View Full Version : New jerseys

eamoss
01/03/2006, 10:01 PM
Didnt even know we would have new jerseys. Looks alrite but say with out the numbers and the big eircom logo on it wud look crap!

01/03/2006, 10:15 PM
Not at all! They look sweet. I think they'll look even better as the players wore them tonight. A different shade of green, no pattern, manufacturers logo well out of the way and the crest has pride of place. I'll be buying one as soon as its available.

Colbert Report
01/03/2006, 10:22 PM
when will it be available and for how long will we wear it? how long was the last jersey current for?

01/03/2006, 10:26 PM
Normally jerseys are on a 2 year cycle nowadays

Fergie's Son
01/03/2006, 11:38 PM
Why don't they have the names on the back of the jersey?

02/03/2006, 8:06 AM
On sale either the 10th or 15th March

02/03/2006, 8:09 AM
15th of march it said in the programme...in time for paddys day

02/03/2006, 8:29 AM
Yeah, there was a big card board cut out of Clinton
advertising the new Ireland jersey in time for St. Patricks Day.

Bit ironic ... neither of them being Irish :p

Tipp Townie
02/03/2006, 9:13 AM
Anyone got any photos? For various reasons (all of which are completely unacceptable :o ) i didnt get to see the game. Just checked the FAI site and unsuprisingly there's nothing on it....

02/03/2006, 9:29 AM
did you not see his location.

rte doesnt come on terrestial tv in london!!!doh!

02/03/2006, 9:43 AM
Try Sportsfile - they have photos from last night

http://www.sportsfile.com/

Tipp Townie
02/03/2006, 9:53 AM
Cheers Reiteoir, i'll check out that link now :)

Thanks for the tip anyway ZoolEire;)

klein4
02/03/2006, 9:55 AM
sportsfile are great....altho they have a tendency towards the hacking..

Tipp Townie
02/03/2006, 12:08 PM
Just looked at Sportsfile. Shirt looks good, like the rest of ye i prefer it when its a plainer shirt. It does look to be the same kind of design as the England away shirt though, which always bothers me slightly... i'd prefer to be more individual.

As for the lack of sponsor, i'm gonna be pessimistic and say that the replica shirts us lads are gonna buy will have a feck off massive great logo on the front of them:mad: Unless anyone can reassure me that it wont?:confused:

02/03/2006, 1:43 PM
While the shirt does look plainer than previous version (thats a good thing) it still looks like made from same crap material. :(

onenilgameover
02/03/2006, 5:15 PM
I think its a poor shirt and looks silly. match details were in the centre on the england shirts and below the crest on the Ireland ones...leads me to believe that umbro have made bad design decisions. I'm makin a stand and will not be forking out cash...

brine3
02/03/2006, 8:00 PM
proper jersey:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/sportingcentury/media/sc_ireland_italia90.jpg

sylvo
02/03/2006, 8:11 PM
Seen a poster in one of the shops before the game yesterday of Clint modelling it. It looks nearly the same as the one brought out just over a year ago that is now defunct.

02/03/2006, 8:43 PM
Here's the ad from the match programme:

http://img490.imageshack.us/img490/6972/jersey1qa.jpg

Soper
02/03/2006, 11:02 PM
The Umbro logo should be parallel to the fai crest, in my opinion.

02/03/2006, 11:48 PM
Here's the ad from the match programme:

http://img490.imageshack.us/img490/6972/jersey1qa.jpg

ah ffs - GET RID OF THE FRIGGING SPONSOR

I will NOT be buying it now

Patronizer
03/03/2006, 1:50 PM
*Shiver*... :eek:

Wasn't much in favour in gettin the new 'Era' strip to begin with... after seein the state of it at the match, I defo won't be gettin it in a hurry now! :mad:

My old Kerr range is still tops by a shot. Shall go with the grand old days for 17th so! :D

Dan K
03/03/2006, 3:18 PM
I can understand that the FAI gets more money from having a sponsor, but would it kill them to offer a more expensive version of the shirt without the sponsor?

I'd happily fork out £35 - £40 for one without the sponsor, bearing in mind the shirt costs about £25 here.

I'm pretty sure no other european footballing nation has a sponsor on their shirts...

03/03/2006, 3:48 PM
How long have we had a sponsor on the jerseys for? I know since the Opel days, but before that, did we have any on sale without? Ridiculous that we have to wear a stupid logo on an international shirt, nothing wrong with the idea of a sponsor on tracksuits etc, but on a national shirt. madness. New shirt not that impressed with, why do we have to copy England's design all the time? At least the numbers on the back arent the same.... could have been worse, we could have ended up with...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/matchofthedaywales/fun/slideshows/280206_newkit.shtml

ken foree
03/03/2006, 5:41 PM
I can understand that the FAI gets more money from having a sponsor, but would it kill them to offer a more expensive version of the shirt without the sponsor?

I'd happily fork out £35 - £40 for one without the sponsor, bearing in mind the shirt costs about £25 here.

I'm pretty sure no other european footballing nation has a sponsor on their shirts...

write them and i'll do the same. that umbro logo is awfully placed. and the sponsor.. uhhrrhghh...

03/03/2006, 6:03 PM
I still hate the new FAIreland crest it's ugly

Dan K
03/03/2006, 6:04 PM
How long have we had a sponsor on the jerseys for? I know since the Opel days, but before that, did we have any on sale without? Ridiculous that we have to wear a stupid logo on an international shirt, nothing wrong with the idea of a sponsor on tracksuits etc, but on a national shirt. madness. New shirt not that impressed with, why do we have to copy England's design all the time? At least the numbers on the back arent the same.... could have been worse, we could have ended up with...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/matchofthedaywales/fun/slideshows/280206_newkit.shtml

Although the collar is a bit OTT, I quite like the new Welsh kit. However, I understand that I may very well be on my own there. :o

Dan K
03/03/2006, 6:07 PM
write them and i'll do the same. that umbro logo is awfully placed. and the sponsor.. uhhrrhghh...

We can try. We may not get anywhere, but there's no harm in trying.

Emmet
03/03/2006, 6:08 PM

I think if it was then it would pretty much be the same as the previous kit!

03/03/2006, 6:12 PM
I think they could still incorporate the Eircom logo if they stuck it on the back where the player's name usually goes in squad number scenarios. Thus the sponsor gets his logo on the shirt and the punter doesn't have a huge Corporate logo on his/her stomach!

04/03/2006, 9:19 AM
Reason the umbro logo is up so high, is cos of the numbers, but it looks faintly stupid if theres no number and a stupid corporate logo. what a mess, umbro havent done a decent kit for us in years....

Drumcondra Red
10/03/2006, 2:18 PM
Its the same as the old one ffs, Got the old one in Elverys in long sleeve for €25, I'm a gteat bargin hunter, cheap as chips!!!

Patronizer
10/03/2006, 2:37 PM
Its the same as the old one ffs, Got the old one in Elverys in long sleeve for €25, I'm a gteat bargin hunter, cheap as chips!!!

PLUS it looks miles better! Let's all start wearin the old jerseys :D... then FAI & Umbro should get the message... but even that'll fall on 'blind eyes'... :rolleyes:

ken foree
10/03/2006, 2:48 PM
wrote to them politely enough suggesting that quite a few fans would shell out extra for a logo-less kit.. no reply naturally

13/03/2006, 8:13 AM
Reply from Umbro here:

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=24894&page=2

ken foree
13/03/2006, 2:45 PM
Reply from Umbro here:

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=24894&page=2

chrs, that third party retro one looks the business from that thread. maybe we should start buying them and send the other hooers a message