View Full Version : Irish Daily Mail

08/02/2006, 1:07 PM
RTE (http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0206/dailymail.html)

Launch last monday. Anyone read it? Is it as right-wing as its UK sister paper?

08/02/2006, 1:34 PM
I'd a bit of a look at it Monday. Some well-written articles on the top irish stories in the first few pages.
Also a brilliant section for puzzles if you're into that thing.
A lot of stuff taken from the british version though and a lot of showbiz gossip if you're into that.
Their front page was Michael Flatley talking about himself.
So if its strange versions of sudoku and titilating famous sex stories you might have a new friend in this paper.

Tired&Emotional
08/02/2006, 1:46 PM
I'd a bit of a look at it Monday. Some well-written articles on the top irish stories in the first few pages.
Also a brilliant section for puzzles if you're into that thing.
A lot of stuff taken from the british version though and a lot of showbiz gossip if you're into that.
Their front page was Michael Flatley talking about himself.
So if its strange versions of sudoku and titilating famous sex stories you might have a new friend in this paper.

Thx - you've saved me the euro or so to staisfy my curiosity;)

08/02/2006, 1:56 PM
Yet another identity-switch by a Brituish paper looking to make a few more bobn from the same stuff that they sell in England.

The Mail in England has consistently been what could fairly be described as anti-Irish. I remember distinctly an attack it launched some years back upon EU Agricultural Commissioner Padraig Flynn (a distant relative of my mother). Rather than criticise him forn his policies and approach, the attack was almost solely and totally based upon the fact that he was Irish. Stereotyping along the lines of 'what would that aul eejit from the bogs of the back of beyond in Ireland know about anythign anyway'. Shameful.

Sad thing is the Irish will buy this rubbish - like they do with the Sun. In case anyone is under any illusions about how 'Irish' these English tabloids are when they come over, check out the cover of both the English and Irish Sun from back when the IRA decommissioned. The Irish version had a photograph saying something along the lines of 'Peace at Last'. The English one had the same photo, but said 'Surrender'. They're instinctively right-wing and English, but will pat the Irish on the head and tell them something different if it makes them a few more quid. Don't buy them.

finlma
08/02/2006, 2:01 PM
The right-wing anti-Irish newspaper decides to set up in Ireland. They can take their racist views and propoganda back to Britain with them.

Another rag in the collection of rag Irish newspapers. Not good enough to wipe my arse with.

klein4
08/02/2006, 2:03 PM
maybe it is english people living in Ireland who are buying it?
would easily be in the hundreds of thousands.

08/02/2006, 2:09 PM
maybe it is english people living in Ireland who are buying it?
would easily be in the hundreds of thousands.

It's not aimed at the English in Ireland. If it was, the market would be too small and they wouldn't need to go to the expense of altering the content at all. It's clearly being marketed to the Paddies. Who undoubtedly will buy it.... :eek:

Tired&Emotional
08/02/2006, 2:14 PM
Well that story about Sam McGuire being brought for a lap of honour in Celtic Park etc in their Sunday version (Mail on Sunday) was a load of rubbish, taking a sizable dig at the Oirish....

klein4
08/02/2006, 2:27 PM
It's not aimed at the English in Ireland. If it was, the market would be too small and they wouldn't need to go to the expense of altering the content at all. It's clearly being marketed to the Paddies. Who undoubtedly will buy it.... :eek:
yeah I know that it is not aimed at them:rolleyes: but it might account for the sales figures of 10,000 posted in another thread.

08/02/2006, 4:02 PM
If i'm correct the Daily Mail is well known for being huge fans of the royalty & sterling. Also very anti immigrant so will be interesting to see how long it takes for them to latch nto that here.

I wonder why they didn't give the paper a new title avoiding comparison with the Daily Mail...?

08/02/2006, 4:05 PM
If i'm correct the Daily Mail is well known for being huge fans of the royalty & sterling. Also very anti immigrant so will be interesting to see how long it takes for them to latch nto that here.

I wonder why they didn't give the paper a new title avoiding comparison with the Daily Mail...?

