View Full Version : Dating sites (no slagging please)

pedro
26/01/2006, 10:52 AM
at the risk of comin across as a total loser, can any1 recomend a good (free) dating site. let the **** taking begin!

Gareth
26/01/2006, 11:05 AM
pedro, usage is more commonplace than you think. However I have not used them so I can't help (all gf'ed up).

26/01/2006, 1:08 PM
Was recently talking to an old buddy of mine home for christmas with her boyfriend. Came to the question of "Sooooooo ...how'd ye meet?" I was waiting for the punchline when she started off about a dating agency they met through before realising they were quite serious.

They're together nearly two years and I just got an e-mail yesterday saying they're now engaged.

Several friends of mine are considering trying an agency out but I think it's different when you're in a city the size of Limerick (80-100,000) compared to the folks I mentioned at the outset who are London based.

26/01/2006, 1:15 PM
I know someone that met his bird through a dating website!! Dont know the name of it.

Seems to be getting more and more popular in ireland :eek: !

26/01/2006, 1:23 PM
pedro, usage is more commonplace than you think. However I have not used them so I can't help (all gf'ed up).

gareth what are you going to do if you become all ungf'ed up, you will only be posting half the time!! every chance you get to mention it ye do!!LOL ;) :D

ah they are worth it for the laugh. though i have never used one as im always sorta seeing someone.

26/01/2006, 1:28 PM
can any1 recomend a good (free) dating site.

She's really gonna hit the jackpot with you, isn't she....;)

finlma
26/01/2006, 1:31 PM
can any1 recomend a good (free) dating site. let the **** taking begin!

I suppose she'll have to have a Meteor phone too so you can send her free texts.

In all seriousness a mate of mine met a bird on MySpace. They've been together a few months. She's fit and seemed sound when I met her.
Not my thing though - prefer to get out in the real world.

Gareth
26/01/2006, 1:37 PM
gareth what are you going to do if you become all ungf'ed up, you will only be posting half the time!! every chance you get to mention it ye do!!LOL ;) :D

In a quick search of my name, in the 954 posts I have contributed I have posted 4 times about my girlfriend. That represents .4% of my posts. So I'd say I would probably of posted .4% less. :)

26/01/2006, 1:40 PM
shmuck facts they can back up everything!LOL

26/01/2006, 2:42 PM
Ive met up on a few blind dates in my time here through gumtree.com in London, they've a Dublin site too, no idea how good it is. Beware though, make sure you get a picture of the girl first! I didnt, and ended up having a few pints with a right heifer.... ;)

anto1208
26/01/2006, 3:00 PM
Ive met up on a few blind dates in my time here through gumtree.com in London, they've a Dublin site too, no idea how good it is. Beware though, make sure you get a picture of the girl first! I didnt, and ended up having a few pints with a right heifer.... ;)

like the xmas office special when he met the fat bird who had given him a pic of her years ago !! his face when he seen her classic

pedro
26/01/2006, 4:28 PM
Originally Posted by pedro
can any1 recomend a good (free) dating site.

She's really gonna hit the jackpot with you, isn't she....

i deserve that!! (its a credit card issue!!!dont have 1)

26/01/2006, 5:34 PM
Is the art of conversation dead?

I worked with a guy in London who used Yahoo and he was flying off to America to meet girls. Had at least two girls come over to him. A bit too much hard work if you ask me, but he did say the site was free.

He's a male escort but still needs dating websites. Couldn't understand that myself.

Gerrit
26/01/2006, 7:19 PM
If I ever use a dating site, I go straight to www.gothicdating.nl or www.gothicdating.de ;)

For those not into gothic there's loads of alternatives. adultfriendfinder.com seems to be quite popular :o

I doubt though how one can meet his/her boy/girlfriend on Myspace.com -- the place is so huge and has so many users that any post or correspondance on their messageboard gets lost in the mass. The place has an overload of users, which makes it harder to form an idea of the posters, while on a smaller board the community spirit will be higher (as it's easier to take the core posters out of the mass and form an idea of them)

Dr.Nightdub
26/01/2006, 10:26 PM
The last three women I've gone out with, I met online. It's basically just a cyber version of walking into a bar and seeing who catches your eye and who you can strike up a conversation with, though the interesting part is the way the normal process is reversed - mostly, you get to know someone a bit before you ever get to know what they look like whereas in "real life" it's the other way round.

I once met a woman at a work do who it turned out was the owner of www.maybefriends.com - she told me her membership was mainly made up of people aged 30 and over. That makes sense, as by then, many of your friends are paired off and settled down into mortgage slavery so the opportunities for meeting friends of friends become scarcer. The encouraging part was that she reckoned well over 60% of her membership were women! ;)

Try www.rsvp.ie , it worked for me before.

Gerrit
26/01/2006, 11:12 PM
Making friends online got me out of my social isolation (a bit) and was a way around a lack of social feeling. Internet is a very good way of communicating if used correctly.

I prefer messageboards over datingsites though. At a messageboard you get to know each other in a spontaneous way, while at a dating site everyone will try to seem as hip as possible as everyone is there with only 1 purpose (= getting a guy/girl).

