View Full Version : A whole lot of fixtures

Gareth
01/03/2006, 8:16 PM
Over 10,000 to be exact

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/fixtures.php?seasonid=107

If you go to the fixtures page you will now be able to select a season and a team. By doing so, you will get the fixtures for the selected team on the selected season. Currently it is mainly League fixtures and there is a gap from 1988 to 2004 ish at the moment which I am currently uploading. I also have to give the results a one over to ensure they are accurate ( I did enter them all in manually so there will be mistakes, which I will fix in time) but for the most part they should be bang on.

The remaining results (1988-2004) should be entered in shortly. I will be including all the other teams setanta cup results shortly too.

In a few days I will have all the league tables being generated from the league results from each season. I think it is a pretty huge resource and over the coming weeks I will prefect any errors and flaws.

(Posted here cos its for all the clubs)

adamcarr
01/03/2006, 9:57 PM
Great work there Gareth. Were there a lot of people helping out?

babydol
01/03/2006, 10:00 PM
Gareth doesn't need help - He's superman!

Fair play to you Gar, its fantastic!

Gareth
01/03/2006, 10:08 PM
No Adam alas I did it all myself. Should be very comprehensive and complete by the weekend.

We actually have a similiar thing for players but only currently playing ones:

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/opposition.php

Original Bongo helped me with this and it currently is a work in progress, but its pretty comprehensive too!!

seand
02/03/2006, 8:09 AM
Stunning achievement mate, top marks.

Gareth
02/03/2006, 8:56 AM
Thanks Sean.

02/03/2006, 10:09 AM
Excellent work Gareth. Will enable us Derry fans to keep track of just how long it is since you last beat us (it's been a while....) :p

Just one bit of feedback - the scores layout is a bit confusing. It lists scores 'For' and 'Against' - but actually takes it from the perspective of whichever team was at home. Therefore - if I look at Derry's 2:0 away victory over Finn Harps on 16th April 2005, the list currently suggests that we had '0' goals For, and '2' against. Suggesting we lost 2:0. Not sure if this is something that can be addressed to make it easier to digest.

Great job all-in-all though !

Gareth
02/03/2006, 12:28 PM
Seand pointed that out to me. I need to fix it. I will have it sorted by the evening :) Slight oversight on my behalf but easily fixed :) Feedback is very welcome. I hope it will be all in order over the couple of days!!!

harpskid
02/03/2006, 12:53 PM
Fair play Gareth. excellent resource. Fair dues chief!

02/03/2006, 1:03 PM
one complaint.....Where the feck are we???

Wanted to check the date when we beat you coz I managed to convince my ex to go to that game and he sat among the shels fans by accident and cheered when we scored....lucky to get out alive!

02/03/2006, 2:29 PM
Magicme that game was in the month of January in the year (2002, I think :confused: ) It was between the 10th and 17th of that month if my memory serves me correctly...:o

monkey magic
02/03/2006, 11:13 PM
excellent stuff gareth, had a quick check to see if i could catch it out- had a look to see what would happen iff i put in longford and say, 1981, and it just reverted back to shels that year, another great resource added to the site :)

Gareth
02/03/2006, 11:43 PM
Yeah if the team does not exist that year, it will revert back to the default. I meant to get most of the remaining fixtures done but I got catch up in other stuff tonight. Thanks for the nice comments. Hopefully it will be a useful resource. I know its a Shelbourne site but I see the league as a whole as an important thing to keep track of. I am too tired having to trawl the net for information we should have to hand on our league!!!

Gareth
02/03/2006, 11:46 PM
one complaint.....Where the feck are we???

Wanted to check the date when we beat you coz I managed to convince my ex to go to that game and he sat among the shels fans by accident and cheered when we scored....lucky to get out alive!

You will be there shortly :) Sorry for your current exclusion. One of the worst games I ever seen was Monaghan playing against Shels in the 90's I think it was. Tolka Park, freezing cold and I THINk we pipped a goal at the very end. I think Arkins was playing with us at the time.

04/03/2006, 4:07 PM
Told ya before Gareth, well done. The best EL site around in my opinion.

05/03/2006, 8:16 PM
That's superb. Was actually looking for data on the older UCD seasons!

Incidentally, should be only a small step from there to being able to select two teams and view the entire head-to-head?

Gareth
05/03/2006, 9:47 PM
Exactly Pineapple , I am just waiting to get the rest of the results in and I have a whole lot of different stats options available. Should be interesting. Been busy this week so I couldnt get round to finishing the stats.

06/03/2006, 12:40 PM
Botún beag by the way - we only lost 6-0 in Dundalk in our first season (79/80), not 9-0, as far as I know. Our record defeat is still the 7-0 loss to Limerick United that same year.

06/03/2006, 1:19 PM
You will be there shortly :) Sorry for your current exclusion. One of the worst games I ever seen was Monaghan playing against Shels in the 90's I think it was. Tolka Park, freezing cold and I THINk we pipped a goal at the very end. I think Arkins was playing with us at the time.

Aw grand! You're forgiven, I know how hard it can be to get everything done.