Because they don't need to ! Why go to the hassle and expense of establishing a new brand in a highly competitive marketplace like newspapers, when you know the stupid Irish will give you their money to buy the original brand anyway !?

klein4
08/02/2006, 4:10 PM
It seems YOU are more anti irish than the daily mail!!!!!!!!!:eek:

beautifulrock
08/02/2006, 4:22 PM
I had my anti mail rant on the Brian Kerr piece in the Irish football forum, so do not want to duplicate posts. However, the Daily Mail deserves all the negative feedback it gets. I cant see a copy of the English version in the office today but if there was I would be happy to point out a few of its "articles". Stay well away from it please. Nothing upsets me more than that rag,

Roverstillidie
08/02/2006, 5:27 PM
read the free one i was given on its first day.

majority of the content is english, esp in the middle.

very female oriented, trying to lure the ladies away from a vunerable indo. 2 pages and editorial on emily o'reilly refinding god and how more successful women should do this blah blah. big 'family values' theme.

08/02/2006, 6:11 PM
Because they don't need to ! Why go to the hassle and expense of establishing a new brand in a highly competitive marketplace like newspapers, when you know the stupid Irish will give you their money to buy the original brand anyway !?

Clearly not many irish people familiar with the type of trash the Daily Mail comes out with in the UK. Worked with a guy who used to buy (he claimed was for the sports) as he used to live in the Uk years ago. I used to slag him off about his liking for royalty. :D I remember they had a poll for retention of the pound & only 3% voted against as was preaching to the converted.

Daily Mail - love the royals, hate immigrants, love the pound, hate europe.

hamish
08/02/2006, 7:01 PM
According to the Guardian media section (a few weeks ago) where it gives 'paper sales, bulks etc - it mentioned that Associated Newspaper's (Daily Mail owners) huge investment in 'Ireland on Sunday' was met by fairly encouraging sales but making massive losses and might have peaked and be in decline. It's figures are also "bumped up" by peaks when they gave out free (and crap) CDs, mags etc.
So, if Ass. Newspapers is making massive losses, changing editors and so on, it might appear that this Sunday's days are numbered. Ditto their weekday sister 'paper.

Hopefully soon.:) IOS is a distinctly unpleasant 'paper and has had distinctly unpleasant editors. This new 'paper - like the other Oirish rags - will only hurry the rush to the bottom, standards-wise.

I notice down here that the numbers of IOS - UNSOLD - appears to increase every week, even when it has free CDs. Newsagents have told me they're sick of cutting the tops off** the bigger and bigger piles which grow each Sunday and are demanding smaller amounts of the 'paper but mounds of them are still dumped despite their requests.

It would be great to see new Irish-controlled newspapers (Tony O'Reilly excepted) here but I've always been amazed why the Guardian/Observer has never opened a proper Irish edition. It has a fine record of truth, fairness and objectivity on Irish matters - especially at the height of "the troubles", when it got wholesale abuse from both other media and Tories for its stance on the evidence regarding Birmingham Six/Guildford Four/Anti-Terrorism Act affairs etc - has had many Irish journalists over the years (remember the recent Iraqi kidnapping) and so on.

Just look at the pathetic attemptes of the Sunday Tribune attempting to copy it.

Anyway, newspaper sales are starting to decline due to the internet so it's amazing people are still willing to even start up new newspapers anywhere except the African continent where newspaper sales and readership are increasing (less access to the net I guess).

**For the few that mightn't know, newsagents cut the masthead/date off the top of each unsold newspaper and return this to the distributor/newspaper as an unsold copy.

08/02/2006, 10:21 PM
It would be great to see new Irish-controlled newspapers (Tony O'Reilly excepted) here but I've always been amazed why the Guardian/Observer has never opened a proper Irish edition. It has a fine record of truth, fairness and objectivity on Irish matters - especially at the height of "the troubles", when it got wholesale abuse from both other media and Tories for its stance on the evidence regarding Birmingham Six/Guildford Four/Anti-Terrorism Act affairs etc - has had many Irish journalists over the years (remember the recent Iraqi kidnapping) and so on.

Just look at the pathetic attemptes of the Sunday Tribune attempting to copy it.

Have heard some nasty stories about the way IOS treat their staff & manner they go about getting stories. Even the established anglo-irish tabloids never don't stoop as low.

I still get the Tribune sometimes but more out of habit than anything else.

Was talk before of the Examiner or the Irish Times going a sunday paper but heard nothing on recently.

08/02/2006, 11:31 PM
See the Daily Mail tv ads? "most of all they like the strong family values"

Family Values = right wing crap. To be avoided methinks

09/02/2006, 12:10 AM
I also noticed the "we will tell you what you thinking...not what to think..." to which i associate with "...immigrant sponger..." stories...

