View Full Version : Useless facts

09/02/2006, 5:32 PM
If you yelled for 8 years, 7 months and 6 days you would have produced enough sound energy to heat one cup of coffee.
(Hardly seems worth it.)
If you farted consistently for 6 years and 9 months, enough gas is produced to create the energy of an atomic bomb.
(Now that's more like it!)
The human heart creates enough pressure when it pumps out to the body to squirt blood 30 feet.
(O.M.G.!)
A pig's orgasm lasts 30 minutes.
(In my next life, I want to be a pig.)
A cockroach will live nine days without its head before it starves to death. (Creepy.)
(I'm still not over the pig.)
Banging your head against a wall uses 150 calories a hour
(Don't try this at home,maybe at work)
The male praying mantis cannot copulate while its head is attached to its body. The female initiates sex by ripping the male's head off.
("Honey, I'm home. What the....?!")
The flea can jump 350 times its body length. It's like a human jumping the length of a football field.
(30 minutes..lucky pig! Can you imagine?)
The catfish has over 27,000 taste buds.
(What could be so tasty on the bottom of a pond?)
Some lions mate over 50 times a day.
(I still want to be a pig in my next life...quality over quantity)
Butterflies taste with their feet.
(Something I always wanted to know.)
The strongest muscle in the body is the tongue.
(Hmmmmmm......)
Right-handed people live, on average, nine years longer than left-handed people.
(If you're ambidextrous, do you split the difference?)
Elephants are the only animals that cannot jump.
(okay, so that would be a good thing)
A cat's urine glows under a black light.
(I wonder who was paid to figure that out?)
An ostrich's eye is bigger than its brain.
( I know some people like that.)
Starfish have no brains
(I know some people like that too.)
Polar bears are left-handed.
(If they switch, they'll live a lot longer)
Humans and dolphins are the only species that have sex for pleasure.
(What about that pig??)

hamish
09/02/2006, 5:36 PM
If you farted consistently for 6 years and 9 months, enough gas is produced to create the energy of an atomic bomb.

Now, I know why my house is the only one standing 'round here.:o :D

"Humans and dolphins are the only species that have sex for pleasure.
(What about that pig??)"

I'll ask her next time we meet up.;)

09/02/2006, 5:45 PM
Now, I know why my house is the only one standing 'round here.:o

(What about that pig??)"

I'll ask her next time we meet up.;)

Oh,oh, Greentribe won't like that at all at all at all.:eek:

hamish
09/02/2006, 6:40 PM
Oh,oh, Greentribe won't like that at all at all at all.

Ah stop that - you're dropping me in it now.:p :D

Besides, I have it on good authority that Queen Juliana is a purty gurl.;)

09/02/2006, 8:02 PM

You get my vote for Nerd of the Year on the Foot.ie website :D

09/02/2006, 8:14 PM
Well done strageirish.

By far the strangest thing there is this term
black light.

How does that work?

09/02/2006, 8:32 PM

You get my vote for Nerd of the Year on the Foot.ie website :D

LOL....If you only knew me.....

Risteard Well done strageirish.
By far the strangest thing there is this term
Quote:
Originally Posted by strangeirish
black light.
How does that work?

Black lights look just like normal fluorescent lamps or incandescent light bulbs, but they do something completely different. Switch one on, and white clothes, teeth, apparently cat's urine and various other things glow in the dark, while the bulb itself only emits faint purple light. Not a lot of people know that.:D

Bald Student
09/02/2006, 8:50 PM
Black lights look just like normal fluorescent lamps or incandescent light bulbs, but they do something completely different. Switch one on, and white clothes, teeth, apparently cat's urine and various other things glow in the dark, while the bulb itself only emits faint purple light. Not a lot of people know that.:DI think it's also called UV (ultra-violet) light and you sometimes see it in the toilets of classy establishments.

09/02/2006, 9:14 PM
Got that in one of those chain mails before.....it's good though.:D

09/02/2006, 10:14 PM
I think it's also called UV (ultra-violet) light and you sometimes see it in the toilets of classy establishments.

That would be correct Bald Student.

hamish
09/02/2006, 10:56 PM
LOL....If you only knew me.....

