View Full Version : Name every player that played with City

20/02/2006, 11:26 PM
Name every player that played with City, they have to have been registered and featured in a league or a cup game.

Good idea this one aface. List now sorted in alphabetical order and duplicates removed. Im keeping an excel doc of this so any new player add to the end and a few times a day i'll refresh the original list.
James.

Cork City 1984 - 2006
1 Admir Softic
2 Alan Bennett
3 Alan Carey
4 Alan O'Sullivan
5 Alec Ludzic -
6 Anthony Buckley -
7 Anthony Keneally
8 Anthony O'Shea
9 Anto Whelan - City's forst big signing from rovers
10 Barry Ryan -
11 Billy Woods
12 Brendan Sweeney
13 Brian Barry Murphy -
14 Brian Carey
15 Brian McCarthy
16 Bulgarian No
17 Bulgarian No
18 Cillian Lordan
19 Colin P O'Brien
20 Colin T O'Brien
21 Conor O'Grady - 2001-2003
22 Cormac Cotter
23 Damien Delaney
24 Damien O Rourke
25 Dan Murray
26 Danny Crainie -
27 Danny Murphy
28 Darren Barry
29 Darren Shaw -
30 Dave Barry -
31 Dave Mawson -
32 Dave Morely
33 Davey Hill
34 Declan Daly -
35 Declan Hyde -
36 Declan Roche -
37 Denis Behan
38 Derek Coughlan
39 Dominic Iorfa
40 Donie Madden
41 Dougie Bell
42 Fergal Giltenan -
43 Fergus O'Donoghue -
44 Gareth Cronin -
45 George Callaghan -
46 Gerald Dobbs -
47 Gerry McCabe
48 Ginger Healy -
49 Gregory O'Halloran
50 Jamie Nolan
51 Jason Kabia -
52 Jimmy Mulligan -
53 Jodi Byrne -
54 Joe Gamble
55 John Andrews -
56 John Caufield -
57 John Cotter (junior)
58 John Donnegan
59 Johnny Butler
60 Johnny Butler
61 Johnny Glynn -
62 Justin Phillips - Ricos first term
63 Kelvin Flanagan
64 Kevin Doyle
65 Kevin Murray
66 Kevin Nugent
67 Kieran Myers
68 Len Downey
69 Liam Kearney -
70 Liam Murphy -
71 Liam O'Brien
72 Mark Herrick -
73 Melvin Capleton -
74 Michael Nwankwo -
75 Mick Conroy
76 Neal Horgan
77 Neale Fenn
78 Noel Hartigan
79 Noel Healy
80 Noel Mooney -
81 Norman kelly- Useless
82 Ollie Cahill
83 Pat Duggan
84 Pat Morley -
85 Patsy Freyne -
86 Paul Bannon -
87 Paul Bowdren
88 Paul Hague
89 Paul Mattison -
90 Paul Wimbleton -
91 Phil Long
92 Ray Lally
93 Robbie Hedderman -
94 Roy O Donovan
95 Ryan Casey -
96 Sascho Borissov -
97 Shane Guthrie
98 Shane Long
99 Stephen Napier -
100 Stephen O'Flynn
101 Steve Gaughan
102 Stuart Ashton
103 Terry McDermott
104 Tommy Gaynor -
105 Tommy Keane
106 Tony Tynan -
107 Trevor Brooking
108 Trevor Parr - Under noel O Mahoneys first stint

24/02/2006, 12:24 AM
Can we start trying to fill in the years on this lads, it would be good to get every play since 1984 and how long they were there.

24/02/2006, 9:03 AM
gona be a tough one to get in accurate like

24/02/2006, 9:12 AM
gona be a tough one to get in accurate like

Just got a word doc with some info on it but I dont have word on this PC. I'll stick it up later on.

24/02/2006, 9:20 AM
aface i have something started on excel already on this, ya have me mail, we'll drive on with something between the 2 of us. may as well add in the rest of the current squad too, as some are already on this list like.

24/02/2006, 9:28 AM
Just got a word doc with some info on it but I dont have word on this PC. I'll stick it up later on.
http://www.openoffice.org

Free download. Very good.

Can read and create in .doc, .xls and all the other microsoft formats.

24/02/2006, 9:48 AM
Mario Vulkov was one of the 2 unnamed Bulgarians.

