View Full Version : Does Martin Cullen have something on Bertie?

07/02/2006, 2:21 PM
Does Martin Cullen, Minister for Transport have something on Bertie Ahern? Why hasn't he got rid of him?

After the expensive mess-up with e-voting, over spending with the Luas, the Monica Leech PR debacle and host of other high profile mess-ups why is Martin Cullen still in power? It baffles me. This blithering clown takes his lover and bunch of cronies to Australia to see how they have implemented their road strategy costing the Irish tax payer €300,000!

On his resignation as chairman from National Road Safety Council Eddie O’Connor said that he got on very well with Seamus Brennan but couldn’t work with Cullen. Reading between the lines you could tell O’Connor thought Cullen was an uncaring individual, dragging his feet where ever he could.

Its Tuesday afternoon. 8 people have died on the roads since Sunday. Its getting worse than the troubles in Northern Ireland and the government and opposition seem to be saying the same thing over and over and over and over again. Its like ground hog day listening to them whenever they’re asked about it.

I don’t like Cullen. I have no confidence in him. He doesn’t speak with the slightest hint of sincerity, he sounds smug and cocky in interviews and he’s making Fianna Fáil look like they don’t give a toss – which of course might be true.

If it was rugby, hurling or soccer Cullen would have been ousted as coach a long time ago. Why is this still being paid to be negligent? The buck stops with Cullen. Every road death I hear about I think of his smug smiling face ordering his PR people to come up with some predictable bull response that the media will lap up.

These tragedies are horrible for families and if your family hasn't been affected by a road death yet the statistics say your turn is coming soon. Very soon if Cullen stays at the helm.

Why won’t Bertie sack him? Cullen could be Taoiseach one day if he doesn’t.

finlma
07/02/2006, 2:51 PM
He hasn't been fired because the morons in this country that continue to vote Fianna Fail will accept any sort of behaviour from their politicians with little or no recrimination.

Its pathetic that people vote for who their family vote for and don't take anything else into account. The lack of free thinking in this county is nothing short of a joke.

Cullen should have been hung, drawn and quartered a long long time ago.

anto1208
07/02/2006, 3:11 PM
i liken it to supporting a soccer team to some of these people they will vote FF no matter what , its similar in the usa

07/02/2006, 3:18 PM
Virtually the entire cabinet, including Bertie, would've been forced to walk in any other democracy at some stage.

Cullen and Brennan the kings of the press release, without every actually doing anything. They just recycle the same stories over and over.

I really have no idea what Cullen has on Bertie, but it must be good. Given his business backing, maybe he packs out the fundraisers to such an extent that they can't afford him to defect back to the PD's?

Mind you, with the electorate in this country being sacked in disgrace makes you a poll topper (witness Flynn, Lawlor, Lowry et al) maybe Bertie's playing the long game by not sacking him. :rolleyes:

07/02/2006, 3:27 PM
I really have no idea what Cullen has on Bertie, but it must be good. Given his business backing, maybe he packs out the fundraisers to such an extent that they can't afford him to defect back to the PD's?

Its all just politics. Maybe he filling a Minister quota for the south east? is there any other Minister for that area?

Aldini98
08/02/2006, 12:41 PM
He hasn't been fired because the morons in this country that continue to vote Fianna Fail will accept any sort of behaviour from their politicians with little or no recrimination.

Its pathetic that people vote for who their family vote for and don't take anything else into account. The lack of free thinking in this county is nothing short of a joke.

That is post of the month ! Blame the farmers they always vote those FF ****s in !

08/02/2006, 12:59 PM
Was on Radio an hour or two ago and was asked why this years death toll is so high.
He said motorists need to start taking responsibility for their own safety.

08/02/2006, 1:39 PM
He said motorists need to start taking responsibility for their own safety.
Grand so, scrap penalty points and any other motoring offences if that's the limit to his suggestions.

08/02/2006, 1:45 PM
btw Anyone else surprised at the apparent shock at the speeding figures for regional roads? The safety council, AA et al always go on about motorists not accepting unrealistic speed limits - yet there seems to be shock that an overnight reduction of 10mph has been ignored.

btw2 As part of that release, they've finally admitted that 70% of deaths are on regional and county roads (http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0208/roads.html). Maybe it's time that figures were released about how many speed checks were carried out on these roads compared to motorways and dual carriageways given the level of speeding and level of deaths.

I'm really not sure whether this should be on this thread, a new thread or off topic, but mods/supermods do your worst...

08/02/2006, 3:12 PM
That is post of the month ! Blame the farmers they always vote those FF ****s in !Actually the farmers tend more towards FG.

Cullen is an incompetent moron though.

09/02/2006, 12:25 PM

Totally Agree ! But look at the alternative's FG(Muppetts) PD'S(W@nkers)
Greens(not much of a mandate outside enviromental issues) SF/Socialist Party(Nuff Said)
We need some good honest politician's in this country couldn't care what party they are from I will always talk to these guy's when thaey come canvassing and base my vote on this basis

Bald Student
09/02/2006, 2:16 PM
It's sad to say this but I don't think Berite has anyone more competent to replace him with.

Tired&Emotional
09/02/2006, 2:33 PM
Yep, think it's always a case of "the best of a bad lot" when it comes to electing governments and reshuffling a cabinet...

09/02/2006, 6:13 PM
That is post of the month ! Blame the farmers they always vote those FF ****s in !

Farmers have traditionally supported FG as did teachers gardaí etc.

klein4
10/02/2006, 9:25 AM
are you sure? who the hell is voting for Fianna Fail then?
does anyone think that there is room for a new party more representitive of modern ireland? the parties we have now are all different shades of the same colour.

finlma
10/02/2006, 9:46 AM
does anyone think that there is room for a new party more representitive of modern ireland? the parties we have now are all different shades of the same colour.

I agree Klein4 and if you set it up you'll get my vote. I may even stand for the party but I call Minister For Sports. We could call ourselves the Foot Party

10/02/2006, 9:54 AM

The big farmers, "The ranchers" have traditionally voted FG. Along with civil servants etc..

Fianna Fail is traditionally the party of the smallholders and a lot of the urban working class :eek:

As you can see from the above I think there is definitely room for a left wing party in this country. (Particularly with the decline of any socialist values left in "Labour") Sinn Fein are currently rushing in to fill this gap in the working class/ Liberal upper middle class guilt market. But from experience I've found that a lot of the working class don't give a fupp anymore so I'm not sure how big a vote-pool they are :(

10/02/2006, 1:00 PM
We need a Lib Dems in Ireland.

10/02/2006, 3:34 PM

More than half of the People who aren't farmers which is a reflection of the urbanised society we are becoming. Oh and those returned emigrants who were forced to emigrate in the 1980's when Garret Fitz was Taoiseach cause there were no effin jobs!:D