True, true,

strangeirish - a bad influence on people like me.:D

10/02/2006, 10:32 AM
More usless information on Black Light :They are used in Toilets in Classy Establishment's so that Junkies can't see their veins and therfore cant bang up !

10/02/2006, 11:06 AM
By taking the silver paper out of the top of a cigarette packet, loosely folding it in half and twisting both ends three times you can make yourself a 100% life size accurate model of the brain of an adult great white shark.:) Try it. It's remarkable.

Hulsey
10/02/2006, 11:09 AM
Heres 2 for you:
Crocadiles can walk backwards, but alligators can't.
80% of senegals population speak wolof.

noby
10/02/2006, 11:45 AM
The flea can jump 350 times its body length. It's like a human jumping the length of a football field.

That's a mighty fine football field. I'm pretty average height, but 350 times my body length is nearly 700 yards.

There is a fruit fly (Drosophila bifurca) whose sperm is 20 times it's own body length (about 10000 times that of a human one) Imagine that in human terms.

10/02/2006, 11:48 AM
There is a fruit fly (Drosophila bifurca) whose sperm is 20 times it's own body length (about 10000 times that of a human one) Imagine that in human terms.

:eek: :eek: :eek:

I am scared enough of the normal sized ones.......

noby
10/02/2006, 11:52 AM
You'd have to use a bin-liner as a condom.

beautifulrock
10/02/2006, 12:27 PM
good useless facts but has anyone asked how they timed the pigs orgasm, was this the male or the female pig. Or did the clock stop when he lit up his cigar?? :confused:

10/02/2006, 12:40 PM
There is a fruit fly (Drosophila bifurca) whose sperm is 20 times its own body length (about 10000 times that of a human one) Imagine that in human terms.
Ummm...and where would he be storing this sperm when it's not in use?! Does he stow it safely in the overhead compartment of something!

And how does the sperm then shrink to form the babby fly?!

That said, google (http://www.abc.net.au/science/news/stories/s722372.htm) backs it up!

Bald Student
10/02/2006, 12:41 PM
[Nerd Alert]That's not as amazing as it sounds. It's the same reason as ants are able to carry multiples of their body weight. A muscle's strength is proportional to it's length where as weight is proporional to volume, which is proportional to length cubed. So, as things get smaller they get proportionally stronger. To take the other extreme, elephants can't jump and can only lift a small fraction of their weight. That's why we don't need to be afraid of giants. [/Nerd Alert]

10/02/2006, 12:42 PM
Following on from the giant sperm... (http://www.abc.net.au/science/news/print/print_366856.htm)

Bald Student
10/02/2006, 12:46 PM
Ummm...and where would he be storing this sperm when it's not in use?! Does he stow it safely in the overhead compartment of something!

And how does the sperm then shrink to form the babby fly?!

That said, google (http://www.abc.net.au/science/news/stories/s722372.htm) backs it up!Length is the key thing here. My intestines are longer than I am. My DNA could wrap around the world a few times. It all fits inside me thanks to the miracle of folding.

noby
10/02/2006, 12:55 PM
That said, google (http://www.abc.net.au/science/news/stories/s722372.htm) backs it up!

You mean you doubted me. I don't need google to back me up, I trust the teachings of Stephen Fry on QI.

10/02/2006, 12:56 PM
You didn't mention you got it from QI! I'd have believed you without question then! :)

BS - touché...

anto1208
10/02/2006, 1:01 PM
(What about that pig??)"

this ive never belived , its inbuilt so we survive after sex dopamien ( spelling ) is released which makes you feel good , this is what we crave .

any bloke ever had sex not had an orgasim and been happy about it just because he had sex for fun !!! bull plop !!.

do dolphins wear condoms ...no !! its to procreate

plus ever watch dogs riding see there tails wagging like crazy , tell me there not having fun

10/02/2006, 1:42 PM
[Nerd Alert]That's not as amazing as it sounds. It's the same reason as ants are able to carry multiples of their body weight. A muscle's strength is proportional to it's length where as weight is proporional to volume, which is proportional to length cubed. So, as things get smaller they get proportionally stronger. To take the other extreme, elephants can't jump and can only lift a small fraction of their weight. That's why we don't need to be afraid of giants. [/Nerd Alert]

