View Full Version : Programme of the Year 2005

10/02/2006, 1:34 PM
Third year in a row for City Edition. Read more here (http://corkcityfc.ie/home.htm)

Without bias I can say its by far best in the country & shows that if you produce it people will buy it.

10/02/2006, 1:50 PM
Third year in a row for City Edition. Read more here (http://corkcityfc.ie/home.htm)

Without bias I can say its by far best in the country & shows that if you produce it people will buy it.

Superb programme alright, but very tough to pick between City Edition and Drogs Digest.....

10/02/2006, 3:05 PM
Superb programme alright, but very tough to pick between City Edition and Drogs Digest.....

As much as the drogs one improved (definitely the most improved programme last season) there were a couple of dodgy enough issues but I would still say it was the 2nd best in the league after city edition.

I thought the rovers one was pretty good too - their one for their match against us was pure quality (was a double issue for the hibs match too), but they had a very very ropey one againt fanad united i thought so im not sure which is more a reflection for them overall this season :confused: !!

10/02/2006, 4:49 PM
Rovers programme was the last good away trip one i bought. Not both drogs one for many years so can't judge current quality level.

Shels & Bohs versions are very poor for professional clubs.

10/02/2006, 6:55 PM
Well deserved - still miles ahead content wise imo.

10/02/2006, 7:51 PM
Some of the content has been put online (http://corkcityfc.ie/cityedition.htm) aswell if anyone wants to see it ??

10/02/2006, 8:30 PM
Well done Gerry and Dave yet again!:D :D

Aaron
10/02/2006, 8:56 PM
UCD did a good wee programme for the league cup final against derry and we also do a decent programme. Plaenty buy it.;)

11/02/2006, 9:07 AM
Here's my table for programmes

1.Cork
2. Drogheda
3. Finn Harps
4. St. Pats
5. Bray
6. Sham Rovers
7. Derry
8. Longford
9. Bohs
10. Shelbourne
11. Waterford
12. UCD

Bravo
11/02/2006, 11:39 AM
The City vs Rovers in the cup last year was the best programme I have ever purchased at a LOI game, Well done!

11/02/2006, 3:41 PM
UCD did a good wee programme for the league cup final against derry

It's possible the eL did that. For the last season our programme has been pure and utter crap since the club started running it again.

11/02/2006, 3:51 PM
Yes the EL did do the League Cup Final edition with contributions from both clubs. It was the best "home" programme of the season as a result.

12/02/2006, 9:29 AM
Well done Gerry, Dave, Joe, Bernie and Gerry, well deserved award.
By far the best programme / matchday mag in the EL. Others clubs with maybe 1 or 2 exceptions lag so far behind I''ve given up buying the prog's at away games, because the quality lags so far behind City Edition.

Can also say from seeing City away in europe over the last 5 years that the City programme is better then anything I have seen in Europe too. A credit to all concerned

Student Mullet
12/02/2006, 2:45 PM
Programs with a small circulation face a choice. You can have a glossy colour program but you have to fill it with adds to pay for the printing. The other choice is a colour cover with cheap black and white matt printing on the inside but with room for a lot more content.

Personally I prefer a program with content, even if the printing is cheap. What does anyone else feel?

12/02/2006, 2:57 PM
Programs with a small circulation face a choice. You can have a glossy colour program but you have to fill it with adds to pay for the printing. The other choice is a colour cover with cheap black and white matt printing on the inside but with room for a lot more content.

Personally I prefer a program with content, even if the printing is cheap. What does anyone else feel?

That was my philosophy when I edited the UCD programme from 1999 to 2001

12/02/2006, 4:46 PM

To be honest, i could be wrong but i dont know of any programme that has been successful that didn't have good content, colour or b&w .... I know i am never compelled to buy i programme i know has bad content. In my opinion a programme will never sell more by going ot colour but not improving its content.

12/02/2006, 5:43 PM
Too many away day eL programmes have very poor content (like bad post on foot.ie) to justify be buying them with the exception of the Shamrock Rovers one but that has lots of under age news which doesn't interest me.

