View Full Version : FC United game off

Patrick Dunne
11/02/2006, 9:21 AM
Galway Uniteds friendly against FC United scheduled to go ahead at at Wycombe Wanderers training ground at 1.00pm on Sunday 12th February, has been called off at the request of the Manchester based side, who are apparently unable to field a team.

Galway United are presently trying to source alternative opposition.

11/02/2006, 10:23 AM
That seems very short notice by FCUM.Unfair on the GUFC officials,players and supporters who travelled.

11/02/2006, 3:48 PM
That's ridiculously short notice to give. Anyone who was travelling would have paid for flights at this stage. Very unprofessional by FCUM.

Patrick Dunne
11/02/2006, 5:47 PM
GUFC will now be playing a Wycombe Wanderers XI at the same time and same venue. Twelve supporters had travelled on Friday, more today.

GUFc were in contact with FCUoM on Thursday and there was no indication of
any problems from their side.

11/02/2006, 7:49 PM
GUFC will now be playing a Wycombe Wanderers XI at the same time and same venue.They're probably a better team anyway so it's worked out better for Galway.

11/02/2006, 11:37 PM
Ya that's what we were saying today.Despite the amatuer behavior of FCUM we have probably a better fixture against Wycome.

12/02/2006, 2:54 PM
Jill just told me we won 2-1.:)

exiled_gufc_fan
12/02/2006, 6:17 PM
Jill just told me we won 2-1.:)

Yep,
Wycombe took the lead with an early penalty. United equalised from penalty spot through Alan Murphy. Frawley scored a header from a corner to give us a half time lead. No second half goals.

Typical Galway weather. Photos will be up in a little while.

12/02/2006, 6:32 PM
....Did you meet up with the GUFC fans who went over there?

exiled_gufc_fan
12/02/2006, 7:17 PM
....Did you meet up with the GUFC fans who went over there?

Yep ... Thinking smart, I headed for the Irish pub, where I found them arriving for a pre-match breakfast and pint :D

As promised....

http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1079.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1082.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1083.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1084.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1085.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1086.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1087.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1088.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1089.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1090.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1091.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1092.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1093.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1094.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1096.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1097.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1098.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1099.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1100.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1101.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1102.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1103.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1104.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1107.JPG

exiled_gufc_fan
12/02/2006, 7:22 PM
The Wycombe team was mainly reserves and youths (their youths team had no game this weekend). I was chatting to some of their youth team's players parents while watching the game - one of their second half subs was only 15. Apparently Wycombe did a ring around their players last night to put a team together. Fair play to them.

They have a nice set up there for a League Two club mind.

Bono_Keane
12/02/2006, 11:35 PM
The Wycombe team was mainly reserves and youths (their youths team had no game this weekend). I was chatting to some of their youth team's players parents while watching the game - one of their second half subs was only 15. Apparently Wycombe did a ring around their players last night to put a team together. Fair play to them.

They have a nice set up there for a League Two club mind.

Nice pics Exiled_gufc_fan...Playing firstly against FC United of Manchester I knew they were not to play in Old Trafford :D but what a field !! :eek: hehehe
Great pictures anyway :)

13/02/2006, 8:00 AM
That place looks like mervue?

Anyway, fair play Wycombe. Hopefully it was a good work out for the lads.

Now cork tomorrow! EASY !:)

13/02/2006, 10:16 AM
Now cork tomorrow! EASY !:)

We've played 4, won 4, scored 21 and conceded 0
Are you sure you're up to it?

Eire06
13/02/2006, 10:22 AM
Tomorrow it'll be played 5, won 4, lost 1 scored 21 and conceded 5 :D
We're well up for it...
Revenge for you robbing us in the cup last year :eek:

13/02/2006, 10:31 AM

Lally will probably field a weak team to give ye a chance, plus to rest the lads that were playing in England.:D

13/02/2006, 11:59 AM
Lally will probably field a weak team to give ye a chance

In our second game yesterday, we started 3 trialists and 8 youths. We won 4-0.

