View Full Version : Squad Announced

16/02/2006, 10:47 AM
From Irish Times:

16/02/2006: Steve Staunton has drafted six uncapped players into the Republic of Ireland squad for his first fixture in charge of the national team, next month's friendly against Sweden at Lansdowne Road.

The new Ireland manager has indicated he will give youth its head as he builds towards the Euro 2008 qualifiers, which start in September, and will call upon the services of Stephen Ireland, Kevin Doyle, Joey O'Brien, Liam Lawrence, Wayne Henderson and Stephen Kelly when the squad meet up later this month.

Many observers feel Ireland's inclusion is overdue, given the Manchester City starlet's form in the Premiership this season, but a falling out with previous boss Brian Kerr had effectively kept the youngster in the international wilderness.

Former Cork City striker Doyle has been rewarded for his goal-scoring exploits for championship leaders Reading and will almost certainly be plying his trade in the English top-flight by the time Ireland meet Germany next September.

Republic of Ireland squad (v Sweden on March 1st)

Goalkeepers: Shay Given, Paddy Kenny, Wayne Henderson

Defenders: Gary Breen, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Joey O'Brien, Ian Harte, Steve Finnan, Stephen Kelly, John O'Shea

Midfielders: Liam Lawrence, Steven Reid, Graham Kavanagh, Jonathan Douglas, Stephen Ireland, Liam Miller, Kevin Kilbane, Damien Duff

Strikers: Stephen Elliot, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane, Clinton Morrison

colster
16/02/2006, 10:47 AM
From the Times

Staunton names squad for Sweden friendly

16/02/2006: Steve Staunton has drafted six uncapped players into the Republic of Ireland squad for his first fixture in charge of the national team, next month's friendly against Sweden at Lansdowne Road.

The new Ireland manager has indicated he will give youth its head as he builds towards the Euro 2008 qualifiers, which start in September, and will call upon the services of Stephen Ireland, Kevin Doyle, Joey O'Brien, Liam Lawrence, Wayne Henderson and Stephen Kelly when the squad meet up later this month.

Many observers feel Ireland's inclusion is overdue, given the Manchester City starlet's form in the Premiership this season, but a falling out with previous boss Brian Kerr had effectively kept the youngster in the international wilderness.

Former Cork City striker Doyle has been rewarded for his goal-scoring exploits for championship leaders Reading and will almost certainly be plying his trade in the English top-flight by the time Ireland meet Germany next September.

Republic of Ireland squad (v Sweden on March 1st)

Goalkeepers: Shay Given, Paddy Kenny, Wayne Henderson

Defenders: Gary Breen, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Joey O'Brien, Ian Harte, Steve Finnan, Stephen Kelly, John O'Shea

Midfielders: Liam Lawrence, Steven Reid, Graham Kavanagh, Jonathan Douglas, Stephen Ireland, Liam Miller, Kevin Kilbane, Damien Duff

Strikers: Stephen Elliot, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane, Clinton Morrison

16/02/2006, 10:50 AM
Harte & Breen are both there. It honestly wouldn't surprise me if the new management didn't even know McCarthy or Clive Clarke, but fair enough if they do & just think the others are better. It's their choice.

Glad to see Lawrence there. Douglas a bit of a surprise. O'Shea too considering his injury. I'd have thought a 27 man sqaud may have been more appropriate just to integrate some others into the scene gently. McCarthy's absence is my main complaint I think.

livehead1
16/02/2006, 10:50 AM
liam miller and no lee trundle :(

colster
16/02/2006, 10:52 AM
Looks fine to me. Is Andy Reid injured?

16/02/2006, 10:53 AM
IS Elloitt going to be fit for the game? He was pulled out of Sunderland's reserve fixture during the week because he's not yet match fit

JC_GUFC
Looking at that squad I think we did well to nearly qualify for Germany.

Look at the central defenders we have Breen/O'Brien/Dunne/O'Shea - we're seriously lacking.

On a positive note the likes of Lawrence, Ireland & Doyle all should be good additions to the squad.

colster

Trundle is injured

Yes, but I thought O'Shea & Elliott both were too.

Donal81
16/02/2006, 10:58 AM
Two threads running on this, can we merge them please?

Donal81
16/02/2006, 10:58 AM
No McGeady? Any Celtic reason for this?

colster
16/02/2006, 10:59 AM
No McGeady? Any Celtic reason for this?

Injured

Over the post
16/02/2006, 10:59 AM
Not great options at centre half, I agree it would have been interesting to see McCarthy or even McShane given a run out. I don't reckon either O'Brien or Breen are good long-term options. I still think O'Shea's best position is in the centre of the defence, if only he could play regular club football there!

16/02/2006, 11:06 AM

With respect trundle is playing in the 3rd tier in england. You might as well pick a player in our league ahead of him.

