View Full Version : Ireland training + Mick Byrne
Cowboy
01/03/2006, 8:39 AM
'common knowledge' like in urban legend?
No common knowledge as in they hired Ciaran Murray a qualified physio when they realised there were insurance issues for the players.
Den Perry
01/03/2006, 10:01 AM
Maybe Byrne was brought in to manage the team for Staunton.....after all he has as much management experience
Junior
01/03/2006, 12:16 PM
To the best of my knowledge, nowhere has Staunton said we'll resort to primitive long-ball crap football. I'd ignore anything Niall Quinn says - nice enough bloke but not exactly an intellectual authority.
Its a side issue, but to be fair I think Quinner is an excellent pundit, certainly one of the best on Sky sports at the moment. Talks a lot of sense IMO. Havne't really heard much of what he's said with regards to the Irish team, but I get the impression its along the lines of "we have a small number of world class players and will have to cut our cloth accordingly" so not necessarily long ball crap, but not total football either.
01/03/2006, 12:19 PM
I agree with you Stuttgart. Quinn is a terrible pundit. Himself and Redknapp are so middle of the road its unreal. Andy Gray is the only good thing about Skys coverage of the Premieship in my view but his Punditry of Champions League games is terrible.
01/03/2006, 12:30 PM
I agree with you Stuttgart. Quinn is a terrible pundit. Himself and Redknapp are so middle of the road its unreal. Andy Gray is the only good thing about Skys coverage of the Premieship in my view but his Punditry of Champions League games is terrible.
I can't stand listening to Quinn commenting on an Ireland match as he makes Motson sound unbiased. I'm not a fan of Gray either. He never uses the phrase "I think". Its more like, "right, this is how Man Utd are going to line up" or "Trust me, you won't see a better save then that all season".
klein4
01/03/2006, 12:32 PM
Please try to stay on topic!!!
01/03/2006, 12:35 PM
I can't stand listening to Quinn commenting on an Ireland match as he makes Motson sound unbiased. I'm not a fan of Gray either. He never uses the phrase "I think". Its more like, "right, this is how Man Utd are going to line up" or "Trust me, you won't see a better save then that all season".
Always noticed that about Gray. Never liked him.
I often find that when you talk to some people who exclusively watch football on Sky
some of the sh!te they Ko
come out with is right out wal
of the Andy Gray book of bullsh!t ski
01/03/2006, 12:36 PM
He's far too biased. He was disgraceful in the Chelsea/Barca game
Junior
01/03/2006, 1:14 PM
Andy Gray is the only good thing about Skys coverage of the Premieship in my view but his Punditry of Champions League games is terrible.
Whys that then? Gray does my nut in full stop. But why would he be the best in terms of the premiership and terrible when it comes to CL. Its pretty much the same set up as far as sky is concerned?
Admin: Move to a new thread if necessary
01/03/2006, 1:42 PM
Well he is is way to biased in the Champions League in favour of the English team so it clouds the whole commentary as was seen last week in the Chelsea game and also the game last year for Liverpool V Olymipiakos. I think he gets way to caught up in the moment. I think he would make a terrible pundit for a Scotland game also but he never does the Scottish games. He is actually good if he goes back to the studio and he is not at the game.
Byrne is an embarrassment and a backwards step. I don't think he is allowed treat players as a physio.
He's a sham. How did he get in in the first place. I think bringing him in is pathetic.
Junior
01/03/2006, 7:23 PM
I can't stand listening to Quinn commenting on an Ireland match as he makes Motson sound unbiased.
Fair comment - listening to him there during the first half waxing lyrical about the Irish performance. I was referring to his punditry on the premiership / CL where he seems more impartial.
FarBeag
01/03/2006, 8:39 PM
I don't know what role Mick Byrne has in the Irish setup but judging by the way the all the team jumped on him after Robbie's goal he has their respect that's for sure.If he is able to promote that much excitement among the squad i am happy to have him there no matter what sort of a job he is supposed to be doing.
Hither green
01/03/2006, 8:44 PM
I can't stand listening to Quinn commenting on an Ireland match as he makes Motson sound unbiased.
