View Full Version : Oxegen 2006 Line Up Announced

carrickharp
20/02/2006, 2:15 PM
Seminal British legends The Who and American funk-rock heroes Red Hot Chili Peppers, who last played to 115,000 fans at Dublin's Phoenix Park, lead today's announcement as they will bring the curtain down on the event by headlining the Main Stage at Punchestown on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

Sure to satisfy passionate fans and a new generation alike, The Who's OXEGEN debut is sure to be one nothing short of the band themselves- truly legendary. One of the key figures of the mod movement in the mid 60's, they produced anthems for a generation including My Generation, Substitute and I Can't Explain. Their OXEGEN debut takes place at the start of a worldwide tour celebrating the release of their first studio album 'It's Hard' over 24 years ago.

Red Hot Chili Peppers have been voted one of the worlds best live acts and won countless awards with MTV and Ireland's own Meteor Awards amongst others. Now the band are set to play their ONLY Irish date on their forthcoming tour at OXEGEN. As music fans worldwide wait in anticipation for the release of 'Stadium Arcadium', the bands 9th studio album, and first double offering, OXEGEN prepares for what will no doubt be one of the defining performances of the festival.

The Strokes, the coolest band on the planet, who are currently on a sold out European tour, make an exciting return to OXEGEN for the 2nd time following their blistering performance at the very first OXEGEN festival.

Kaiser Chiefs blitzed the Brit Awards last week by scooping 3 prestigious awards, British Rock Act, British Live Act and British Group! Earlier this month the band flew into Dublin to accept two Meteor Ireland music Awards for Best International Group and Album. The band have "planned a handful of festival appearances this year" including OXEGEN.

Scottish rockers Franz Ferdinand make a welcome return as Richard Ashcroft, former front man of The Verve, makes a highly anticipated debut at OXEGEN this year following his last festival appearance at Slane Castle.

Ireland's Bellx1 have had an amazing 12 months with a number one album "Flock" and selling out a host of Irish shows including the RDS. This will be Bellx1's only Irish date this summer.

Record-smashing northern punk-pop buzz band the Arctic Monkeys make a welcome debut at OXEGEN. The band are fastly becoming as popular as Oasis as their debut album 'Whatever People Say I am, That's What I'm Not' sold over 306,000 copies in the first week of its release.

World Music star, Manu Chao, will make his first ever Irish festival performance at OXEGEN this year. Describing himself as a "human sampler", Manu Chao, has had phenomenal commercial success wordwide and we are delighted he is taking part in our festival this year.

Also announced today are Legendary Scottish rockers Primal Scream and Iceland's Sigur Ros who bring their soaring, climactic melodies to OXEGEN for the very first time. And that's not all, Grammy Award winner Damian Marley brings his urban hip hop to the festival!

The Spirit Dance Arena sees Chicago house impresario Felix da Housecat and David Morales, Brooklyn DJ and producer extraordinaire, take to the decks at OXEGEN to show why they are the world's most respected DJs.

The outstanding line up announced today together with the amazing atmosphere at Punchestown will certify a unique festival experience for music fans from all over the globe.

Line-up announced as follows:

Red Hot Chilli Peppers - Sun
The Who - Sat
The Strokes - Sat
Kaiser Chiefs - Sun
Franz Ferdinand - Sun
Bellx1 - Sat
Arctic Monkeys - Sat
Richard Ashcroft - Sat
Sigur Ros - Sun
Manu Chao - Sun
Primal Scream - Sat
Damian Marley - Sun
Felix Da Housecat
David Morales

As always, many more artists and attractions will be unveiled over the coming weeks and months that will continue to ensure that OXEGEN is one of the world's leading festival experiences.
http://www.oxegen.ie/lineup/

finlma
20/02/2006, 2:28 PM
Pretty impressive line-up so far.

I still won't be going - save myself for Electric Picnic.

20/02/2006, 9:57 PM
Kaiser Chiefs - Sun
Bellx1 - Sat
Arctic Monkeys - Sat
Richard Ashcroft - Sat

The rest can go and sh!te as far as im concerned :cool:

20/02/2006, 10:25 PM
it was annouced weeks ago all you had to do was go on T in the Parks website and swap the days

Soko
20/02/2006, 10:45 PM

Co-sign although we may be makign a trio to Barcelona for Sonar, could well do the 2 of them.

