View Full Version : Which is the best and worst accent in the country?
hamish
07/03/2006, 5:39 PM
Nah i reckon he's been braggin away to all the lads about it! Big game tonight Hamish, Wolves vs Stoke!
A Corky Boy bragging!!!:eek: Never!!:D
Wolves v Stoke.
You going aidoB/aidoM????
aido_b
07/03/2006, 5:43 PM
A Corky Boy bragging!!!:eek: Never!!:D
Wolves v Stoke.
You going aidoB/aidoM????
Too right! Great atmosphere in the molineux, nice stadium too!
07/03/2006, 9:45 PM
the sligo sham accent has to be the worst...i hate it!
anything from up north is deadly
07/03/2006, 9:50 PM
Best-Donegal
Worst-The accent of the galway people who aint from the city.....and of course the sligo accent.;) Louth,Longford(ooooo arrrr) and Cavan.
Gareth
07/03/2006, 9:58 PM
Firstly thank you Peadar for suggesting I can speak somewhat coherently (I wish my written word stood up better :)).
I find any accent that alters the language to the point where the spoken word bares no logical comparsion to the written one as dodgy. Any accent that drawls can be annoying (Drogs accent, rolling donegal accents). I find however its not the accent that bothers me but the content of what is spoken.
A gaggle of Corkies in one room can be overwhelming. Examples can be found at Frank and Walters gigs. Really heavy Dublin accents where words merge into one long sentence can be hard to understand. Northern accents however are the ones I find myself saying "Can you repeat that please" to most!!!
Dr.Nightdub
08/03/2006, 12:18 AM
I find any accent that alters the language to the point where the spoken word bares no logical comparsion to the written one as dodgy.
You can go too far the other way though. I got an e-mail from my boss last week, saying "Youse is not a real word. Please stop using it in e-mails." :rolleyes:
08/03/2006, 7:52 AM
LOL i can confirm his is a mad accent, i havent heard such a strong laaaangggfoooowwwwrd accent before.
Very true, a lot of people over here, dont actually think that Im Irish cos they've never heard that sort of accent before. Ive had a few people mistaking me for being Welsh! Funnily enough my workmates can understand me but some Irish people over here struggle! if anything the midland accent has got stronger over here for some bizarre reason...
Naitch
08/03/2006, 9:19 AM
Best for me has to be the Donegal or a Dublin accent from somewhere like Portmarnock or Malahide , the worst anywhere in N.Ireland
Drumcondra Red
08/03/2006, 9:34 AM
I had a fair job understanding you too, girl.
At least Gareth talks proper!
Drum Red is getting easier to understand but I think that's because he's picking up the Cork accent. :D
Oh please don't say that, I couldn't live with an accent like that!!! :D
I hope that comment was meant as irony about Gar's accent Peadar???
babydol
08/03/2006, 2:15 PM
I had a fair job understanding you too, girl.
At least Gareth talks proper!
Drum Red is getting easier to understand but I think that's because he's picking up the Cork accent. :D
How am I difficult to understand! I didn't think I spoke all that different to Gar! :o
ken foree
08/03/2006, 7:29 PM
if yis are gonna waz all over louth accents at least get the 'drawwdeh' pronunciation right! 'lurha him emelda, he's gawwjus.' <---this type of thing. mate has a well-spoken kildare accent believe it or not, not sure which part he's from.. eh, in fact it is because of his bizarre baritone that i'm enlisting him for a strange doom poem reading.
worst: athlone
Thunderblaster
09/03/2006, 12:14 AM
The best has to be that really strong ballycussion(kilmaine,mayo) accent its seriously class and TBH any west of ireland accent
A strong, thick Mayo accent is horrendous to listen to.:eek: Some of the galway accents in singing can be pretty unbearable.:eek: A United Accented Ireland should be a universal Dublin accent.:D
09/03/2006, 11:28 AM
inner city dubs think people in the blanch are culchies!
09/03/2006, 11:51 AM
lass i used to work with in Dublin from Ballyfermot, she seriously said to me that she went down the country for the weekend. I said what part did you go? She said Malahide!!!!!!!
09/03/2006, 11:59 AM
LOL, have to say being honest and in all fairness my accent is the best. most people i meet think so too.
09/03/2006, 12:57 PM
Cant stand west of Ireland accents. God they drive me almost as demented as southern ones...Midlands and north are only bareable ones.
09/03/2006, 2:20 PM
LOL, have to say being honest and in all fairness my accent is the best. most people i meet think so too.
Paul, your accent sounds like an old Morris Minor engine trying to start on a frosty morning.
