View Full Version : Trigger on Tubridy Tonight

TheJamaicanP.M.
04/02/2006, 9:59 PM
Jason McAteer was on "Tubridy Tonight" on RTE just now. He talked about how the atmosphere in the Irish squad changed when Brian Kerr became manager. Kerr got rid of important backroom staff such as Mick Byrne and Tony Hickey. Trigger stopped short of saying that Kerr didn't have the support of the players. It would appear that Kerr tried to be too smart and changed the set-up too much. At least Stan willl understand how the set-up should work and hopefully he'll rectify the numerous errors made by Kerr.

zinedineontour
04/02/2006, 10:19 PM
Jason McAteer was on "Tubridy Tonight" on RTE just now. He talked about how the atmosphere in the Irish squad changed when Brian Kerr became manager. Kerr got rid of important backroom staff such as Mick Byrne and Tony Hickey. Trigger stopped short of saying that Kerr didn't have the support of the players. It would appear that Kerr tried to be too smart and changed the set-up too much. At least Stan willl understand how the set-up should work and hopefully he'll rectify the numerous errors made by Kerr.

hopefully yeah ..was interesting to hear that about kerr... be good to get mick byrne back in ..

as_i_say
06/02/2006, 8:15 AM
you mean jason made an intelligent comment!!??:D

sounds believable-you'd wonder who in the squad was telling him that...I believe he's good mates with steven reid...

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 8:20 AM

funny how its all the "old boys" that are being interviewd and nobody that might have criticised Stanton and the FAI....and as for Tubridy what a t****

as_i_say
06/02/2006, 8:24 AM
i'm trying to think of the banned curse begin with the letter t....

06/02/2006, 8:41 AM
Only saw a couple of minutes of it - I turned off after the "it all changed after Mick" shíte that he started on. If people like McAteer are upset about changes in the set up, you know it has to be a good thing. Too many of the old set up were just "one of the boys" instead of commanding respect of the players. The fact that one of the spice boys was put out shows that Kerr wasn't all bad.

btw I find it hard to believe that in a thread about McAteer that someone would struggle with a swear word beginning with t. Afterall he is a prize t***

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 8:41 AM
i'm trying to think of the banned curse begin with the letter t....
its t ool, but he is a two star tool hence the extra **.......?????????????

Cowboy
06/02/2006, 9:20 AM
hopefully yeah ..was interesting to hear that about kerr... be good to get mick byrne back in ..

I doubt Mick Byrne will be brought back, hes not a chartered physio which is probably why he was not kept on by Kerr. AFAIK they had to bring in a chartered physio to work along side him when some of the clubs queried this, insurance issues etc.

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 9:34 AM
Only saw a couple of minutes of it - I turned off after the "it all changed after Mick" shíte that he started on. If people like McAteer are upset about changes in the set up, you know it has to be a good thing. Too many of the old set up were just "one of the boys" instead of commanding respect of the players. The fact that one of the spice boys was put out shows that Kerr wasn't all bad.

btw I find it hard to believe that in a thread about McAteer that someone would struggle with a swear word beginning with t. Afterall he is a prize t***

Agree totally with what you say above. My sentimenys exactly...though you will probably get banned from the site now because we agree!

macdermesser
06/02/2006, 9:48 AM
I doubt Mick Byrne will be brought back, hes not a chartered physio which is probably why he was not kept on by Kerr. AFAIK they had to bring in a chartered physio to work along side him when some of the clubs queried this, insurance issues etc.

good to see facts being quoted instead of hearsay... thanks for the info, did not know that at all. So it seems that Mick Byrne was not kicked out by Kerr after all.

Cowboy
06/02/2006, 9:58 AM
good to see facts being quoted instead of hearsay... thanks for the info, did not know that at all. So it seems that Mick Byrne was not kicked out by Kerr after all.

I guess its fair to say his services were not required by Kerr and it would have been financially unwise to keep him and another physio, especially since kerr brought in other guys like a massage therapist. In fairness to Mick I think his contribution went beyond his stated job and I'm sure he will be remembered for his positive contribution.