Messageboards all the way for me, who knows what nice girls may be on this very forum!:D

FarBeag
26/01/2006, 11:35 PM
Lads..Add a picture of a beautiful woman and call your shygirl or something like that and you will have some fun.There are some right dirty auld fookers out there.

Gareth
26/01/2006, 11:37 PM
Lads..Add a picture of a beautiful woman and call your shygirl or something like that and you will have some fun.There are some right dirty auld fookers out there.

And clearly some very bored or stupid people if you get kicks outta doing that :rolleyes:

Gerrit
27/01/2006, 12:05 AM
Agree with Gareth.

Add to that:
- acting like someone you're not, is making fun of lonely people that you give false hopes (they are punished along with the perverts that indeed visit the sites as well)
- people start those sites with honest intentions and put effords in maintaining the service. Surely it's not that pleasant to ruin it for them just because you got too little to do with your own time?

Of course, we're not being naive, perverts do use these dating sites. But by acting and lying about your identity, the lonely honest people using the sites are being lied to as well.
If you want to make fun, then go to adultfriendfinder.com where there's only the perverts and no people with good intentions.

27/01/2006, 9:31 AM

Just reading thru this thread and thought fcuk it why not logged on to gumtree.ie and I'm meeting a decent looking (thin) bird on saturday night
wish me luck;)

Drumcondra Red
27/01/2006, 10:29 AM
Wish her luck :D

27/01/2006, 10:42 AM
Just reading thru this thread and thought fcuk it why not logged on to gumtree.ie and I'm meeting a decent looking (thin) bird on saturday night
wish me luck;)

best of luck, remember if she has any fit friends remember who led you onto the site....;)

27/01/2006, 1:30 PM
A quick search in the auld Googleiser (http://google.ie) brought this (http://www.gratefuldating.blogspot.com/) up...

27/01/2006, 2:11 PM
[QUOTE=Block G Raptor]Just reading thru this thread and thought fcuk it why not logged on to gumtree.ie and I'm meeting a decent looking (thin) bird on saturday night QUOTE]

Jaysus, that was quick moving :D

27/01/2006, 3:02 PM

Jaysus, that was quick moving :D

I don't hang around ! we exchanged photo's what can I say she's in lurve

hamish
27/01/2006, 9:30 PM
There are some right dirty auld fookers out there.

;) ;)

Gerrit
27/01/2006, 11:52 PM
That blog has some kinky links, like this one: http://edgeofdesire.blogspot.com/ :D And the title of this one suggest some gross things :eek: : http://the-wet-spot.blogspot.com/ (I am not gonna check that, even I have certain limits)

Some people here truely have a perv side, how else do you find those pages? ;)

Anyway, what I wonder is: if you pick a random girl from a dating site, how are you supposed to know you have anything in common to start the first meeting/conversation with? Do dating sites mention the interests of the specific persons? Unless you are at a theme-specific dating site (such as gothicdating.nl) where all persons share a certain central interest, then how do you know if you have anything in common?

I wouldn't know how to act or behave myself if I were in the situation, I wouldn't know what to start talking about or how to get things going. I'd probably want to get out of the place ASAP.

FarBeag
28/01/2006, 12:27 AM
And clearly some very bored or stupid people if you get kicks outta doing that :rolleyes:

Lighten up will you. Don’t take it too personally .At least some people have a sense of humor on here. These sites are full of losers and perverts.:eek:

hamish
29/01/2006, 12:47 PM
Those dating sites I know nothing about TBH but I tried a chat line for a laugh a while back. I found a section devoted to people from 50 onwards and most of them were yapping about gardening:rolleyes: while there were other sections where oldies in my group wanted to "get it on" with each other via dirty phone calls or set up dates.:D
Disgusting auld fcukers.:eek:
No one seemed interested in talking about football or music in their countries and besides Footie covers all that anyway.

Jon'o
29/01/2006, 6:03 PM
wonder if any of these growlers will make it into the totty watch thread ;)

seriously good luck like

29/01/2006, 6:38 PM
wish me luck;)

Well BGR, how did you get on?

30/01/2006, 1:16 PM
obviouslyl not to good if he hasnt said aint.

what was the site, i might do that fora bit of craic.

on a slightly dif note, there was this gay guy dancing like mad last friday in oneills in angel, i went up to him, started chatting away to him, he was sooo gay, anyhow there is a mate of mine who all my bird friends when they first meet him think he is gay. cant describe it but i can see why, anyhow the gay guy kept coming up to me afterwards and i thought my plan would work, he was asking me to go to a bar, but i said i have to wait and meet my friends and ill se ye down there like, anyhow i said ill give you my number have you got your phone. so as i was giving him me mates number and said to txt me in the morning about meeting up his stupid phone went dead. :D

i was hoping he would be all girly in the message so my mate would have thought it was somone else and txt back!!LOL

whats that site nayhow BGR i think ill give it a go for a laugh of course ;)

Babysis
30/01/2006, 8:28 PM
Well i wish you the best of luck with it all. If you dont take the p**s there should hopefuly not be a problem. As for Paul O shea, all i got from your post was that you were flirting with a fella, so good luck to you too.

