View Full Version : Eircom League votes on radical revamp

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Roverstillidie
25/01/2006, 2:38 PM
This is translates to the FAI want to hand Rovers a place back in the Premier with the minimum of fuss on their part.

Another masterstroke by the FAI :rolleyes:

i knew the malcontent paranoid filth would start this. :rolleyes:

why exactly would the fai bother helping us out? they havent done a damn thing for us before, and it was their ludicrious points deduction that put us in the 1st to begin with.

we are utterly disliked in merrion square as can be seen by their treatment of us from KRAM to the 400c.

try again, this time minus the chip on your shoulder.

ThatGuy
25/01/2006, 2:48 PM
why exactly would the fai bother helping us out? they havent done a damn thing for us before, and it was their ludicrious points deduction that put us in the 1st to begin with.

we are utterly disliked in merrion square as can be seen by their treatment of us from KRAM to the 400c.

I agree. Nothing to do with favouring Rovers.

I do believe that Rovers are definitely one of the clubs that Delaney wants in this franchise though, but to suggest that this is happening just to help Rovers is ridiculous.

25/01/2006, 2:49 PM
i knew the malcontent paranoid filth would start this. :rolleyes:

Have to take issue with you first on the quite hilarious statement that I am somehow: "malcontent paranoid filth":

a. I'm quite happy with everything in general at the moment
b. I don't think anyone's out to get me - unlike you seem to think that everyone is out to run you lot into the ground - heck you've done a mighty fine job doing that yourselves so far over the years :D .
c. I wash regularly - my personal hygene is second to none.

Ludicrous points deduction - the only regret I do have is that you weren't a Swiss or Italian club - that way the controlling FA wouldn't have ****ed about with this points nonsense last season - they would have tossed your arses out of the League entirely and be done with it.

Now run along, there's a good little boy - leave the Premier lads in peace to talk about things!

*pats rtid's head*

25/01/2006, 2:54 PM
Clubs would only be allowed compete in the top flight if their teams were good enough, their finances were above board, their facilities were attractive and they had an actual support base. Doesn't sound like a bad plan to me.

Football in this country is in line for a massive kick up the arse. Like it or not, we're groundsharing. Like it or not, we're getting independent audits. Like it or not, the FAI will figure out a way to ensure this happens. If this proposal doesn't go through, they'll just figure out another way to do it.

Clubs like Rovers, Cork and Derry have nothing to worry about. The tax cheats and one-man clubs, on the other hand, can close the door behind them.
What he said.

I've just limited confidence that the FAI can actually deliver, but in principle I the ideas make a lot of sense and is the only way to avoid domestic football stagnating.

As I said previously, look for the big clubs to hold a gun to the refusniks heads, with the unsubtle threat of walking away and starting their own thang.

Change or die.

25/01/2006, 2:55 PM

Who has that chip? They don't care about you. Huge difference to being disliked. And don't take it personal, they treat eveyone the same way

25/01/2006, 2:56 PM
Who has that chip? They don't care about you. Huge difference to being disliked. And don't take it personal, they treat eveyone the same way

ah Dodge - you know that the truth doesn't fit their Victim Complex that seems to be instilled with them.

EVERYONE gets treated like that by Merrion Square

Roverstillidie
25/01/2006, 3:00 PM
im sorry mr bohs man.

i should have more respect for a club eur1m in the red who are selling part of their pitch to property developers to pay the bills, including a 35 year old rovers reject. a club who tolerate hooligans selling class a drugs in their ground. whose chairman drinks with the bsc and allows its website to demand the return of a hooligan flag. i wish i wish i was a gypo.

you are dead right, you see evil genius delaney contrived a reason to take 8 points off us so we would be relegated so he could force through groundsharing and a merger with the fai. becase, rovers are like the irish juve, they own the association. we just chose not to cash in our chips in 87 or last season and saved it for the big one. getting promoted by vote out of a division we are red hot favourites to win 2 months before kick off.

EVERYONE gets treated like that by Merrion Square
so why the quip about sepcial treatment for us?
idiot.

