View Full Version : Dundalk away in the League Cup
08/03/2006, 9:55 AM
Pool B
Athlone Town v Bohemians
Dundalk v UCD
Byes: Monaghan United, Drogheda United
If we can negotiate that then we're in for a tough enough tie in the next round unless we draw Mons. Before the obligatory "the League Cup is crap" stuff starts, just remember it's our most likely route to the Setanta.;)
08/03/2006, 12:23 PM
Wonder what sort of team we'll play? While we obviously want to win, the blooding of younger players is important as well, particularly for a club like us.
Game is on Monday the 3rd or Tuesday 4th April.
Incidentally, what's the source for this? I see it all over the place, so can only assume it's true, but nothing on the FAI website as yet...
08/03/2006, 12:38 PM
Pat's website. The good thing about us is that we seem to have a better second string than anyone enabling us to beat weaker first teams like Waterford and Shamrock Rovers.;)
08/03/2006, 12:50 PM
The good thing about us is that we seem to have a better second string than anyone enabling us to beat weaker first teams like Waterford and Shamrock Rovers.;)
Shame our first team can't beat theirs though...
Lovely draw, we can go all the way in the league cup again this season. We should be aiming for a Setanta Cup spot this season, that should be the goal and the League Cup is a good way of us getting it, we were so close last year this year we can go one step further and win the bloody thing
09/03/2006, 12:55 PM
Pool B
Athlone Town v Bohemians
Dundalk v UCD
Byes: Monaghan United, Drogheda United
I presume Monaghan were randomly selected:confused:
09/03/2006, 1:02 PM
I presume we were! What would lead u to think differently??? Its not like we are flavour of the month in Merrion Square now is it?
09/03/2006, 3:21 PM
What would lead u to think differently???
It's the FAI- anything is possible.
19/03/2006, 9:01 AM
Well the League Cup has traditionally been organised "regionally" so that Group games in the old format were all derby matches. Dublin clubs tend to flit between a NE group which might include Mons, Drogs, and Dalk or an All 01 phone area group which might include Bray .
In that context Mons and Dalk and Drogs being in the frame makes sense.
"If you know you're history" as the songs goes... you never go wrong !
19/03/2006, 9:02 AM
Having Said that Athlone are normally grouped with Longford and or Galway
19/03/2006, 9:05 AM
I hate the League Cup. Not cause it's crap but because apart from our two losing final appearances we never do well in it.
19/03/2006, 12:01 PM
"If you know you're history" as the songs goes... you never go wrong !
A rather ironic typo given Muppet Delaney's vision!
19/03/2006, 12:38 PM
A rather ironic typo given Muppet Delaney's vision!
Sorry you've lost me :confused: I never said Delaney knew his history!
19/03/2006, 7:34 PM
You meant to say "your". You said "you're". As in "And if you know you are history". Which is part of Delaney's grand plan.
26/03/2006, 5:14 PM
By the way this will be UCD's first game on the new artificial surface in Oriel Park.
26/03/2006, 6:44 PM
Also will see us up against Aidan Lynch, Rob McAuley, Seán Finn, Rob Dunne and Neil Gallagher (fitness/strength of team permitting).
We're playing a reserve team, apparently. Same tried and trusted formula that worked so well last year! :)
26/03/2006, 8:54 PM
Also will see us up against Aidan Lynch, Rob McAuley, Seán Finn, Rob Dunne and Neil Gallagher (fitness/strength of team permitting).
We're playing a reserve team, apparently. Same tried and trusted formula that worked so well last year! :)
It will be their first competitive outing of the season though!:eek:
27/03/2006, 9:31 AM
Let Quinner play...he used to be at Dundalk and dont think he was too fond of them so would like the chance to get a few digs in....also him and Philly Hughes were "mates" last year but Quinn was a bit bitter that he didnt get to play much and yet Philly had only a few more goals than him so he will be out to prove to Philly that he is the man!
27/03/2006, 9:31 AM
Oh and dont expect too easy a ride if you do meet us in the next round....Brian Gannon was a top signing u know!
27/03/2006, 6:53 PM
Clohessy, Billy Bob, McAniff, Last, McNally, Harte, Dicker, Finn, Sammon, P.Byrne, D. Doyle. (In no particular formation order)
Gally is on their bench. Robbie Mac is playing. They're saying he looks unfit despite having played 7 or 8 games, describe him as looking as 1 and a half stone overweight.
27/03/2006, 6:55 PM
Good luck tonite.
27/03/2006, 8:12 PM
Conon Byrne has just come on for Harte. I think Harte and Dicker started in the middle and Finn is on the right with Doyle on the left.
27/03/2006, 8:19 PM
1-1, Paul Byrne back on the scoring track. A 35 yard left foot shot if the radio is to be believed. Booked for taking his shirt off!
27/03/2006, 8:30 PM
We're winning 2-1. Sammon. We hit them immediately after they had a goal ruled out. No complaints about that from the commentary team. Sounds like there was a penalty incident in our box there but nothing given. I'm shocked we're winning. The game totally changed with Byrne's goal, it was all them before that. At least I think. The commentary is woeful, they only interrupt their chat to commentate now and then. The commentators were absolutely slating McAuley for looking unfit, everything makes sense now.