And Bald Student takes over the anorak.....speaking of which, did you know that if you wear your coat inside out on a warm day, it helps keep you cool!;)

10/02/2006, 1:45 PM
More usless information on Black Light :They are used in Toilets in Classy Establishment's so that Junkies can't see their veins and therfore cant bang up !
Also used in Trinity's toilets. :D

10/02/2006, 1:51 PM
More usless information on Black Light :They are used in Toilets in Classy Establishment's so that Junkies can't see their veins and therfore cant bang up !It's also used in the toilets of Busaras in Dublin for the same reason.

I tried but I couldn't find me vein, raging:mad: :D.

10/02/2006, 1:59 PM
It's also used in the toilets of Busaras in Dublin for the same reason.

I tried but I couldn't find me vein, raging:mad: .

Angel did say it was kind of small....:D :p

10/02/2006, 2:01 PM
Angel did say it was kind of small....:D :pFeck off!:D

noby
10/02/2006, 2:14 PM
And Bald Student takes over the anorak.....speaking of which, did you know that if you wear your coat inside out on a warm day, it helps keep you cool!;)

Couldn't you just take off the coat?
Oh, and don't leave the fridge door open to try and cool down, as it will actually heat the room.

hamish
10/02/2006, 4:49 PM
Angel did say it was kind of small....

Could you confirm if it was this Angel, strangeirish?? I'm not certain:D ;)

http://www.escort-ireland.com/488/Angel/irish-escort.html

this ive never belived , its inbuilt so we survive after sex dopamien ( spelling ) is released which makes you feel good , this is what we crave .

any bloke ever had sex not had an orgasim and been happy about it just because he had sex for fun !!! bull plop !!.

do dolphins wear condoms ...no !! its to procreate

plus ever watch dogs riding see there tails wagging like crazy , tell me there not having fun

That was a strangeirish quote, anto1208 - I haven't a clue TBH.

I do have a gay dog called Bunty and we've just rescued and are treating a young female pup which has excited Bunty ( who's 11 years old BTW) - does that make Bunty a paedophile dog???:eek:

I have a pussy cat too who's heterosexual.;)

10/02/2006, 5:00 PM
Could you confirm if it was this Angel, strangeirish?? I'm not certain:D ;)

That be the one!

hamish
10/02/2006, 5:48 PM
That be the one!

Are you absolutely sure strangeirish??

Hear, have another look.:D

Wonder where sligoman's got too??? LOL:D :D

10/02/2006, 5:56 PM
Are you absolutely sure strangeirish??

Hear, have another look.:D

Wonder where sligoman's got too??? LOL:D

Maybe they are trying to get his credit card to go through.........:D

Or he is still looking for his vein......LOL

It's also used in the toilets of Busaras in Dublin for the same reason.

I tried but I couldn't find me vein, raging

Angel did say it was kind of small....

hamish
10/02/2006, 5:59 PM
Maybe they are trying to get his credit card to go through........

Or he is still looking for his vein......LOL

But, but, but - did you see the hint he gave on another thread about him and magicme???:eek: ;) :D

10/02/2006, 6:07 PM
Wonder where sligoman's got too??? LOL:D

Maybe they are trying to get his credit card to go through.........

Or he is still looking for his vein......LOLsligoman was getting things sorted for his new job. Nothing to do with Angel:p.

And I can confirm that myself and magicme have never had any sort of relationship:D.

hamish
10/02/2006, 6:14 PM
sligoman was getting things sorted for his new job. Nothing to do with Angel:

And I can confirm that myself and magicme have never had any sort of relationship:

Then what was that comment about. y'know, closing the door*** etc -on the other thread??

Good luck with the job sligoman BTW - running that escort agency will be hard work.:p :D Like that nice new Dutch girl ye've signed.

***sneaks quietly away, closing the door behind him*

10/02/2006, 6:32 PM
Good luck with the job sligoman BTW - running that escort agency will be hard work.:p :D Like that nice new Dutch girl ye've signed.

I guess she is going to be the head girl then?