Not sure if I'm impressed with myself or embarressed that I remember that:o

24/02/2006, 10:00 AM
impressed nothing to be ashamed of Sir.
Got any more city players.. surely theres at least another few hundred out there we're missing out on

24/02/2006, 10:23 AM
1.Paddy Hughes was our best striker a couple of the seasons at the Lodge.Bearded Dubliner who scored in the 2 leg Cup semi v Rovers in 87.

2. Liam Keane - also played the first couple of seasons. Centre back who had played with Cork United

3. Ian Hennessy - How could you forget?!!! Stunned 10,000 drunken Derry fans by scoring a late winner in the FAI Cup QF at the lodge in 1987(?)

4. Jim Mulcahy - Goalkeeper from Corosshaven, a regular the first few seasons.

5. Jimmy Nodwell - midfielder of the same era. Also played with Limerick

6. Mike Mellon - englishman played in the league decider v Dundalk. Played for years afterwards in England, Tranmere mostly I think.

7.Also scottish guy came over with Mellon, can't think of his name.

8. Mick O'Keeffe - hard as nails centre half. Sent off late in Cup QF with Derry for getting stuck in Derry fans or officials or someone

24/02/2006, 10:31 AM
There was a Dublin keeper - Kelly. Played for the Irish U21's while he was with City.

I' m going for a little lie down now:(

The Good Son
24/02/2006, 10:35 AM
Bobby Woodruff, played our first season.
Eamonn O Keefe, player/manager.
Barry Neiland and another Neiland brother I think, not Stephen as far as I remember.
Kieran Nagle, played 90's.
Damien O Connell, played 90's.
Mark? Summerbell on loan 90's.

Copa Mundial
24/02/2006, 10:59 AM
Mathew Carr
Aidan Cawley-Goalkeeper
Clem Mahon-87/88 ?
John O Leary-87/88?
Ian Hennessy
Tim Dalton-Goalkeeper
Rob Hindmarch

kingcolers
24/02/2006, 11:50 AM
i thought stuart ashton got the goal v derry in the cup?

24/02/2006, 1:03 PM
i thought stuart ashton got the goal v derry in the cup?

Definitely was Ian Hennessy.
He went to the same school as me. Came on as sub and scored very late on. An awful game. Cork supporters outnumbered by Derry.

24/02/2006, 1:15 PM
I didn't think Softic had played in a league or cup game yet.

24/02/2006, 1:32 PM
7.Also scottish guy came over with Mellon, can't think of his name. Does the name Paul Armstrong ring any bells with anyone ?

24/02/2006, 2:14 PM
Does the name Paul Armstrong ring any bells with anyone ?

That could be him all right

24/02/2006, 2:34 PM
paul armstrong in deed rings a bell

just got a great doc of city players via aface from resident city statto supremo gerry desmond. will update lateron this evening but we're gona be increasing that list size quite dramatically :eek:

25/02/2006, 8:10 AM
Ye had a fella playing for ye circa 94 called Nicholls. I think it might've been Davie. I think he went on to play at Clyde and Dunfermline amongst others. I remember him because he halfed me in a League Cup game at Bishopstown:mad: :D

25/02/2006, 2:23 PM
There was a Dublin keeper - Kelly. Played for the Irish U21's while he was with City.

I' m going for a little lie down now:(

That would have been Paul Kelly who also played with Home Farm and Longford Town.. went to my secondary school like!:D

25/02/2006, 2:27 PM
Paul Wimbleton.. joined ye in 1995/96 season and his introduction as well as two others in Belfield Park when they had not been registered cost ye three points as I recall.

jimhacker
10/03/2006, 7:50 AM
1.Paddy Hughes was our best striker a couple of the seasons at the Lodge.Bearded Dubliner who scored in the 2 leg Cup semi v Rovers in 87.

2. Liam Keane - also played the first couple of seasons. Centre back who had played with Cork United

3. Ian Hennessy - How could you forget?!!! Stunned 10,000 drunken Derry fans by scoring a late winner in the FAI Cup QF at the lodge in 1987(?)

4. Jim Mulcahy - Goalkeeper from Corosshaven, a regular the first few seasons.

5. Jimmy Nodwell - midfielder of the same era. Also played with Limerick

6. Mike Mellon - englishman played in the league decider v Dundalk. Played for years afterwards in England, Tranmere mostly I think.

