View Full Version : Cyprus Away (7th October 2006)Match Thread
07/07/2006, 12:54 PM
Get the tickets out there, it won't be a problem at all.
Forever Dreamin
13/07/2006, 4:00 PM
Anyone know any hotels located near The Step Inn, ideally between there and the beach.
Saint Tom
15/07/2006, 2:56 PM
I am thinking of sending my application form back to the FAI with a note saying that I wanted my name added to the list of those who are travelling and that I will buy my ticket out there.
The FAI should lodge a complaint about this. €55 is blatant robbery based solely on the fact we bring a large following. The island should be grateful for the end of tourist season business boost we have brought two years in succession
Forever Dreamin
15/07/2006, 5:25 PM
I am thinking of sending my application form back to the FAI with a note saying that I wanted my name added to the list of those who are travelling and that I will buy my ticket out there.
The FAI should lodge a complaint about this. €55 is blatant robbery based solely on the fact we bring a large following. The island should be grateful for the end of tourist season business boost we have brought two years in succession
agree with you on this one
Paulie
28/07/2006, 4:03 PM
I was just reading there how Liverpool have stated that they will fight against having to travel to Israel for their qualifying Champion League match. When it was put to them that maybe Cyprus was a possible venue the club secretary said "Cyprus is not an option because of the amount of people who have come out of Lebanon who are there."
I'm not sure exactly what the implication is. Is he stating that he feels it's unsafe, too crowded, what? I suppose we should consider any reservations they might have in light of our game there in early October.
31/07/2006, 6:37 PM
The obvious implication (besides the hint that Benites is out to press home any advantage) is that the people who have been forced to leave their homeland might find a focus to protest their "discontent" against the Israeli team or at the game. Whilst it is a remote threat to Liverpool, any possible disruption resulting in a cancellation of the game would be an inconvenience, to put it mildly.
RedMick
01/08/2006, 10:12 AM
Absolutely, I still have 2 spares from last year, couldnt give them away!! Had a fantastic time all the same, stayed in Protarus, flew with Libra holidays I think direct from Belfast. Every hotel was running bus trips with tickets for less than i paid for the tickets through the FAI at home :mad: Wont make that mistake this time!!!
supasparx
01/08/2006, 5:51 PM
The obvious implication (besides the hint that Benites is out to press home any advantage) is that the people who have been forced to leave their homeland might find a focus to protest their "discontent" against the Israeli team or at the game. Whilst it is a remote threat to Liverpool, any possible disruption resulting in a cancellation of the game would be an inconvenience, to put it mildly.
Spot on!
Paulie
02/08/2006, 12:14 PM
Good man. Thanks for the clarification.
Dont even think about travelling with tickets - at the u21 match we noticed that the Cypriots were going one side of the ground the Irish the other,,,, found out before match Cypriots pating £5 us eejits paying£12 STand off situation got them down to £5 too,,,,,deal with it!!
Are any of the London Foot.iers going to be in the Crown in Cricklewood
to watch this one?
I'm at a wedding there the day before so probably watch the game there
on the Saturday.
samabu92
23/08/2006, 12:23 PM
a warning to anybody who booked flights only to cyprus with helios airways from dublin direct, they have since changed there names to Ajet and when they made change,some of the names on flights disappeared too..Ours went AWOL and there was 4 of us..No notification was given and we could have ended up at dublin early october and no record of names..So anybody who done same, better check up the airline Ajet
01/09/2006, 4:55 PM
What airport are most flying into?What airline would people reccomend aswell as accomodation?
centreforward
02/09/2006, 9:54 AM
I`d say a lot would be landing in Larnaca as it`s more central to all the main resorts like Limissol/Paphos about 45/60 mins drive to the west side of the island and Ayia Napa/Protaras 25/35 mins drive to the east side of the island.Nicosia is about 50/60 mins drive north.As for accommodation try this web site http://www.beds4all.com I got a week in the Euronapa hotel/apartments in Ayia Napa for Euro 130.This will be my 7th time in Cyprus and I have to say this is the best price I have ever got.Hope this is of some help.
theworm2345
03/09/2006, 6:29 PM
Slovakia beat them 6-1, we beat them 1-0 (true, it was a year ago, a different manager). We need to pull it together, at least for goal difference's sake
04/09/2006, 2:59 PM
What airport are most flying into?What airline would people reccomend aswell as accomodation?