TheJamaicanP.M.
06/02/2006, 10:00 AM
We had a chartered physio long befopre Kerr. McCarthy brought in Ciaran Murray at the start of his tenure. However, he kapt Mick Byrne there because he knew the important role that Mick played within the squad. Mick Byrne had the respect of every player, Roy Keane included. Kerr could have easily kept Mick Byrne on in that capacity. The fact that Kerr didn't shows that he tried to be too smart with the set-up. The only **** that should be mentioned on this thread is Kerr.

Regardless of what anyone says about McAteer, he was brave enough to put Keane in his place. And unlike Keane, McAteer didn't go on television spinning his PR-driven stories.

06/02/2006, 10:09 AM
I think the banned word is the one correctly pointing out that Tubridy is a t.w.a.t!

Always kind of liked trigger and I think his comments about Mick Byrne were bang on!

06/02/2006, 10:19 AM
funny how its all the "old boys" that are being interviewd and nobody that might have criticised Stanton and the FAI....and as for Tubridy what a t****

So what are you saying? There is a conspiracy. The FAI has taken over RTE which is singing from its hymm sheet :confused: . I have heard plenty "old boys" criticising the Staunton appointment.

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 10:36 AM
We had a chartered physio long befopre Kerr. McCarthy brought in Ciaran Murray at the start of his tenure. However, he kapt Mick Byrne there because he knew the important role that Mick played within the squad. Mick Byrne had the respect of every player, Roy Keane included. Kerr could have easily kept Mick Byrne on in that capacity. The fact that Kerr didn't shows that he tried to be too smart with the set-up. The only **** that should be mentioned on this thread is Kerr.

Regardless of what anyone says about McAteer, he was brave enough to put Keane in his place. And unlike Keane, McAteer didn't go on television spinning his PR-driven stories.

when exactly did he put him in his place?When he went down like a sack of spuds after keane "elbowed " him at roker park?

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 10:38 AM
So what are you saying? There is a conspiracy. The FAI has taken over RTE which is singing from its hymm sheet :confused: . I have heard plenty "old boys" criticising the Staunton appointment.

well on prime time slots, such as Plank Kenny late late show and Adams Apple Tubridy tonight, its only been Sytaunton and that other dope

klein4
06/02/2006, 10:38 AM
have ya? where?
I havent heard one ex player come out against the appointment of staunton.
have heard reservations voiced about Robsons role and thats it.
why was macateer on? was he promoting a book or something?

06/02/2006, 10:42 AM

If the players need to have a glorified cheerleader/mascot to follow them around and inspire them then I suggest keeping a place for Gary Breen in the squad. If only for the song it would be a worthwhile move...

06/02/2006, 12:24 PM

has "stan" brought back Mick Byrne? all managers like to work with their own backroom staff - its standard operating procedure, sure what next bring back charlie o leary?!?!?!?

honest to fck the excuses trotted out for the pathetic performances of the irish players get lamer by the day

awww they miss there lickle mick byrne....

klein4
06/02/2006, 12:37 PM
do you know anything about Irish football????
Mick byrne singlehandedly got us an audience with the Pope in Italia 90. One of our finest performances in a world cup after the 0-0 hammering of Spain in 2002

06/02/2006, 12:49 PM
have ya? where?
I havent heard one ex player come out against the appointment of staunton.
have heard reservations voiced about Robsons role and thats it.
why was macateer on? was he promoting a book or something?

Ronnie Whelan, Tony Cascarino, Mark Lawrenson with other such as Giles attacking the Robson role.

klein4
06/02/2006, 12:51 PM
????????????????????????????????????????:eek:
havent heard lawros views on but the other three were far from critical of apointing staunton.

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 12:54 PM
????????????????????????????????????????:eek:
havent heard lawros views on but the other three were far from critical of apointing staunton.

true. And if they did they would not be on prime time TV...

