View Full Version : Licence

07/02/2006, 8:18 AM
Whats the story with sending the accounts to the wrong address???

07/02/2006, 8:27 AM
Sounds ridiculous but at least it looks like there's not going to be any hassle securing it on appeal.

Wiseguy
07/02/2006, 8:41 AM
It's a bit stupid alright but the word is that it is only a minor administrative error.I feckin hope so.

07/02/2006, 10:36 AM
Whats the story with sending the accounts to the wrong address???
I sincerely hope that is all it is, what a feckin mess up that was

07/02/2006, 10:45 AM
only a minor administrative error
Again. :rolleyes: I'd be concerned that every bloody year we have to scramble around to get the licence - there always seems to be some excuse.

07/02/2006, 10:46 AM
Again. :rolleyes: I'd be concerned that every bloody year we have to scramble around to get the licence - there always seems to be some excuse.
Exactly its an embarrassment. One club out of 22 and it had to be us

07/02/2006, 10:55 AM
why does it keep happening to us? Every year it seems we have to sweat on our league status. Dead right, its embarassing...

07/02/2006, 11:02 AM
I'd be more concerned than embarrassed. Is it really just administrative errors? Or is there something more serious underlying it, when taken in the context of the crowds last season and the vastly reduced budget this year?

07/02/2006, 11:03 AM
Well nothing is being said at the moment...Where did the wrong address information come from?

07/02/2006, 11:10 AM
Can someone get in contact with the club and ask what is wrong?

Last season when GUFC failed on there first attempt the club announced where they went wrong and what they were doing to correct it.

Wiseguy
07/02/2006, 2:11 PM

I fully agree.At this stage everybody knows whats involved in getting one of these licences but yet again we get turned down first time around.This is becoming a bit of a habit.
Apparently the running costs have been estimated in the region of €800k to €900k for the season ahead.

07/02/2006, 2:45 PM
slighty less that that they were about €750 k last yr and we dont have the security costs of the setanta or the expense of europe. also a smaller squad so i think its about €650 k.

09/02/2006, 8:10 AM
the licencing board changed their address 3 weeks ago, our account was out sick and the person dealing with the records in his absence posted them to the address on file and not the new one out at the great southern hotel at the airport...........

09/02/2006, 8:13 AM
the licencing board changed their address 3 weeks ago, our account was out sick and the person dealing with the records in his absence posted them to the address on file and not the new one out at the great southern hotel at the airport...........

Maybe it was your sick accounts that stopped ye getting a Licence :p

09/02/2006, 8:23 AM
oh ash how funny you are :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :D

Sonic
09/02/2006, 11:44 AM
This makes me laugh sometimes. We cant get the simple things right:o

09/02/2006, 12:09 PM
This makes me laugh sometimes. We cant get the simple things right:o

sonic why dont you turn up at the AGM, get elected to the board and fix all the probelms, a lot of talkers on this forum....but very few action takers.

Sonic
12/02/2006, 5:39 PM
ah will you shut up talkin drivel max power. the people involved behind the scenes are supposed to be professionals yet they cant even send a/cs to the right address. Maybe i should go to the meetings something mite actually be done right for a change. One thing is for certain id send the a/cs to the right address.:mad:

13/02/2006, 12:51 PM
sonic i mean that, go to the agm and become a member, a lot of people talk and complain and VERY FEW get involved.

in fact i have a club project at the mo that would involve a few saturdays work if you really want to get involved ???

14/02/2006, 4:02 PM
ah will you shut up talkin drivel max power. the people involved behind the scenes are supposed to be professionals yet they cant even send a/cs to the right address. Maybe i should go to the meetings something mite actually be done right for a change. One thing is for certain id send the a/cs to the right address.:mad:

Sonic, the fault lay with the external accountant. Our treasurer was in Dublin and wanted to drive them over to the Great Southern himself but the accountant insisted he'd have them couriered over which he did on the Friday, to the FAI offices. Once the accounts got to the Great Southern on the Monday the meeting had begun and they couldn't consider them at the First Instance Committee.

Albert
15/02/2006, 9:35 AM
well at least it administrative and not anything major which is a relief in itself. however its still not good enough that we were left waiting again and it really shouldnt happen, everything should be done well in advance. it just doesnt look good.