25/01/2006, 3:02 PM
im sorry mr bohs man.

i should have more respect for a club eur1m in the red who are selling part of their pitch to property developers to pay the bills, including a 35 year old rovers reject. a club who tolerate hooligans selling class a drugs in their ground. whose chairman drinks with the bsc and allows its website to demand the return of a hooligan flag. i wish i wish i was a gypo.

back to your original idiocy. you are dead right, you see evil genius delaney contrived a reason to take 8 points off us so we would be relegated so he could force through groundsharing and a merger with the fai. becase, rovers are like the irish juve, they own the association. we just chose not to cash in our chips in 87 or last season and saved it for the big one. getting promoted by vote out of a division we are red hot favourites to win 2 months before kick off.

idiot.

Please use correct punctuation next time - makes it easier to read the utter bile that is seeping from your keyboard, cheers.

Roverstillidie
25/01/2006, 3:08 PM
reitor, you are claiming this is all a plot by the fai to help rovers while simultaniously stating merrion sq treat everyone as badly.

do we need your inane paranoid bohs inferiority complex diluting a discusson as important as the very future of our clubs?

if you have something to contribute, please feel free. if the best you can some up with is this childish tripe, please dont bother. leave it to those who actually have something to say.

thomas
25/01/2006, 3:15 PM
If its a 10 team league they are proposing there is very little point in ranking teams positioned 1st and 2nd in the first division a nominal overall rank of 11 and 12

25/01/2006, 3:18 PM
You want it straight down the line - let the places be decided by what happens on the pitch - not in the office.

Dublin City deserve to be where they are now - due to obtaining promotion through the correct channels.

Shamrock should not be in the League full stop due to reasons already discussed 50,000 times elsewhere - like it or not - if we were overseen by anyone else other than the Board of Control or the FAI - yourselves would have been demoted right out of the League - as was the case with Servette Geneva and Fiorentina.

Franchising - not the way to go - see the MK Dons saga for an example

By all means let's come up with a VIABLE altenative (if there is one) - not one that results in artificially created divisions.

My solution (probably unworkable but feck it here it is): Two divisions of 12 teams, the shortfall in figures in the First Division will be solved by bringing in two clubs with a proven track record from the Intermediate setup who submit plans showing they can viably (sp?) support 1st Division Football and above.

Two up - two down between the Prem and First - plus a third place to be decided by a play off (as we have now with the current setup).

The bottom team in the First Division will face a play-off against the winners of a round-robin play-off featuring intermediate teams eager to climb the footballing ladder.

(PS: I don't have an inferiority complex - I feel quite superior to your ilk ;) :D)

Breifne
25/01/2006, 3:26 PM
If its a 10 team league they are proposing there is very little point in ranking teams positioned 1st and 2nd in the first division a nominal overall rank of 11 and 12

There is when Dublin City, Bray and UCD aren't in those positions (last and second last) They will be relegated on these issues, and Rovers, Dundalk, and Galway will be promoted (regardless of where they finish)

25/01/2006, 3:31 PM
Wouldn't be so sure that it'd those 3 teams, particularly Dundalk. If there's a louth "franchise" Drogs are probably ahead of them.

25/01/2006, 3:41 PM
These changes have been flagged for almost a year now. Clubs have to be proactive and get their houses in order and have a proper workable 10 year plan. We had Genesis down at an open forum at the end of last season and everyone in Galway United are working their butts off to have everything in place on and off the field for 2007.

I felt that rather than have 2 divisions this season why not have one for 2 seasons then aggregate the points from the 2 seasons and then select the teams that reach the criteria. This would give everyone a fair chance and if clubs cant get sorted in 2 years they dont deserve to be in the league.

The idea of a ten team super league is crazy either a 14 or 16 team league playing each other twice is the way to go and surely all forward looking clubs would think this is the way to go.

There has to be change lads or the league will simply collapse with at least half the teams going to the wall.

thomas
25/01/2006, 3:42 PM
You want it straight down the line - let the places be decided by what happens on the pitch - not in the office.

Dublin City deserve to be where they are now - due to obtaining promotion through the correct channels

By being insolvent? I wouldn't call that correct, or in compliance with license rules. Will you continue to advocate this if DC have a points sanction at the start of the season?

