View Full Version : Starting 11 confirmed

lofty9
28/02/2006, 12:45 PM
Haven't seen it posted here.

http://home.skysports.com/list.asp?hlid=367289&CPID=219&clid=&lid=2&title=Staunton+names+starting+XI

JimmyP
28/02/2006, 12:49 PM
Slightly surprised that Finnan doesn't make the starting line-up.

O'Shea in midfield?

3 up front, and 3 in the middle?

colster
28/02/2006, 12:52 PM
Slightly surprised that Finnan doesn't make the starting line-up.

O'Shea in midfield?

3 up front, and 3 in the middle?

Finnan has a big game for Liverpool soon so that may have somthing to do with it.
It'll be interesting to see how they line out.

silentbob
28/02/2006, 12:56 PM
Given

J'O Brien Dunne A O'Brien Harte

Reid O'Shea Duff

Doyle Keane Elliot

Looks something like this I think.

loscherland
28/02/2006, 12:57 PM
Finnan's gone back to Liverpool with a neck problem apparently

I'd imagine he'll probably start Elliot on the right side of midfield

klein4
28/02/2006, 1:03 PM
very interesting selection...
looking forward to the match now!

28/02/2006, 1:15 PM
Sweden will cut right through that midfield!
The pressure on the defence won't be long telling. :(

28/02/2006, 1:16 PM
Wouldn't be surprised to see Doyle or Keane dropping a bit deeper.

I'm happy to see that type of midfield but would have preferred Kav to O'Shea. His simple, composed passing game is more likely to get players involved than O'Shea.

Good luck to O'Shea though. I think he needs a confident start to his new role.

In Finnan's absence it's good to see O'Brien get a start & for the sake of balance alone Harte is worthy of a place, though I'd have far preferred to see Kilbane tucked in behind Duff.

28/02/2006, 1:18 PM
Bolton full-back Joey O'Brien is one of two new faces
Bolton full-back Joey O'Brien and Reading striker Kevin Doyle will make their Republic of Ireland debuts against Sweden on Wednesday.
New Republic boss Steve Staunton revealed: "I was going to play Joey even if Steven Finnan had been fit.

"Kevin's got a great chance to come on to the next level and he's well able to handle it. They've got an opportunity and we'll see what happens."

Staunton handed the captaincy to Tottenham striker Robbie Keane.

Liverpool full-back Finnan was not considered because of a "little" neck injury while Clinton Morrison sat out training with a tight groin.

Doyle, who was included in the squad for Brian Kerr's final two games in charge last October, has scored 15 goals for Reading this season, while O'Brien has become a regular at Bolton in his first full season.

Staunton is excited by the flexibility of his side and has no concerns over pairing Steven Reid and John O'Shea in central midfield.

"It's a great test for our lads," Staunton added. "It's an opportunity to see what top-class teams are like.

Keane awarded Republic captaincy

"I've got two or three games to get people a few caps and some experience.

"We'll be trying out different things so we know we can play 4-4-2 and we can change to help us and give us an advantage.

"I've always seen John O'Shea in that role and Steven Reid has come on in leaps and bounds - he's been fantastic this season.

"We look very flexible and we've enough bright players who can go and express themselves and that's what I want to see. I want them to enjoy it."

I reckon this could be the formation

Given

O Brien O Brien Dunne Harte

Reid O Shea Duff

Keane

Doyle Elliot

28/02/2006, 1:20 PM
Sweden will cut right through that midfield!
The pressure on the defence won't be long telling. :(

I have to disagree with you there. Sweden's midfield and defense is individually very weak. Its their strikers and our left-full I'd be worried about.

finlma
28/02/2006, 1:24 PM
Our midfield is very lightweight but its only a friendly. Its good to see the likes of Doyle and O'Brien starting instead of getting 20 mins as a sub.

