View Full Version : Wesley, Wesley, Wesley?

Dee75
09/02/2006, 10:51 AM
What was that lad thinking joining Livingston. Beaten 7-0 last night. Does he really feel better off playing in Scotland where he has 8 big games a season (4 vs Celtic, 4 vs Rangers) and probably not a hope of winning any of those big 8 games. The best result since he joined was a 1-1 draw away to Alloa in the scottish cup then they lost the replay as well as all of their league games.

When they get relegated at the end of the season he will be playing in Scottish Div 1 where the standard is well below the Eircom league and any notion of playing in Europe will be a dot on the horizon.

Bad move Wes........

Aaron
09/02/2006, 10:55 AM
Ur right ther. If he was to leave the LOI it should have been to the championship in england. Just take a look at Kevin Doyle now!!:D

09/02/2006, 10:58 AM
Saw that 7-0 defeat alright, kept thinking of Wes and laughing. Joining Livingston was always going to be a bad move. Serves him right for thinking this will help him get into the Ireland squad:rolleyes:. He should have stuck with Shels until a big club(bigger than Livingston) came for him.

09/02/2006, 11:10 AM
You'd ahve to feel that if Livingston were willing to pay reasonable amount of money for him that other clubs would have taken him for free at the end of this season?

He'd have got good experience as a defender with Livingston but not going to see much of the ball in midfield when losing 7-0.

Hulsey
09/02/2006, 11:22 AM
Anyone know what length the contract he signed was? Can't see him being happy with a scottish first division side. Possability of shels bringing him back if livingston do get relegated?:confused:

09/02/2006, 11:33 AM
no he'd go to cork and the merrigoround would be complete

sidcon
09/02/2006, 12:14 PM
Goes out with my cousin heard them say that hes only over there till end of seson to see if he like sit and things work out

joema
09/02/2006, 12:28 PM
Does he really feel better off playing in Scotland where he has 8 big games a season (4 vs Celtic, 4 vs Rangers)

I agree with you it was a bad move and I think a lot of us on this forum knew this could happen. Shels are comfortably a better side than Livingston and it is a step backwards.
But dont kid yourself about the big games. He will play at least 16 big games (4 v Celtic) (4 v Rangers) (4 v Hibs) (4 v Hearts) and if he performs to his potential against these teams there is every chance they might snap him up.

09/02/2006, 12:30 PM
What Wild Rover said...

I can see that happening myself!!

Anyway I'll be delighted if Livi don't beat the drop.......

09/02/2006, 1:35 PM
Anyone know what length the contract he signed was? Can't see him being happy with a scottish first division side. Possability of shels bringing him back if livingston do get relegated?:confused:
Reported at 2.5 years IIRC.

09/02/2006, 5:31 PM
I agree with you it was a bad move and I think a lot of us on this forum knew this could happen. Shels are comfortably a better side than Livingston and it is a step backwards.
But dont kid yourself about the big games. He will play at least 16 big games (4 v Celtic) (4 v Rangers) (4 v Hibs) (4 v Hearts) and if he performs to his potential against these teams there is every chance they might snap him up.

Or he cold've just stayed in ireland, and then joined a better club i Scotland directly. Like Ivan Sproule. Like Richie Foran. Like.....

higgins
09/02/2006, 8:39 PM
You'd ahve to feel that if Livingston were willing to pay reasonable amount of money for him that other clubs would have taken him for free at the end of this season?

Well you see Shels worked the transfer market different to the people in Cork ;)

Weso didnt want to extend his contract that was due to end after the 2006 season. Shels didnt want to end up losing him for free either so Shels in effect put him on the transfer list.
Livingston came in with an offer I believe to be one of if not the best any EL club has seen and they accepted. No doubt the deal has many IF's and BUT's and if Livingston go down (which I hope) then he has to have some get out clause. Livingston may be relegated when Shels are only 3 months into their season :D

He will not get 4 games against the top 4 sides making it 16!?? He will probably get about 6 or 7 in total wont he?

zinedineontour
09/02/2006, 8:46 PM
What Wild Rover said...

I can see that happening myself!!

Anyway I'll be delighted if Livi don't beat the drop.......

why are some people so bitter ?? very good player who is right to go and play at a higher level.. good luck to the lad .