I'm on BA into Larnaca from Heathrow but recommend the cheapest airline you can get.
We stayed in Larnaca in the Onisillos Hotel
http://www.onisillos.com.cy/
and are going back there again. It's cheap, clean and very friendly. It is close to the beach. However most of the Irish stayed elsewhere last time. Limassol and Aya Napa were the popular choices.
Forever Dreamin
04/09/2006, 4:39 PM
Last year we made the mistake of staying in Larnaca, which was absoloutely dead. Taxis to Limassol were about €100 and Aya Nappa not much cheaper. Limassol was much better IMO, definitely staying in Limassol this time
sandra
05/09/2006, 10:20 AM
did anyone go on the bus fromTHE STEP INN LIMASSOL last year ? Did it get you back after the game??
murtybyrne
05/09/2006, 12:11 PM
Alrite Lads
I was just wondering has anyone come up with any good deals for Cyprus??
Beside the Obvious 3 or 7 night with the Rip off Travel Agents??
Also will tickets be hard to get for the game??
05/09/2006, 1:05 PM
Alrite Lads
Tickets will be no problem. Stadium won't be half full.
I reckon the Travel agents will have to cut their prices to maybe only a 50-75% markup on a normal week in Cyprus in October but you never know.
Best to search for a cheap flight and make your own way.
deego11
05/09/2006, 1:07 PM
Larnaca is the most central for the resorts of ayia napa and limmassol. we stayed in ayia napa last time and are staying there again this time its great crack
deego11
05/09/2006, 1:10 PM
Alrite Lads
we are flying with Cyprus air www.cyprusair.com heathrow-Larnaca that was the cheapest flights we could find and decent flying times.
centreforward
05/09/2006, 5:10 PM
we are flying with Cyprus air www.cyprusair.com heathrow-Larnaca that was the cheapest flights we could find and decent flying times.Same here booked the flight last Febuary.Has to be the cheapest price of all the airlines I tried.Heathrow to Larnaca from the 5th to 12th.Anyone else going on the same dates.Flight goes out at 9.45 in the morning of the 5th.
samabu92
05/09/2006, 6:08 PM
Same here booked the flight last Febuary.Has to be the cheapest price of all the airlines I tried.Heathrow to Larnaca from the 5th to 12th.Anyone else going on the same dates.Flight goes out at 9.45 in the morning of the 5th.
you will miss czech rep game with those dates.We booked 4 seats with direct holidays 2 weeks ago for 229 euro each (4-11 oct), but flight arrives back at 6.30pm on evening of the czech game..if on time should be ok..wives can collect bags:D :D
Forever Dreamin
05/09/2006, 7:07 PM
did anyone go on the bus fromTHE STEP INN LIMASSOL last year ? Did it get you back after the game??
got the bus back to the step inn, great crack stayed there all night, then got taxi home to larnaca,collected bags and went to airport :D :D :D
Paulie
06/09/2006, 10:32 AM
we are flying with Cyprus air www.cyprusair.com heathrow-Larnaca that was the cheapest flights we could find and decent flying times.
Yeah we're going the same route. Out on the 5th, back on the 8th.
centreforward
06/09/2006, 3:59 PM
you will miss czech rep game with those dates.We booked 4 seats with direct holidays 2 weeks ago for 229 euro each (4-11 oct), but flight arrives back at 6.30pm on evening of the czech game..if on time should be ok..wives can collect bags:D :DI know looks like I`ll be watching that game in The Bhoys bar or Kellys so It,s not all bad.
kevski1978
10/09/2006, 9:43 PM
Hi lads, good chance my folks won't be able to make the Cyprus trip freeing up 4 tickets if anyone interested....
They got their notification from FAI the other day.
kevski1978
11/09/2006, 9:28 AM
Sorry guys, my folks have now spoken to the FAI as they can't go and they have cancelled their allocation, so no longer have tickets I'm afraid :-(
Closed Account 2
11/09/2006, 11:19 AM
Any chance we can do a headcount on which city everyone is staying ?