28/02/2006, 1:31 PM
Sweden's midfield is likely to be the following:

N. Alexandersson (former Everton player - hardly sets the world alight)
T. Linderroth (ex Everton - rarely got a game when he was there - again average player)
A. Svensson (ex. Southampton - I don't know how this guy gets a game at international level)
C. Wilhelmsson (good technic but very lightweight and easily knocked off the ball).

I think our midfield is individually much stronger but it remains to see how well they play as a unit.

joema
28/02/2006, 1:52 PM
Fair play to Stan. I dont really agree with the starting line up. But that doesnt really matter - its only a friendly - at least hes prepared to try new things in friendlies unlike kerr

Hope Lawrence gets at least 20 mins

28/02/2006, 2:28 PM
I didn't expect Finnan to play much anyway as he has a good deal of club games. That does not apply to Duff, I hope he runs his socks off for the 90mins. Is Kavanagh injured?

Irish_Praha
28/02/2006, 2:30 PM
I have to agree with loscherland I think it will be 4-4-2 with Elliott on right at some stage. However, hopefully he will give the 4-3-3 a shot for the first 30 mins or so and if it doesnt work out then drop Elliott back to RB. Elliott can't have much match fitness after being out for so long and only playing 45 mins of first team football since his comeback. So I can see Lawrence coming on at half time or early in the second half and then we will play a more conventional 4-4-2.
Or maybe Staunton has something clever up his sleeve with Doyle playing as the out and out striker and Robbie and Elliott swapping around the RMF and deep striker role in an attempt to confuse their markers:eek: :D

Hither green
28/02/2006, 3:00 PM
I'm not really a fan of the "it's only a friendly" attitude. I'd rather start with a fairly settled line up, go for the result and start building a winning mentality. According to Staunton "We'll be trying out different things so we know we can play 4-4-2 and we can change to help us and give us an advantage." We don't know we can play 4-4-2 under Staunton, not yet anyway. We've lost a number of players and if 4-4-2's going to be his prefered formation then he should start with a strong 4-4-2 and not be messing around from the start. And I'd prefer a more solid midfield too.

That said, good luck to him - don't want to sound to negative before we even start. :D

Reality Bites
28/02/2006, 3:02 PM
Congratulation Stan ! A brave and Adventurous Line-up, With plently of little Sub-plots to keep the Keen Observer of Irish Football very interested, in these largely depressing months leading up to the World Cup!

28/02/2006, 3:05 PM
From what little I saw of Elliott at the weekend he looked surprisingly sharp. But I doubt he'll be given a full game.

I'd hate to see Elliott play anywhere other than as a forward, be it as part of a 3 which is where he started the season at Sunderland, or preferably as a proper striker alongside Doyle or Keane, who I expect will alternate dropping deep as both tend to do anyway.

If Staunton plays Elliott at RHM in a 4-4-2 I'll think it an astonishingly bad decision, especially when we have a player at the same club as him who is a specialist in that position. In my opinion Elliott has nothing to offer from wide-midfield.

28/02/2006, 3:11 PM
I reckon this could be the formation

Given
Reid O Shea Duff
Keane
Doyle Elliot

The way he listed the team it looked like a straight 4-4-2

Given
Elliot Reid O Shea Duff
Doyle Keane

Anyway looks like an attacking side with three strikers
anyway we will see tomorrow.

onenilgameover
28/02/2006, 3:13 PM
They sometimes release the starting line up to sell tickets. Will this be a sell out?.......... and if not...what does it say about stan?

28/02/2006, 3:13 PM
I hope announcing the team early is the start of a trend too.

28/02/2006, 3:18 PM
eleven-a-side.com has Elliott on the right, which would be a waste IMO. Here's hoping it's a mistake

28/02/2006, 3:18 PM
Jayz lads, i'd have thought Doyler, if anyone would be the one of the 3 to start in midfield.