Dazzy
10/02/2006, 10:03 PM
sligoman was getting things sorted for his new job. Nothing to do with Angel.

And I can confirm that myself and magicme have never had any sort of relationship.

One night stand then, nothing wrong with that:eek:

Angel would be jealous, can i have her:D For free:p

hamish
10/02/2006, 10:15 PM
One night stand then, nothing wrong with that:eek:

Angel would be jealous, can i have her For free

heh heh sligoman is gonna kill me for starting that Angel creac.:D

10/02/2006, 10:55 PM
Ah Jaysus lads. Hamish if I'm ever UNfortunate to meet you, I'm gonna hit a across the head for all this sh!te:mad: :D.

Dazzy
10/02/2006, 11:00 PM
heh heh sligoman is gonna kill me for starting that Angel creac.:D

Wonder what Magicme thinks off all this :D :p

hamish
11/02/2006, 2:51 AM
Ah Jaysus lads. Hamish if I'm ever UNfortunate to meet you, I'm gonna hit a across the head for all this sh!te

Ah, youth of today. Beating up the defenceless elderly. :p
I guess I'll just have to have Shakedown with me - y'know the godson with a 2nd dan in Karate, experienced bouncer and concrete brick smasher with both foot and hand.;) :D

12/02/2006, 2:38 PM
Following on from the giant sperm... (http://www.abc.net.au/science/news/print/print_366856.htm)

Jaysus.....fitting that the man to discover the massive dong on the duck is called Dr Kevin McCracken!

As for Sligoman and me.....there was a moment....at the turnstiles....he flashed me his

ID card and I let him in as a student.........awwww.....it must be love.

12/02/2006, 3:15 PM
As for Sligoman and me.....there was a moment....at the turnstiles....he flashed me his

ID card and I let him in as a student.........awwww.....it must be love.But you don't even remember me:p :D.

13/02/2006, 1:11 PM
Well at least ye are all staying on topic. This is all useless information. Sligoman doesn't have a snowballs chance in hell!:D

13/02/2006, 3:20 PM
Well at least ye are all staying on topic. This is all useless information. Sligoman doesn't have a snowballs chance in hell!:D
:D :D
With Any Bird......... Ever !!

13/02/2006, 4:34 PM
The Uape Indians, who live in the Amazon, mix the ashes of their recently cremated relatives with alcohol, then all members of the family drink the mix with fond memories of the deceased:eek: Slainte...

14/02/2006, 7:22 PM
LAWS OF THE UNIVERSE
Law of Mechanical Repair: After your hands become coated with grease
your nose will begin to itch or you'll have to pee.

Law of the Workshop: Any tool, when dropped, will roll to the least
accessible corner.

Law of probability: The probability of being watched is directly
proportional to the stupidity of your act.:D

Law of the Telephone: When you dial a wrong number, you never get a
busy signal.

Law of the Alibi: If you tell the boss you were late for work because
you had a flat tire, the very next morning you will have a flat tire.

Variation Law: If you change lines (or traffic lanes), the one you
were in will start to move faster than the one you are in now. (works
every time).

Bath Theorem: When the body is fully immersed in water, the telephone
rings.

Law of Close Encounters: The probability of meeting someone you know
increases when you are with someone you don't want to be seen with.:D

Law of the Result: When you try to prove to someone that a machine
won't work, it will.

Law of Biomechanics: The severity of the itch is inversely
proportional to the reach.

Theatre Rule: At any event, the people whose seats are furthest from
the aisle arrive last.

Law of Coffee: As soon as you sit down to a cup of hot coffee, your
boss will ask you to do something which will last until the coffee is
cold.

Murphy's Law of Lockers: If there are only two people in a locker
room, they will have adjacent lockers.

Law of Dirty Rugs/Carpets: The chances of an open faced jelly sandwich
of landing face down on a floor covering are directly correlated to the
newness and cost of the carpet/rug.

Law of Location: No matter where you go, there you are.

Law of Logical Argument: Anything is possible if you don't know what
you are talking about.

Brown's Law: If the shoe fits, it's ugly.

Oliver's Law: A closed mouth gathers no feet.

Wilson's Law: As soon as you find a product that you really like, they
will stop making it.