I dont want to be critical but if I am not mistaken last year I seem to remember that the problem lay not with the club but with an error made by the external accountants also? I am open to correction but I seem to recall being on this very board and questioning our accountants for the error, but being told that it was a once off which was fair enough. If this is the second year that our external accountant has made a mistake which has left us in a spot of bother then I really do think the time has come to question our contract with them

16/02/2006, 7:29 AM
Was last year not the outstanding tax issue - the fault of the previous regime? Or was that the year before when we didn't get the licence first time up?

gheewhizz
16/02/2006, 8:06 PM
yup macy as with virtually all other clubs it was the tax issue of previous seasons that failed the first instance procedure last season.

Bald Student
16/02/2006, 8:12 PM
Once the accounts got to the Great Southern on the Monday the meeting had begun and they couldn't consider them at the First Instance Committee.Does anyone else consider that to be a bit petty. If they had the accounts they should have looked at them. There's no reason for them to tie themselves up in legal knots.

The Pie Man
19/02/2006, 9:43 PM

once again sonic lets rip with another one, i can smell the cr@p from here. the accounts were sent to the address on the file, maybe the crystal ball was out of order that day.

i wonder if super sonic could not have saved the day with your amazing powers to always know the right thing to do and say, but never actually getting involved to do it. barstool fan comes to mind for some reason.

The Pie Man.

Sonic
20/02/2006, 8:44 AM
barstool fan will you get real man! First of all you dont know me so you havent a fcuking clue how good or bad a longford town fan i am so stop talking sh1te. Its the same old debate wth you fools. Oh Im the greatest longford town fan i have been therer since the lean years of abbeycartron. Im not going to rise to this bullsh1t. Im a longford town fan and i know how long i have been supporting the club and thats all that matters.

20/02/2006, 8:49 AM
sonic you still haven't address the other points raised, how involved will you get.....stop talking about solutions and become one if you know so much.

help is always needed but so far all do is complain.

20/02/2006, 12:31 PM
Any word yet?

Albert
20/02/2006, 2:22 PM
I dont want to be pedantic but in fairness to all the volunteers at the club its a bit rich if the accountants mucked up again after all the clubs hard efforts. last year longfordian made this post in regard to the licence failure at that stage

"If all goes to plan we'll have our licence on Friday maybe even before then..It's just an issue of timing, whether we can get what we need from an outside party by Friday. If they decide to be prikks about it we may run out of time which would be most aggravating as there's no real long term problem. Our external accountant didn't appreciate the urgency of it moreso than the club if you're looking for someone to blame for the documentation not being in on time..again time is the problem, if we had another week we'd be fine I'd say and hopefully we will anyway"

so what is the story with these accountants did they not appreciate the urgency again this year and we mucked up by leaving everything to the last second again?

20/02/2006, 2:37 PM
i wonder if the accountants are doing this pro bono for the club ????

if so i wouldn't start giving out about something we are getting for free...also the accounts were sent to the address on file, is no one realising this, it was only changed 3 weeks previous.

as for last year that was a whole different kettle of fish. a lot of work is done too by the treasurer and i personally wont here a bad word said against him, he does a lot of work for the club.

Wiseguy
20/02/2006, 4:29 PM
Do people not double check everything to make sure everything 100% right.Is there no lines of communication in existance to prevent this slight error from occuring.People can come on here and make all the excuses in the world but at the end of the day it was a fcuk up and a careless one at that.Does the buck not stop somewhere?What if we don't get our licence?Who's to blame then?Every other club in the league sent their stuff to the right address i just find it a bit stupid and unacceptable that we were the only ones who fcuked up.

Albert
21/02/2006, 10:38 AM
To be fair Max I have to agree with Wise guy that this was a silly mistake. I most certainly am not criticising our Treasurer or indeed anyone at the club I think that Longfordian has made it clear that they were not to blame and we should accept that, they are volunteers who do a hard job and have enough to be doing as it is.

I would doubt that our accountant is doing this work pro bono, but maybe you are right. However until that is proven I think we have to expect that we are paying them for this considerable body of work. Either way if we didnt get a licence it would be a disaster and money spent on someone who does not leave the submission of the forms last year and again this year until the very last minute would be money well spent imo.

The club are volunteers trying to do a professional job. it is grossly unfair if the professionals they hire cannot seem to understand the importance of a deadline to the club.

21/02/2006, 10:42 AM
To be fair Max I have to agree with Wise guy that this was a silly mistake. I most certainly am not criticising our Treasurer or indeed anyone at the club I think that Longfordian has made it clear that they were not to blame and we should accept that, they are volunteers who do a hard job and have enough to be doing as it is.