09/02/2006, 9:20 PM
He will play at least 16 big games (4 v Celtic) (4 v Rangers) (4 v Hibs) (4 v Hearts)

Not next season he won't, by the looks of it. (Tee hee hee)

10/02/2006, 12:22 AM
why are some people so bitter ?? very good player who is right to go and play at a higher level.. good luck to the lad .

Correct on the first bit, but not on the second. If only he had gone to play at a higher level.... :rolleyes:

How much was he transferred for Higgins? Remember that Darren Kelly went to Carlisle for £100,000 STERLING. That's cash in-pocket - not reliant on performance, appearances, international call-ups, hair cuts etc etc.

cheifo
10/02/2006, 12:51 AM

Well said.Heaven forbid he should try something new.

ColinR
10/02/2006, 8:19 AM
He will not get 4 games against the top 4 sides making it 16!?? He will probably get about 6 or 7 in total wont he?

not even that many. its into the last full round of fixtures now in the spl, and then they break into the top 6 / bottom 6 to finish the season. the max he'll get is four - and i cant imagine that he shone too brightly against hibs in the first of those matches!!

seen the highlights of the hibs match last night - it could easily have been double the scoreline - livi were so so bad.

Pablo Escobar
10/02/2006, 8:35 AM
I blame people like you for the rest of the world creating "IRISHMAN JOKES"!

higgins
10/02/2006, 9:27 AM
He went for an UNDISCLOSED FEE :rolleyes:

Livingston mentioned it was in the region of €150,000 but lots of people at Shels say its higher and Pat Fenlon and Shels are very happy with the deal. The £100K figure went around right from the word GO and it was the only figure mentioned but I belive it to be higher judging by comments from people at Shels. Either that or the deal has plenty clauses which would make it close enough to a loan deal from the way Livingston are going.

I think it was a great bit of business myself. Weso wanted to try something new and Shels got a fair deal from it. Good luck to him in the future but Im sure there is some link with the deal and livingston getting relegated!! So I want to see that happen and find out what the clause is :)

10/02/2006, 11:39 AM
I blame people like you for the rest of the world creating "IRISHMAN JOKES"!

I concur !!

10/02/2006, 12:54 PM
Good business for Shels but in the opinion of the vast majority of people here who have actually seen him play a bad move for Hoolahan. I;ve seen some SPL highlights & even for newbie in team that not been training he looked better than those around him. However Livingston are so poor he won't get mucg possession of the ball to show his qualities to other clubs.

Bottom of the SPL is English league One standard & Hoolahan is better than that.

hoopy
11/02/2006, 6:35 PM
Paul Lambert is about to resign so the new manager might decide he doesn't want 'flash' players and just pack the team with players with less skill but more brute force

11/02/2006, 7:37 PM
Lambert gone (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/l/livingston/4699226.stm)

9 Dundee Utd 26 -13 27
10 Falkirk 26 -25 21
11 Dunfermline 26 -25 18
12 Livingston 26 -42 12

Hoolahan was also taken off after 60mins today.

I wonder if Shels have cashed the cheque yet... ;)

11/02/2006, 7:57 PM
He has been their best player over the last few weeks so when/if they get relagated i imagine he will be snapped up by someone else.

12/02/2006, 9:24 AM
you've gota think thats what wes had in mind moving to livingston. all he possibly saw was SPL, great, once he's over there as mentioned allready he's playing 4 game v Rangers, 4 v Hib,Hearts and Celtic.
16 games to show he can perform and then potentially get a transfer to one of those clubs. livingston is a big gamble, in that he has to impress this season before they get relegated and he dissapears to insignificance in the Scottish 1st division

Roverstillidie
12/02/2006, 8:18 PM
but in the mean time he earns a lot more money, trains with a european cup winner and has a better chance of a transfer to a mid size english or bigger scottish club.

Soper
12/02/2006, 8:31 PM
but in the mean time he earns a lot more money, trains with a european cup winner and has a better chance of a transfer to a mid size english or bigger scottish club.
Well, Lambert has left now hasn't he?

12/02/2006, 10:18 PM

Well Lambert is gone & doubt people be queueing up for the job. Do we have any examples of Livingston players making moves to bigger clubs? Livingston paid money for him so will at least want to get that back whereas he could have left Shels for free in Nov 2006.

13/02/2006, 12:38 AM
Hoolahan was also taken off after 60mins today.He was taken off injured...