21/02/2006, 12:02 AM
Oxegen = Rip Off !! :mad:

anto1208
21/02/2006, 8:35 AM
goodish line up , arctic monkey's ,ould dickie ashcroft and the strokes that i wanted to see but i think im just too old for oxygen now (27), plus its a big rip off 150 odd euro for 3 or 4 good acts its not worth the hassle ......electric picnic for me its 3 days and 175 euro so it was allway s going to be one or the other ..picnic wins hands down

Reality Bites
21/02/2006, 11:22 AM
For those with culture - obviously The Who.. for the Kids - Kaiser Chefs and Artic Monkeys!

ThatGuy
21/02/2006, 11:24 AM
For those with culture - obviously The Who.. for the Kids - Kaiser Chefs and Artic Monkeys!
I can't wait to see John Enthwistle and Keith Moon in action!:)

21/02/2006, 11:38 AM
I can't wait to see John Enthwistle and Keith Moon in action!:)

Christ it'd better not be hot and sunny:eek:

Aren't they touring as Who2 now? or is Who2 just the name of the tour?

Neish
21/02/2006, 11:39 AM
The Who - Sat
The Strokes - Sat
Arctic Monkeys - Sat
Richard Ashcroft - Sat
Sigur Ros - Sun
Primal Scream - Sat
Damian Marley - Sun

Would love to see all of the above, had my mind set on the picnic this year but some really good bands here.

Gareth
21/02/2006, 11:41 AM
Seen all the bands there that I wanna see, and I have to say the chilis attract unparallelled assh0les. I am yet to be convinced. Eitherway no camping this year.

Neish
21/02/2006, 11:46 AM
goodish line up , arctic monkey's ,ould dickie ashcroft and the strokes that i wanted to see but i think im just too old for oxygen now (27), plus its a big rip off 150 odd euro for 3 or 4 good acts its not worth the hassle ......electric picnic for me its 3 days and 175 euro so it was allway s going to be one or the other ..picnic wins hands down

Oxegen tickets go on sale Friday 3rd March at 8AM.

Tickets priced:
69.50 euro (one day)
130 euro (two day)
160 euro (two day with camping)

Agree 100% with you anto1208. €160 for two days of, half cooked & overpriced food, warm beer, long queues, long walks. ignorant security & redneck infested festival.

OR

€175 for 3 days of cool people, sound security, properly cooked and moderately priced food, short walks & queues.

Still as my previous post states some very impressive acts at oxegen

21/02/2006, 11:52 AM
As always there's enough to whinge about but you'd be hard pushed not to have someone you like playing at it.
For me, think Dickie Ashcroft deserves another chance. I've been a bit cynical about him lately cos he almost sounded like the fat dancer from Take That there in a recent number. Also, thought lyrically gone a bit downhill, trying to be too enigmatic and legendary a la Wyclef Jean (Remember the day he decided he was a music legend).
But him playing his first album and some verve stuff is too good to pass up on.

Also like lazing in the new band tent watching whoever Bantrys next big act is gonna be + Spicy Mexican Chilli Burgers. Hmmmmmmm!

21/02/2006, 12:53 PM
Probably my last chance to se anyof the Who so I might go for the day for that alone -but I'll totter off for a lukewarm overpriced not nearly a pint during ashcroft

22/02/2006, 8:59 PM

Whoah there boy....am 32 and will still be doing Oxegen again this year, probably do the EP too but with the Who and Bell X1 and Mr Marley, Oxegen is hard to beat.

As for being overpriced, I dont think so! Its the best holiday ever. All u need to be is a plan ahead and it really is great.

Am thinkin of writing a book on how to survive festivals coz since the early 90's and Feile, have been to all the Irish ones and think have it down to a fine knack now!

Oh and as old age has set in, am not so convinced about camping as such so last year took my dads transit with a mattress in the back and it was far and away the best thing to do. Enjoyed the campsite but was able to get a decent nites kip ready for next days fun and games.