12/02/2006, 6:44 PM
Well done Gerry et al!

Is the programme making any money yet though? Always heard it was operating at a loss, which I don't understand the point of?

13/02/2006, 10:50 AM
Well done again.

Though I wouldnt say its "miles ahead" of others it is the best. Maybe its due to Richard Damienson's managers notes:D

I buy home and away every game I go to and the majority are crap. Ours is consistently good and Drogheda has improved a lot this seaon.

13/02/2006, 11:05 AM
when you come to the showgies it'll blow yer minds lads;) :D

seand
13/02/2006, 1:47 PM
Cork and Drogs programmes were great, Rovers very good too.

Anyone know who won the Frist Division award, if there was one?

21/03/2006, 2:13 PM
There's a double City Edition out this week for the games v Portadown and Bohs.
I prob wouldn't have paid the €3 twice for it in a few days so its a nice gesture i suppose.

21/03/2006, 2:27 PM
Got the programme at drogs to see what all the fuss was about, only to find an entire "article" compiled from posts on foot.ie

The programme content was nearly as bad as the "official" website.
They had the cheek to charge €2.50 to read page after page of adverts with the odd Internet forum rip-off thrown in for good measure. :rolleyes:

21/03/2006, 2:31 PM
Peadar there is no way that it was as bad a rip off as Kilkenny tho. Paid €3 for 5 pages all of which were ads except for the Chairman's welcome and the team sheet. Have never seen worse.

21/03/2006, 2:33 PM
Got the programme at drogs to see what all the fuss was about

As explained before, this season it's a new programme editor - the chap who did the great drogs digest last season had to pack it in one week before this season started for personal reasons.

The new chap, who was brought in at the last minute, is still finding his feet and fingers crossed he can bring it up to last seasons standard within the next couple of issues

Peadar, seriously you'd want to lose this hard on ye have for us :rolleyes:

21/03/2006, 2:39 PM
How could ya possibly have a programme of 5 pages?
Surely you mean 6, 10 or 20.
Sorry for nit-picking now but there does seem to be a little head-lice there.

Anyway, do some of the first division clubs just not even bother with a programme?
I remember a couple of years back Ramblers didn't have one and before that they'd a team-sheet for 50p.

21/03/2006, 2:44 PM
6 or 10 wouldn't work either (unless you've a loose single page somewhere). Has to be a multiple of 4.

21/03/2006, 2:46 PM
staples:)

In fairness though, thats disgraceful behaviour out of Kilkenny

21/03/2006, 2:48 PM
It'd be very awkward stapling with one page half the size of the rest though.

Juz the Hoop
21/03/2006, 3:16 PM
Here's my table for programmes

1.Cork
2. Drogheda
3. Finn Harps
4. St. Pats
5. Bray
6. Sham Rovers
7. Derry
8. Longford
9. Bohs
10. Shelbourne
11. Waterford
12. UCD

How in gods name can you only have us at 6th. We were 3rd at worst in the programme stakes last season. Corks was definately the best but imo we were neck and neck with drogheda's.

As for what ive seen so far this season shels programme is gank. My dad was at there game on friday and it doubled up with last nights match (nothing wrong in that just the content wasnt great). Our programme is still top notch depites being in the first divison (well done to Robert Goggins again) and athlones despite not being presented brilliantly was infact a very good read.

JUZ

21/03/2006, 3:26 PM
Our programme is still top notch depites being in the first divison

Haven't read it this year but it was always one of the best.
Shels never make an effort from what I can see.
Pats used to be good but in recent years the content hasn't been great.

Bald Student
21/03/2006, 3:55 PM
How in gods name can you only have us at 6th. We were 3rd at worst in the programme stakes last season. Corks was definately the best but imo we were neck and neck with drogheda's.

As for what ive seen so far this season shels programme is gank. My dad was at there game on friday and it doubled up with last nights match (nothing wrong in that just the content wasnt great). Our programme is still top notch depites being in the first divison (well done to Robert Goggins again) and athlones despite not being presented brilliantly was infact a very good read.

JUZYour program contained the most hilariously error-ridden su-do-ku (or su-hoop-ku as it was called) I've ever seen.