Roverstillidie
25/01/2006, 3:43 PM
agreed, but does this whole excercise not stink of ulterior motive?

25/01/2006, 3:46 PM

Dublin City deserve to be where they are now - due to obtaining promotion through the correct channels.

Shamrock should not be in the League full stop due to reasons already discussed 50,000 times elsewhere - like it or not - if we were overseen by anyone else other than the Board of Control or the FAI - yourselves would have been demoted right out of the League - as was the case with Servette Geneva and Fiorentina.

Franchising - not the way to go - see the MK Dons saga for an example

By all means let's come up with a VIABLE altenative (if there is one) - not one that results in artificially created divisions.

My solution (probably unworkable but feck it here it is): Two divisions of 12 teams, the shortfall in figures in the First Division will be solved by bringing in two clubs with a proven track record from the Intermediate setup who submit plans showing they can viably (sp?) support 1st Division Football and above.

Two up - two down between the Prem and First - plus a third place to be decided by a play off (as we have now with the current setup).

The bottom team in the First Division will face a play-off against the winners of a round-robin play-off featuring intermediate teams eager to climb the footballing ladder.

(PS: I don't have an inferiority complex - I feel quite superior to your ilk ;) :D)

I agree with your first 2 paragraphs. FYI the name is Shamrock Rovers. We were never gonna be thrown out of the league because it would have meant a lop sided league and certain clubs would complain about lost revenue. They are the facts in the matter. Comparing with other leagues is a waste of time.

Your solution is unworkable because there is barely enough support as is let alone bringing in 2 more teams. That ok SON?

25/01/2006, 3:47 PM
Your solution is unworkable because there is barely enough support as is let alone bringing in 2 more teams.

So therefore - as I see it - any notion of franchising to new parts of the country would be unworkable as well.

That ok SON?

Fine with me LASS

25/01/2006, 3:52 PM
actually - plan b would be to pack the League up lock, stock and barrel and form another division of the Manchester and District League - sure that's where all the spectators go from this place each week

25/01/2006, 3:56 PM
These changes have been flagged for
almost a year now

What changes? We don't know what exactly entry to the premier will be based on! I totally agree that the league needs a step like this, but it has to be done right- just forcing through an undefined mess is likely to result in chaos. I'm not against this proposal because I'm against what it intends to do, I'm against it because it may not be able to achieve what its meant to because its not watertight. If the ongoing licensing fiascos have taught us anything it's that the rules have to be watertight or they become a joke.

25/01/2006, 3:58 PM
The idea of a ten team super league is crazy either a 14 or 16 team league playing each other twice is the way to go and surely all forward looking clubs would think this is the way to go
I ****ing hate this attitude of "We think this, we're forward thinking, surely everyone who's forward thinking has to think this" and btw gufct you're the worst in the world for this.

LOADS of clubs are forward thinking, some are way different from Galway but as of last year Galway were getting **** crowds in the first division with a below premier division average stadium, so you're in no way able to preach to the rest how it should be done. I'm not trying to knock the work you're doing but relax on the holier than thou attitude

Oh and any new system that doesn't involve prmotion and relegation is atotla disaster. Any league with 11 teams playing for nothing would become a joke

25/01/2006, 4:03 PM
So therefore - as I see it - any notion of franchising to new parts of the country would be unworkable as well.

Completely. Most of these junior clubs have great facilities already and would they really want to enter a league like this?

Only way is if a club really wanted in would be to have it replace CHF BUT they would have to be from a county that is not served already with a league side e.g. Kerry or Mayo. And they would have to have all tick all the boxes in terms of support, facilities, business plans etc.

"malcontent paranoid filth" :D :D

Passive
25/01/2006, 4:21 PM
Reitor: your argument doesn't stand up because you say Dublin City should be congratulated for spending beyond their means and going into massive debt, while Rovers should have been thrown out of the league for spending beyond their means and going into massive debt.

Granted, Rovers faked the licence application (something which all Rovers fans condemned - incidentally, I've never seen DC's licence application so I don't know if their debts are listed) but the methods are much the same.