23/02/2006, 9:15 AM
As for being overpriced, I dont think so! Its the best holiday ever. All u need to be is a plan ahead and it really is great.

Same age as you ...now if you've been to them all back as far back as feile you might take a look at the price of your feile 91 ticket. Mine was IR£43 (that's less than €55) and included friday, saturday and sunday -camping for all three included.

By any tot to compensate for inflation you don't get up to €150+ from there. nothing close to it. Price of a pint back then was in and around IR£2.50 so that's less than doubled -just to give a "cost of living" comparison.

finlma
23/02/2006, 9:42 AM
Am thinkin of writing a book on how to survive festivals coz since the early 90's and Feile, have been to all the Irish ones and think have it down to a fine knack now!

Give us your tips then Magicme. I'm 25 and I was wrecked after EP last year, seriously considered giving up festivals. I'm thinking about finding a house to stay in for the next 1, can't handle the tents.

23/02/2006, 10:02 AM
True its an increase in price but to be honest the facilities have much improved. Do u remember the state of the toilets in Feile? There was feck all by way of shops, food or anything else. The only plus over the Witnness/Oxegen set up was the Hari Krishnas! Yummy free veggie food and some chanting sessions!

Also at Feile if you didnt like a band you were stuck with it, now u can choose where u want to go (granted its a feckin disaster when 2 of ur favs clash)

As for me giving u tips....eh no! Am gonna write the book and u can buy like the rest of them!!!!

Neish
23/02/2006, 12:34 PM

If you compare Oxegen to The Picnic or some of the other concerts across Europe it is extremely overpriced.

For instance s bunch of my mates travelled to the Sziget festival in Budapest last year(I was ment to go but got a new job a few weeks before) €100 for a week long concert camping included. The campsite contains shower & laundry facilites, an area wher you can cook you own food and a supermarket amongst other things. Food is fairly cheap the most they paid for a pint was something like €1.20(Average was about 50c- €1). They also spent 3 nights in Prague on there way back and most came pack with change from €500. See link http://www.sziget.hu/festival_english

Now think how much one week at oxegen would cost:

For entry to the conceret they would charge at least €50 per day for 7 days =€350
Food= 3 times a day on average at €7 a time x 7days=€147
Drink 5 Pints a day(in the cincert area) at €5 per pint x7 days=€175

Thats €672 which is a very moderate estimate and doesn't include things like the cost of the drink, food,fags etc you bring with. The cost of the bus or petrol it took to get you there or the cost of the band times. I woulsd say you chatting €900 easy.

Baker
23/02/2006, 4:59 PM
Oxegen = Rip Off !! :mad:

:mad: It gets worse this year, compliments of http://www.oxegen.ie/tickets/

Free Car Parking - 4 or more Park Free

Compliments of OXEGEN, the environmentally friendly festival, fans will receive a free car parking ticket when they purchase 4 or more weekend camping tickets together. Let’s travel with our friends and enjoy a weekend without traffic jams! Otherwise a car parking ticket will be available from Ticketmaster outlets for 20 euro when you buy your Festival tickets.

Park N Ride – Day tickets and Two Day tickets without camping

In order to reduce traffic around the local communities of Punchestown and Naas, protecting our environment and saving time for fans – OXEGEN this year introduces an innovative Park n Ride shuttle service which will operate from Goffs on the Naas road. Parking for all One day ticket and Two day ticket (without camping) holders will be located exclusively at Goffs on the N7. Cost of parking including shuttle service is 20 euro. Parking tickets are available when purchasing your festival ticket.

Dublin Bus Details

Plan your quick getaway with Dublin Bus! Oxegen goers can avail of a specially negotiated discount with Dublin Bus when you buy your tickets before 31 March. See press and website for details.

23/02/2006, 8:12 PM
Aw feckers. Yeah tis a rip off...but I still love it.

ccfcman
23/02/2006, 8:19 PM
Its a rip off in two ways, its trying so hard to be Reading/Leeds and its just too damn pricey.

