View Full Version : Gary Dicker

livehead1
22/02/2006, 5:13 PM
anyone have any idea about the lad, from skysports.com

Charlton Athletic are keeping tabs on Irish starlet Gary Dicker.

The UCD midfielder starred during the Madeira youth tournament last week and he caught the eye of Charlton's scouts.

Now The Addicks are ready to track his progress over the coming weeks and are expected to be present next week when Dicker features for Ireland's Under-21s against Sweden.

A number of English sides, also including Tranmere, are known to be keen on Dicker - but UCD have already insisted that no offers have yet been made.

"Gary's under contract here until the end of this year," UCD boss Pete Mahon told the club's website.

"When the time comes, we'll sit down with Gary, his parents and the directors of the club here and we'll speak to any interested parties."

22/02/2006, 5:53 PM

More info here surprisingly (http://foot.ie/forumdisplay.php?f=21)

Bald Student
22/02/2006, 9:43 PM
Now that an english team has expressed an interest in Gary I automatically think he should be in the Ireland squad.

Qwerty
22/02/2006, 10:01 PM
Isn't this the guy they are calling the new Roy Keane? :D

HarpoJoyce
23/02/2006, 12:19 AM
Isn't this the guy they are calling the new Roy Keane? :D

Yes everything you say is correct.
If it wasn't than it woulld be untrue.

You were good enough, not to mention who they were.

Luckily for me, I've seen the chap (english expression) play football.

Roverstillidie
23/02/2006, 12:19 AM
livehead notices a player outside the engerlish premierleague shocker :eek:

oh wait, an engerlish premierleague team goes after one of the best young talents in ireland and livehead pops up.

are you sure the three lions forum isnt where you would feel more at home?

23/02/2006, 1:49 AM

Charlton Athletic are keeping tabs on Irish starlet Gary Dicker.

The UCD midfielder starred during the Madeira youth tournament last week and he caught the eye of Charlton's scouts.

Now The Addicks are ready to track his progress over the coming weeks and are expected to be present next week when Dicker features for Ireland's Under-21s against Sweden.

A number of English sides, also including Tranmere, are known to be keen on Dicker - but UCD have already insisted that no offers have yet been made.

"Gary's under contract here until the end of this year," UCD boss Pete Mahon told the club's website.

"When the time comes, we'll sit down with Gary, his parents and the directors of the club here and we'll speak to any interested parties."

Wel if you are a "livehead" I wonder what sort of head Gary would be?:p

Does he have a nickname? :rolleyes:

23/02/2006, 6:51 AM
Now now lads, leave poor Livehead alone. Please. :)

:ball: PP

livehead1
23/02/2006, 6:35 PM
livehead notices a player outside the engerlish premierleague shocker :eek:

oh wait, an engerlish premierleague team goes after one of the best young talents in ireland and livehead pops up.

are you sure the three lions forum isnt where you would feel more at home?
jaysus you are some pr1ck, there is no doubt about that....i bet you aint even heard of him. Just cos i dont like the EL that much does not mean that you need to get personal in every single thread. It aint my fault that you cant take it that for any player to make a good career for themselves winning caps for their country etc they are at this moment in time, going to have to leave the EL. let me just repeat, you are a PR1CK

23/02/2006, 6:47 PM
Haven't I told you about this before? You keep taking the bait and so they keep winding you up. And every one degenerates into a foul-mouthed tirade from or to you.

Thread closed. Your last chance.

:ball: PP

Roverstillidie
28/02/2006, 1:12 AM
livehead, the point a number of us made there was we do indeed know who gary dicker is. and have done for a while. but the minuite an english side expresses an interest in the guy, so do you.
there are other benchmarks for a young irish prospect than playing in a side you have heard of.
he should not need to move to england to be noticed by irish fans.

28/02/2006, 9:08 AM
According to the Indo, Charlton scouts will be at the game tonight to watch Dicker.

livehead1
28/02/2006, 10:13 AM
livehead, the point a number of us made there was we do indeed know who gary dicker is. and have done for a while. but the minuite an english side expresses an interest in the guy, so do you.
there are other benchmarks for a young irish prospect than playing in a side you have heard of.
he should not need to move to england to be noticed by irish fans.

yeh i agree he shouldn't need to move to england to e noticed by irish fans but the state of football at the moment nearly always dictates this. i get some irish papers, amongst them the irish world and the irish post, never ever do they say anything about young talents in the EL. then there is skysports, nearly every article concerning young talents is related to the fact that their playing in england. I know there are some sites, elevenaside.com etc but you cant always blame the person, maybe its also the media that contributes to the lack of information on players in ireland.

Bald Student
28/02/2006, 12:02 PM
Either way lads, we've considered Gary to be a potential international for about a year now. Every time he's stepped up a level he's done it very easily.

I think he'd be better off going to a first division side in england rather than straight into the premiersip though because he's get first team football in division 1 but probably wouldn't yet in the premiership.

In any case the transfer window in england is closed untill the summer so he'll be here for a few months yet anyway. Plenty of time for anyone who wants to check out a young international prospect to do it in person rather than depending on a sky sports report which was lifted out of a website article written by pineapple stu.

theworm2345
08/03/2011, 12:59 AM
Apparently there is interest from EPL clubs and Championship clubs
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12876_6801105,00.html

CraftyToePoke
08/03/2011, 1:20 AM
He sees no reason he cant emulate Fahey and Doyle, good for him, and good luck to him also, looks to have way too much for League 1 anyway, Brighton play really good football and he is central to it.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/dicker-eyes-national-callup-as-life-gets-better-by-the-seaside-2567633.html

Tipp Townie
08/03/2011, 9:23 AM
He's had a good season and i really like him but, in my opinion, tends to blow hot and cold from game to game. He's going through a bit of a downturn in form at the moment, possibly through fatigue in all fairness. We've been playing alot recently.

There are plenty of Brighton fans who think he'll easily make the step up to the Championship, if (fingers crossed!) we go up. I'm undecided, for the reasons above. And i have some mates who don't think he'll be any more than a 'squad player' in the division above.

He's still quite young, so hopefully there's time for him to improve quite a bit more. But i suppose what i'm getting at is that, after approx 2 years of seeing him play week in week out, i can't really see picture him ever being international standard.

08/03/2011, 9:31 AM
So basically, you reckon he's still not quite the finished article? :p

CraftyToePoke
09/03/2011, 12:32 AM
Right on cue ... dropped tonight. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_2/9414758.stm

But also about to sign his name and stay put, maybe, impossible to put anything past anyone in these times : http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/b/brighton/9417310.stm

theworm2345
22/04/2011, 4:43 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/b/brighton/9465018.stm

28/04/2011, 1:17 PM
Signed a new two-year deal. Was out of contract in the summer as far as I know and had suitors, so fair play to him for making his mind up early.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/b/brighton/9470166.stm

Crosby87
28/04/2011, 2:18 PM
Of course he had suitors Chuck. You think a man named Gary Dicker wouldnt have suitors? I bet the ladies line up for him. He's been in numerous films.

28/04/2011, 2:24 PM
Yeah, WBA were interested anyways. Plus a couple of Div One clubs. Brighton moving into a new ground now in the summer - first proper home since '95 - and with Poyet at the helm (kind of in the Dicker mode of player), it looks a good decision to stay on.

ali83
08/05/2011, 11:07 PM

...enjoying todays victory parade...

samhaydenjr
10/05/2011, 4:27 AM
Of course he had suitors Chuck. You think a man named Gary Dicker wouldnt have suitors? I bet the ladies line up for him. He's been in numerous films.

Between Dicker and Cox, the Irish team could become a big gay porn joke:o:excruciating::eek:

Serb
10/05/2011, 3:22 PM
Between Dicker and Cox, the Irish team could become a big gay porn joke:o:excruciating::eek:

Only if Dean Windass and Darren Bent discover their Irish roots and get a call-up.