Batman just equalised, 2-2.:mad:
27/03/2006, 8:33 PM
We're out, 3-2. Final score.
27/03/2006, 10:20 PM
Oh, the irony of losing to two injury-time goals...
Dundalk forum said he had plenty of chances to put the game beyond doubt before they stole it at the death. Don't know what kind of team Dundalk had out, but I suppose I'm not too worried. Glad to see we're creating chances - after Waterford on Friday as well - so hopefully converting them will start happening soon!
Wonder did Paul Byrne play the full 90 minutes? It would be his first for UCD, and bring him up to 5 goals in 426 minutes!
27/03/2006, 10:28 PM
He played the full 93, yeah. Only sub was Conon Byrne for Harte. It was very painful to listen to such woeful commentary for so long to have them ram it down your throat at the death.:(
27/03/2006, 10:39 PM
Did you catch the unused subs by the way?
Second time we've played Dundalk in the League Cup...second time we've lost 3-2! Only our second defeat against them in the last ten years, according to my records.
27/03/2006, 11:06 PM
Thread (http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?t=3467) on the Dundalk forum about the match.
UCD were dumped out of the League Cup at a wet and windy Oriel Park on Monday night, with two injury-time goals doing the damage. It was a case of supreme irony for UCD, whose League Cup semi-final win against Shels last season ended in identical circumstances.
As expected, UCD rang the changes - David Last and Mark Clohessey made their debuts while Gary Dicker and Alan McNally returned after missing the win in Waterford due to injury. There were also appearances for Aaron McEniff, Ronan Finn, Derek Doyle and Kieran Harte.
Dundalk hit the front shortly before the break through Niall Hudson, but UCD gained the advantage in the second half and equalised through a superb goal on 75 minutes from Paul Byrne, who drove home from all of 35 yards before being booked for taking his shirt off in celebration. It was Byrne's fifth goal in 426 minutes of senior football for UCD.
Five minutes from the end, Conor Sammon looked to have sealed the win with his first goal for UCD, but in injury-time, with Dundalk playing with four up front, former UCD forward Philip Hughes struck and the tie looked destined for extra-time. However, just as in Tolka last September, there was to be a final sting in the tale - Paul Marney grabbing the winner to seal only Dundalk's second victory over UCD in the last ten years.
UCD - Clohessey; McEniff, Last, McNally, Matthews; Dicker, Harte (C Byrne), Finn, Doyle; P Byrne, Sammon.
27/03/2006, 11:09 PM
Although I think it's important to give the younger players a run out, I feel that a stronger team should have been put out considering that a Setanta Cup place is at stake. Fielding an under-strength team may have worked in previous years when the competition wasn't a in a knock-out format. Ffs the season has only begun. Players hardly need a rest after 3 games.
27/03/2006, 11:18 PM
Did you catch the unused subs by the way?
None given. They weren't much concerned with the UCD team. I swear I didn't hear over half our team mentioned once in the first half of commentary. We were either terrible or the commentators couldn't care less about us. The first time I heard Harte mentioned late into the first half they said all our play was going through him.:confused:
Although I think it's important to give the younger players a run out, I feel that a stronger team should have been put out considering that a Setanta Cup place is at stake. Fielding an under-strength team may have worked in previous years when the competition wasn't a in a knock-out format. Ffs the season has only begun. Players hardly need a rest after 3 games.
It's hard to know what to say. We're lumped with an injury crisis already and players like Tony Mac and Kenna would be automatically out. There isn't anyone who played tonight who didn't need a run out or you could rule out of staking a first team place in the near future apart from Clohessy.
The attendance was said to be around 300 for whatever it's worth.
27/03/2006, 11:26 PM
We also had Dicker and McNally playing, which would have helped.
Dundalk forum said the radio commentary was superb! :)
28/03/2006, 6:59 AM
Typical!
Back to traditional first round exits in the League Cup... I hate this competition :(
28/03/2006, 11:08 AM
So that's 7 out of our 8 goals this season that I've missed. :rolleyes:
Don't know what kind of team Dundalk had outThey planned on having a full team out according to here (http://breakingnews.iol.ie/sport/story.asp?j=177371910&p=y7737z6y6&t=soccer) anyway.
28/03/2006, 9:40 PM
Typical!
Back to traditional first round exits in the League Cup... I hate this competition :(
Didn't take much to get pessimistic CTID back! Only our second first-round exit in eight years.
29/03/2006, 7:03 AM
Didn't take much to get pessimistic CTID back! Only our second first-round exit in eight years.
21st in all...... Team record this season Played 4 won 1 lost 3 goals for 3 Goals against 6 and you are optimistic?
29/03/2006, 12:32 PM
I never said I was optimistic; I said you were pessimistic.