7.Also scottish guy came over with Mellon, can't think of his name.

8. Mick O'Keeffe - hard as nails centre half. Sent off late in Cup QF with Derry for getting stuck in Derry fans or officials or someone

7. That chap was called Gallagher - Brian I think and he was a good player too.

8. Still one of the great comic moments as he chased the sheepskin coat up the ramp at the Lodge, landed a few digs, and trotted back to accept his red card!

10/03/2006, 8:03 AM
8. Still one of the great comic moments as he chased the sheepskin coat up the ramp at the Lodge, landed a few digs, and trotted back to accept his red card!Well he ain't called "Slap" for nothing.

10/03/2006, 12:49 PM
Well he ain't called "Slap" for nothing.

Christ that's a blast from the past!! He was better than a lot of people gave him credit for I thought.

10/03/2006, 12:54 PM
sorry had forgotten about this
have a huge list of players in the hundreds on my powerbook
will upload and publish complete list either before i head to turners cross tonight or else tomorrow sometime.

fair play to gerry desmond for sending on the list. top stuff

kevincronin2000
10/03/2006, 1:20 PM
Ther was a black guy who made his debut away to derry and never played again. He was our first black player. cant remember his name tho.

Ronin
12/03/2006, 7:02 PM
sorry had forgotten about this
have a huge list of players in the hundreds on my powerbook
will upload and publish complete list either before i head to turners cross tonight or else tomorrow sometime.

fair play to gerry desmond for sending on the list. top stuff

Anychance of posting that list James.

Also, I wonder does anyone have a list of all City's managers and dates of their tenure? I often wondered if you compared tham all on a win, draw, lose league system who would be the best manager (statistically!). Can anyone start us off?

12/03/2006, 8:24 PM
Can anyone start us off?

Tucker Allen was first up (i think) and could be wrong here but was it for two seasons ??

Fair_play_boy
13/03/2006, 10:05 PM
Mario Vulkov was one of the 2 unnamed Bulgarians.

Not sure if I'm impressed with myself or embarressed that I remember that:o:p OK, that reminds me. The "post of the month" nominations should be opening any day now. WD Paudie. Posts like that help to give foot.ie a good name!!!!!

Fair_play_boy
13/03/2006, 10:48 PM
. . . does anyone have a list of all City's managers and dates of their tenure?Did that a while back here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=16847). Makes pretty interesting reading. The list is as follows:
1984 Bobby Tambling
1985 Tony "Tucker" Allen
1986 Noel O'Mahony
1987 Eamon O'Keefe
1988 Noel O'Mahony
1993 Damien Richardson
1994 Noel O'Mahony
1995 Rob Hindmarch (R.I.P.)
1996 Dave Barry
2000 Colin Murphy (former Shelbourne manager)
2000 Derek Mountfield
2000 Liam Murphy
2003 Pat Dolan
2005 Damien Richardson

Ronin
14/03/2006, 5:59 PM
Did that a while back here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=16847). Makes pretty interesting reading. The list is as follows:
1984 Bobby Tambling
1985 Tony "Tucker" Allen
1986 Noel O'Mahony
1987 Eamon O'Keefe
1988 Noel O'Mahony
1993 Damien Richardson
1994 Noel O'Mahony
1995 Rob Hindmarch (R.I.P.)
1996 Dave Barry
2000 Colin Murphy (former Shelbourne manager)
2000 Derek Mountfield
2000 Liam Murphy
2003 Pat Dolan
2005 Damien Richardson

Fair dues Fair_play_boy, that's good to know. I didn't know there was a thread on this before ... sorry about that.

I wonder would Gerry Desmond (the statistical Yoda that he is) have a list of played, won, drew, lost information for each manager. I think it would be interesting. Is anyone in contact with him?

14/03/2006, 10:48 PM
Jayz Ronin, you'll never be happy : )

14/03/2006, 11:05 PM

I'm the same though, i'd love to be able to get all that info. There is a thread in the main forum about books on eL and Irish footie, and there is not alot there when you think of it .... would be great to be able to get to it all.

yiddo
15/03/2006, 1:40 PM
8. Still one of the great comic moments as he chased the sheepskin coat up the ramp at the Lodge, landed a few digs, and trotted back to accept his red card!