Thanks Raheny Red....thought it was back then actually but wasnt sure.

sullanefc
06/03/2006, 2:14 PM
Yeah if the team does not exist that year, it will revert back to the default. I meant to get most of the remaining fixtures done but I got catch up in other stuff tonight. Thanks for the nice comments. Hopefully it will be a useful resource. I know its a Shelbourne site but I see the league as a whole as an important thing to keep track of. I am too tired having to trawl the net for information we should have to hand on our league!!!

Well done Gareth. About the above however I was looking at CCFC's results for 2005 and when I went to 2004 it reverted to Shelbourne's results for 2004. So I don't think it just applies to teams who were relegated. If you are going to include preseason friendlies for Shels then you should probably do them for all teams. Might be hard to find tho.

Gareth
06/03/2006, 8:13 PM
Yeah if you change the year it goes back to shels!!! Its a safety measure!!! Checking that fixture now Pineapple

Gareth
06/03/2006, 10:20 PM
Botún beag by the way - we only lost 6-0 in Dundalk in our first season (79/80), not 9-0, as far as I know. Our record defeat is still the 7-0 loss to Limerick United that same year.

You were dead right!! I fixed it now!! Some huge losses that season for ye!!!

Bald Student
06/03/2006, 10:32 PM
Looks Good,
One question though, are the scores given as home - away ? I think that they are but at the top it says F - A. I presume this means for and against which would imply that the same team's scores are always being given first. Maybe putting H - A for home and away at the top would be better?

I'm only nit-picking though, it's excellent.

Gareth
06/03/2006, 10:33 PM
I am changing it as we speak Bald Student :) I accidentally used the old headings from when it was just Shelbourne stats.

Roverstillidie
06/03/2006, 10:38 PM
I am changing it as we speak Bald Student :) I accidentally used the old headings from when it was just Shelbourne stats.

gareth, you know i love you like a little snotty brother, so i mean this in the nicest possible sense: go out and meet a girl. any girl. :D dont mention html or java and she might let you touch her up :D

Gareth
06/03/2006, 10:41 PM
Haha - firstly Bald Student,thats fixed. Is that better?

Nextly I do actually have a very tolerant girlfriend who puts up with my insanely odd addiction to league of ireland :) I think she'd hurt me if I was to take your advice H :)

Gareth
06/03/2006, 10:43 PM
Well done Gareth. About the above however I was looking at CCFC's results for 2005 and when I went to 2004 it reverted to Shelbourne's results for 2004. So I don't think it just applies to teams who were relegated. If you are going to include preseason friendlies for Shels then you should probably do them for all teams. Might be hard to find tho.

I will eventually include cup and european games but in time. I am still to finish the league off. As for preseason friendlies, I include Shels as I go to all Shels pre-seasons and seeing as its a Shels site its far easier for me to keep up to date with them preseason than Monaghans or Cobhs etc. So I am going to stick to competitive games for opposition!! :)

06/03/2006, 10:52 PM
Yeh, it would be a bit OTT to have opposition's pre-season results as well!

Bald Student
06/03/2006, 10:54 PM
I am changing it as we speak Bald Student :) I accidentally used the old headings from when it was just Shelbourne stats.Fixed within 1 minuite of the problem being raised, I'm impressed.

Someone should tell the FAI that there's a hard working computer nerd in the league, you might be able to sort out their site.

Gareth
06/03/2006, 11:02 PM
Ha I am not so sure I like the nerd tag but well I guess its justified in this case. The Shels site is plenty of work, plus I am launching a music site shortly (plugging this one Hugh :)) and well I think I'd be looking for plenty of money if I was asked to do another site. :)

I welcome suggestions and pointing out any mistakes I've made. The autogeneration of league tables is lots of fun. Esp seeing as different years have different poinst structures and points deductions!!!!

I wonder who moved this thread. I would of thought it was a league thing and not a shels thing?

07/03/2006, 7:26 AM
Exactly - it is more of a league thing!

07/03/2006, 12:32 PM
Some huge losses that season for ye!!!
That's why we got rid of the students-only policy and won the Cup four years later! :)

07/03/2006, 12:42 PM
Excellent work Gareth. Great stuff.:ball:

Daxion
08/03/2006, 1:54 PM
Gareth
This is great work, the only thing I would suggest is to have all the fixtures as the default for the specific season. I know it is the Shels web site,
Well Done.

Gareth
08/03/2006, 4:46 PM
I will have an Entire Season option by tonight. I will also have results from 88 to 92 added tonight!!! Thansk for the suggestions!!

08/03/2006, 6:18 PM
Some huge losses that season for ye!!!
As a follow-on from that...spot our biggest win that year! :)

Gareth
08/03/2006, 8:54 PM
Yeah a stunning 5-0 win over my favourite team!! :) I hear it was five lucky goals!! :)

By the way, to display every fixture I have to do a little reworking as I need to display both teams and well I don't have time tonight but I will later!!

08/03/2006, 9:09 PM
Not that bad - just the 5-1. Dem were the days - Shels were rubbish, we had a player who could actually score four goals in one match...all was right with the world!

Gareth
14/03/2006, 11:24 AM
Just added a League and Setanta Top Scorers Section.

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/stats.php?seasonid=107