13/02/2006, 10:54 AM
FFS lads the SPL is a better league than ours. If thats not obvious then you are clueless. The facilities, the amount of fans, the fact that the country has a football culture etc etc.

If Livi go down he'll get a transfer to a premier division side and should make a good living out of the game like Foran so I wouldnt be worrying about it.......

13/02/2006, 11:17 AM
If Livi go down he'll get a transfer to a premier division side and should make a good living out of the game like Foran so I wouldnt be worrying about it.......

I don't see any guarantee that will happen. This not a debate on the comparable standards of the league just Hoolahans options...

Ceirtlis
13/02/2006, 3:52 PM
If it doesnt work out for him there will be no shortage of eircom league clubs willing to snap him up anyways so he will be back where he started. he must have thought his time was running out to get the move abroad so he jumped and the first concrete offer. good luck to him anyways. richie foran left for carlisle bottom of lge 2 in england at the time so i can see no difference.

higgins
13/02/2006, 7:43 PM
Pete how many times does this have to be said to you!!!!!!!!!!! or to others ...

Weso wanted a move away from Tolka. Pat Fenlon held talks with Weso over the months before he left and Weso wanted to try it out in the Scottish or english leagues. Shels decided as he had 1 year left on his contract it would be best to get some money for him. They spread the word about and low and behold an offer appears out of nowhere ;)

Wes did NOT have the option to wait until the end of his contract and secure a better deal for himself. This is not the Kearney thread :D

Anyway leaving aside the fact he wasnt out of contract I think he has a good deal. No EL footballer has kicked a ball since last year yet Weso has been making a name for himself (not sure what they make of him in Scotland really yet).

Shels got money, money that they are very happy with. Weso got a move to the SPL, a move he is happy with and now at worst he would be back at shels when Livingston go down. I dont believe he has signed regardless of the division they were in so IF they go down he has options again and the EL season will have only started.

He may well be making more money too ?? I dont know about that ...

I think the SPL is better then the EL. I also think Shels are better than Livingston but its worth a shot for him to try and move up the food chain.

citybone
13/02/2006, 8:05 PM
i thought the spl had a split half way through the season and splits up into two mini leagues and unless you get in the top 6 you only get 8 big games
(2 vs celtic)(2 vs rangers)(2 vs hearts)(2 vs hibs)=8

13/02/2006, 9:02 PM
Bad move for Wes. Great one for Shels. Shels are 111 years old
Wes's career will be over before he's 40.

Roverstillidie
13/02/2006, 10:15 PM
people need to serioulsly see the wood for the trees here.

the man is earning multiples of his shels salary in a superior league in a country that idolises its footballers.

if he gets relegated he a: still earns multiples of his salary, b: moves on to another british club or c: comes home with some cash and an experience.

its utterly naive to think he was better off hanging around in dublin at the moment when the SPL came knocking. are hunt, byrne and foran also worse off? are they fu.ck

ColinR
14/02/2006, 8:15 AM
in a country that idolises its footballers.

whilst i agree with the rest of your post, the above statement is definately not true - maybe celtic and rangers fans idolise their players (mind you all the rangers fans i know certainly dont idolise their current players!). but the rest of the clubs certainly dont.

zinedineontour
14/02/2006, 8:34 AM
Some very bitter people on here .. The league of Ireland is improving but would you not jump at the chance to play in the Scotish premier league rather than playing in front of poor crowds around the league of ireland ? Fair enough Livingston are ****e but it will give him the stage where he will get noticed and get a move to a better team at the end of the season. Good luck to the lad and hope it all works out well for him ..

Hibs4Ever
14/02/2006, 8:55 AM
whilst i agree with the rest of your post, the above statement is definately not true - maybe celtic and rangers fans idolise their players (mind you all the rangers fans i know certainly dont idolise their current players!). but the rest of the clubs certainly dont.

You know this HOW???

Hibs fans worship their players, most of which are homegrown born and bred Edinburgh players (and Hibs supportetrs) UNLIKE old firm players

ColinR
14/02/2006, 8:59 AM
You know this HOW???