Was right down at the front that day and when Ian Hennessey scored the winner for City the sheepskin guy, who was a Derry official, took offence at the celebrations and spat at the nearest City player. Unfortunately for Mr Sheepskin it was Slap :D
The rest as they say is history!

yiddo
15/03/2006, 1:52 PM

Mickey Mellon didn't play in the league decider against Dundalk in April 1991. He joined in October/November 91 along with Declan Roche. Both joined on short term loans. I think Mellon came from Blackpool. Mellon got a great goal into the Shed end in a 4-1 win over Dundalk? At the end of the loan period Mellon went back to England and Roche moved to Shels although he did rejoin City the following season. Mellon played for Tranmere for several seasons and was team captain there as well.
The 2 English playerws that played against Dundalk in the league decider were Armstrong and Gallagher.

Ronin
15/03/2006, 3:12 PM

I know! I'm a lazy sod too ... I expect someone else to do all the work.

But, like A Face said I'd really like to know. I now Gerry Desmond did statistical "annuals" way back on the League Of Ireland and Irish soccer in general, which I thought were really interesting (You can see them in the City Library reference section, but I think you have to ask them as they are in storage). So I was hoping that maybe he had some stats on the managers buried away somewhere.

15/03/2006, 4:36 PM
I know! I'm a lazy sod too ... I expect someone else to do all the work.

But, like A Face said I'd really like to know. I now Gerry Desmond did statistical "annuals" way back on the League Of Ireland and Irish soccer in general, which I thought were really interesting (You can see them in the City Library reference section, but I think you have to ask them as they are in storage). So I was hoping that maybe he had some stats on the managers buried away somewhere.

The only problem with Gerry is hes normally up the walls, he'd help you no worries if he can alright, but you'd have to ask nicely :)

Ronin
15/03/2006, 10:02 PM
The only problem with Gerry is hes normally up the walls, he'd help you no worries if he can alright, but you'd have to ask nicely :)

True! I suppose I should really get off my arse and do it myself and not trouble the man. I might get round to doing a bit of research into it in the summer.

15/03/2006, 11:28 PM
True! I suppose I should really get off my arse and do it myself and not trouble the man. I might get round to doing a bit of research into it in the summer.

Let us know what you need when you do, so we can fill in the blanks as you go.

Ronin
16/03/2006, 7:50 AM
Let us know what you need when you do, so we can fill in the blanks as you go.

Cheers A Face. I'll keep you posted on any progress I make.

dublinred
16/03/2006, 8:20 AM
250 langers , 50 dubs , a few eastern europeans and a crazy goalie from wales.

jimhacker
16/03/2006, 12:59 PM
Mickey Mellon didn't play in the league decider against Dundalk in April 1991. He joined in October/November 91 along with Declan Roche. Both joined on short term loans. I think Mellon came from Blackpool. Mellon got a great goal into the Shed end in a 4-1 win over Dundalk? At the end of the loan period Mellon went back to England and Roche moved to Shels although he did rejoin City the following season. Mellon played for Tranmere for several seasons and was team captain there as well.
The 2 English playerws that played against Dundalk in the league decider were Armstrong and Gallagher.

I remember that Dundalk game as one of the best City displays ever.

Barry, Conroy, and McCabe had the luxury of playing a game of head/foot tennis midway through the second half and Dundalk were lucky not to suffer a G.A.A. score.

Roche was one of the most talented wasters to play the game in Ireland.He ended up at Thurles and, later, at Monaghan.

The Good Son
16/03/2006, 2:17 PM
I remember that Dundalk game as one of the best City displays ever.

Barry, Conroy, and McCabe had the luxury of playing a game of head/foot tennis midway through the second half and Dundalk were lucky not to suffer a G.A.A. score.

Definitely would have been a GAA score if it wasn't for Alan O'Neill, despite leaving in four goals it was one of the best goal keeping displays I remember from an away side in The Box.

livehead1
23/03/2006, 12:49 AM
Name every player that played with City, they have to have been registered and featured in a league or a cup game.

Good idea this one aface. List now sorted in alphabetical order and duplicates removed. Im keeping an excel doc of this so any new player add to the end and a few times a day i'll refresh the original list.
James.