28/02/2006, 3:24 PM
They sometimes release the starting line up to sell tickets. Will this be a sell out?.......... and if not...what does it say about stan?

i think stands are sold out but not sure about terrace. i'd say 42,000

28/02/2006, 3:33 PM
The way he listed the team it looked like a straight 4-4-2
agreed. It definitely looks like Elliott is going to start on the right. Very poor decision and a waste of experimenting with someone in that position as Elliott is not going to be starting there in competitives. I wouldn't mind if he was even a right footer. :)

28/02/2006, 3:35 PM
Its their strikers and our left-full I'd be worried about.

At least O'Shea isn't at left-full, then you really would have something to worry about!

28/02/2006, 3:36 PM
Who knows we will wait and judge to see how the team lines up No point in criticising a decision we dont even know has been made yet. Not like you Eirebhoy to jump the guy like that.

28/02/2006, 3:36 PM
various sites have the formation as 4-4-2, 4-1-2-1-2 and 4-3-3, we'll have to wait and see how they line up tomorrow evening

onenilgameover
28/02/2006, 3:38 PM
Who knows we will wait and judge to see how the team lines up No point in criticising a decision we dont even know has been made yet. Not like you Eirebhoy to jump the guy like that.

..........was just gonna say the same thing....:)

Bald Student
28/02/2006, 3:48 PM
I hope announcing the team early is the start of a trend too.I don't agree. It's OK for friendlies but for competitive games you want to keep the opposition in the dark for as long as possible. Also, a few years ago Mick McCarthy regretted doing it because it meant that newspapers who couldn't speculate over team selection had to fill papers with other stories.

28/02/2006, 4:01 PM
I know Bald Student, but didn't you hate over the last few years being in the pub 90 mins before the game & not knowing the team?

In one sense it also says to the opposition: Here's our team. We're not afraid of you.

And judging by the reaction to his first team announcement, nobody's any wiser as to what the team will look like anyway !:)

Hither green
28/02/2006, 4:08 PM
In one sense it also says to the opposition: Here's our team. We're not afraid of you.

Oh is that what we're saying, I thought we were saying "Here's our team. We don't give a sh1te if we lose it's only a friendly". I never could understand what Stan was saying :D

28/02/2006, 4:12 PM
Just expressing my opinion. :) Playing Elliott on the right would be like playing Duff up front imo, they should only have to play there if there was nobody else available. The right wing position is up for grabs and I doubt very much Elliott will make that position his own. Maybe he won't be playing on the right tomorrow but the way Staunton read out the team it seems he read it from right to left:

"Joey O'Brien, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Ian Harte, Stephen Elliot, Steven Reid, John O'Shea, Damien Duff, Robbie Keane and Kevin Doyle."

silentbob
28/02/2006, 4:38 PM
At least O'Shea isn't at left-full, then you really would have something to worry about!

Never a truer word spoken Peadar!!!

colster
28/02/2006, 4:40 PM
Just expressing my opinion. :) Playing Elliott on the right would be like playing Duff up front imo, they should only have to play there if there was nobody else available. The right wing position is up for grabs and I doubt very much Elliott will make that position his own. Maybe he won't be playing on the right tomorrow but the way Staunton read out the team it seems he read it from right to left:

"Joey O'Brien, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Ian Harte, Stephen Elliot, Steven Reid, John O'Shea, Damien Duff, Robbie Keane and Kevin Doyle."

Who knows maybe he'll prove as good as Solskjaer when he played on the right for United?

28/02/2006, 4:48 PM
Who knows maybe he'll prove as good as Solskjaer when he played on the right for United?
Solskjaers a right footer though. :) Lets wait and see tomorrow though.

colster
28/02/2006, 4:59 PM
Solskjaers a right footer though. :) Lets wait and see tomorrow though.

Is Elliott not a right footer?