25/01/2006, 4:23 PM
I ****ing hate this attitude of "We think this, we're forward thinking, surely everyone who's forward thinking has to think this" and btw gufct you're the worst in the world for this.

LOADS of clubs are forward thinking, some are way different from Galway but as of last year Galway were getting **** crowds in the first division with a below premier division average stadium, so you're in no way able to preach to the rest how it should be done. I'm not trying to knock the work you're doing but relax on the holier than thou attitude

Oh and any new system that doesn't involve prmotion and relegation is atotla disaster. Any league with 11 teams playing for nothing would become a joke

Well we will have 18 playing for nothing next season so what is that.

As for Galway having a below premier division average stadium i can think of lot of premier ground who arent a patch on terryland although we still have to develop one side which is in hand and should be started by mid march.As for s**** crowds we averaged about 650 which for the 1st division is a minor miracle and judging by my last visit to Inchicore this year the ground is severly run down and in need of urgent work as for crowds Pats have not exactly been packed out last season.

25/01/2006, 4:28 PM
Yeah we're in bits. We're not trying to preach how its done either...

And you consider playing for promotion noting?

Bald Student
25/01/2006, 4:28 PM
almost a year now.Clubs have to be proactive and get their houses in order and have a proper workable 10 year plan.We had Genesis down at an open forum at the end of last season and everyone in Galway United are working their butts off to have everything in place on and off the field for 2007.That's all because Galway have been selected as a team to get an automatic promotion. Why did genesis visit you and no other club? The clubs chalked down for a automatic relegation could work as hard as they liked and would still be relegated.

25/01/2006, 4:37 PM
This is from today's Irish Times:

Officials move to reassure clubs over league plan
Emmet Malone, Soccer Correspondent

National League: Eircom League officials yesterday moved to reassure clubs that proposals to "wind up" the league in its current form at the end of this year and establish a new FAI-run entity in time for the 2007 season poses no threat to their participation in the National League.

Representatives of the National League's 22 clubs will be asked to endorse a one-page document outlining the proposal at a management committee before Saturday morning's league agm in Limerick.

If there is sufficient support for the document it will be brought before a rule-changing egm, probably next month, where a two thirds majority (15 of the 22 clubs) would be required to adopt the scheme.

However, representatives of several clubs have expressed considerable concern over what they regard as the vagueness of what is described by its Merrion Square authors as a "declaration of intent".

By adopting the document clubs commit themselves to take the various legal and other steps required to wrap up the league in its present form and hand the necessary authority to the FAI to establish a new league which clubs would then have to apply to for membership.

Although the move was broadly expected to come at some point in the aftermath of clubs endorsing proposals for radical reform of the league by the consultancy firm Genesis, the lack of detail contained in the single-page document has alarmed some and prompted a majority of those contacted yesterday to call for the provision of much more information.

"I agree in principle that the league needs to be changed," said Dublin City chief executive Ronan Seery yesterday, "but until I see what the criteria are for joining the new league I would find it hard to vote the present one out of existence."

UCD director Dick Shakespeare, meanwhile, questioned the wisdom of pressing ahead with the reforms so quickly when, he said, a more considered approach should be taken.

"In the circumstances it would seem reasonable to take more time to weigh up the best way ahead and maybe tie the changes to the introduction of the new Uefa manual which is due to come into effect here in 2008."

Other clubs, however, expressed an inclination to place their trust in the FAI's leadership despite concerns over the proposal that promotion and relegation be suspended for the coming season.

"We'd be opposed to that," said Nial O'Reilly of Galway United, "but we realise that the league has to change and we might be prepared to buy into the whole thing once we saw the detail."

Acting director of the League, John Byrne, said last night that he could understand the concerns expressed but, he said: "It's not a case of the FAI or anybody else wanting 10, 12 or 16 clubs. We want all 22 clubs and we have made that clear but we also want a better league and the clubs unanimously endorsed the report that prompted this move."

He also said that it is envisaged that the suspension of promotion and relegation would only last one season.

It was suggested last week that the country's leading clubs might stage a breakaway if the proposals are shot down but a representative of a club in such talks last year said that such a move has not been discussed of late.

