30/01/2006, 12:51 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2006/01/30/story242317.html
is he any good?
thats awfully good to pick us cos we are better
Den Perry
30/01/2006, 12:55 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2006/01/30/story242317.html
is he any good?
thats awfully good to pick us cos we are better.
Playing for them soon? sure is he not out on loan somewhere? is he any good?
30/01/2006, 1:04 PM
He was on loan at Wednesday for a while. Very average - if his own dad isn't giving him a game at Birmingham, that says it all.
good for him !good career choice!
beautifulrock
played at the weekend against Reading and had from what I seen had a nervy performance, looks strong and atlethic though
30/01/2006, 1:27 PM
a nervy performance
In other words he couldn't pass to his teammates. That's the Bruce I remember at Wednesday.
Royal rover
30/01/2006, 1:29 PM
Jesus we are blessed with him coming in, saw him play for Wednesday last season and looked very average he should of chosen to play for the north!
30/01/2006, 2:00 PM
Well I'm thrilled he has opted for us. Haven't seen him play but he is young and promising and his father was a decent player.
finlma
30/01/2006, 2:04 PM
Mercenary comment of the highest order. Not good enough for us - maybe in a few years.
30/01/2006, 2:17 PM
ridiculous
Bruce, son of manager Steve, had been selected to play for Northern Ireland at Under-21 level.
"I am going to pick the Republic purely because I think they are a better team," said Bruce
nice to know he cares about us
he is useless anyway
30/01/2006, 2:21 PM
ridiculous
nice to know he cares about us
he is useless anywayConsidering you're an Aston Villa fan, you would say that anyway!:p.
FarBeag
30/01/2006, 2:33 PM
Ah..This Granny rule gets better and better.It looks like every useless Tom,Dick and Harry want a shot at being an Irish international.If his Dad who, let me add was a decent footballer didn't declare for us why should this nothing get the privilege. Stick with the North you glory hunter.
30/01/2006, 2:44 PM
Considering you're an Aston Villa fan, you would say that anyway!:p.
well if he cant get in their team he hasnt much chance of making it in ours the little daddys boy:D
as_i_say
30/01/2006, 3:11 PM
this guy can fu ck right off.
zinedineontour
30/01/2006, 3:15 PM
this guy can fu ck right off.
why ? have you seen him play .. why not give everyone a go and if they dont perform than grand .. but thats what friendlies are for to try out all our options ..
Stick with the North you glory hunter.
Na lads you are ok you's can have him rather have half decent player with a bit of heart than lads like this in our squad. Didnt look that good in any match I saw but is still young so good luck to him.
30/01/2006, 3:32 PM
Give the lad a chance. It's fair to question his commitment but a lot of Ireland's most illustrious players were English-born.
del fuego
30/01/2006, 4:46 PM
Ah..This Granny rule gets better and better.It looks like every useless Tom,Dick and Harry want a shot at being an Irish international.If his Dad who, let me add was a decent footballer didn't declare for us why should this nothing get the privilege. Stick with the North you glory hunter.
Does he qualify through his paternal grandparents or maternal grandparents? Maybe Steve wasn't elegible.
30/01/2006, 4:55 PM
His mother perhaps or her mother/father ?
Steve Bruce couldnt play for ROI or NI because he had played for England at underage level I think but not 100% sure.
Irish Pride
30/01/2006, 6:40 PM
wow, it justs gets better and better. Why does he want to play for us???.... Cause Northen Ireland are crap. thats the only reason. I have no problem with english born players wanting to play for ireland but how many have said recently I WANT TO PLAY FOR IRELAND???? not a lot. Kitson said he has no chance of playing for england so he will look at us, Gary McSheffery said the same but he can play for Scotland too and more or less said who ever comes first.
These players can f*ck off as far as i'm concerend. Lee Trundle has always said i want to play for ireland and i supported them as a boy. I dont think there is anything wrong with that and i hope he is given a chance. he mighten be good enough but give him a go and see.