21/03/2006, 4:08 PM
AFAIK it is mandatory to produce a programme if you are part of the eL. I remember St Francis saying how it cost them 50k a season to produce with feck all sales but that they had to do it.

This would explain why 1st division clubs produce crap ones but doesn't explain why they charge money for them.

Even seen rugby programmes? 4 page teamsheet + advert for 1 quid...

Bald Student
21/03/2006, 4:14 PM
AFAIK it is mandatory to produce a programme if you are part of the eL.If I remember correctly, that was a funny rule that came in through the back door. When the deal with eircom was signed the clubs were told to include a full page eircom add in the program. Too have an add in a program you must first have a program so programs seemed to become mandatory.

I remember because we were debating at the time should we produce a program if we'd gotten relegated.

21/03/2006, 4:44 PM
I remember St Francis saying how it cost them 50k a season to produce with feck all sales but that they had to do it.
Couldn't possibly cost E50k (£50k even) for a thousand programmes over the year! Though the point is valid overall.

22/03/2006, 8:10 AM
Sorry was thinking of the content when said 5 pages, yeah there was acutally 8 when you include the cover and forgot the inside page of the cover coz it was so unmemorable.

For first Division programmes Athlone do a good one with nice articles and I think ours is quite good, it has all our news on juveniles and any other news items so there is at least stuff to read. This year will have a new section for our Womens team pics so will give the men something to ogle.

KK77
22/03/2006, 8:23 AM
Got the programme at drogs to see what all the fuss was about, only to find an entire "article" compiled from posts on foot.ie

The programme content was nearly as bad as the "official" website.
They had the cheek to charge €2.50 to read page after page of adverts with the odd Internet forum rip-off thrown in for good measure. :rolleyes:

You think that's bad you want to see Bray's one and they have the cheek to charge 3 euro it's disgraceful.

The Sheliban
22/03/2006, 9:56 AM
I'd like to stick up for the Shels programme. I think people are letting their personal feelings cloud their judgement. The double-up programme contained 5 or 6 good original and lengthy articles plus penpics on the opposition, and all for €2.
I'm not saying its as good as the City programme, because it isn't, though I won't buy the City one because you can't fit it in your pocket. Rovers is always good.
Bohs last year was two articles and pages upon pages of ads, but maybe that was because it was end of the season, but I still fail to see how any rational person could rank it higher than Shels.

22/03/2006, 10:53 AM
I'd like to stick up for the Shels programme. I think people are letting their personal feelings cloud their judgement. The double-up programme contained 5 or 6 good original and lengthy articles plus penpics on the opposition, and all for €2.

I haven't seen that one so I can't comment. I was going on the what I've seen before.

22/03/2006, 11:21 AM
I gave up buying away match day programmes years ago but broke that habit for Drogs. In future I will be asking if i can preview the programme (like buying in newsagents) before handing over my cash...

22/03/2006, 12:20 PM
In future I will be asking if i can preview the programme (like buying in newsagents) before handing over my cash...

*This is not a library*

That would be gas alright - I could imagine the face on the poor kid when you turn round that you don't actually want to buy the programme after all! :p

22/03/2006, 12:22 PM
I dont have to buy a programme but I always do coz every club struggles money wise and if you at least contribute the €3 towards their costs its helping out somewhat.

Paddyfield
22/03/2006, 4:11 PM
Pity Cork City didn't publish a match programe for the FAI Cup replay against Galway United.

Not even a teamsheet :mad:

22/03/2006, 4:27 PM
Pity Cork City didn't publish a match programe for the FAI Cup replay against Galway United.

Yeah, like they had so much time to compile it, edit it, print it and distribute it! :rolleyes:

A teamsheet would have been available to those who required it, as always.

Dj Duffer
22/03/2006, 4:44 PM
Sorry for nit-picking now but there does seem to be a little head-lice there.

Anyway, do some of the first division clubs just not even bother with a programme?
I remember a couple of years back Ramblers didn't have one and before that they'd a team-sheet for 50p.

Ramblers programme is fairly good now and is a good read.