View Full Version : On the beer in Galway on a Monday

21/02/2006, 3:12 PM
going to be out on the town some monday soon so looking to see what clubs are open. no doubt i'll be thrown out of one so i'll need a few options :D

21/02/2006, 10:37 PM
isnt it rag week there next week?!

Bosco
21/02/2006, 10:37 PM
2 euro a pint in the hole in the wall pub!Bliss!

21/02/2006, 11:03 PM
hole in the wall rocks.
i also like mixers and sallys

finlma
22/02/2006, 7:58 AM
hole in the wall rocks.

Probably the 3 worst pubs here in Galway unless you're into young ones (Hole in Wall), knackers (Mixers) or greasy rock chicks (Sallys)

If you want a good pub go to the Dew Drop, best pub in Galway.

De Burgos is the only decent club unless you're into cheese but I don't think its open on a Monday.

Eire06
22/02/2006, 8:02 AM
hole in the wall rocks.
That just says it all about you....
3 dodgiest pubs in Galway..

Kings Head and then cps would be your best bet to get a good crowd for a monday night!

Rag week is over was on last week I think...

galwaygirl
22/02/2006, 8:26 AM
going to be out on the town some monday soon so looking to see what clubs are open. no doubt i'll be thrown out of one so i'll need a few options :D
Any idea which Monday yet? Some weeks there can be good gigs on, other weeks some not so good

Kings Head and then cps would be your best bet to get a good crowd for a monday night!

Rag week is over was on last week I think...

I agree with Eire06 on her 2 recommendations above, also i'd recommend The Quays (good pub downstairs & live music nightly upstairs).

Rag week is on this week for GMIT and next week for NUIG.

finlma
22/02/2006, 8:32 AM
Massimos, Blue Note and Bierhaus down west are always good.

Also there might be some decent gigs on in Roisins (http://www.roisindubh.net/). I'm going to see Republic of Loose there on Saturday.

22/02/2006, 8:46 AM
whatever about hole in the wall and mixers, I love sally meself for the music if nothing else.

Id stay away from CP's, place smells like a giant cubical ! Always good music in Cuba!

other pubs would be Quays, Kings head and Murphys( best Guinness your ever going to get)

22/02/2006, 8:46 AM
Is Sally's the one with the pool table down the back, which serves pitchers of beer? Excellent pub if it is, greasy rock chicks or not.

Eire06
22/02/2006, 8:51 AM
Is Sally's the one with the pool table down the back, which serves pitchers of beer? Excellent pub if it is, greasy rock chicks or not.

Ya well if ignore the rough hairy butch women, the hairy smelly bikers, the loosers from about town, the fights in every corner, the really bad smell of feet, urine and stale drink and the fact that is so dark you can't even see your drink its ok*....:rolleyes:

As Galwaygirls said The Quays (Bar and club upstairs) is also good craic on a monday night and Busker Browns pub is good

* this comment in ment in jest does not accurately represent the lovely establishment that is Sally longs

22/02/2006, 9:05 AM
Ya well if ignore the rough hairy butch women...

Is there any other kind of women in Galway!?

22/02/2006, 9:15 AM
whatever about hole in the wall and mixers, I love sally meself for the music if nothing else.

i have been in sallys about 20 times in the last 5 years, and the music is crap, its all dance, and anytime there was a dj there he said oh i cant play heavy stuff tonight?!?!?what the fcuk>?!?!

also i hardly ever saw "bikers" in there, i think you get metallers, 80's rockers and bikers mixed up, but something tells me they are all the same to you anyhow, just like your generalisation.

also anybit of heavy stuff coming from the jukebox was always turned down barside. ****ed me off rightly

galwaygirl
22/02/2006, 9:25 AM
Is there any other kind of women in Galway!?
Less of that now please Peadar :mad:
Do you really want to start a war with Eire06 and myself:eek:

Eire06
22/02/2006, 9:30 AM
Less of that now please Peadar :mad:
Do you really want to start a war with Eire06 and myself:eek:
Poor Peadar is just upset and bitter because he knows a dirty cawrkie wouldn't get a look in with a galway cailín

finlma
22/02/2006, 9:30 AM
i think you get metallers, 80's rockers and bikers mixed up,

They're all hairy and have poor personal hygene. Hard to tell apart - that right Paul ;)

22/02/2006, 9:42 AM
UNfortunately there is a lot of Barbie girls in Galway that think Bon Jovi are heavy Metal and Thin Lizzy are a death metal band!:rolleyes:

I ask Eire06 when was the last time you were in Sallys? has it been since it was renovated?

Eire06
22/02/2006, 9:53 AM
UNfortunately there is a lot of Barbie girls in Galway that think Bon Jovi are heavy Metal and Thin Lizzy are a death metal band!:rolleyes:

I ask Eire06 when was the last time you were in Sallys? has it been since it was renovated?

Was in there before Christmas to pick tickets up off someone..
Scary experience and not one I want to repeat....

I'm a Barbie girl and proud:D

22/02/2006, 9:57 AM
Was in there before Christmas to pick tickets up off someone..
Scary experience and not one I want to repeat....

I'm a Barbie girl and proud:D

Tell you what so, I'll bring you in for a pint(my treat) and show you there is nothing to be scared of;)

Do you know there is at least 3 women on here that occassionally drink in there?

Eire06
22/02/2006, 10:00 AM
Tell you what so, I'll bring you in for a pint(my treat) and show you there is nothing to be scared of;)

Do you know there is at least 3 women on here that occassionally drink in there?

Ya and I'm sure they are all well able to spot a wind up when they see one!!:rolleyes:

22/02/2006, 10:07 AM

That just proves my point.
According to Paul O'Shea's theory, all the "girls" on here are butch lesbians.