Hibs fans worship their players, most of which are homegrown born and bred Edinburgh players (and Hibs supportetrs) UNLIKE old firm players who are mostly has beens getting final pay cheque

because i live in edinburgh, i've even started going to hibs matches - the 'idolising' of players over here (outside of celtic and rangers) is no more than i see at home. i would easily say that fabio is more idolised in drogheda, than riorden (even before the contract issue came about) is in the green half of edinburgh, or that pressley et al are in the jambos half.

joema
15/02/2006, 4:34 PM
i thought the spl had a split half way through the season and splits up into two mini leagues and unless you get in the top 6 you only get 8 big games
(2 vs celtic)(2 vs rangers)(2 vs hearts)(2 vs hibs)=8

No that split doesnt happen anymore

Will some of the people on this forum wake up - the SPL is comfortably a better leagut than the el in terms of support, finances, stadia, attendances, quality of football...

IMO Cork would probobly finish 5 in the SPL. Fair play to Wes for taking his chance he would regret it for the rest of his life if he turned this chance down. Worst case scenario for Wes is he will return to the eL. Best case scenario he could get a more to Eng or to Hibs,Hearts... and get into the national team squad

15/02/2006, 4:40 PM
No that split doesnt happen anymore
It splits after three rounds as far as I know. Otherwise it'd be a 44 match season.

jorge
15/02/2006, 6:17 PM
Will some of the people on this forum wake up - the SPL is comfortably a better leagut than the el in terms of support, finances, stadia, attendances, quality of football...

Im sick of people repeating themselves "the SPL is a better league..."
WE KNOW FFS.

joema
15/02/2006, 8:50 PM
It splits after three rounds as far as I know. Otherwise it'd be a 44 match season.

Yeah your right I was thinking of a few years ago when the league split half way through the season

btw Jorge, plenty of people on this forum think the eL is better than the SPL

18/02/2006, 8:02 PM
Kilmarnock 3-1 Livingston

19/02/2006, 1:07 AM
So if I'm correct in saying, he has never won a game with Livi................:eek: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

19/02/2006, 1:27 AM
btw Jorge, plenty of people on this forum think the eL is better than the SPL

personally i think outside of celtic,rangers,hibs and hearts, then yeah the EL is a higher standard.

Cork City or Shels would do well in the SPL i feel, and i still think Weso has taken a huge gamble that prob wont pay off for him and get him the move he wants. Prob see him back with shels after 1 year away, or he'll transfer to 3rd or 4th div english club and be bumped around those league for a fews years, with weso still waiting for his big chance / break to show himself off...
Meanwhile Cork City & Shels have progressed on further and hopefully made group stages of UEFA Cup or Champ League and weso has missed out on something v unique and special

bigmac
20/02/2006, 9:44 AM
personally i think outside of celtic,rangers,hibs and hearts, then yeah the EL is a higher standard.

Surely that's only looking at the top few teams though and saying that COrk, Derry and Shels would probably comfortably survive in it. If you were to play the SPL teams against the EL teams in the order that they finished in the league, or their current positions then what would happen? Assume a two-legged tie, as it would be in Europe.

Cork -v- Celtic
Derry -v- Hearts
Shels -v- Rangers
Drogs -v- Hibs
Longford -v- Kilmarnock
Bohs -v- Inverness
Bray -v- Aberdeen
Waterford -v- Motherwell
UCD -v- Dundee
Pats -v- Falkirk
Rovers -v- Dunfermline
Harps -v- Livingston

How many of those games would EL teams be favourites for? When people compare the two leagues, you have to compare it all the way down. Saying that 3 or 4 EL teams wouldn't be relegated from the league does not make them the same standard, sure you could say the same almost about the Championship versus the Premiership in England! Instead of looking at the SPL outside the top 4, look at the EL outside the top 4 - it ain't pretty.

20/02/2006, 10:54 AM
You can be certain there are few teams in the eL premier that would loose to Celtic 8-1 at home.

Cork City would give any team in the bottom half of the SPl a good hiding. European results by non-old firm teams have been very poor in recent years. Dunfirnline lost to Icelandic team i think...

bigmac
20/02/2006, 2:21 PM
Cork City would give any team in the bottom half of the SPl a good hiding.

That's a bit ambitious i think, but you could also say that any of the top 3 in Scotland would give any of the teams in the EL a good hiding. It's fantastic that the standard here is closer to SPL than it was before, and yes our stronger teams do appear to be better than their weaker teams, but overall there's still a lot of catching up to do.