06/02/2006, 12:59 PM
Cascarino was backing Stauntong for the role. Giles said it was a good appointment with the exception of the Robson role, he said Staunton shoudl have got it on his own.

Mark Lawrenson was critical of the Fai and said that they should not have sacked Kerr in the 1st place. I am not sure what Ronnie Whelan said to be honest. I dont think there was anybody that has really come out and slagged Staunton. To be fair I dont think anybody came out and openly slagged Kerr when he got the job. Criticism comes after games and tactics go wrong. etc.

06/02/2006, 1:34 PM
I heard both Cas and Lawrenson being critical of the appointment. Why would Lawrenson attack the FAI in the context of the appointment if he supported the appointment? He went on from saying Kerr shouldn't have been sacked if they has no one better in the wings waiting (i.e. Staunton wasn't that man). Whelan as well but becuase I think he was miffed he didn't get it the job.

klein4
06/02/2006, 1:42 PM
cascarino had columns in newspaper and hot press sayin it was a great appointment.whelan was critical of the robson element to the appointment when it was all still speculation and nobody knew much about Robsons role.
hardly sour grapes.

06/02/2006, 1:43 PM
And unlike Keane, McAteer didn't go on television spinning his PR-driven stories.
Sorry, what was he doing on Turbidy waffling on about the good old days? :rolleyes:

06/02/2006, 1:50 PM
http://breaking.tcm.ie/2006/01/11/story238954.html

Hardly support from Cascarino: “I just wish this opportunity had come a couple of years later,” Cascarino wrote in The Times.

“He is a young man and going from assistant at Walsall to manager of his country is a huge step, even if Sir Bobby Robson will be there to help him."

klein4
06/02/2006, 2:00 PM
well that is you putting a spin on someone elses words used to put a spin on what cascarino originally wrote. if you read the original articles he is pretty supportive of staunton. cascarinos columns being the source of the "stan tellin senior players to feck off eventho he was only a wee lad from dundalk" story which is trotted out on this forum as proof of Stauntons suitability for the role.

06/02/2006, 2:02 PM
No logic to this massive FAI gamble

SOCCER/Republic of Ireland managerial vacancy: Irish Times soccer analyst Mark Lawrenson would love to see the Steve and Bobby show hit the big time, but he has his doubts

Steve Staunton and Bobby Robson? Well, it has to be the biggest gamble the Football Association of Ireland has ever taken, in its history. What is the thinking behind it? I have no idea. I've tried to look at it rationally, and have come up with zilch. I've tried to look at it in a slightly off-the-wall way, and I've come up with zilch. I really, really don't understand it.

I'm delighted for Steve, genuinely thrilled for him, I know him well and I think it's great for him, but it's one hell of an ask. I don't understand the logic, to be honest, I just find the situation extremely strange.

My initial reaction to the news was that I was amazed, but not surprised - which, I know, makes no sense at all.

What I meant, though, was that while the news amazed me it's hard, at this stage, to be surprised by some of the decisions the FAI make.

There had been so much talk about potential candidates for the job, most of them pie in the sky, but my belief all along was that the most realistic contender for Brian Kerr's job was . . . Brian Kerr.

He lost his job because Ireland didn't qualify for the World Cup, so that's the standard now: fail to qualify and you're out. Now we're down to fourth seeds in the next qualifying campaign and the FAI is asking a man with absolutely no coaching or managerial experience to get us qualification.

That's some pressure on Steve, even with Robson helping him out.

Kerr must be bemused by this, and he's entitled to be. The FAI said they wanted someone who could improve things and get us qualification - in all honesty, do we really think the two we've got are the men to do it?

The point I'm making is not against Staunton and Robson, it's against the FAI - it's almost like they've fudged it.

We assumed they had a plan once they made up their minds that Kerr was going.