25/01/2006, 4:50 PM
What do people think are reasonable criteria for admission to the league & thre Premier division. I know minimum number of seats was specified before but completely ignored. Was licencing supposed to address this or we going to see stricter enforcement of the licencing?

I agree position should be decided on the pitch but also need minimum criteria for promotion to the Premier. I think its unfair to exclude based on support as say Longford with small catchment population can still match support from the pale.

25/01/2006, 4:56 PM
What do people think are reasonable criteria for admission to the league & thre Premier division. I know minimum number of seats was specified before but completely ignored. Was licencing supposed to address this or we going to see stricter enforcement of the licencing?

I agree position should be decided on the pitch but also need minimum criteria for promotion to the Premier.
I don't think anyone can argue with you Pete. Minimum criteria in terms of stadium, finances, youth developmet etc. are a must. BUT these are in place already and they're being overlooked...

25/01/2006, 5:10 PM
I think the requirement that clubs run themselves in a financially viable manner is the big one. Clubs should be subjected to very close scrutiny in terms of how they pay players and taxes and so on.

Ground should meet minimum health and safety to start with with gradual increases in minimum requirement in all aspects of facilities every year. There's no point trying to do it in one big leap, unless the clubs are given help to do so. Also, there seems little point to me of asking Monaghan to have 2000 seats or whatever if they are unlikely to need them. If they can get into the premier based on small attendances then fair play to them, as long as the crowds they do have are properly accomodated. Perhaps it would be better to base requirements on a clubs attendances over a number of years. There should also be dispensations (but not on health and safety) for clubs that are building (and can prove it) new grounds.

Youth development, with qualified coaches etc should also be a must. I'd also like to see initiatives to see clubs try to integrate into their communities.

higgins
25/01/2006, 6:06 PM
Why is everyone knocking this idea?
Is it out of fear your club wont be selected :confused:

The league needs to change and while the FAI are a shower of Muppets I think this idea is a good one! Whatever happens you can bet on it that the Premier will be made up of a minimum of 10 teams. So its going to be no use the FAI saying you need 40,000 seats and a fairground out the back is it?

The 10 best placed teams are going to be picked as it gives the marketing people the best possible chance of making a GO of it! Its a fresh start and I think its worth taking a shot?

As was stated there will be ranking 1 to 22 on your final league placing so if Shels finish 13th (i.e. last in the premier) and Athlone 11th (i.e. 1st in the First) and both are equal in other aspects then Athlone will get the nod. Remember that there is no use having 3 teams in the premier so it will come to league placing and the higher up you are the better your chance. Even if people are saying UCD and Dublin City are not in the shake up they can do their chances no harm by finishing as far up the table as possible. There are going to be lots of teams with poor grounds and crowds so the FAI cant set the bar too high.

So Worse Case scenario

Your club doesn't make it into the 10/12 team premier, big deal.. You will then see the criteria used to get into the premier and your club will set out to match or better this and get promoted ? I think you are all being short sighted and thinking of your own clubs instead of the bigger picture for the soccer in this country.

The league badly needs standards and EL clubs are not making money today so without accepting the FAI deal and trying to make a go of it what else do you suggest?

It needs a shake up to capture public attention. Something that can be marketed as a new product and not just going for a 10 to 12 and back to 10 team league every few seasons.

If Shels are not 1 of the 10/12 best placed teams to take the league forward then I'd accept it and support my team in an effort to get promoted.

25/01/2006, 6:13 PM
I think most people aren't against it, they'd just like to know more detail before the vote. That's a perfectly reasonable position, and it's a total farce that this is going to a vote before people even know exactly what they're voting on. Also, as pointed out before, if the process isn't watertight it could lead to courtcases, rows and yet more bad publicity. I think most people are all for this, they just want it done right, not rushed through in a half-assed manner.

25/01/2006, 7:06 PM
I'm against any factors which cannot be quantified coming into the equation (marketabilty etc)

25/01/2006, 7:18 PM
The more I think about this the more I think it should be voted down. If the FAI want to merge with the league they could have at least got the initial vote right. It's a total insult to the league that they have failed to provide a more detailed description of their plans. The clubs should reject this so that the FAI see that the league won't accept this crap. This is a massive step for the league, and it simply has to be done properly. It really wouldn't have taken a lot to get this right, why didn't they?