Guessing it's a choice between
Limmasol
Larnaca
Nicosia
Agia Napa
Pahpos
Any chance of some sort of poll ?
Paulie
11/09/2006, 12:42 PM
Limmasol
Larnaca
Nicosia
Agia Napa
Pahpos
5 of us in Agia Napa, staying at the Napa Plaza Hotel.
Collyontour
11/09/2006, 1:06 PM
2 of us in Tsokkos Evabelle Napa Holiday Apartments in Ayia Napa. Flying with Cyprus Airways from Stansted (4th - 10th).
samabu92
11/09/2006, 1:21 PM
4 of us in napa prince apts in Ayia Napa(4-11 oct) dub-lca
sandra
11/09/2006, 5:00 PM
Anyone looking for a late deal direct holidays have flight only for €299
4 of us staying limassol
supasparx
11/09/2006, 7:21 PM
Slovakia beat them 6-1, we beat them 1-0 (true, it was a year ago, a different manager). We need to pull it together, at least for goal difference's sake
Goal difference wont count this time around, just the results between teams. Thank fcuk as I dont see us putting 13 past San Marino!
Meself and Herself staying in Protaras BTW!
larrywhite
12/09/2006, 3:02 PM
Anyone looking for tickets might have a look at this post:
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=532210&postcount=115
13/09/2006, 9:39 AM
Anyone looking for tickets might have a look at this post:
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=532210&postcount=115
We are being charged €55 per ticket. I expect the local price will be considerably less. I'd advise waiting until you get out there. Tickets will not be a problem.
dessieisgod
18/09/2006, 6:19 PM
Do any of you here know of any cheap deals or where to look? Would love to there again but don't want to ripped off for some 4 night deal.
samabu92
18/09/2006, 7:35 PM
Do any of you here know of any cheap deals or where to look? Would love to there again but don't want to ripped off for some 4 night deal.
flights only, 269euro return Dub-Larnaca 4-11 oct with direct holidays..if your going to Czech game, it will be quick dash from airport though:(
I have 4 irish tickets, face value at 55 each
pm if interested
SeanieBoy
21/09/2006, 4:28 PM
Limmasol
Larnaca
Nicosia
Agia Napa
Pahpos
We stayed in Ayia Napa last year & it was good craic, Paddy's Bar was good for a few pints.
dessieisgod
21/09/2006, 10:31 PM
Was in Ayia Napa last week. Was in Lukes and Paddy's bar. Both were fairly dead. Hopefully the opposite in 2 weeks time!!!
Ayia Nappa stayed away from the Irish bars last year and had great crack in the Golden Arrow with Charlie the best Barman in the world cant wait for the 4th.
very disappointed with it last year for the Cyprus1 game.... apart from the Irish cypriot who owned the bar in Aiya,things were very quiet there. Most seemed to stay in the capital,,,tickets shouldnt be a problem anyway,,, as for accommodation try ryanair - hotels / hostels or for the really adventureous go without accommo and strike a deal when you arrive there... dont be a plonker and pay anymore than E25 per person per night.. this time of year thats like gold dust to them
billybunter
25/09/2006, 1:56 PM
any good estimates on how many irish will be in the ground?
Collyontour
26/09/2006, 1:26 PM
I reckon at the most there will be around 4,000 - 5,000. A lot of people seem to be holding out for the games next year. It'll be great craic no matter how many go. Can't wait.
Closed Account 2
27/09/2006, 7:32 PM
Any plans for a foot.ie meet up before the game ?
28/09/2006, 2:38 PM
anyone know what time the game is on at . Just saw its 7.30 local time and 5.30 Irish time. Pity its going to clash with Scotland V France.
I doubt there will be 5000 there as most lads would be skint after stuttgart!!!!!!!
Collyontour
28/09/2006, 4:27 PM
I doubt there will be 5000 there as most lads would be skint after stuttgart!!!!!!!
You're probably right. We'll try and make it sound as if it's 5000 though.;)