2006, 4:11 PM
I know a guy in Dublin who predicted that Ireland would have an amazing football team in 20-25 years when we started getting Nigerian immigrants and their kids had Irish citizenship. He should have been more vocal when they changed the rules... :(

What the feck ??? There's 120m Nigerians in Nigeria - yet apart from a brief stint in the sun a few years back, their national team has hardly set the footballing world alight.

The UK has a massive Nigerian population - and has done for years now. Name me one English international footballer of Nigerian extraction ?

So why then would you expect a few tens of thousands of kids born and bred in Ireland - in amongst an island-wide population of c.5.6m - to launch Irish football onto an entirely new and successful trajectory, purely because they happen to be of Nigerian decent ?? :confused:

In other words - your friend was talking out of his arse. Racial stereotyping in a seemingly positive way is still racial stereotyping.