However, i think Bruce will develop into a good player but nothing like his Dad.
30/01/2006, 9:22 PM
agree totally with the sentiments of tuff paddy and irish pride . would be a shame if kitson or bruce got in the squad in place of someone for who being in the squad is more than a career choice
del fuego
30/01/2006, 9:30 PM
agree totally with the sentiments of tuff paddy and irish pride . would be a shame if kitson or bruce got in the squad in place of someone for who being in the squad is more than a career choice
Exactly! Or as Mr.Kitson might put it
“We have got a terrific young talent here at Reading called Shane Long, who has just played in two FA Cup ties against West Brom. I don’t want to be the player standing in the way of him or Kevin Doyle playing for their country.”:D
Den Perry
31/01/2006, 7:39 AM
wow, it justs gets better and better. Why does he want to play for us???.... Cause Northen Ireland are crap. thats the only reason. I have no problem with english born players wanting to play for ireland but how many have said recently I WANT TO PLAY FOR IRELAND???? not a lot. Kitson said he has no chance of playing for england so he will look at us, Gary McSheffery said the same but he can play for Scotland too and more or less said who ever comes first.
These players can f*ck off as far as i'm concerend. Lee Trundle has always said i want to play for ireland and i supported them as a boy. I dont think there is anything wrong with that and i hope he is given a chance. he mighten be good enough but give him a go and see.
However, i think Bruce will develop into a good player but nothing like his Dad.
There is no way you could trust Bruce after what his grandfather did to William Wallace in Braveheart
as_i_say
31/01/2006, 8:46 AM
There is no way you could trust Bruce after what his grandfather did to William Wallace in Braveheart
finally some perspective on the issue.
livehead1
31/01/2006, 5:17 PM
does anyone think in some ways they are more excited by the emergence of shane long than kevin doyle. i know it may sound strange given doyle's impact but i've seen long play a few times now and he constantly impresses me with his touch and his vision, the way he links up is second to none and this coming from a player who had no experience of professional football before coming to reading.
Also, if coppell can unearth these two gems, god knows there must be a heap of them lying about in the 'doldrums' of the el. its about time more managers in england took a chance on these players. and i dont mean that as a disprespect to the loi but realistically we can all admit that the only way these lads are going to forge a career in international football is if they take the boat, at this moment in time anyway.
del fuego
31/01/2006, 6:36 PM
the only way these lads are going to forge a career in international football is if they take the boat, at this moment in time anyway.
Hey! that's not fair!:mad: They can also take a plane! :p
TheJamaicanP.M.
31/01/2006, 7:15 PM
Was Robert the Bruce Steve Bruce's dad? I'm surprised young Alex isn't offering himself to the Scots like McSheffrey.:rolleyes:
31/01/2006, 7:37 PM
These players can f*ck off as far as i'm concerend. Lee Trundle has always said i want to play for ireland and i supported them as a boy.
Good job Jonston Mooney & O'Brien have declared along with Brennan :D :o
I'll get me coat :o
Actually, Gustavos right. As am I.
31/01/2006, 9:54 PM
lets not open that particular can of worms again lads!
31/01/2006, 10:09 PM
Steve Bruce couldnt play for ROI or NI because he had played for England at underage level I think but not 100% sure.
Steve Bruce couldn't play because he was an England "B" international.
jimbob117
31/01/2006, 10:31 PM
does anyone think in some ways they are more excited by the emergence of shane long than kevin doyle. i know it may sound strange given doyle's impact .
Yes it does sound strange and no, im not more excited in Long.
Anyway, I'm really looking forward to seeing Doyle play for Ireland and hopefully get a chance to start up front with Keane for the Sweden game, reckon they could work well together.Any thoughts on that combination?
As for Alex Bruce, I wouldnt be a fan of his comment, I'd rather see someone playing in the EL reguraly with a bit more heart and commitment get a chance.