There was all that talk about Martin O'Neill, but he was an absolute non-starter. Always a non-starter - for two reasons, first the health of his wife Geraldine; secondly because he is a massive favourite to take over from Sven-Goran Eriksson, he has so many supporters in the English FA you wouldn't believe, so if and when he returns to football it might well be for that job.

Guus Hiddink was another non-starter, he will have bigger fish to fry after the World Cup with Australia, and we have to be realistic about that.

So it seems to me that the FAI never really had a plan, certainly not a realistic one.

It was a case of 'Brian isn't going to take us any further, let's look around for a new manager'.

It sounds, then, like they went down all sorts of avenues and ended up saying, 'ah, we'll stick Stan in with Bobby Robson'.

I don't think anyone really knows yet what Robson's role will be, it may be that Steve decides on a way of playing and Robson will help him achieve it, point him in the right direction.

What Steve has to be able to do - and this is where Robson must really come to the fore - is not just set his tactics and define the way we're going to play but to be able to change it midstream, before the game if someone gets injured, when you concede a goal, and so on.

He has no experience on that front so I'm assuming that's where Robson will come in, a sounding board for Steve.

But if you're making Steve the manager or coach then you have to be looking at having someone on the touchline with him, someone who has been a coach, someone who can advise him on making changes when they're needed.

I'm guessing that Robson will sit in the stand at games, but you have to believe that an inexperienced manager needs someone in the dug-out beside him.

That's why I thought they might go down the Terry Venables route; like Robson he has massive experience but he would have been on the touchline, making all the decisions.

Some have made the comparison with the likes of Marco Van Basten and Frank Rijkaard, or even Rudi Voller and Jurgen Klinsmann, all appointed to major managerial jobs when they had little or no experience, but there is one significant difference: all of them had, and have, much, much better players to work with. And more of them.

The comparison just isn't there. And while Mark Hughes did well for Wales, remember, they didn't qualify for anything.

Because, with just three or four exceptions, Steve will be working with a largely average group of players and his main task will be to motivate them and get them to play above themselves, on a regular basis.

He has got to get these players to raise the level of their game, game in, game out, to have any chance whatsoever of qualification, and that is a massive ask.

What is in Steve's favour is that he is well liked and respected - you don't need to be liked as a manager so long as you have the respect of the players but I would argue that Steve has both.

And it's hard not to like Bobby Robson, even harder not to respect him because of his managerial record and experience.

I can't say that I always assumed Steve would go in to management but, to be honest, you don't spend your time looking around the dressing room wondering which of the players will end up a manager.

But occasionally one will come to the fore, someone who is always asking about tactics, always got a point to make, always has something to say, but Stan wasn't the most vociferous of players, although if he had something to say he would say it.

He was a consistent player and he was consistent in thought too, but also if he needed to be one of the lads he was one of the lads. In terms of getting on with everyone not a problem, not a problem whatsoever.

All of that, then, will stand to him, but the fact remains: Kerr lost his job because we didn't qualify for the World Cup; Staunton, with no experience, will be asked to qualify for the next European Championships from a position of fourth seeds in our qualifying group, with an average squad that has lost some of its better players.

How does that make sense? Unfortunately I think the FAI may end up rueing this decision. I genuinely hope they don't, I have great time for Steve and I really hope he and Bobby are very successful, but I'm half expecting, two years down the road, for the FAI to realise their greatest ever gamble has failed to pay off.

Also owls fan, did not say that Lawrenson was in support of the appointment and critical of the FAI so that point of yours can be crossed out.

06/02/2006, 2:03 PM
Staunton must be given time to learn the art of management
By Tony Cascarino
Patience is needed if the new Ireland manager is to enjoy success
I AM delighted for Steve Staunton, the new Ireland manager. I am also scared for him. Steve is a friend and I have a lot of fond memories of playing and socialising with him when we were in the Ireland squad. We shared a testimonial, an Ireland XI against Liverpool, in Dublin in 2000.

I just wish this opportunity had come a couple of years later. He is a young man and going from assistant at Walsall to manager of his country is a huge step, even if Sir Bobby Robson will be there to help him. It can be so hard to recover from setbacks at the start of your managerial career.