30/01/2006, 9:12 PM
im completely comfortable with my sexuality babysis. whats wrong with chatting to a gay guy??? are you a homophobe? each to their own is my attitude ;)

i dont judge, horses for courses.

Eire06
31/01/2006, 9:52 AM
Ray Darcy is talking to a fella now about online dating on TodayFM..

Might give you some tips!!:o

31/01/2006, 6:33 PM
I've been offline coz i've been laid up in bed all week;)
went really well, dont know if I fancy her per say but got on well and will defo see her again,

TheJamaicanP.M.
31/01/2006, 11:26 PM
I've been offline coz i've been laid up in bed all week;)
went really well, dont know if I fancy her per say but got on well and will defo see her again,

Good man yourself. I presume this wan you met takes pipe at an early stage. Take full advantage of the situation. Use her and then give her the flick.

02/02/2006, 10:20 AM
Take full advantage of the situation. Use her and then give her the flick.
Now would I do something like that **sly grin**
You Bet I Fcuking Would though I might be tempted to hold on to this one for a while she's well dirty in the sack !

hamish
02/02/2006, 10:44 AM
I read somewhere that people use these sites 'cos they're so busy working they don't have time to meet people in pubs, clubs etc. and it's a handy way to meet people.

Don't know about that but if people can develop realtionships from these sites and are happy then good luck to them.

My even try one myself:eek: :D

Could anyone make up an advert for me for one of these sites???

(Boy, am I asking for it here:o )

02/02/2006, 11:58 AM
Could anyone make up an advert for me for one of these sites???

Mature broad minded gent seeks clueless 20 something for short conversations and long nights. :D

02/02/2006, 12:34 PM
thats quality.

hamish
02/02/2006, 1:03 PM
Mature broad minded gent seeks clueless 20 something for short conversations and long nights.

LMAO:D

Jaysus, Peadar, why am I not surprised you'd jump in here.:D

However, you did let me off lightly, so, for that I'm grateful. Wrong about the mature bit though.

Hows about

"Kindly old gent seeks nice lady, not for sex, just to talk about it":D

02/02/2006, 1:32 PM
LMAO:D

Jaysus, Peadar, why am I not surprised you'd jump in here.:D

However, you did let me off lightly, so, for that I'm grateful. Wrong about the mature bit though.

Hows about

"Kindly old gent seeks nice lady, not for sex, just to talk about it":D

Jaysus 'hamish, are you looking for a Nun or what?:D

hamish
02/02/2006, 1:37 PM
Jaysus 'hamish, are you looking for a Nun or what?

Yeah, defrocked.:D

Talking about nuns, I have a few new nun jokes in the....eh....jokes thread.

Could you make up an advert for me O Strange One?? Jaysus, I'm really being a masochist today.:D

02/02/2006, 1:52 PM
Yeah, defrocked.:D

Talking about nuns, I have a few new nun jokes in the....eh....jokes thread.

Could you make up an advert for me O Strange One?? Jaysus, I'm really being a masochist today.:D

"Love is blind and so am I, a tooth for a tooth and an eye for an eye"

or

"Gracious gentleman seeks horny old bat to test plumbing skills"

hamish
02/02/2006, 2:07 PM
"Gracious gentleman seeks horny old bat to test plumbing skills"

You would have to bring animals into it.:D

Ladies! Lonely?? Hamish is the man for ewe.:eek:

Ladies! Do you like long and shiny jewellery? Well, I've got a dangler and it's a gem.

Ladies. Do you have a mirror in your pockets? 'Cos I'm the man who can see myself in your pants.

02/02/2006, 3:25 PM
Ladies! Do you like long and shiny jewellery? Well, I've got a dangler and it's a gem.

Ladies. Do you have a mirror in your pockets? 'Cos I'm the man who can see myself in your pants.Classic ones there Hamish:D.

I like this one too though: "Lonely aul fella, looking for a young, furry, friend for a bit of fun and romance":p

hamish
02/02/2006, 3:37 PM
Classic ones there Hamish:

I like this one too though: "Lonely aul fella, looking for a young, furry, friend for a bit of fun and romance"

There's only one reply to that:D
http://www.escort-ireland.com/488/Angel/irish-escort.html

Gosh, the French one is gone already??

What did you do to her sligoman.:p :D

EDIT - see she's listed in the Galway escorts - where the real men are.

Drumcondra Red
02/02/2006, 5:38 PM
I read somewhere that people use these sites 'cos they're so busy working they don't have time to meet people in pubs, clubs etc. and it's a handy way to meet people.

Makes sence as I'm currently in that situation and have no-one :(

Don't thikn I'd have the confidence to meet someone online though, not that I lack confidence, just to meet people on online dating sites!

hamish
02/02/2006, 6:01 PM
Makes sence as I'm currently in that situation and have no-one :(

Don't thikn I'd have the confidence to meet someone online though, not that I lack confidence, just to meet people on online dating sites!

Dunno if I would either Drumcondra Red.:)

Anyway you're too young to be tied down - enjoy the freedom.