View Full Version : Is Smith's career over?

HuRya
20/02/2006, 8:03 AM
Apparently his leg break was worse than that which Henrik Larsson suffered for Celtic in Lyon a few years back.It has also been compared to David Boost's of Coventry vs United in '95.
His agent is hoping that he will only be out for a year.A speedy recovery is what i, for one,wish for as he is a top pro!

20/02/2006, 9:03 AM
Best of luck to him. But I wouldn't be holding my breath in hope of seeing him play again, Double fracture + Dislocation could very well be over for the poor Bloke. I Fecking Hate ManUre but wouldn't wish this on any one ........well maybee ronaldo.

20/02/2006, 9:51 AM
But I wouldn't be holding my breath in hope of seeing him play again, Double fracture + Dislocation could very well be over for the poor Bloke.

I fuppin hope so, I've no sympathy for him, live by the sword, die by the sword etc.... The amount of nasty tackles he has made in his time its just commupance for him :ball:

Hulsey
20/02/2006, 11:26 AM
Being a Leeds fan its hard to feel too much compassion for him:mad: , but its not nice to see that happen to anyone:( . Hopefully he doesn't have to retire, but doesn't play for manure again

colster
20/02/2006, 11:30 AM
I fuppin hope so, I've no sympathy for him, live by the sword, die by the sword etc.... The amount of nasty tackles he has made in his time its just commupance for him :ball:

Moron!!!
I don't know of anyone that was seriously injured by a Smith tackle.

Hulsey
20/02/2006, 11:45 AM
Moron!!!
I don't know of anyone that was seriously injured by a Smith tackle.

Read Lim's post again. Didn't mention anything about injuries, stated that he has made bad tackles which he undeniably has.

colster
20/02/2006, 11:53 AM
Read Lim's post again. Didn't mention anything about injuries, stated that he has made bad tackles which he undeniably has.

And who hasn't???

finlma
20/02/2006, 12:40 PM

Stupid comment - Smith never gives anything but 100% in any game he plays and he's not one to hold back in a tackle. It doesn't mean he goes out to hurt or do damage to anyone.

We've all made dangerous tackles in our time and Smith isn't alone. Wishing bad injuries on someone is pathetic.

I don't like Man Utd but I really hope Smith makes a full recovery. He's a good lad by all accounts.

20/02/2006, 1:12 PM
I'm a Liverpool fan and wish him nothing but a speedy recovery. It's horrible to see that happen to ANYONE.

20/02/2006, 9:02 PM
He'll be back quickly but he's not even out of hospital yet and he'll be in a cast for several weeks.

Obviously recuperation will be harder as he can't exercise til his ankle's better. I'd say it'd take him 12-14 months, although I saw a player in schoolboy football suffera double fracture and he was back in six months.

20/02/2006, 9:15 PM

Yeah sure you've probably driven over the speed limit a few times so we should have no sympathy for you if you were seriously injured in a car accident.

Wish him a speedy recovery- horrible to see that happen to any player

HuRya
21/02/2006, 10:52 AM

Yeah sure you've probably driven over the speed limit a few times so we should have no sympathy for you if you were seriously injured in a car accident.

Wish him a speedy recovery- horrible to see that happen to any player

Good point..after hearing Lim's disgusting effort at a post he's more like "Muppet til i die".

21/02/2006, 11:05 AM
Good point..after hearing Lim's disgusting effort at a post he's more like "Muppet til i die".

Ow, that really hurts my feeling, not sure how on topic it is but then again I'm only a muppet :rolleyes:

21/02/2006, 11:27 AM
Feel I must now clarify my origional throw-away remark about hoping Smiths career was over lest I cause anyone else to cry :rolleyes:

Being honest I've come to the realisation that I don't particularly care whether or not he plays again.

I've far more important things to worry about like paying my speeding tickets ;) Just a point micls but why the hell should you feel any sympathy for me if I was seriously injured in a car crash? Why feel either way about it you don't know me from Adam :confused:

colster
21/02/2006, 11:38 AM
Feel I must now clarify my origional throw-away remark about hoping Smiths career was over lest I cause anyone else to cry :rolleyes:

Being honest I've come to the realisation that I don't particularly care whether or not he plays again.

You care enough about his injury to post here that he deserved it. You still haven't given an example of any of his bad tackles that have caused another player to be injured.
Seem like your comments a pathetic attempt to wind-up people.

21/02/2006, 11:44 AM
You care enough about his injury to post here that he deserved it. You still haven't given an example of any of his bad tackles that have caused another player to be injured.
Seem like your comments a pathetic attempt to wind-up people.

Just because I think someone deserves something (BTW theirs a difference between saying "it's just commupance for him" and saying "I, Muppet till i die do firmly believe that Alan Smith Deserved his injury") doesn't mean I care.

I'm sure that Austrian guy who won the ski-jumping in Turin deserved to win aswell, that doesn't mean I give a rats ass.

As for a "pathetic attempt to wind-up people" it's gotten enough pathetic replies so far ;)

colster
21/02/2006, 11:48 AM
Just because I think someone deserves something (BTW theirs a difference between saying "it's just commupance for him" and saying "I, Muppet till i die do firmly believe that Alan Smith Deserved his injury") doesn't mean I care.

I'm sure that Austrian guy who won the ski-jumping in Turin deserved to win aswell, that doesn't mean I give a rats ass.