25/01/2006, 7:18 PM
Why is everyone knocking this idea?
Is it out of fear your club wont be selected :confused:
Yes, in a nutshell.

But not only that, it's the possibility that you could be relegated despite winning the league - the FAI are going to pick their favourite ten teams and sod the rest. They are going to pack the eL board with their people so nobody can dissent any more. They have somehow managed to find the only parts of the Genesis Report with any merit, discarded them and gone with the rest. It would kill the 12 teams who don't make the Premier Division, and probably one or two who do make it. In short, it would kill Irish football. How this is good for Irish football, and how some people can't see this, is beyond me.

The support from Galway fans for this is pathetic. The only club to have had a forum with Genesis - even the NLSA has had a very negative reaction to a suggestion of a forum with Genesis. Genesis evidently told them that they were going to be promoted on absolutely no other merits than being based in a city. Short-termism in the extreme.

25/01/2006, 7:22 PM
you may as well have a league based on who can sell the most shirts,such **** ideas,typical FAI!! apart from the playoff teams palying non-league teams

soccerc
25/01/2006, 7:30 PM
you may as well have a league based on who can sell the most shirts,such **** ideas,typical FAI!! apart from the playoff teams palying non-league teams

At a wild guess the 10 clubs would be, based on nothing more than a hunch but also a fair? geographical spread.

Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
Waterford United
Cork City
Limerick
Galway United
Derry City
Athlone Town
Longford Town
Drogheda United

Not saying I'd agree with any of it but have in the past few months been sounded out for an opinion by a number of parties into what they were effictively promoting as a "franchise" set-up.

Meet these criteria* and be from these geographic areas and you can join our "elite" club.

*Whatever criteria they decide is in their own best interests.

25/01/2006, 7:32 PM
Even if people are saying UCD and Dublin City are not in the shake up they can do their chances no harm by finishing as far up the table as possible.
Just noticed this. That's b0llox. The FAI have quite clearly picked their 10 teams. Everyone else can sod off for all they care.

Student Mullet
25/01/2006, 7:41 PM
So Worse Case scenario

Your club doesn't make it into the 10/12 team premier, big deal.. You will then see the criteria used to get into the premier and your club will set out to match or better this and get promoted ?How does a club go about increasing it's potential fanbase? We're building 500 more apartments in Belfield, will that help?

As for our marketability, we've recently launched a new crest, I hope that's taken into account during the fair and transparent process I expect at the end of next season.

25/01/2006, 7:54 PM
What is a fair geographical spread? Something that takes account of demograpics or just sheer hectares?:confused:

Higgins, I don't put time, money and energy into my club to see it get relegated for off the field matters. I'm not some blind patriot who would watch my club get fecked over and acquiesce as it's for the good of the Irish game. Not that I consider this for the good of the Irish game. I think it will in fact give rise to stagnation.

25/01/2006, 8:04 PM
Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
Waterford United
Cork City
Limerick
Galway United
Derry City
Athlone Town
Longford Town
Drogheda United
Quite possible alright. And therein lies the problem. You've got Waterford, who had serious financial troubles the past year, were utter cr@p and were nearly relegated. You've got Rovers, who were relegated. You've got Athlone, Galway and Limerick, neither of whom made an impression in the First Division last season. This league would be far weaker than the current one. Good teams are being actively hounded out. And you've got people who are in favour of this?! People who think we should reduce the quality of the Premier (no offence to any of the teams mentioned, obviously) to improve it?! "Big" clubs are being rewarded despite a hsitory of not being able to take advantage of their bigness. Utter nonsense. Disgrace, in fact, would be a better word.

soccerc
25/01/2006, 8:09 PM
[QUOTE=Poor Student]What is a fair geographical spread? Something that takes account of demograpics or just sheer hectares?:confused:

/QUOTE]

I never said it was a fair geographical spread thus the question mark after fair.

Personally I don't think geography should be considered, clubs should be judged on their sporting merit along with other factors such as financial stability, facilities and resources, short and long term achiveables.