09/02/2006, 12:25 AM
It seems YOU are more anti irish than the daily mail!!!!!!!!!:eek:

It's called parody Klein4....:rolleyes:

And hardly, given some of the stuff the Mail has gone on-record as saying.

And besides - anyone Irish who buys an inherently anti-Irish rag like the Daily Mail is self-evidently stupid. What next - turkeys buying shares in Bernard Matthews ??

hamish
09/02/2006, 2:33 AM
It's called parody Klein4....:rolleyes:

And hardly, given some of the stuff the Mail has gone on-record as saying.

And besides - anyone Irish who buys an inherently anti-Irish rag like the Daily Mail is self-evidently stupid. What next - turkeys buying shares in Bernard Matthews ??

Yeah, the Mail was even writing anti-Irish crap about pigs in the parlour even in the 90s, for God's sake.

Yeah too, Pete, they have an awful record with staff - look at the high turnover too. Always a bad sign, I reckon.

klein4
09/02/2006, 9:36 AM
[QUOTE=dcfcsteve]It's called parody Klein4....:rolleyes:

QUOTE]
was obviously a joke! (and done in the style of a daily mail writer)

09/02/2006, 12:47 PM
Lest you find yourself in the company of a sad-act reading the Irish Daily Mail, here's a couple of of their more choice quotes to regail them with as you call their sanity into question :

1994 : Paul Johnson (Columnist).
Whilst writing on of the Mail's favourite topics - sponging immigrants - he said that certain nationalities specialise in defrauding British taxpayers "First into the field, needless to say, were the Irish", he wrote, accusing us of flocking to Britain to claim the dole "as a kind of patriotic duty".

1996 : Bruce Anderson (columnist)
In an article attacking Ireland's then EU Commissioner over his European agricultural policies, he repeated Johnson's allegations, and said "As soon as you arrive in Ireland you leave the modern world". He described the West of Ireland as "a world of farm subsidies and corruption... based on the pig and potato and ruled over by the priest".He also libelled Padraig Flynn personally by trotting out all the usual anti-Irish character stereotypes. The Mail eventually publically apologised for this article, and paid-out damages to Flynn.

beautifulrock
10/02/2006, 1:19 PM
Well done Steve on taking the time to show some examples although to be fair you do not have too look very hard when it comes to the Mail. Maybe you should pull together a selection of their infamous "Paddy" cartoons with a few Evening standard examples thrown in for good measure. I am happy to report both papers have now ceased this so perhaps our chance for our "day of anger" has gone

lopez
12/02/2006, 11:27 PM
...anyone Irish who buys an inherently anti-Irish rag like the Daily Mail is self-evidently stupid. What next - turkeys buying shares in Bernard Matthews ??Couldn't put it better myself. Anyone buying the Mail is striving to be the thick Paddy that the paper likes to portray. Same goes for the Sun (too many anti-Irish articles to recount), the Express (likewise) or the Mirror (remember that rant coming up to Wembley 91?). But didn't The Irish Scum greet the news of Croke Park being opened up to soccer with a dig at GSTQ being played there?

Oddly enough, the Mail sells heaps of copies in Euros. It's the Costa Syndrome, where patriotic Brits who love their country fanatically and hate foreigners with an equal passion so much that they, erm, go and live abroad. You know; place ain't like what it was, too many foreigners who don't speak the language, etc. The Mail has an iteresting history. Leaving aside it's brief support for one of our most famous British guests of the 20th century, Oswald Moseley, it started life as a jingoist rag in 1896, just in time for the lead up to the Boer War. It's founder, Lord Harmsworth, claimed that his readers 'relished a 'good hate.'' With a stable of collumnists like Richard Littlesh*t, Peter Sh*tins and Simon Heffer they still get plenty to fuel to vent their spleen.

13/02/2006, 12:33 PM
Couldn't put it better myself. Anyone buying the Mail is striving to be the thick Paddy that the paper likes to portray. Same goes for the Sun (too many anti-Irish articles to recount), the Express (likewise) or the Mirror (remember that rant coming up to Wembley 91?). But didn't The Irish Scum greet the news of Croke Park being opened up to soccer with a dig at GSTQ being played there?So what does that leave us with?
The Star ? or maybe the Guardian.

lopez
13/02/2006, 1:46 PM
So what does that leave us with?
The Star ? or maybe the Guardian.Doesn't that leave you with three daily Irish papers (four if you include the Irish News)? Maybe the Sunday World could come up with a daily pile of tripe to cater for those that find the Times, Blueshirt and Examiner a bit too highbrow. FFS, there's enough scandal in the country and if there's a slow 'news' week then purchase the story from the British rags, as the Indo often does.