Daryl Murphy is playing consistently at a higher level and he's Irish. I wouldnt pick either of them but if I had to it would be Murphy.

16/02/2006, 11:09 AM
I'm OK with O'Brien. Breen partnered Staunton all though WC02 so Staunton rates him obviously but his form at club level has been very discouraging. He was absolutely outclassed by a striker from Brentford. Would have preferred McCarthy over Breen, if only to get him involved or to give him a 25 minute run out.

Alternatively, it could be that as such a key player in Leicester's bid to avoid relegation Staunton agreed not to call him up, in case of injury or whatever. I'd like to know why he was omitted though.

Clipper
16/02/2006, 11:31 AM
Is this the end for the Ginger Pele??????

16/02/2006, 11:35 AM
Happy enough with the sqaud and happy that he has gone for the lads who were expected to come through. Glad that Lawrence is in the squad too.

Over the post
16/02/2006, 11:40 AM
Is this the end for the Ginger Pele??????

Just when he's finally nailed down a first team place (as centre half) at Norwich too!

I think we need to start blooding some of the younger lads. O'Brien can fill the gap for the moment, and although Dunne has some magnificent games, it's hardly a pairing that'll have the German and Czech strikers quaking in their boots.

16/02/2006, 11:46 AM
O'Brien can fill the gap for the moment, and although Dunne has some magnificent games, it's hardly a pairing that'll have the German and Czech strikers quaking in their boots.Off on a tangent here, but does anyone know if Cunningham's CB partner for Birmingham on Monday night (Latka?) is in the Czech first XI? He was described on TV as a Czech international. Didn't impress at all.

16/02/2006, 11:47 AM
Congrats to Kevin Doyle - great to see yet another former st pats player go all the way to the national squad.

Once a Saint, Always a Saint!

16/02/2006, 11:55 AM
Yeah Kevin Doyle was brought into my Pro Evolution Ireland team the other day for the game away to Germany and he scored two headed goals assisted by the top class Striker that is Neil. So hope that is a good omen for September. Have to say Doyle looked to class in that game against the Germans.

16/02/2006, 11:57 AM
Woops! Joey O'Brien is there. I'm just angry today that's all. I still think Breen being picked is stupid. Some posters here more aware than I am have been singing the praises of Paddy McCarthy so why wasn't he picked.

Cannot understand the criticism of Andy O'Brien in this thread in the context of his performances in the Green Jersey. He didn't have one bad game for Ireland in the past year and a half.

There is no evidence of the press picking his squad, I just don't like him. A rash comment, something one can do in a while.

16/02/2006, 11:58 AM
joey o'brien is there!

Kingdom I think you should edit your post there.

Gary Breen picking picked is a joke. No Joey O'Brien either. Stupid. He's letting the fcuking press pick his squad. JOB has got more game time (Europe and Domestically) and done better than Stephen Ireland.

Eh O'Brien is in. Letting the press pick his side? FFS that is absolute nonsense:rolleyes:

16/02/2006, 11:59 AM
Gary Breen picking picked is a joke. No Joey O'Brien either. Stupid. He's letting the fcuking press pick his squad. JOB has got more game time (Europe and Domestically) and done better than Stephen Ireland.

Where is the evidence that he is letting the press pick his squad then.

16/02/2006, 12:01 PM
Many observers feel Ireland's inclusion is overdue, given the Manchester City starlet's form in the Premiership this season,

bit harsh that , was there really a clamour for his inclusion back in october?

onenilgameover
16/02/2006, 12:04 PM
Disappointed Mc Carthy otherwise its fine...certainly not world beaters yet but gotta start somewhere...

16/02/2006, 12:07 PM
Backline looks very weak. Are there other defenders not considered due to injury?

16/02/2006, 12:08 PM
Kingdom I think you should edit your post there.
Aye.:o :o

16/02/2006, 12:10 PM
bit harsh that , was there really a clamour for his inclusion back in october?

It was this line that led to my previous outburst. There was no reason for this to be mentioned in the press release. Just another condemnation of Kerr on behalf of the FAI whilst trying to make their new "world class manager" look brilliant.

16/02/2006, 12:12 PM
This was from the irish times not from the FAI. There is nothign up on the FAI website so its not the Press release. You really are having a stinker today Kingdom.

16/02/2006, 12:15 PM

Douglas is a bit of a surprise:(

Lee Trundle plays two whole divisions *below Liam Miller and Johnathan Douglas -both of who are consistently appearing for 3rd in the championship Leeds United.

*oops ...One ..erm whole division below -see that's why they change the names of these things -to bamboozle.

still -a whole division is a whole division.

16/02/2006, 12:16 PM
Not the same person making both those quotes though.

gally
16/02/2006, 12:17 PM
Ronnie O'Brien not included, wonder if he is not interested, or does staunton not think he is good enough

16/02/2006, 12:20 PM
You really are having a stinker today Kingdom.