Eire06
22/02/2006, 10:15 AM
Ya well if ignore the rough hairy butch women, the hairy smelly bikers, the loosers from about town, the fights in every corner, the really bad smell of feet, urine and stale drink and the fact that is so dark you can't even see your drink its ok....:rolleyes:

It appears (From Pm's I have recieved) that some people are rather upset and hurt by the above comment...

I would like to point out the rolleyes smillie at the end of the comment. This is to indicate that the comment is to be taken in jest

Some people are far far far to sensitive and uptight on this site

22/02/2006, 10:17 AM
Some people are far far far to sensitive and uptight on this site

Can we have a Celebrity Death Match with the blonde Barbie girl v the butch biker rock bird? :D

22/02/2006, 10:26 AM

LOL, its been a while like the stained song. but yes i think my ascertion would be correct. :D

Terry, if ever I decide to visit that great city also known as galway city in the near future, I will request your ideas on an appropriate night where I can play a few games of pool and listen to girls, girls, girls and the likes.

its not a patch on bruxelles to be honest though, and even that has gone down hill :(

bring on Guns n Roses in the rds.

22/02/2006, 10:50 AM
out on the beer on march 6 down there, intend to get a bite to eat at about 5 and then beer all the way......

aido_b
22/02/2006, 11:03 AM
Ive always headed to Richardsons on Eyre Square any time ive been in galway, always seemed like a nice enough place!

Gareth
22/02/2006, 11:05 AM
Last time I was in Galway the buzz I use to get from the place was all but gone. I walked thru town looking for a pub, most were overfull, and full of 17 year olds. The street was full of knackers :). I settled for a quiet drink in a small pub. Sallys sounded like it had potential until I read there they turn music down and is mostly dance. Sounded like a Fibbers for a minute. No indie clubs or pubs in Galway is there not? I can never find one.......

I use to love going to Galway, now I can take it or leave it. Now where is my walking stick .....

finlma
22/02/2006, 11:18 AM
. No indie clubs or pubs in Galway is there not? I can never find one.......

Roisin Dubhs - they have great gigs in there. Definitely an indie pub. I posted a link earlier but here you go again: www.roisindubh.net

22/02/2006, 12:15 PM
Sallys sounded like it had potential until I read there they turn music down and is mostly dance. Sounded like a Fibbers for a minute.

not even close to an old fibbers! heck even a new fibbers though i havent been there that often in recent years.

cuba is sorta an indie club but you get a lot of 17 yr olds who think they are goths in there. top floor is the place you want to go.

22/02/2006, 4:38 PM
last day of rag week sligo tomorrow:mad:

bitoredxp are sponsoring a wheelbarrow race to galway

22/02/2006, 4:44 PM
Oi Paul....I am no Lesbian and I dont think am at all butch....Just coz I dont wear high heels to football matches...

22/02/2006, 5:44 PM
Massimos, Blue Note and Bierhaus down west are always good.

Also there might be some decent gigs on in Roisins (www.roisindubh.net). I'm going to see Republic of Loose there on Saturday.

;) Massimos and the Blue Note, and ye can't go far wrong. Your earlier suggestion of the Dew Drop is a goodin' too - specially for a Saturday afternoon.

Where's Bierhaus? Never heard of it before - is it over by where Cobblers use to be or Strano.

Use to live in Galway, would be great to get back for an auld week or so.

TheJamaicanP.M.
22/02/2006, 5:58 PM
That just proves my point.

I'd have to agree with Paul. Fair play to him for saying it as well.

23/02/2006, 8:13 AM
did anyne click on that picture of lucia evans? she has an awful fat arse.

Even in your wildest dreams, you couldn't pull a woman like Lucia.
She's stunning and has an amazing voice!

Lucias decision to move to Ireland and your decision to move out, makes the country a better place, in my opinion.

Good luck Lucia!

galwaygirl
23/02/2006, 8:40 AM
Where's Bierhaus? Never heard of it before - is it over by where Cobblers use to be or Strano.
Thats exactly where it is dancinpants, After the lease in Cobblers was up a couple of lads from Galway took it over. It seems to be doing very well. Besides the usual, they have a menu on each table of beers from around the world, some with a very high percentage of alcohol content (believe me :D )

23/02/2006, 12:01 PM
, the loosers from about town, [/I]
How loose exactly are these loosers:)

23/02/2006, 12:24 PM
How loose exactly are these loosers:)

Probably not as loose as the Sligo sheep so don't bother wasting the bus fare into Galway.

24/02/2006, 7:41 PM
Thats exactly where it is dancinpants, After the lease in Cobblers was up a couple of lads from Galway took it over. It seems to be doing very well. Besides the usual, they have a menu on each table of beers from around the world, some with a very high percentage of alcohol content (believe me :D )

How many times have they changed names? :eek: . Thats Cobblers, was it LeStat?, wasn't it Deoch an Dorais at a stage too? Now Bierhaus!!. Lived down the "West" in Dominic St for a couple of years so drank in most places down there at some point, Monroes, the Atlanta, McAlindens, the old Taylors, had a few scoops in Cookes on the odd occasion, and the Crane but Roisin's, the Blue Note and Massimos are the best spots down there.

28/02/2006, 7:31 AM
How many times have they changed names? :eek: . Thats Cobblers, was it LeStat?, wasn't it Deoch an Dorais at a stage too? Now Bierhaus!!. Lived down the "West" in Dominic St for a couple of years so drank in most places down there at some point, Monroes, the Atlanta, McAlindens, the old Taylors, had a few scoops in Cookes on the odd occasion, and the Crane but Roisin's, the Blue Note and Massimos are the best spots down there.
Seems to be as well run as a few EL clubs are ...:D