Cork City 1984 - 2006
1 Admir Softic
2 Alan Bennett
3 Alan Carey
4 Alan O'Sullivan
5 Alec Ludzic -
6 Anthony Buckley -
7 Anthony Keneally
8 Anthony O'Shea
9 Anto Whelan - City's forst big signing from rovers
10 Barry Ryan -
11 Billy Woods
12 Brendan Sweeney
13 Brian Barry Murphy -
14 Brian Carey
15 Brian McCarthy
16 Bulgarian No
17 Bulgarian No
18 Cillian Lordan
19 Colin P O'Brien
20 Colin T O'Brien
21 Conor O'Grady - 2001-2003
22 Cormac Cotter
23 Damien Delaney
24 Damien O Rourke
25 Dan Murray
26 Danny Crainie -
27 Danny Murphy
28 Darren Barry
29 Darren Shaw -
30 Dave Barry -
31 Dave Mawson -
32 Dave Morely
33 Davey Hill
34 Declan Daly -
35 Declan Hyde -
36 Declan Roche -
37 Denis Behan
38 Derek Coughlan
39 Dominic Iorfa
40 Donie Madden
41 Dougie Bell
42 Fergal Giltenan -
43 Fergus O'Donoghue -
44 Gareth Cronin -
45 George Callaghan -
46 Gerald Dobbs -
47 Gerry McCabe
48 Ginger Healy -
49 Gregory O'Halloran
50 Jamie Nolan
51 Jason Kabia -
52 Jimmy Mulligan -
53 Jodi Byrne -
54 Joe Gamble
55 John Andrews -
56 John Caufield -
57 John Cotter (junior)
58 John Donnegan
59 Johnny Butler
60 Johnny Butler
61 Johnny Glynn -
62 Justin Phillips - Ricos first term
63 Kelvin Flanagan
64 Kevin Doyle
65 Kevin Murray
66 Kevin Nugent
67 Kieran Myers
68 Len Downey
69 Liam Kearney -
70 Liam Murphy -
71 Liam O'Brien
72 Mark Herrick -
73 Melvin Capleton -
74 Michael Nwankwo -
75 Mick Conroy
76 Neal Horgan
77 Neale Fenn
78 Noel Hartigan
79 Noel Healy
80 Noel Mooney -
81 Norman kelly- Useless
82 Ollie Cahill
83 Pat Duggan
84 Pat Morley -
85 Patsy Freyne -
86 Paul Bannon -
87 Paul Bowdren
88 Paul Hague
89 Paul Mattison -
90 Paul Wimbleton -
91 Phil Long
92 Ray Lally
93 Robbie Hedderman -
94 Roy O Donovan
95 Ryan Casey -
96 Sascho Borissov -
97 Shane Guthrie
98 Shane Long
99 Stephen Napier -
100 Stephen O'Flynn
101 Steve Gaughan
102 Stuart Ashton
103 Terry McDermott
104 Tommy Gaynor -
105 Tommy Keane
106 Tony Tynan -
107 Trevor Brooking
108 Trevor Parr - Under noel O Mahoneys first stint

But why?....really, how sad is that?

There must be a reason for it??? please , tell me there is!

23/03/2006, 12:50 AM
But why?....really, how sad is that?

There must be a reason for it??? please , tell me there is!

Cos we can !?!

I dunno, maybe we care about our history more than you!?!

22/02/2007, 1:23 AM
Brian O'Callaghan, Cathal Lordan.

22/02/2007, 2:56 AM
Vinny Sullivan
Willie Bruton

City Edition did a list around the 1999 season over a few editions so that should be good for filling early years gaps

Pablo Escobar
22/02/2007, 8:17 AM
39 Dominic Iorfa

I remember watching him in a pre-season friendly (maybe agains Swansea, but not sure) and thinking, 'this guy is our new star', the he signed for WATERFORD![/B][/B][/B]

22/02/2007, 2:12 PM
A guy called Tony Eeles when we played you at bi****stown. Rubbish. Another was a black keeper you used to fly in every week around the same time.

Actually looking for the first edition of that Irish Football Handbook Gerry the Dub used to do.

Ozymandias
23/02/2007, 9:36 AM
that ian hennessy goal is one of the all time highlights..A toe poke to win the game...the city bench and directors were disgusted..they wanted a replayand a pay day at the brandywell cause derry had just entered the league and had enormous support.....they had at least 10,000 at the lodge...what a buzz that day..the match was rubbish but a great occassion