Reminiscint of Gary Breen's complete career then Neil. Battling for PC space today so only catching odd glances and trying to comment. I'll hang on to the day job for a while.

16/02/2006, 12:22 PM
If ye were picking a team from that squad what would it be?

16/02/2006, 12:23 PM
Look at the central defenders we have Breen/O'Brien/Dunne/O'Shea - we're seriously lacking..

4 Premiership centre halfs !

FarBeag
16/02/2006, 12:25 PM
Well I don't think there are any major surprises there.Lawrence is the only new one included as far as the Granny rule thingy goes.There is one player I would not have included and he Gary Breen.This bloke is brutal and always has been. McCarthy should be there without a doubt.

Reminiscint of Gary Breen's complete career then Neil. Battling for PC space today so only catching odd glances and trying to comment. I'll hang on to the day job for a while.

To be honest you should hold back on your criticisms if you are not reading the posts or the threads properly. Its obvious you are a pre-determined view of Staunton here and you just want to have a bit of rant againsts him regardless of the evidence.

Number 1 Joey O Brien was in the squad and Number 2 there has been no press release from the FAI so there was no slagging of kerr as of yet in the squad announcement.

Paulie
I think that when we have all our players available to us we have the makings of pretty decent team. As is always the case with us it's when you take a look at our bench that the problems really begin. I know it's a big if but if the new uncapped players fulfill their potential I think the following line up can be competitive in our qualifying group:

Given

J O'Brien rb
Dunne
O'Shea
Finnan Lb

McGeady
Kavanagh
S Reid
Duff

Keane
Doyle

I don't think Stephen Ireland is ready to start a competitive game for us yet but, who knows, maybe by early September he will be ready. I have my doubts about O'Shea at CB, it's just that we have very few options there and I still believe that somewhere in John O'Shea there is a good footballer trying to get out. The fact that Staunton was a defender himself, hopefully he can help O'Shea to become the player he once looked as though he could be.

klein4
16/02/2006, 12:55 PM
jebus wept will someone give neil that moderators job that he so obviously craves....talk about your passive agrression:rolleyes:

Karlos
16/02/2006, 1:03 PM
happy with the squad. Very good mix of youth & experience. No problem with the inclusion of Gary Breen. He's a hugely experienced player who supposedly displays great leadership off the field and is strong character in the dressing room. This will be vital to the squad considering the wealth of experience that walked out the door with Keane, Cunningham & Carr. Wheter he will actually start is open to debate but I think Stan has been very clever with his first team. There's enough new players in there to help him make this team his own and enough experience in there to help the team make too many youthful mistakes.

In my opinion, Stan has handled his business well so far :)

16/02/2006, 1:04 PM
I dont have the qualifications for the job to be honest. Anyway back on topic. I agree there Paulie regarding O Shea, for some reason lots of people think O shea could make it as a player but he has not done the business for a while, although his form did improve before the injury.

zinedineontour
16/02/2006, 1:22 PM
decent squad was hoping for a shocker from the granny rule but nothing ... breen should have been out with mc carthy in .. delighted for lawrence will give us a natural right midfielder rather than using duff or andy reid ..

Armando
16/02/2006, 2:37 PM
The squad is too small. It's Stauntons first game and its a friendly. Why not name a 30 man panel. A few of the players he has named are injured at the moment like O'Shea and Elliot so I don't expect them to play and another 2 or 3 at least will drop out before the game as always happens. This makes the squad even smaller and more than likely he will have no more than 18 players to work with when they meet up.

I thought it would make most sense to call up as many players as possible, within reason(we don't have much more than 30 realistic options anyway), for the first international so he could outline his plans for the next 4 years and everyone could feel they were in on this new beginning from the start. I don't see the sense in leaving out someone like Gary Doherty. He'll probably end up calling him into the squad anyway because of withdrawals, but now Doherty knows that Staunton doesn't really fancy him as a player.

It's a mistake excluding willing players like Doherty, who has previous experience, at this early stage of his tenure.

Paddy Garcia
16/02/2006, 2:39 PM
Did you know that Breen has a better goal ratio than Duff ?

...not really sure what this means:confused:

16/02/2006, 2:44 PM
Not great options at centre half, I agree it would have been interesting to see McCarthy or even McShane given a run out. I don't reckon either O'Brien or Breen are good long-term options. I still think O'Shea's best position is in the centre of the defence, if only he could play regular club football there!
Good reason why he cant. He is not good enough!, not even good enough to get the nod over Sylvestre.

16/02/2006, 2:52 PM
Look at the central defenders we have Breen/O'Brien/Dunne/O'Shea - we're seriously lacking.

4 Premiership centre halfs !
I only see three! JOS - dont think so!

When qualification starts two of these will be ex-Premiership centre-halves!

16/02/2006, 2:52 PM
Bit harsh there Armando, Doherty was only ever a squad player, and is injured anyway according to Sky Sports.