13/02/2006, 2:15 PM
Lest you find yourself in the company of a sad-act reading the Irish Daily Mail, here's a couple of of their more choice quotes to regail them with as you call their sanity into question :

Whilst writing on of the Mail's favourite topics - sponging immigrants - he said that certain nationalities specialise in defrauding British taxpayers "First into the field, needless to say, were the Irish", he wrote, accusing us of flocking to Britain to claim the dole "as a kind of patriotic duty".

In an article attacking Ireland's then EU Commissioner over his European agricultural policies, he repeated Johnson's allegations, and said "As soon as you arrive in Ireland you leave the modern world". He described the West of Ireland as "a world of farm subsidies and corruption... based on the pig and potato and ruled over by the priest".He also libelled Padraig Flynn personally by trotting out all the usual anti-Irish character stereotypes. The Mail eventually publically apologised for this article, and paid-out damages to Flynn.

Plus

15 January 2006 Paul Drury

Parading of "IRA TROPHY" Puts Pressure on Celtic

Obviously anyone from here buying this rag is an imbecile. But more and more this country is becoming a sub state of britain. The tv shows, the papers, the football clubs Irish people "support", calling each other "mate" etc etc........

13/02/2006, 2:25 PM
But more and more this country is becoming a sub state of britain. The tv shows, the papers, the football clubs Irish people "support", calling each other "mate" etc etc........

Dublin is worse than the rst of the country too. Its possible to live in Dublin & not even be aware anything exists outsdie the pale. I find thatnmost places outside the pale look towards Dublin first (political & economic centre) whereas Dublin looks to Britian first.

13/02/2006, 2:49 PM
Dublin is worse than the rst of the country too. Its possible to live in Dublin & not even be aware anything exists outsdie the pale. I find thatnmost places outside the pale look towards Dublin first (political & economic centre) whereas Dublin looks to Britian first.

Jesus that is utter nonsense:eek: Do you have to be from cork to come up with this rubbish?

Duncan Gardner
13/02/2006, 3:07 PM
Doesn't that leave you with three daily Irish papers (four if you include the Irish News)?

And don't forget the Belfast Newsletter and Belfast Telegraph. (I wish I could as they're both ****e, but there you go) :mad:

13/02/2006, 3:29 PM
Maybe the Sunday World could come up with a daily pile of tripe to cater for those that find the Times, Blueshirt and Examiner a bit too highbrow. FFS, there's enough scandal in the country and if there's a slow 'news' week then purchase the story from the British rags, as the Indo often does.
Lopez, I hope you're not suggesting that
a) the Indo is highbrow (it's worse than most of the red tops, and certainly well behind the Star in terms of quality journalism)
b) a FG paper - long time since that was the case, FF through and through these days.

13/02/2006, 3:32 PM
Jesus that is utter nonsense:eek: Do you have to be from cork to come up with this rubbish?

I have lived in Dublin for over 6 years so feel my opinion is somewhat informed. have you lived in Ireland outside Dublin?

13/02/2006, 3:36 PM
I have lived in Dublin for over 6 years so feel my opinion is somewhat informed. have you lived in Ireland outside Dublin?

I lived for 2 years in cork. A lot of country people come to live in the capital but a lot less Dubs go to live down the country so I am very informed.

13/02/2006, 3:38 PM
b) a FG paper - long time since that was the case, FF through and through these days.

Until it comes to the North and labour relations, then the Indo is safely back in William Martin Murphy/rabid Blueshirt mode.

13/02/2006, 3:42 PM

anyone else with me that theres more than a grain of truth to Bruce Anderson's thoughts as described above??

13/02/2006, 3:44 PM
Until it comes to the North and labour relations, then the Indo is safely back in William Martin Murphy/rabid Blueshirt mode.

Is there a difference between FF and FG on labour relations? Only way FG could be more right wing than FF would be to be the PD's!

13/02/2006, 3:46 PM
anyone else with me that theres more than a grain of truth to Bruce Anderson's thoughts as described above??

Maybe that's why they apologised and paid-out compensation..... ? :o

13/02/2006, 3:56 PM
Is there a difference between FF and FG on labour relations?

Sure is, Bertie is the Unions' "friend" don't forget - Dublin Airport etc. Bertie knows that there's votes in the unions, that's why IBEC and the other bosses groups hate him.