28/02/2006, 5:11 PM
good team part from o' shea...IMO one of the worst players in an irish jersey i've seen and IMO shouldn't be playing but here's hoping he proves me wrong...but in saying that he does have good experience

colster
28/02/2006, 5:15 PM
good team part from o' shea...IMO one of the worst players in an irish jersey i've seen and IMO shouldn't be playing but here's hoping he proves me wrong...but in saying that he does have good experience

I don't think O'Shea is that bad.
I think CM is his best position. He's played pretty well there for United.

zinedineontour
28/02/2006, 5:17 PM
I don't think O'Shea is that bad.
I think CM is his best position. He's played pretty well there for United.

yeah thought he did very well for united on sunday and ran the midfield .. his best position imo and by the look of it now fergusons .. the only worry I have of the team is elliott on the right . Didnt work this season when he played there with sunderland and would have liked to see lawrence who has been playing out there regularly given a start .. but we are rarely gonna all agree with the gaffer .. happy enough though

Karlos
28/02/2006, 5:17 PM
agreed. It definitely looks like Elliott is going to start on the right. Very poor decision and a waste of experimenting with someone in that position as Elliott is not going to be starting there in competitives. I wouldn't mind if he was even a right footer. :)

I disagree. I think a worse decision would be for a manger to feel a player might offer something extra in a different position but never make an effort to try him out. It's not a waste of an experiment as it will give Stan an answer to whatever question he's asking himself about Elliot. In my opinion, it's the right place and time to do this.

I also note Mr. Henry is a right footer playing wide left - I won't write anything off with Elliot before Its been proven otherwise. :)

28/02/2006, 5:36 PM
There's something about O'Shea in that if you see him at reserve or U21 level he sticks out above everyone, anyone would predict him going far. I don't know if its nerves but he is just not the same player in front of 50,000 people (bar his first season at Man United). I think he has the ability but he hasn't shown it since that first season. Its a clean slate under Staunton though and I'll hold all my critisism until he's played. :)

Fergie's Son
28/02/2006, 6:31 PM
All in all I am excited about the team. It's adventerous and fairly attacking. All this talk about us going back to the Charlton days (I'd take the same level of success thank you very much) looks to be off the mark.

Interesting midfield but Keane & Doyle up front will be good to see.

I have yet to be very impressed with Elliot. I think he's too small to be an out and out striker and maybe Stan feels the same way. Another year in the Championship might be good for him.

My only concern with the team is that I wish we had a stronger tackling midfielder and that we had some players on the continent.

28/02/2006, 6:36 PM
I have yet to be very impressed with Elliot.
I'm suprised how often I hear that. I've been really impressed with Elliott every time I've seen him.

28/02/2006, 7:04 PM
well i go to all of the home matches and o' shea has never had a good game....but hopefully he will play better for stan...his problem is he's too easily got out of position

padjoe
28/02/2006, 7:30 PM
what are the odds on doyle scoring on his debut?

28/02/2006, 7:39 PM
Anyone else think O'Brien could be in the middle, with O'Shea at right back? Doesn't sound like it, but it might make sense.

Anyway, has O'Shea been playing midfield for Man Utd recently? They're down to playing players out of position, schoolkids, and field mice there these days.

28/02/2006, 7:40 PM
what are the odds on doyle scoring on his debut?
13/8 with Paddy Power.

Only2keanos
28/02/2006, 8:29 PM
I am happy enough with the team. I was afraid JOB and KD wouldnt get in but its good to see them get the chance from the start. It will be interesting to see the formation, Elliott on the right (or left with duff on the right) seems a strange one but I suppose it could work. Doyle used to play as a winger so maybe he will be on the wing with elliott and keane up front.
The one decision I cant understand is Kavanagh not getting in. Is it anything to do with him playing a cup final on sunday? I would have thought he should be our first choice in centre of midfield at the moment.

FarBeag
28/02/2006, 8:43 PM
Fair play to Staunton for being adventurous, but I really think that Lawrence should be on from the start and Elliot on the bench.Elliot has just come back from a long injury and there is no way he will be match fit. I am no admirer of O'Shea and he had a bad game for united on Sunday but it’s only a friendly so why not.