It is important that the FA of Ireland (FAI) gives him two qualifying campaigns — European Championship, then World Cup — regardless of how results go in the next two years. It would be the easy route out to replace him if things wobble, but he needs time to gain experience and grow into the job.

Of course, there are no guarantees, no matter how much or little experience you have. After months of deliberation, the FAI has settled on the trendy option — a relatively young man who was revered as a great player. Look at Rudi Völler, then Jürgen Klinsmann with Germany, Marco van Basten with Holland and Mark Hughes with Wales.

It can be tough if you are managing footballers who you played with, but if they respected and liked you in your playing days, the chances are they will when you are the man in charge. There is no doubt that Steve — or Stan, as he is known — will have that admiration. Not only is he Ireland’s most capped player, he is hugely popular as a person. He is media friendly and approachable, which will help, especially in international football, where there is so much scrutiny.

Steve is not afraid to stand up for himself or voice an opinion. He never was. I first met him in a hotel in England when he was part of the Ireland squad for the first time. He was only 19 and we were sitting playing cards with three of his Liverpool team-mates, Ray Houghton, John Aldridge and Ronnie Whelan.

Ronnie asked him to go and get some tea and biscuits. Older players love to boss about the youngsters and mock them for being timid. Steve’s response? “F*** off, do it yourself, you lazy, fat f*****!” Fair play to you, I thought. You are just a teenager, but you know how to stick up for yourself.

He even took on Roy Keane in an argument about whether Liverpool were a better club than Manchester United. I’m not saying he won, but he stuck to his guns and did not back down, which is no mean feat.

When Steve was out of the team at Aston Villa in 2000, he was considering going on loan to Crystal Palace. I was not convinced and I told him: “Stan, if you go there and play badly, I don’t know where you can turn to.” But he was resolute, took the risk and was brilliant.

Steve lives and breathes the game. He is shrewd, opinionated, the sort who can be decisive and strong but also humane and honest. I agree with the FAI that he needs a wise head by his side. Being old and wise is one thing, but is 72 too old? I would like to see Sir Bobby in an informal, limited role. At least he is not the kind of person to go behind Steve’s back and undermine him because he covets the top job himself.

Steve will want Ireland to play in the traditional Liverpool way — fast-moving and elegant. It is the right style because Ireland do not have the players for the physical and direct tactics we used in my day. His first task is to restore the morale that had collapsed under Brian Kerr.

There is no reason to be pessimistic. Ireland can field 11 Barclays Premiership players yet finished behind Israel in the World Cup qualifiers. They have the talent to do better. Steve needs to get the smiles back on Irish faces and I wish him the best of luck

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 2:16 PM
Cascarino had been plugging Venables for it a few weeks ago....

zinedineontour
06/02/2006, 2:51 PM
If the players need to have a glorified cheerleader/mascot to follow them around and inspire them then I suggest keeping a place for Gary Breen in the squad. If only for the song it would be a worthwhile move...

yeah sure thats all that mick byrne was .. It seemed to work for the players having him around and when the setup was changed and kerr got rid of the backroom staff the atmosphere in the squad changed .. Coincidence ? I think not ..

klein4
06/02/2006, 3:10 PM
ah come on!!!
thats clutching at straws bigtime.
these are grown men we are talkin about. new managers are entitled to bring in their own staff.

Cowboy
06/02/2006, 3:16 PM
yeah sure thats all that mick byrne was .. It seemed to work for the players having him around and when the setup was changed and kerr got rid of the backroom staff the atmosphere in the squad changed .. Coincidence ? I think not ..

Are you proposing Mick Byrne for the managers job?

nedder
06/02/2006, 3:21 PM
ah come on!!!
thats clutching at straws bigtime.
these are grown men we are talkin about. new managers are entitled to bring in their own staff.