10/05/2011, 3:27 PM
Have we forgotten about Boyhunt (http://twitter.com/#!/boyhunt)?

theworm2345
10/05/2011, 3:39 PM
Have we forgotten about Boyhunt (http://twitter.com/#!/boyhunt)?
If only George Hardwick were alive to manage the team

12/05/2011, 10:12 AM
This thread has turned into an episode of Fantasy Football League.

Helloooooooo!!!

KK77
12/05/2011, 9:41 PM
Was over in Brighton at the weekend. The atmosphere was great have to say and fair play to them and great to see Gary Dicker doing well. Playing Spurs in the opening game of the new stadium at the end of July. Might head over to it.

Crosby87
12/05/2011, 11:40 PM
Only if Dean Windass and Darren Bent discover their Irish roots and get a call-up.

Lets not forget about the king of kings, Packie Bonner.

Eminence Grise
13/05/2011, 9:05 AM

A front two that's Bent and Keane... Very, uh, forward...

15/05/2011, 5:57 PM
Phelan, Dicks as full-backs?

Sullivinho
15/05/2011, 9:15 PM
A front two that's Bent and Keane... Very, uh, forward...

Bent, Keane and Cox if we're feeling especially adventurous.

Eminence Grise
15/05/2011, 10:00 PM
...with Gary WADdock coming out of retirement to play in the hole...

15/05/2011, 10:06 PM
...with Gary WADdock coming out of retirement to play in the hole...

only after a little Phelan to warm things up...

theworm2345
16/05/2011, 2:47 AM
Dicks and Butt could do well together

AlaskaFox
16/05/2011, 8:05 AM
This thread is worse than the Conor Sammon one on ybig. :(

theworm2345
24/10/2011, 8:25 PM
Nasty injury for Dicker in tonight's match, came down awkwardly and hurt his knee (or perhaps his ankle, but I think knee). Looked quite bad.

25/10/2011, 8:13 AM
Yep, didn't see it happen but it looked like a break of some sort given the medical attention he got. Commentators said he was a hugely popular player at Brighton.

25/10/2011, 8:56 AM
Been getting good reviews alright, with the aside that he tends to be a bit erratic form-wise. They signed a former Spanish international midfielder at the start of the season (this fella (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vicente_Rodr%C3%ADguez)) - don't think he's gotten a start yet as he's building up match-fitness, but could be tough for Dicker to get back into the team if yer man comes in and does well.

25/10/2011, 10:07 AM
Ankle injury according to Eurosport (http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/25102011/63/dicker-worry-seagulls.html). The ankle isn't as much of a ligament minefield as the knee, so that's something, and he looked fairly comfortable as he was stretchered off. Seemed more fed up than in any great pain.

ali83
25/10/2011, 9:27 PM
Broken fibula. Probably out for 12-14 weeks. :(

25/10/2011, 9:30 PM
That's a relief - could have been a lot worse.

25/10/2011, 9:31 PM
Suppose that's one way of looking at it...

Wonder will he log on here again in the meantime? :p

ali83
13/03/2012, 10:38 PM
Update:

"Gary Dicker and Marcos Painter both returned to match action this afternoon in a behind-closed-doors friendly win at Spurs.
The duo came through the first 45 minutes unscathed before being replaced at the interval; Dicker was making his first appearance since breaking his leg against West Ham in October, while Painter was returning from a hamstring injury."

eitoof
05/01/2013, 12:44 PM
Playing very well in the live cup game v Newcastle at the moment.

ArdeeBhoy
06/01/2013, 5:51 PM
Saw him yesterday, not bad. An unspectacular, steady Championship player...

31/05/2013, 3:55 PM
Released by Brighton, disappointingly.

31/05/2013, 5:08 PM
Dicker, Docker. Its hardly his fault they didn't get promoted.