What must be borne in mind here is that there is a perceived rump within the league and those clubs are generally the newer smaller clubs while others believe they have more strength and influence. Not prepared to go on record but I'd be very surprised if further selected leaks do not reach our media in the coming days ;)

25/01/2006, 8:15 PM
I'm against any factors which cannot be quantified coming into the equation (marketabilty etc)

i'd have to agree with this. there's no possible equation or criteria that will satisfy everyone. it's impossible to come to an absolute decision about what ten clubs deserve to be in the top tier. matters such as history certainly can not be quantified, shams should defo be considered to be a top 10 side but they are currently in the mire but have fans to eventually take them back where they belong. dublin city might be grand now but u never know what might happy seery&then they could just be a kilkenny or monaghan within months(no offence lads)

25/01/2006, 8:41 PM
there's no possible equation or criteria that will satisfy everyone. it's impossible to come to an absolute decision about what ten clubs deserve to be in the top tier.
Nonsense. 12 teams deserve to be in the Premier next year. They're the 12 teams we spent last season deciding. They are Bohs, Bray, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, Dublin City, Longford, Shels, Pat's, UCD, Waterford and Sligo.

25/01/2006, 8:48 PM
Yes, in a nutshell.
The support from Galway fans for this is pathetic. The only club to have had a forum with Genesis - even the NLSA has had a very negative reaction to a suggestion of a forum with Genesis. Genesis evidently told them that they were going to be promoted on absolutely no other merits than being based in a city. Short-termism in the extreme.

Ah the "club" invited Genesis to come down and have an open forum.Don't have a go at Galway fans just because we have been told we will be in the elete leahue.We'll be there on merit as will any other team who gets there.The league needs re-structuring...it has to start somewhere.If you want to talk about getting there on football grounds...GUFC will win the league this year anyway.;)

25/01/2006, 8:52 PM
Nonsense. 12 teams deserve to be in the Premier next year. They're the 12 teams we spent last season deciding. They are Bohs, Bray, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, Dublin City, Longford, Shels, Pat's, UCD, Waterford and Sligo.

i highlighted the word deserve for a reason refering to what clubs the fai will deem deserving of a place in their fantastic new league

25/01/2006, 9:07 PM
With respect pineapple, some of them don't as there is now way they have the facilities deemed neccesary by the club license

25/01/2006, 9:07 PM
Not to burst your bubble Conor but the Genisis bods and their backers seem to have a slight tendancy to tell that to everyone! It suits them to do so- the more clubs believe they'll be in this brave new world that will cure all the ills of the Irish football scene, the more will vote their plans through and hence justify paying Genisis a large amount of money to get a lot of stuff wrong and point out a bunch of obvious stuff.

Incidentally- why the hell would anyone be bothered to watch the first this year is this goes through- it'd be totally pointless. How are we meant to get players to sign if there may be no chance of promotion? Why bother watching Galway play out a meaningless season if they're going to definately go up anyway? If you're in the premier, why bother having a first team budget, spend everything on the ground for a year instead, sure you can't be ranked lower than 14th anyway! The whole thing is crazy.

25/01/2006, 9:11 PM
I do see where your coming from G harps.It will be odd playing in a league knowing that if you win it you might not get promoted.....only in Ireland:D .But i still am FOR the changes.....the leahue does need a revamp.But if there was an alternative way of doing things then i'd be open to them.

chippie0001
25/01/2006, 9:18 PM
At a wild guess the 10 clubs would be, based on nothing more than a hunch but also a fair? geographical spread.

Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
Waterford United
Cork City
Limerick
Galway United
Derry City
Athlone Town
Longford Town
Drogheda United

Just curious but why are Bohs out of this. We have the biggest support in Dublin based on the attendances here, not much more than Shels but still the biggest. We own our own ground, unlike Shels, Rovers and sort of Pats who own most of theirs. We are the oldest club and after Rovers probably the best known in Dublin. also to Bohs fans where do these rumours come from that the FAI want us out? Not doubting it but is there not an over reaction to rumours.

Lastly the proposal is a joke. Already fed up with the league but if this happens and we end up in Dalymount with Shels, think I will just forget about this joke of a league.