Having said that it's all posturing and electioneering by Bertie and he always has the PD attack dogs to do the nasty work for him. But I would still say that FF are the lesser of two evils when it comes to the big parties. Particularly when it comes to the North. There'd have been no GFA if FG had been in power.

Personally I'm hoping for a FF/Lab government next time. That would have 2 positive side-effects - 1) Rabbitte gone and 2) the PDs gone.

13/02/2006, 6:08 PM
Having said that it's all posturing and electioneering by Bertie and he always has the PD attack dogs to do the nasty work for him.

Works out great for both parties - Bertie still the friend of the unions (votes for FF) & PDs enemy of the unions (votes for them). Each preaching to its own core base.

lopez
14/02/2006, 12:11 AM
And don't forget the Belfast Newsletter and Belfast Telegraph. (I wish I could as they're both ****e, but there you go) :mad:You're right, but the Newsletter is a Unionist paper. The Telegraph I believe is an evening paper although I have bought it first thing the following morning at my local ChAvSDA.

Lopez, I hope you're not suggesting that
a) the Indo is highbrow (it's worse than most of the red tops, and certainly well behind the Star in terms of quality journalism)
b) a FG paper - long time since that was the case, FF through and through these days.Well firstly, unless the Irish Star is a completely different paper editorially than its British version, that remark is quite laughable, unless you think articles about Celebrity Big Brother, Jodie Marsh's love life and Jordan's t*ts are 'quality journalism.' It is about the worst paper here. Complete garbage.

As for The Blueshirt being pro-Bertie, the Sunday issue which I buy most weeks can be called as much pro-Bertie as pro-Gerry. It's been riddled with sh*t about Bertie's attempts at commemorating the 90th anniversary of the Easter uprising for the past fortnight. Hardly the Irish Press during the reign of Dev.

14/02/2006, 1:28 AM
Well firstly, unless the Irish Star is a completely different paper editorially than its British version, that remark is quite laughable, unless you think articles about Celebrity Big Brother, Jodie Marsh's love life and Jordan's t*ts are 'quality journalism.' It is about the worst paper here. Complete garbage.

Its TOTALLY different here. Well still full of **** but at least its homegrown ****e (Possibly new title for the league?!) Its at least 100 times better than English Star and easily better than all the other red tops

hamish
14/02/2006, 2:26 AM
My newsagent gave me a free (of the many unsold copies) copy of the Oirish Maile on Friday and it is utter and absolute sh!te.

The (Irish) Daily Star is good on Tuesdays for local/schoolkids/junior football etc - that's about the only praise I could give it TBH - the rest is a three minute scan of "celebrities"/sex freaks/drivel.

14/02/2006, 8:16 AM
Well firstly, unless the Irish Star is a completely different paper editorially than its British version, that remark is quite laughable, unless you think articles about Celebrity Big Brother, Jodie Marsh's love life and Jordan's t*ts are 'quality journalism.' It is about the worst paper here. Complete garbage.
It has a load of that shíte here too, but it also has some excellent journalists, not afraid to investigate and break stories. If they worked for one of the broadsheets, everyone would be having a w*nk about how great they are. Can't comment on the UK version - Guardian and the Evening News were the only papers I'd buy there.

With regard to the Sindo, that's an even bigger rag than the daily version. They're both basically the Herald with longer words imo.

lopez
14/02/2006, 10:29 AM
It has a load of that shíte here too, but it also has some excellent journalists, not afraid to investigate and break stories. If they worked for one of the broadsheets, everyone would be having a w*nk about how great they are. Can't comment on the UK version - Guardian and the Evening News were the only papers I'd buy there.

With regard to the Sindo, that's an even bigger rag than the daily version. They're both basically the Herald with longer words imo.One thing I do know about the Blueshirt stable is their total inadequacy to investigate 'loyalist' mafias. The Phoenix last september ran an interesting piece on how sh*t scared they were to get involved in this side of 'investigative journalism'. Fear of murdered journos is one thing but the article seemed to suggest that a newsagent boycott was a more pressing matter. It's similar here with the 'Mohammed' cartoons and why someone like the Scum and the Mail, who don't mind insulting Germans, French, Spanish, Scousers and of course, the Irish, are worried that newsagents who happen to be Muslim will refuse to stock their rags.

