View Full Version : Pubs which are opened/closed around the area before the game
Mark Breen
20/02/2006, 1:25 PM
As posted by Raheny red on the Shels web forum
During the lunch hour I headed into a few bars around the area to see if they
were staying open:
Cat & Cage : I asked the manager if he will be staying open for the game. He asks; "what game", told him it was Shels and Glens and he replied that they will be closing then. He went on, "whoever is in the pub at the time of closing are more than welcome to stay".
Fagans : Are yous staying open for the game, emphatic "NO" was the reply.
Kennedys : They are staying open and they said they see why they should close!
Quinns : They are staying open, however, only Shels fans allowed, Glens fans will be turned away!
Roverstillidie
20/02/2006, 1:45 PM
have any of these pubs actually seen any trouble around a game, especially a shels one?
20/02/2006, 2:14 PM
have any of these pubs actually seen any trouble around a game, especially a shels one?
Depends which bunch of Total Network Solutions / Glasgow Celtic / Sporting Lisbon / Yeovil Town / Duckinfield Youth Under-15's fans are in that part of the city before kickoff ;)
20/02/2006, 2:17 PM
Is there trouble expected ?
wouldn't have thought Glens would attract that much, then I don't pretend to know feck all about the Irish League
Is there trouble expected ?
wouldn't have thought Glens would attract that much, then I don't pretend to know feck all about the Irish League
There was no trouble with Glens fans in Longford last year anyways, many of them came into pubs after the game and had great sing songs and all. All of them that we met were lovely people
20/02/2006, 2:22 PM
There was no trouble with Glens fans in Longford last year anyways, many of them came into pubs after the game and had great sing songs and all. All of them that we met were lovely people
And so it should be
I'm Heading to tolka myself tonight as a total neutral ;) (come on ye Glens:D )
nah just kidding dont care who wins just hoping for a decent game
BohsFans
20/02/2006, 2:30 PM
And so it should be
I'm Heading to tolka myself tonight as a total neutral ;) (come on ye Glens:D )
nah just kidding dont care who wins just hoping for a decent game
I hope you have a free pass!
BohsFans
20/02/2006, 2:32 PM
As posted by Raheny red on the Shels web forum
During the lunch hour I headed into a few bars around the area to see if they
were staying open:
Cat & Cage : I asked the manager if he will be staying open for the game. He asks; "what game", told him it was Shels and Glens and he replied that they will be closing then. He went on, "whoever is in the pub at the time of closing are more than welcome to stay".
Fagans : Are yous staying open for the game, emphatic "NO" was the reply.
Quinns : They are staying open, however, only Shels fans allowed, Glens fans will be turned away!
What about Meaghers?
Closed last time a team from the six counties played in Tolka, although little or no away fans come that way!
20/02/2006, 3:25 PM
I didn't bother going down there to check tbh even tough that's were I always go for a pre-match pint....Not gonna go there as I'm in College in Drumcondra now so no point in leaving the area.........
20/02/2006, 3:31 PM
have any of these pubs actually seen any trouble around a game
I know what my guess is anyway ... and if they asked themselves the same question, they'd see how stupid the look.
Lads, it is a new competition and i suppose people will be nervy about it all. This year will go off with out a problem and the myth or the preconception will be seen for what it is and will change the year after.
I mean, the media have been building a divide for years, it'll take a bit to break that down. A non-event is the best thing to sort out these hacks, unless they go starting something themselves, and with half of them, i wouldn't put it past them.
20/02/2006, 3:45 PM
I hope you have a free pass!
I need me fix ! dont mind giving oily €15 after months of the p0xy Premiersh!t
20/02/2006, 5:40 PM
imnot drunk,sligo is
ollie
21/02/2006, 12:51 PM
imnot drunk,sligo is
really?
21/02/2006, 3:44 PM
Well at half 5 Kennedys shut up shop :mad: but I know of others who got in after this. I had to go to feckin' Quinns :rolleyes: :o
Passive
21/02/2006, 8:21 PM
Very interesting response considering they close every time Rovers are in Tolka. They locked the doors for the Rovers v Shels friendly last week, ffs.
21/02/2006, 8:33 PM
Yeh I know, when I went to them at lunch time yesterday they seemed very relaxed and were not expecting any trouble!
Drumcondra Red
21/02/2006, 8:54 PM
Kennedy's seems to have a wink and enter policy for these types of games, always welcome the redsmen though!
21/02/2006, 9:04 PM
I usually head to Meaghers, anyway when trying to get into Kennedys we hid our colours, so maybe that was the reason............
coislaoi
22/02/2006, 10:48 AM
Fagans acted the bollíx with Cork City fans after the November league game last year. They wouldn't let us in after the game. There was no bother with Kennedys where we were made feel very welcome. Most City fans have agreed to boycott Fagans next season (only one trip anyway;) )