It will be interesting to hear the excuses tomorrow night. Terry obviously wants to get his in early.

13/02/2006, 12:08 PM

It will be interesting to hear the excuses tomorrow night. Terry obviously wants to get his in early.

I think it will be EASY! for who I havent yet said!

Clifford
13/02/2006, 12:58 PM
Wher's all the FCUM Irish supporters club guru's to explain their clubs shocking behaviour?

It's not taken them long to morph into a southern-based outfit like the other lot, eh?!! :D

Patrick Dunne
13/02/2006, 1:28 PM

The Kildare and District League and two pub teams, as well as Limerick FC.
You really know how to test yourselves down in Cork. All the big clubs have had friendlies overseas :D

13/02/2006, 1:46 PM
All the big clubs have had friendlies overseas :D

I think you'll find that the big clubs actually win stuff.

Go out in numbers tomorrow night, it's the closest you'll get to an eircom Premier League title!

13/02/2006, 1:51 PM
will rico put out a full strength team?

13/02/2006, 1:59 PM
I think you'll find that the big clubs actually win stuff.

I won E11 in the euro millions, does that make me big? or is it the amount of supermacs and beers that I consume!!:D

By the way, GUFC have won STUFF, just not for a while now, but Im sure we'll win more STUFF when the season starts up again!!

13/02/2006, 2:02 PM
Wasn't the FCUM Reserve team friendly supposed to be behind closed doors? In which case I don't know what all the "think of the supporters" posts are about.

Here's what FC circulated when it was announced

Galway United

Supporters may have heard that we are to play Irish League side Galway United on February 12th. Galway United were the first club in Ireland to have a supporters' trust. The trust has gone from strength to strength and has a seat on the GUFC board and are keen to establish relationships with supporter owned clubs such as ourselves.

The Irish League season starts in March and the supporters' trust has financed a 'pre-season' trip to England. The club has asked if we would play them in a behind closed doors practice match.

Karl is keen to take the opportunity to give some match practice to players who have not featured regularly in our first team, and at the same time have a look at some trialists in a match against good level opposition midway through our own season.

Contrary to some views Galway United are not owned by former Barings Bank employee Nick Leeson, the club employ him as a General Manager. FC United has no right to influence the employment decisions of other clubs but we do wish to give support to those clubs who genuinely encourage supporter involvement and ownership.

13/02/2006, 2:08 PM
will rico put out a full strength team?

With just a week to go to the Setanta Cup, I think he'll play a strong side.

Patrick Dunne
13/02/2006, 2:13 PM
would be for the team and management. The club spent in excess of E5,000 arranging this trip. On Thursday night FCUM contacted us to arrange colours for the game. On Friday they were unable to field a team.

I doubt FCUM would be too happy if they had spent a similar amount to arrange a game against Longford Town in, lets say, Arklow, only to be told when arriving in the town that Longford couldnt get eleven footballers to fulfill the fixture.

Amateur carry on from FCUM and a very poor way to treat a touring side. Well done to Wycombe Wanderers who stepped into the breach at very short notice.

13/02/2006, 2:14 PM
would be for the team and management. The club spent in excess of E5,000 arranging this trip. On Thursday night FCUM contacted us to arrange colours for the game. On Friday they were unable to field a team.

I doubt FCUM would be too happy if they had spent a similar amount to arrange a game against Longford Town in, lets say, Arklow, only to be told when arriving in the town that Longford couldnt get eleven footballers to fulfill the fixture.

Amateur carry on from FCUM and a very poor way to treat a touring side. Well done to Wycombe Wanderers who stepped into the breach at very short notice.
That would never happen, we'd always find a few locals to put out on the field:D

13/02/2006, 2:18 PM
Not saying it's right, just the "think of the supporters" are out of order imo for what was always going to be behind closed doors. The fact that GUFC were going to get them in is beside the point.

Was the trip purely to play FC United? I thought it was a training camp which the friendly was just part of it. Probably would've been better basing yourselves in the North West if the prime reason for spending 5k was a friendly against a Manchester club.