I also hate the clientelle/atmosphere it creates, see clapping to anything whatsoever and annoying hands in the air to Kaizer"omfg the are super"Chiefs, hello people welcome to two years ago.

The Red Hot Chilli Peppers [Who I rate lower than Maggie Thatcherr] draw every much savage from North Cork that ever was [Ya biiiy i was at slane like, awesome like] *yes I'm from Cork.

I will end up going, if only to see The Who and be beligerant.

24/02/2006, 12:54 AM
The Red Hot Chilli Peppers [Who I rate lower than Maggie Thatcherr] draw every much savage from North Cork that ever was [Ya biiiy i was at slane like, awesome like] *yes I'm from Cork.
Its strange how certain bands are popular in certain areas of Ireland.
Saw Doctors always attract an amazing amount of Galway jerseys(easy to explain i suppose)
but more amazing is
Every-one i know from Wexford
'totally loves the Counting Grows. They're amaaazing'

UB40 are fecking huge in Cork.
Golden Discs has their old albums up front with the new releases and they're constantly requested on ninety-**** FM.
What's that about like?

Red Hot Chilli Peppers are the perfect foil for the casual music fan which Oxegen attracts.
Californication is dragged out of the cd rack at every half-arsed house party.

24/02/2006, 9:27 AM
Aw feckers. Yeah tis a rip off...but I still love it.

...and therein lies the problem with our little country.

Never mind our conspiratorial media who'll airbrush out the one third of Madonna tickets unsold and label it "a huge success" so more of us go "oh it must be acceptable to pay 140 bucks to see an ageing tart kid herself"...

never mind that Irish people pay over 60 quid to see Metallica when Spanish people pay less than 30 quid within a few days of the dublin show,

never mind that providing adequate, clean toilet facilities don't double a promoters cost base and never mind that more food outlets than Feile should bring the price down -not send it up....

...the problem is we hand over the wad.

24/02/2006, 9:32 AM
Its strange how certain bands are popular in certain areas of Ireland.
Saw Doctors always attract an amazing amount of Galway jerseys(easy to explain i suppose)
but more amazing is
Every-one i know from Wexford
'totally loves the Counting Grows. They're amaaazing'

UB40 are fecking huge in Cork.
Golden Discs has their old albums up front with the new releases and they're constantly requested on ninety-**** FM.
What's that about like?

Red Hot Chilli Peppers are the perfect foil for the casual music fan which Oxegen attracts.
Californication is dragged out of the cd rack at every half-arsed house party.

UB40 have long been quite popular with the sticky headed shams here in Limerick too. Christ I fcukin' hate UB40. I find something deeply unsettling, patronising and downright racist about a pair of white guys from Birmingham feigning jamaican accents.

If Al Jolsen was wrong for "Maaaaaaaaaam -eeeeeeeeeeeee" ............

24/02/2006, 6:49 PM

Take it you're not going to Stuttgart then?

25/02/2006, 10:12 AM
Heard one or two rumours about Smashing Pumpkins reforming and playing Oxegen? Any vague truth in that one?

25/02/2006, 10:32 PM
I'm 43 . I am too old for outdoor concerts per se. I don't have the patience to sit through hours of music by bands I either can't stand or do not know just to hear the main event. I watched Live 8 but it was on TV and I was in the comfort of my own gaff.

finlma
27/02/2006, 8:44 AM
Take it you're not going to Stuttgart then?

Disaster - never realised it was the same weekend. Maybe I'll have to go to Oxegen then instead cause I will be going to Stuttgart.