I would doubt that our accountant is doing this work pro bono, but maybe you are right. However until that is proven I think we have to expect that we are paying them for this considerable body of work. Either way if we didnt get a licence it would be a disaster and money spent on someone who does not leave the submission of the forms last year and again this year until the very last minute would be money well spent imo.

The club are volunteers trying to do a professional job. it is grossly unfair if the professionals they hire cannot seem to understand the importance of a deadline to the club.

Albert i can't see a single thing wrong with anything you have said there

21/02/2006, 11:20 AM
The friday before the meeting of the first instance committee is a bit late to be lodging your accounts anyway dont you think??

Thats what I would be more concerned about rather than the address they were being sent to.....

21/02/2006, 12:00 PM
Last year we had to get a tax clearance cert and there was no guarantee it would have been issued in time was mainly what I meant there. The returns had to be made by the accountant and it was left to the last minute. I don't want to criticise him too much because he has apparently been a lot of help in the last couple of years with various issues that have come up.

I dont want to be pedantic but in fairness to all the volunteers at the club its a bit rich if the accountants mucked up again after all the clubs hard efforts. last year longfordian made this post in regard to the licence failure at that stage

"If all goes to plan we'll have our licence on Friday maybe even before then..It's just an issue of timing, whether we can get what we need from an outside party by Friday. If they decide to be prikks about it we may run out of time which would be most aggravating as there's no real long term problem. Our external accountant didn't appreciate the urgency of it moreso than the club if you're looking for someone to blame for the documentation not being in on time..again time is the problem, if we had another week we'd be fine I'd say and hopefully we will anyway"

so what is the story with these accountants did they not appreciate the urgency again this year and we mucked up by leaving everything to the last second again?

Albert
21/02/2006, 1:03 PM
well thats fair enough. I suppose all we can do is move on and hope this licene thing is sorted out now anyway. I just felt like making the point, dont want to be unfair to anyone.

Wiseguy
21/02/2006, 1:13 PM
When will we know if we are geting it or not? It's beginning to drag out now.

23/02/2006, 11:05 AM
Seriously are not dragging this out a bit? Cαd ι an scιal?

23/02/2006, 11:40 AM
we got it, the news was broke on www.ltfcforum.com setting the agenga again. :cool:

23/02/2006, 11:41 AM
Yeah an hr ago? Excellent news!

23/02/2006, 12:01 PM
Great news, but cant help feeling a little bit embarassed that we're celebrating our licence when we shouldnt have been sweating on it in the first place...

Wiseguy
23/02/2006, 1:28 PM
Thank fcuk for that.

Wiseguy
23/02/2006, 3:13 PM
Although we have been successful in getting our licence aparently we have been fined €5,000 with a possible fine of another €5,000 hanging over us.Does anyone know the full story behind this?

23/02/2006, 3:18 PM
No but i'll find out.

Dillo
23/02/2006, 3:33 PM
Its about time. No excuses for the likes of that. The club could've done without such fines too! Money doesn't grow on the trees around Stokestown Road.

Wiseguy
23/02/2006, 4:04 PM
No but i'll find out.

While your at it can you find out what sanctions have been imposed?

The Pie Man
23/02/2006, 7:17 PM
the pie man is on the case and has heard rumours points deductions. i shall report my findings when i hear more.

the pie man has spoken.

24/02/2006, 7:56 AM
From www.fai.ie

The Appeals Body, having considered the matter, decided to grant a League
Licence-Premier Division to Longford Town subject to a number of sanctions
including a fine of €5,000.

An additional fine of €5,000 was imposed on the Club but has been suspended
until the end of the 2006 season subject to the Club being fully compliant with
all sanctions imposed.

24/02/2006, 2:46 PM
Although we have been successful in getting our licence aparently we have been fined €5,000 with a possible fine of another €5,000 hanging over us.Does anyone know the full story behind this?

the reason we are fined is because we are the only club in the eircom league to not have any full time staff working in the admin side of the club! the eircom league have advised longford town to sort out the admin side by next season otherwise there will be another fine at the end of the season.

i believe that the club will sort this out before the start of the season!

24/02/2006, 2:49 PM
that was due to be sorted and the office was due to be finished under the stand, lack of funds has led to this being put on the long finger.