Patrick Dunne
13/02/2006, 2:27 PM
The weekend was a training camp, however without a game it would have been a poor exercise. We had a chance to try out our new Polish keeper and also a London based player against WW.I wouldnt loose any sleep over FCUMs non-show, however, a simple phone call on Thursday evening would have been common courtesy.

Wasn't there myself, apparently all GUFC present enjoyed the weekend.
About as close as we are going to get to a Euro away for at least 18 months.

13/02/2006, 2:33 PM
I suppose you could have arranged to play Wycombe anyway, but that wouldn't have sounded as good as being the first Irish side to play FCUM would it?

13/02/2006, 2:36 PM
well they know 'ow to throw a big paaaaathy!!

13/02/2006, 2:45 PM
FCUM are a jumped up pub team, formed out of a knee jerk reaction to the takeover of Man Utd. They'll be out of business before Galway Utd. are in the Premier Division.

Put it behind you lads, you've got a game against a proper club tomorrow night to be worrying about.

13/02/2006, 2:47 PM
Peadar the word is GUFC are nailed on to get promoted
and thats from those in the know

13/02/2006, 2:49 PM
FCUM are a jumped up pub team, formed out of a knee jerk reaction to the takeover of Man Utd. They'll be out of business before Galway Utd. are in the Premier Division.

I'll mention your bizarre theory to the thousands of FCUM supporters that will be in Blackpool on Saturday. Just because football fans in Cork have failed to keep even one club on the go over the years doesn't mean that the FCUM hardcore won't. :rolleyes:

13/02/2006, 2:54 PM
Peadar the word is GUFC are nailed on to get promoted

Guess this is the last season if FCUM :D

Just because football fans in Cork have failed to keep even one club on the go over the years doesn't mean that the FCUM hardcore won't.

They'll just have to do like your lot and keep calling the new clubs the same name everytime they go bust and are replaced! :rolleyes:

If thousands of people are going from Manchester to Blackpool, it aint for the football, I can tell you!

13/02/2006, 3:01 PM
They'll just have to do like your lot and keep calling the new clubs the same name everytime they go bust and are replaced! :rolleyes:

If thousands of people are going from Manchester to Blackpool, it aint for the football, I can tell you!

We've always been SRFC unlike the forty shades of Cork football - Hibs, Albert, Athletic, City, Celtic, Fordsons etc etc.

Maybe it's just me and what we've gone through over the last couple of years but I tend to applaud hardcore football fans who refuse to let the game and their club die before their eyes.

I'd always trust the fans before ANY other group involved in football. But again, maybe that's just me.

FCUM get big crowds at all their games it just happens that Blackpool is the big away trip this season and lots of people are staying overnight.

Clifford
13/02/2006, 3:12 PM
We've always been SRFC unlike the forty shades of Cork football - Hibs, Albert, Athletic, City, Celtic, Fordsons etc etc.

Maybe it's just me and what we've gone through over the last couple of years but I tend to applaud hardcore football fans who refuse to let the game and their club die before their eyes.

I'd always trust the fans before ANY other group involved in football. But again, maybe that's just me.

FCUM get big crowds at all their games it just happens that Blackpool is the big away trip this season and lots of people are staying overnight.

Will they be able to field a team? ;)

13/02/2006, 4:48 PM
...hardcore football fans who refuse to let the game and their club die before their eyes.

From what I can see, "their club" is second in the Premiership. FCUM is therefore nothing more than an excuse for p!ss-up in Blackpool and the like.

14/02/2006, 7:13 AM
nothing more than an excuse for p!ss-up in Blackpool and the like.

sounds good to me!:)

14/02/2006, 8:50 AM
sounds good to me!:)

Only if you know the good spots, away from the stip. ;)
I lived there for 18 months.
Cracking spot but wouldn't want to spend the rest of my life there.
The football in Bloomfield Road was so bad at times that it made Longford Town v Limerick look attractive. :D