27/02/2006, 2:56 PM
disaster is bleeding right. Was really looking forward to EP this year. Only down the road too as I've boughgt a gaff close to it. Would have been my first time too as I'm a festival virgin. Ah well, I'll be kicking the real virginity to touch in Stuttgart instead:eek:

Neish
28/02/2006, 11:28 PM
Placebo, James Brown, Paul Weller, The Charlatans, Pharrell Williams, Editors, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, The Go! Team, Eels and The Kooks are the latest acts to be confirmed for OXEGEN. Line up so far is:

SATURDAY 8 JULY
The Who
The Strokes
Arctic Monkeys
James Brown
Richard Ashcroft
Primal Scream
Editors
Eels
The Magic Numbers
The Go! Team
David Morales
Timo Maas

SUNDAY 9 JULY
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Kaiser Chiefs
Paul Weller
Franz Ferdinand
Bellx1
Pharrell Williams
Sigur Ros
Manu Chao
Placebo
Damian Marley
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
The Kooks
Felix Da Housecat
Errol Alkan

Starting to look really good and, I'm starting to consider going. The main thing that putting me off is the fact the Red Hot Chilli Peppers are headliners thus attracting all the idiots of the day

finlma
01/03/2006, 8:44 AM
Its a very impressive line-up and with EP being on the same weekend as Stuttgart I'll probably go to Oxegen. I'd prefer if the Chillis weren't playing but they have to pander to the masses.

There's no way I'm camping with all those little scumbags though.

Drumcondra Red
01/03/2006, 2:15 PM
I'm 43 . I am too old for outdoor concerts per se. I don't have the patience to sit through hours of music by bands I either can't stand or do not know just to hear the main event. I watched Live 8 but it was on TV and I was in the comfort of my own gaff.

Fcuk me, I never thought you were that old!!!

01/03/2006, 3:24 PM
And i thought repeating one year of college was bad.:eek:

anto1208
01/03/2006, 3:30 PM
am i reading that parking thing right if you dont buy 4 camping ticket s parking is 20 euro so a camping ticket is actually 180 odd euro , and if you dont buy a camping ticket you have to park else where and get bussed to the gig .

there goes my plan of going sat getting ****ed sleeping in the car and going home sunday .

even though there are 4 or 5 bands id like to see they are ripping people off way too much for me to bother it will cost me well over 200 euro before i even get there then add the over priced beer & food it could top 400 euro for a weekend :mad:

as my granny used to say "bol_locks to that":D

02/03/2006, 9:40 PM
Starting to look really good and, I'm starting to consider going. The main thing that putting me off is the fact the Red Hot Chilli Peppers are headliners thus attracting all the idiots of the day

we can just stay at the bar during the chilli peppers so Neish :)

after seeing the lineup im thinking of changing my mind too, well prob buy me a ticket this weekend, just in case i really really wana go later and its sold out

anto1208
03/03/2006, 1:06 PM
ive heard rumours its selling fast , ive no facts but i heard sat is sold out .

a lot of people are buying up to flog them on ebay for 300 odd euro later

Neish
03/03/2006, 1:13 PM
I heard all the day tickets for both sat & sun are sold out.

Not surprised the Sunday tickets sold out always happenes with the RHCP. They are the greatest band of all time afterall :rolleyes:, . heard they were queuing all night hope it was good and cold like it was in Donegal and the idiots all froze.

My money is mostly tied up with several other things at present, if there still are camping tickets in a few weeks I'll get one then. I'm won't be too disappointed if I don't get one.

anto1208
03/03/2006, 1:19 PM
I heard all the day tickets for both sat & sun are sold out.

Not surprised the Sunday tickets sold out always happenes with the RHCP. They are the greatest band of all time afterall :rolleyes:, . heard they were queuing all night hope it was good and cold like it was in Donegal and the idiots all froze.

My money is mostly tied up with several other things at present, if there still are camping tickets in a few weeks I'll get one then. I'm won't be too disappointed if I don't get one.

yea i drove past all the idiot s queing up freezing this morning in my nice warm car went into my nice warm office and bought them in under 5 mins sitting on my nice comfy chair !!!

Neish
04/03/2006, 1:05 PM
Camping and day tickets sold out
http://www.ticketmaster.ie/artist/940673/?search_redirect=oxegen&tm_link=tm_header_search

04/03/2006, 5:53 PM
just checked there Neish
day tickets seem to be back onsale again on ticket******* website
i called into an outlet today and the guy there said everything was sold out, all tickets. may be more on sale in June he thought. he said mention how many ppl were buying like 6, 7 and 8 tickets per person!
fecking on ebay already there was 68 seperate entries for tickets, some going for 550 eurobucks already like

unreal