14/02/2006, 11:25 AM
One thing I do know about the Blueshirt stable is their total inadequacy to investigate 'loyalist' mafias. The Phoenix last september ran an interesting piece on how sh*t scared they were to get involved in this side of 'investigative journalism'. Fear of murdered journos is one thing but the article seemed to suggest that a newsagent boycott was a more pressing matter.

Vey true. Sunday World journalist Martin O'Hagan was murdered by Loyalists and no-one down South gave a flying crap unlike the Veronica Guerin case. The Sunday World is an Independent group newspaper and they didn't want to know as it doesn't fit their pro-Unionist agenda.

To this day there is a de facto boycott of the Sunday World organised by Loyalist thugs - newsagents have been burned out for stocking the paper. Again, no-one in the South cares that Loyalist fascists are preventing free speech on this island. And no-one in Tony O'Reilly's world cares that one of their own papers is subjected to this outrage by O'Reilly's Loyalist buddies.

The double standards make me sick.

Duncan Gardner
14/02/2006, 1:41 PM
You're right, but the Newsletter is a Unionist paper. The Telegraph I believe is an evening paper although I have bought it first thing the following morning at my local ChAvSDA

I assumed from the discussion that some readers might prefer a unionist paper, that at least covers real news (not just celeb gossip). It's worth saying that the Bellylaugh's editorial line is much more restrained in its unionism than previously, largely as a result of their having attracted more nationalist readers. Not sure about Ulster country and Dublin, but you can buy it at lunchtime in Belfast centre.

One thing I do know about the Blueshirt stable is their total inadequacy to investigate 'loyalist' mafias. The Phoenix...article seemed to suggest that a newsagent boycott was a more pressing matter

This is a bit unfair surely? Everyone realises the unionist paramiltaries are still up to all their old 'businesses', but journalism's role can really only be to investigate that. To lobby for serious action to stop it and send them back into clink at Maghabery, ye need to contact the Brit Govt through

Peter Hain MP
The Hospitality Box
Millennium Stadium
Cardiff (and occasionally Croker/ Twickers etc.)

It's similar here with the 'Mohammed' cartoons and why someone like the Scum and the Mail, who don't mind insulting Germans, French, Spanish, Scousers and of course, the Irish, are worried that newsagents who happen to be Muslim will refuse to stock their rags

I think they (the Brit tabs) are more worried that it'll kick off and they'll be blamed, or they'll get injunctions, or broadly they'll lose more sales as a result of the story than they gain from it.

Small agents are dictated to by the trade, ie the papers and distributors. Which increasingly means Tesco, who are forcing many of the small guys to the wall.

14/02/2006, 2:03 PM
anyone see des bishops loyalist episode last night??

for once i wish the loyalists did finish off a catholic!

14/02/2006, 3:09 PM
Maybe the Sunday World could come up with a daily pile of tripe to cater for those that find the Times, Blueshirt and Examiner a bit too highbrowDon't tempt fate for Gods sake.
Coming from Cork twould have to be the Examiner but having access to a PC means that the only daily paper I purchase is the Evening Echo, purely for CCFC news if nothing else. Usually its nothing else.
For good value down south you can't beat the Irish Independent, its free pretty much everywhere you go and people still won't read it.:D

lopez
15/02/2006, 10:51 AM
I assumed from the discussion that some readers might prefer a unionist paper, that at least covers real news (not just celeb gossip). It's worth saying that the Bellylaugh's editorial line is much more restrained in its unionism than previously, largely as a result of their having attracted more nationalist readers. Not sure about Ulster country and Dublin, but you can buy it at lunchtime in Belfast centre.
I bought the Telegraph for the old man. I know that he'd be a lot less happy if I walked in with the Daily Mail.

I think they (the Brit tabs) are more worried that it'll kick off and they'll be blamed, or they'll get injunctions, or broadly they'll lose more sales as a result of the story than they gain from it.

Small agents are dictated to by the trade, ie the papers and distributors. Which increasingly means Tesco, who are forcing many of the small guys to the wall.It would have not mattered if all of the papers stood together and printed at least one cartoon (the one with Mohammed saying that he had run out of virgins certainly had a point). The pathetic posturing from the Scum at least (we won't be intimidated etc, but we don't want to offend anyone) was side splitting.

Small newsagents have in the past stood up for free speech in the British media. Remember Private Eye's post Diana issue which was removed from the shelves of all the main retailers in Britain? Thanks to corner shops, we were still able to read an alternative view to the freshly cut-onion induced hysteria of September 1997. Anyway, most Asian newsagents are non-Muslim, so that probably wouldn't have been a factor.