View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers Match
atfconline
06/03/2006, 2:03 PM
PLEASE note that Athlone Town's opening home game of the season against Shamrock Rovers will take place on Thursday March 16th at 7:30pm in Saint Mel's Park.
The game had previously been fixed for the following Saturday night.
Town open their 2006 eircom League First Division campaign this Saturday night when they make the long trek up to Ballybofey to take on Finn Harps.
Blueman
06/03/2006, 3:00 PM
Why is this? Can't make Thursday. I reckon the crowd will be way down on what we would have got on the Saturday night. The Rovers support will be way down too.
Battery Rover
06/03/2006, 3:41 PM
Due to the fact that there is a St Patricks Weekend festival on. I believe a lot of this is on Saturday night.
07/03/2006, 2:30 AM
Play Friday/Sunday then.
Thursday night, ffs. Dundalk on Thursdays we can just about stomach, as at least you know ages beforehand. Do yous really hate the prospect of more than 100 fans at your ground or what?? :mad:
Battery Rover
07/03/2006, 6:34 AM
There will still be close to the 1000 mark there.
Plus I feel its good that the players get to spend the weekend with their familys as it will be a long time before they get a weekend off again
BohsFans
07/03/2006, 1:18 PM
Plus I feel its good that the players get to spend the weekend with their familys as it will be a long time before they get a weekend off again
How professional! :eek:
Welcome to the 1st division graveyard homeless :D
As Battery Rover said in an earlier post, the council have a weekend festival
planned and asked about moving the game forward so as events wouldnt clash.
Although getting a good crowd from an away team would be nice, we need to
improve our home support so it makes sense not to have it clashing with something
else.
07/03/2006, 3:02 PM
How professional! :eek:
Welcome to the 1st division graveyard homeless :D
FAO Athlone fans you will find da boez sometimes coming on when they see our name. This is for 2 reasons. One is that they are obsessed and 2 is that they are deep down Rovers fans.
Disappointed on the fixture change. Why obey the council?
atfconline
07/03/2006, 3:22 PM
So if SDCC asked Rovers to switch a game, Rovers wouldn't do it?
Obviously our council isn't as involved with our stadium as SDCC are with Rovers, but it still wouldn't make any sense on our part to refuse to move it.
They have things planned for the Saturday night, and asked us to move our game to avoid them clashing. It's unfortunate, but that's the way it is.
BohsFans
07/03/2006, 6:41 PM
FAO Athlone fans you will find da boez sometimes coming on when they see our name. This is for 2 reasons. One is that they are obsessed and 2 is that they are deep down Rovers fans.
:rolleyes: Typical reaction.
btw I was on this page looking at pics of their new stadium, not that I have to explain myself to the homeless scum :D
08/03/2006, 1:00 PM
:rolleyes: Typical reaction.
btw I was on this page looking at pics of their new stadium, not that I have to explain myself to the homeless scum :D
If you say so obsessed.
08/03/2006, 1:06 PM
So if SDCC asked Rovers to switch a game, Rovers wouldn't do it?
Obviously our council isn't as involved with our stadium as SDCC are with Rovers, but it still wouldn't make any sense on our part to refuse to move it.
They have things planned for the Saturday night, and asked us to move our game to avoid them clashing. It's unfortunate, but that's the way it is.
I would still have thought Sunday afternoon would be a better bet than Thursday night. I imagine a good few Rovers fans would travel to their first away game in the First Division.
Battery Rover
08/03/2006, 4:16 PM
Maybe but Sundays wouldnt be good for our own support and as Ash says above we need to build our home support thats whats important even though a large away crowd would be nice.
Also I believe our festival runs Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Sure we will see you in August perhaps in our new stadium
08/03/2006, 6:18 PM
we need to build our home support
What support? :confused:
Battery Rover
08/03/2006, 7:21 PM
Wait till ye are down here 10 years. Ye poor lads don't know what ye are facing into
10/03/2006, 1:24 PM
Wait till ye are down here 10 years. Ye poor lads don't know what ye are facing into
As somebody quoted about the first division "Its not even football":D
Should have stuck with the sat night fixture. Surely the council knew the weekend was a national holiday?:o
21/03/2006, 2:50 PM
As predicted the attendance was affected by the stupid decision to change the fixture. Kick off delayed for 15 minutes because of the traffic delays also.
It had been 8 years since we were there but didnt think it was possible the place could be in a worse state but it was!
The walk up there is surreal. What is the story with St Mels Terrace?:eek:
Your programme was a better read than some of the premier ones.
I notice that we are down there again at the end of july. The obvious thing would be to open your new stadium against us. Promote the game to the hilt. You'll have no GAA or premiership counter attractions.
As far as I know our last league game in Mels is against ye.
Give it a good send off
22/03/2006, 11:36 AM
Open the stadium against us or Dundalk? What do you think is the better idea for publicity purposes?
Depends on when its finished and ready for use.
At the moment, as far as I know, our last league
game in St Mels is scheduled to be against ye.
I assume there will be some promotional game organised
for the official opening