Fair comment - listening to him there during the first half waxing lyrical about the Irish performance. I was referring to his punditry on the premiership / CL where he seems more impartial.
Although I loved the "that defender's going to be waking up at night wondering where Duff is, after the roasting he's received". :D Class!
Gaillimh Al
01/03/2006, 8:51 PM
I'm going to ring up NTL and ask can they put a Quinny filter on Sky Sports so i dont have to listen to him. He has to say something about every little incident in the game. Most of it pure nonsense. Keep him out of the commentary box and put him back in the studio. Please.
FarBeag
01/03/2006, 9:01 PM
I thought this thread was about Mick Byrne.
nedder
01/03/2006, 9:53 PM
Didn't seem like the players minded having Mick there tonight, did it?????
Interesting to see who'll be still giving out about Mick now
02/03/2006, 9:27 AM
by the lack of responses says it all now nedder.
klein4
02/03/2006, 9:34 AM
give it a rest lads...it was a meaningless freindly...it doesnt prove anything.
and think about what your sayin...the players "needed" some feckin glorified mascot in order to perform..what does that tell you bout the attitude of these lads??
02/03/2006, 9:38 AM
Klein I agree the friendly is not be all and end all but it was not meaningless as it was the first game for the new manager. i am sure if we got slaughtered 3-0 you would have been on here saying I told you so in relation Staunton. Its still early days but last nights performance was encouraging. In relation Mick Byrne who cares about him, the players like him and he improves moral something which the last campaign lacked. So if he does that well then that is good in my view. Also who are we to say how the players moal should or should not be improved. Footballers are people with fears, anxiety depression, boredom etc etc so if helps relieve any of that well then that has to be good. It also has to be remembered he was close to Roy Keane too so he is one who has managed not to fall out with any of the people involved in Saipan etc etc.
klein4
02/03/2006, 9:46 AM
whats your point?
some people are on gloating as if to say " hah micks return won us the game"
which is ******. and if it is the case then it is fair to point out that it says a lot about the players attitude to playin for their country. it was meaningless as in they are still goin to world cup and we arent.nice to start with a win but competitive games are where its at. and dont be puttin words on my mouth either. I didnt say anything about mick byrne good bad or indifferent and I said all along I hope staunton does well.
nedder
02/03/2006, 10:02 AM
whats your point?
which is ******. and if it is the case then it is fair to point out that it says a lot about the players attitude to playin for their country. it was meaningless as in they are still goin to world cup and we arent.nice to start with a win but competitive games are where its at. and dont be puttin words on my mouth either. I didnt say anything about mick byrne good bad or indifferent and I said all along I hope staunton does well.
Klein, I'm not on here gloating about micks return winning the game.
First of all it was a decent enough performance, still a few problem areas. But it was a friendly and I won't be getting carried away. Duff got lots of space last night, if it was a competitive game i bet the swedes would have had their homework done and doubled up on Duff like the French and Swiss did last year.
In relation to Mick byrne, people were on this thread saying what a disaster and shambles and farce it was having Mick back. I just think its fairly clear the players like having him as part of the set up, however trivial his role is.
So having him there is hardly a bad thing.
P.S he didn't win or lose us any games, past or present
02/03/2006, 10:10 AM
It seems to me that these millionaire players are essentially children. If they need someone around the squad to tuck them in at night and kiss them awake in the morning then Mick Byrne is as good as anyone. Good luck to him!
Kerr built up a great spirit within his youth teams by treating them like adults, maybe his mistake was trying to treat the senior squad in the same way:confused: :)
Den Perry
02/03/2006, 10:26 AM
give it a rest lads...it was a meaningless freindly...it doesnt prove anything.
and think about what your sayin...the players "needed" some feckin glorified mascot in order to perform..what does that tell you bout the attitude of these lads??
I reckon Byrne is the real manager, and that Staunton is the mascot...