Of course they are entitled to bring in their own staff. Doesn't mean it was in the squads best interest to ditch Mick, does it?

klein4
06/02/2006, 3:29 PM
that cant keep him forever for jaysus sake...how old is he? and mick byrne kinda did manage Ireland v wales in 86 so you could say he has more management experience than staunton

nedder
06/02/2006, 3:46 PM
Lets just hope we can get a bit of team spirit back. I'd never underestimate what it can do for a team.

klein4
06/02/2006, 3:50 PM
let me remembernow...team spirit......em didnt he play in the number 6 jersey????
(and get your own sig ideas ya tea leaf)

06/02/2006, 3:54 PM
Klein I am a huge fan of Keane but it would be wrong t say he was the only gut with team spirit in the squad. In many ways I think keans problem was that he did not help the team spirit outside of the matches. On the field he was top class for ireland but it know good having players walking on egg shells around him either. Under kerr for some reason the team spirit seemed to go. I dont know the reason for this but it seems to be the case. This is despite the fact that I would be big fan of both Kerr and Keane.

nedder
06/02/2006, 4:03 PM
let me remembernow...team spirit......em didnt he play in the number 6 jersey????
(and get your own sig ideas ya tea leaf)

That could start up a whole new argument! Lets not go there.

hold my hands up on the sig copy, only having a bit of craic!

klein4
06/02/2006, 4:04 PM
I dunno bout this "team spirit" . fairly intangible quality. We will see if Staunton by bringing back "team spirit" can improve results. jury is still out on it til then.

nedder
06/02/2006, 4:09 PM
I know you can't quantify team spirit, but from experience if there is discontent in the camp, it usually makes its way on to the field at some stage. Not sure at what point Kerr stopped getting the best out of players, or what went wrong, i'm sure some of the players will enlighten us further in years to come.

Karlos
06/02/2006, 4:10 PM
new managers are entitled to bring in their own staff.

It's an awful pity others don't share your view Klein4. It was only 3 weeks ago when some people weren't viewing backroom staff as a managers entitlement and were actually questionning it!!

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 4:18 PM
Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.

Regardless of what anyone says about McAteer, he was brave enough to put Keane in his place. And unlike Keane, McAteer didn't go on television spinning his PR-driven stories

So Jmaican, when did thec Stupid One put Keane in his place?????Iasked you at about noon today and you still have not answered?

06/02/2006, 4:23 PM
:rolleyes: does anyone other than Perry want to open this one again ?

klein4
06/02/2006, 4:24 PM
I dunno if you are saying I was questioning it? I certainly dont remember and your a few hours too late for the abuse thread.
and nedder yeah we do need an extra something to punch above our weight (witness northern ireland at home to england.)but if the players arent up to it they arent up to it.(witness northern ireland away to england) so time will tell on that one. anyway I'm off to the frames, good luck. (que pm from eirebhouy bout discussing non football issues in a thread;) )

TheJamaicanP.M.
06/02/2006, 4:25 PM
So Jmaican, when did thec Stupid One put Keane in his place?????Iasked you at about noon today and you still have not answered?

I've only just logged back on. Hence my late reply. Unlike you, I'm a busy man and can't stay logged on all day. At the Stadium of Light in August 2002McAteer told Keane that he could write his "rant" in the latest chapter of his book. McAteer wasn't afraid to tell it to him. Keane's response was to elbow him later in the game, the type of response you'd associate with him.

06/02/2006, 4:25 PM
On the Mick Byrne topic, I have to say he annoyed me a bit with his antics when he had to mount the manager whenever we scored.

I have no knowledge of his professional abilities as the "sponge man".

Den Perry
06/02/2006, 4:48 PM
I've only just logged back on. Hence my late reply. Unlike you, I'm a busy man and can't stay logged on all day. At the Stadium of Light in August 2002McAteer told Keane that he could write his "rant" in the latest chapter of his book. McAteer wasn't afraid to tell it to him. Keane's response was to elbow him later in the game, the type of response you'd associate with him.

wouldn't exactly call that putting him in his place FFS