09/03/2006, 3:18 PM
Best: Dundalk
Worst: Cork
09/03/2006, 3:24 PM
Ya can't pick Dundalk i'm afraid, or Louth for that matter.
I'm afraid you'll have to edit it to Drogheda.
09/03/2006, 3:37 PM
Right you can't vote for your own one as best.
Best: Dundalk
Why am I not surprised! :rolleyes:
09/03/2006, 3:42 PM
Paul, your accent sounds like an old Morris Minor engine trying to start on a frosty morning.
says you who produces half a litre of spit at every sentence.
09/03/2006, 3:46 PM
says you who produces half a litre of spit at every sentence.
Must get Liam to post up that video of you at Ruislip again. :D
09/03/2006, 4:12 PM
Must get Liam to post up that video of you at Ruislip again.
i was ****ed and dishevelled, and god knows what else ;)
2 days before that remember....
09/03/2006, 4:14 PM
Cant stand west of Ireland accents. God they drive me almost as demented as southern ones...Midlands and north are only bareable ones.
Friday should be interesting so!:D
09/03/2006, 4:38 PM
Cant stand west of Ireland accents. God they drive me almost as demented as southern ones
wait till ye meet me, ill change all that ;)
anto eile
09/03/2006, 11:38 PM
best : dublin
sexiest for a woman: donegal
worst: drogheda.mix of dub/culchie/northern.awful. dishonorable mentions to bray and cork too, "like", "bye"
10/03/2006, 8:19 AM
best : dublin
Another Dub who can't read! :rolleyes:
Strabane_Harp
10/03/2006, 8:25 AM
Another Dub who can't read! :rolleyes:
homeless and uneducated and you look down on him
shame on you Peadar, Shame :p
12/03/2006, 10:17 AM
Ok have revised me hatred of Galway accents somewhat after Friday....
I love Galway fans!
Gareth
12/03/2006, 10:34 AM
I hope that comment was meant as irony about Gar's accent Peadar???
...why exactly? :)
12/03/2006, 12:39 PM
Worst: Donegal/Nordie/Strong Sligo townie accent("dis and dat":o)
Best: Limerick/Cork/Kerry. Basically, the south, just cos it sounds funny:D.
Olander
12/03/2006, 12:53 PM
Ok have revised me hatred of Galway accents somewhat after Friday....
I love Galway fans!hahaha
12/03/2006, 6:56 PM
BEST: Hmmm Soft Derry but I like a lot of them
WORST: As a Northside Dubliner I agree with the D4/DORT accent being the worst. Pure bog is preferable honestly. The DORT accent evolved from a West Brit wanna be accent in the 1970's to it's modern infestation.
monkey magic
13/03/2006, 12:31 AM
mate of mine is goin out with a girl from drogheda and their accent is CAT, every time i meet her i feel compelled to ask her to say chicken burger:D its like crossin culchie with a northside dublin accent...
the best has to be north donegal, espically in the girls;) id imagine its pretty much the same as the derry accent. just the donegal accent in general really, but they speak way too fast down round bundoran and ballyshannon...
13/03/2006, 11:06 AM
A girl i just started work with has a Tyrone accent, and its damn sexy.
Gareth
13/03/2006, 11:08 AM
Mazzzz baaaa and a packit of quips!!!
13/03/2006, 12:17 PM
may be off topic but if your talking internationally... Italian. mmmmmmm
15/03/2006, 11:31 AM
Stopped off in Dundalk on the way back from Dungannon last night and the accent is much worse than I remembered.
It nearly brings a tear to my eye. :(
15/03/2006, 11:40 AM
It is so horrible its beyond belief!
Best is the nordies accent
Worst is the craptown accent
Cork accent is a bit naff though. even having a cork man screaming murder at ye, ye can never really take it seriously as the accent always has a 'nice' tone to it :eek:
hamish
15/03/2006, 6:15 PM
Just sitting near someone in college talk like they think they're american...why:mad: !!Honestly it recks my head-dont understand why people do it!!
Yeah, reminds me of a sociology professor in UCG whom I thought was from the US.
I discovered he was from a town near Galway and the saying was:
"He left Tuam and came back to Toom":D
15/03/2006, 7:14 PM
The Blanch, Where the Fcuk is The Blanch. I'm from Blanch personally ;)
Thunderblaster
16/03/2006, 12:17 AM
Worst is the craptown accent
Where in the heck is Craptown?:eek: :D
Where in the heck is Craptown
Sorry, I thought it was obvious :eek: - craptown is obviously dundalk :)
I love the old inner city accent.The old Ireland.Now its just an accent spoken by disadvantaged people it doesnt mean anything any more.:(