02/03/2006, 10:59 AM
no they arent klein, and read what you like. Mick bynre, neither whether we won or lost, seems to be a motivating factor for those players, and IF THAT IS ALL He does, then isnt that something, can ye imagine hanging around the same people all day for 3 days ( imagine if there is a moaner like some in teh group ) or more leading up to a game, it is bound to get boring, frustrating etc, if he can change that in any way and keep the players happy then that says it all really. Look how they ran to him FFS, it shows how happy they were to have him back and that in the LONG RUN WIL BENEFIT THIS TEAM,
Den Perry
02/03/2006, 11:03 AM
no they arent klein, you are an awful gob****e and read what you ...
mods, please. this is a personal attack
02/03/2006, 11:03 AM
To be fair now Paul no need for that personal abuse to Klein. I dont agree with a lot of what Klein says but there is no need to personally abuse him.
02/03/2006, 11:06 AM
i edited it as soon as i read what i wrote. bad day at work ye know the way :)
Den Perry
02/03/2006, 11:11 AM
i edited it as soon as i read what i wrote. bad day at work ye know the way :)
all the o'sheas seem to be having bad days at work these times...Paul O' Shea, john O' Shea.....
klein4
02/03/2006, 11:14 AM
you have to face up to your anger issues Paul!!!:D
02/03/2006, 11:37 AM
i wonder will they put me on a weeks training for it or even better weeks leave!?
disgraceful perfomance - the swedes were there for the taking - we could have had ten if it wasnt for Mick Byrne's "tactics". was disappointed he didnt get a run on as physio with the magic sponge
there seems to be a few gombeens on the sideline for morale purposes i suppose. if it raises morale fair enough but i find it hard to take that the players didnt put it in in the previous qualifiers cos we didnt have enough jokers on the touchline - IMO that doesnt augur well for the real tests
03/03/2006, 9:08 AM
Andy "I'll criticise the referee's decisions all game" Gray - what a clown. Irritates the hell out of me. If a player on a booking gets a second booking for a stupid offence, it's the referee's fault for not showing "common sense". The player's common sense never seems to be questioned.
Mick Byrne - can't say I was ever too fond of him either. Never missed a chance to jump on Jack or Mick when we scored a goal. I thought the running to him by Keane after his goal was strange and very much a two fingered gesture to the previous regime. I never figured on Mick Byrne being a talisman but obviously the players seem to believe they need a mother hen. Only Given remained where he was and he got substituted 30 second later :D
03/03/2006, 9:31 AM
there seems to be a few gombeens on the sideline for morale purposes i suppose. if it raises morale fair enough but i find it hard to take that the players didnt put it in in the previous qualifiers cos we didnt have enough jokers on the touchline - IMO that doesnt augur well for the real tests You've never heard of performance anxiety? happens even to most naturally talented performers.
03/03/2006, 10:49 AM
You've never heard of performance anxiety? happens even to most naturally talented performers.
wws, think of your own sorta circumstance or relate it to yourself, they are only human.
Its like this, you have been out on the p1ss for a good 5 - 6 hours, you have spotted a quality bird, chatted her up, lay all the groundwork, getting on really well, you go in for the kill realise you have scored her, and she is keen, and on for going back to your gaffe, now the thought plays on your mind, if i only i had a viagra im so p1ssed i dont think i can perform and it keeps running through your mind. that right there is performance anxiety just like players get before matches. they after all are only human like you.
03/03/2006, 10:54 AM
Been having difficulties in that dept lately Paul? Bit young aren't you?
03/03/2006, 11:50 AM
Been having difficulties in that dept lately Paul? Bit young aren't you?
no i was refering to WWS, he's only human after all, like all the players, too much drink causes a great numb all over the body ;)
i find a photo of mick byrne always gets me goin....try it paul
03/03/2006, 2:08 PM
i find a photo of mick byrne always gets me goin....try it paul
I preferred Charlie O'Leary myself :eek:
TheJamaicanP.M.
03/03/2006, 2:17 PM
wws, think of your own sorta circumstance or relate it to yourself, they are only human.
now the thought plays on your mind, if i only i had a viagra im so p1ssed i dont think i can perform and it keeps running through your mind.
Are you trying to tell us something Paul?:D
Is Mick Byrne still about?