Vaguely encouraging and largely competitive defeat against a Derry side who are looking for the title this year; disappointing defeat against an as yet unbeaten Pat's side; a comprehensive outplaying of Waterford and now a narrow defeat for our reserves against Dundalk's first team (give or take a couple on either side) in which the consensus from the Dundalk fans is that we should have had the game wrapped up before injury time. Paul Byrne's back, Gary Dicker's back, Alan McNally's back, Tony Mac's due back shortly - no injuries to speak of. I don't see any reason for the overwhelming negativity!
29/03/2006, 2:26 PM
RTÉ report (http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0327/dundalk.html)
UCD's Paul Byrne levelled matters 13 minutes from time with a stunning strike from 30 yards.:cool:
29/03/2006, 4:47 PM
My report -
UCD...equalised through a superb goal on 75 minutes from Paul Byrne, who drove home from all of 35 yards
All about marketability, you see!
29/03/2006, 4:49 PM
My report -
I didn't read yours, I assumed it was an Aertel report seeing as you weren't there. :D
29/03/2006, 4:53 PM
My report -
Fair play Pineapple, btw, for doing all the reports. Always very well written and accurate. Better (and longer) than any of the other sh!t written by so-called experts.
29/03/2006, 6:44 PM
I never said I was optimistic; I said you were pessimistic.
Vaguely encouraging and largely competitive defeat against a Derry side who are looking for the title this year; disappointing defeat against an as yet unbeaten Pat's side; a comprehensive outplaying of Waterford and now a narrow defeat for our reserves against Dundalk's first team (give or take a couple on either side) in which the consensus from the Dundalk fans is that we should have had the game wrapped up before injury time. Paul Byrne's back, Gary Dicker's back, Alan McNally's back, Tony Mac's due back shortly - no injuries to speak of. I don't see any reason for the overwhelming negativity!
Not pessimistic... realistic ! We are going to win nothing this season!
If all of the walking wounded return we might stay up but that probably won't matter given that John Delaney's Handpicked Glorified Table Football League is coming down the track.... with location location location being factored into the equation no matter how sh1t your team or incompetent your board of directors might be!
The League Cup was our most realistic chance of silverware and we are out! And I thought qualifying for the Setanta Cup next season might lead to a rethink on throwing us out of the Premier ...
The Under 21 selection couldn't beat the worst team in the First Division so clearly they are going to do nothing this season either!
30/03/2006, 12:56 PM
Always...accurate.
:p
The Under 21 selection couldn't beat the worst team in the First Division so clearly they are going to do nothing this season either!
Going to enjoy rubbing that quote in your face come the end of the season! :)
Rather surprised that you expected us to win silverware this season - rather lofty ambition, don't you think? Setting yourself up to be disappointed. In any case, you more than anyone should know we always start seasons slowly and then build from there. We're already two points ahead of our total after three games last season.
30/03/2006, 1:10 PM
The worst team in the 1st Division or the team who is bottom after 3 games? See Bohs in the Premier. Sometimes it seems like you bend the statistics and facts to beat this team with.:confused:
30/03/2006, 1:22 PM
The League Cup was our most realistic chance of silverware and we are out! And I thought qualifying for the Setanta Cup next season might lead to a rethink on throwing us out of the Premier ...
http://adisney.go.com/disneypictures/chickenlittle/wallpaper/ckl_wallpaper_1_800.jpg
31/03/2006, 6:57 AM
:p
Going to enjoy rubbing that quote in your face come the end of the season! :)
We're already two points ahead of our total after three games last season.
Well I hope you are right on the first count.
Our record last season after three games was pathetic so nothing to be proud of there!
31/03/2006, 7:00 AM
Rather surprised that you expected us to win silverware this season - rather lofty ambition, don't you think? Setting yourself up to be disappointed.
I expected us to have a real go at winning the League Cup and also to retain the Under 21 title... and that is not going to happen! If you do not aim to win stuff what are you in the game for?:confused:
31/03/2006, 7:01 AM
The worst team in the 1st Division or the team who is bottom after 3 games? See Bohs in the Premier. Sometimes it seems like you bend the statistics and facts to beat this team with.:confused:
You look for pointers and they ain't too promising poor student.
31/03/2006, 12:36 PM
Our record last season after three games was pathetic so nothing to be proud of there!
But it's better this year and we survived grand last year.
I expected us to have a real go at winning the League Cup and also to retain the Under 21 title... and that is not going to happen! If you do not aim to win stuff what are you in the game for?
Why isn't the U-21 title going to happen? I hope to do well in all competitions - I don't go overboard if, say, we get knocked out in the League Cup First Round - but realistically, we can't aim to win things, just to do as well as we can and have as much craic as we can. Most clubs don't aim to win things. Should they disband? We haven't won anything in 11 years sure!
You look for pointers and they ain't too promising poor student.
Actually, his logic is as correct in that post as yours is incorrect in yours. We were the worst team in the Premier this time last week, but suddenly we're the joint sixth best because we beat Waterford. Hurray!
31/03/2006, 12:38 PM
We haven't won anything in 11 years sure!
Super Cup in 2000. :p