As for a "pathetic attempt to wind-up people" it's gotten enough pathetic replies so far ;)

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/comeuppance

A punishment or retribution that one deserves; one's just deserts:
an outcome (good or bad) that is well deserved

ThatGuy
21/02/2006, 12:44 PM
Being a Leeds fan its hard to feel too much compassion for him:mad: , but its not nice to see that happen to anyone:( . Hopefully he doesn't have to retire, but doesn't play for manure again
Whereabouts in Leeds are you from mate? ;)

Hulsey
21/02/2006, 2:11 PM
Whereabouts in Leeds are you from mate? ;)
Shankill :D .

21/02/2006, 9:48 PM
Dont put a football after a sinister post like this! a true football fan would wish him the best of luck! Goway and stick a knife in someone ya Limerick h*n! live by the sword die by the sword........ye cant get away from the f****g things, ye have to bring them into a football discussion too!:mad: :mad:

21/02/2006, 10:14 PM
I left Lim's comments alone as I didn't want to seem a total ogre. However I must say now, relax things people. If I see anymore antagonism the thread will be locked.

22/02/2006, 11:51 AM
Dont put a football after a sinister post like this! a true football fan would wish him the best of luck! Goway and stick a knife in someone ya Limerick h*n! live by the sword die by the sword........ye cant get away from the f****g things, ye have to bring them into a football discussion too!

I was going to come up with an adequate response to this but then again how could i ever hope to compete with such incisive comment, eloquence and razor sharp (theirs my prediliction for sharp objects coming out again);) wit

And to think I'm the moron :rolleyes:

Poor Student I'm pretty much finished with this facist thread. Fair play to you for your patience and I apologise for any inconvenience :o

22/02/2006, 9:55 PM
Feel I must now clarify my origional throw-away remark about hoping Smiths career was over lest I cause anyone else to cry

I've far more important things to worry about like paying my speeding tickets ;) Just a point micls but why the hell should you feel any sympathy for me if I was seriously injured in a car crash? Why feel either way about it you don't know me from Adam :confused:
Its called having a heart....
I wish alan slith the best because i would feel sympathy for anyone who gets seriously injured (obvious exceptions).
I feel sorry for people starving in Africa too and I don't know a single one of them personally :rolleyes:

If you really didnt care either way you wouldn't have started a thread about it

Rover 2 U
23/02/2006, 9:45 AM
lim, quick question for you. do you condemn the attacks by liverpool supporters on the ambulance attempting to carry smith from anfield to the hospital after the game? apparently stones were thrown and the ambulance was rocked back and forth in an attempt to turn it over. mindless scouse thugs. actually, you were not around anfield after the game were you cause it seems to have been carried out by people with your type of mentality.

23/02/2006, 10:18 AM
That's the end of the issue. Another post along these lines and the topic is locked. Continue it in PM. That included you Lim, if you post again you're going against a warning.

23/02/2006, 7:00 PM
That was a disgrace what the Liverpool fans done to the ambulance! Surely whoever done it was seen on CCTV and will be locked up!

25/02/2006, 5:33 PM
That was a disgrace what the Liverpool fans done to the ambulance! Surely whoever done it was seen on CCTV and will be locked up!

Well I agree but then again here in this city of ours people regularly throw stones at Fire Engines and Ambulances... it's sick if this was a decent country the perpetrators would be executed!:mad:

I wish Alan Smith a speedy recovery and also to Sissoko who got a very nasty accidentally incurred injury against Benfica

26/02/2006, 5:56 PM
wasnt it fitting that after the game today all the players wore the t-shirts for alan! just shows how close all our players really are. it was like what we done for the late Jimmy Davis after the FA cup final in 2004 when they wore the jerseys with 'davis36' on them! Well done Utd!!!!

26/02/2006, 5:58 PM
wasnt it fitting that after the game today all the players wore the t-shirts for alan! just shows how close all our players really are. it was like what we done for the late Jimmy Davis after the FA cup final in 2004 when they wore the jerseys with 'davis36' on them! Well done Utd!!!!:rolleyes:.

26/02/2006, 6:02 PM
:rolleyes:.
whats wrong with sayin this? i support man utd just as mach as rovers! why is it ok to say we and our etc. for rovers and not for united?:confused:

26/02/2006, 6:04 PM
whats wrong with sayin this? i support man utd just as mach as rovers! why is it ok to say we and our etc. for rovers and not for united?:confused:United are an English team who you most likely see on the telly for most of the season, Rovers are your local Irish team, who you most likely see live nearly every week.

The fact that you said you support United as much as you do Rovers is bad!

26/02/2006, 6:08 PM
Why is it bad? I've supported United since i was 5 or 6! I've been to old trafford countless times to see US play!:p

26/02/2006, 6:17 PM
Why is it bad? I've supported United since i was 5 or 6! I've been to old trafford countless times to see US play!:pI didn't know the USA played there?:confused: :p.

My point is, how can you support a team on the telly as much as you can when yer actually at the game?

Closed Account 2
26/02/2006, 6:19 PM
I didn't know the USA played there?:confused: :p.

Yeah, since the Glazier takeover :D

26/02/2006, 6:24 PM
My point is, how can you support a team on the telly as much as you can when yer actually at the game?
I just do, I love United and always will! I love Rovers and always will! thats just the way it is! it dosnt matter whether you watch a team on the telly or go to a game, you still like the team either way:)

26/02/2006, 6:26 PM

Give it a rest Sligo. People don't have to justify supporting foreign clubs on this forum.

26/02/2006, 6:27 PM
Give it a rest Sligo.I have done.

01/03/2006, 7:05 AM
Give it a rest Sligo. People don't have to justify supporting foreign clubs on this forum.

It is a peculiar phenomenon that this is the only country, in Europe, whose press gives more coverage to foreign soccer than domestic soccer and that does have to be justified somewhere !:mad: