View Full Version : Favourite quiz/game shows?

20/01/2006, 1:50 PM
Its a Friday dammit, but simple question, favourite quiz/game show?

At the moment, finding myself strangely addicted to Deal Or No Deal on Channel 4. It's all random luck, with no questions, but it's bloody gripping, no idea why...

20/01/2006, 1:54 PM
I used to watch that over on Australia ... flippen deadly show

20/01/2006, 1:56 PM
The idea is so simple but completely dramatic. You find yourself really rooting for the person. A girl yesterday played the game perfectly, and walked off with £33,000. But she dealed at the right time and she avoided winning what she would have won if she carried on. 1p! great show though...

finlma
20/01/2006, 1:56 PM
Deal Or No Deal on Channel 4. It's all random luck, with no questions, but it's bloody gripping, no idea why...

Its a load of rubbish. It's originally an Australian show but the British have taken it and butchered it. They managed to drag it out to be an hour long when it could all be over easily in 30 mins, as it is in Oz. Also whats the deal with the stupid phone call and Edmonds (who I'll get onto in a minute) talking to someone we can't hear. In Oz they just put the amount offered on a screen and thats it.

As for Edmonds - what a complete tool that man is. He's trying to revive his dead career with disatorous results. Back to the scrap heap Noel.

EDIT: Forget to add my favourite. It has to be Where In The World. Asia 7 please Theresa!

20/01/2006, 1:59 PM
Its a load of rubbish. It's originally an Australian show but the British have taken it and butchered it. They managed to drag it out to be an hour long when it could all be over easily in 30 mins, as it is in Oz. Also whats the deal with the stupid phone call and Edmonds (who I'll get onto in a minute) talking to someone we can't hear. In Oz they just put the amount offered on a screen and thats it.

As for Edmonds - what a complete tool that man is. He's trying to revive his dead career with disatorous results. Back to the scrap heap Noel.

EDIT: Forget to add my favourite. It has to be Where In The World. Asia 7 please Theresa!

Anyone remember Murphy's Micro Quiz M? big money!

Dublin12
20/01/2006, 1:59 PM
I can't stand that deal or no deal,just find it way too slow,too much talking and that bit where the banker phones in his offer:rolleyes: ,just think it would be better if we could hear what he has to say.

Love Eggheads,hasn't been on in a few weeks though,hopefully it'll be back soon as I miss it.Like Mastermind and University Challenge too.

20/01/2006, 2:01 PM
Blackboard Jungle anyone:rolleyes:
I quite like Deal no Deal tbh

20/01/2006, 2:39 PM
Or Larry Gogans ... just a minute, the 60 second quiz

hamish
20/01/2006, 2:42 PM
Anyone remember Murphy's Micro Quiz M? big money!

An ex student of mine was one of the "hostesses" on that - Tuohy was her name - can't remember her first name. Very full of herself as I can recall. Her younger sister Ann was much nicer - they were originally from Canada.

20/01/2006, 3:28 PM
Deal or no deal is on now!

I use to abuse my mate for watching this but right now I find myself with 7 others watching it in the common room in college :eek: :o :rolleyes:

20/01/2006, 6:41 PM
Ah memories!

I prefer quizzes which actually concentrate on asking questions rather than having some sort of gimicky premise like Weakest Link and others. So that'd be University Challenge, 15-to-1 (if it's still on?), Mastermind (The Simpsons was a specialist round there a while back - aced that one!!) and a few others. Question of Sport is a bit of craic (also vaguely remember Sporting Triangles).

Game shows - Countdown springs to mind. Also bring back The Krypton Factor and The Crystal Maze - superb shows. There was a word quiz with Paul Coia on Channel 4 years ago which involved making really big words which had three certain letters in them in that order among other things - can't for the life of me remember the name now.

20/01/2006, 6:46 PM
I used to like that show called, "Pass the buck" I think? It was presented by an Irish guy, O'Leary I think?

The Weakest Link and Who want's to be a millionaire were good at first but now I'm just fed up of them, although, they are much better than the Irish version(Gay Byrne and Dunphy:D)

20/01/2006, 6:48 PM
Yeah, Millionaire - that's another one I don't particularly like. Just ask the f*@!ing question!!!

Anyone remember Masterteam, hosted by Angela Rippon back in the mid- to late-80s? Blockbusters too, though Liza Tarbuck ruined it on Sky One...

20/01/2006, 10:22 PM
Jepordy with Alec Trebeck,best quiz show ever :D

20/01/2006, 10:30 PM
Treasure Hunt on BBC.....although some of the clues.....:eek:

21/01/2006, 9:17 AM
Best name for a quiz show has to be Al Murray's (The Pub Landlord), 'Fact Hunt'! In daytime telly land, on Channel 5 in the UK, theres some word game presented by some blonde bit of stuff, (think its 'Brainteaser') and half the contestants cant flipping spell!!!! as for memories, 'Blockbusters' with the speccy nerds and Bob Hopeless and 'Bullseye' brings them all flooding back....

Babysis
21/01/2006, 12:11 PM
Going for gold was great. Im now coming round to deal or no deal, but think you should be able to hear the banker. Not a fan of weakest link, but i did like 15-to-1 when it was on.

21/01/2006, 12:43 PM
where in the world was alright .
going for gold was good too.
that one with paul ross was fun
blackboard jungle really good back in the day

aido_b
21/01/2006, 4:47 PM
[QUOTE=finlma]

As for Edmonds - what a complete tool that man is. He's trying to revive his dead career with disatorous results. Back to the scrap heap Noel.[QUOTE]

Yes finlma what is Edmonds up to? trying to resurrect his career by hosting a show which has been an unbelievable success since coming onto our screens, a show which has made a mockery of all its compeitiors with regard to viewing figures!what is he up to!

Jaysus give the man a break he's doing a great job and is a great tv presenter, would love to see a return of Noels house party, a show which sculpted Saturday night tv to what it is today. Think of Ant and Decs Saturday night takeaway ... its Noels house party without mr blobby and more adbreaks!

21/01/2006, 4:56 PM
i think edmonds has delibrately been out of the limelight for the last 10 years i think he moved into business or something like that

21/01/2006, 5:32 PM
once i saw the title of this thread I thought of Deal or no Deal.
didnt think anyone else watched it let alone like it....what a show.

FarBeag
21/01/2006, 7:02 PM
An ex student of mine was one of the "hostesses" on that - Tuohy was her name - can't remember her first name. Very full of herself as I can recall. Her younger sister Ann was much nicer - they were originally from Canada.

It was Julie Noel.Jaysus she looked like that big fcuking whale washed up in London when I knew her in school. I would be a millionaire if I could get the ingredients to the gear she threw down her throat to lose all that weight.

Neish
21/01/2006, 10:57 PM
Shooting Stars

23/01/2006, 11:33 AM
Actually I just saw the BBC version of "Deal Or No Deal" the other day
and it was cack. The whole telephonecall with the banker is a joke!

23/01/2006, 12:03 PM
Yes, I thought the phone call was a joke as well but on Saturday Noel handed the phone to the contestant? :confused: :eek:

I just thought there was nobody at the other end and the offer was made up by Noel himself?:confused:

dcfc_dee
24/01/2006, 12:54 PM
Bullseye was a good show on ITV

24/01/2006, 1:40 PM
Remember "3-2-1" hosted by Ted Rogers and Dusty Bin

Dublin12
24/01/2006, 1:52 PM
Remember "3-2-1" hosted by Ted Rogers and Dusty Bin

Yeah,wtf was that all about:confused: ,you'd need too be out of yer head on mind bending drugs to understand the clues.

24/01/2006, 2:22 PM
Check out
http://www.ukgameshows.com/index.php/3-2-1

finlma
24/01/2006, 2:47 PM
I think anyone who has seen the Australian version of Deal or No Deal prior to seeing the UK version is left very disappointed.

Everything about the Oz one is better than the UK version.

What really annoys me is the way they all become best friends and cry when a person does bad. What a joke - give me the hard Ozzies any day.

Gareth
24/01/2006, 3:26 PM
The Adventure Game

The Crystal Maze

Murphy's Micro Quiz M

The Krypton Factor

All class shows. Treasa Lowe in Where in the World annoyed the knackers off me and always followed with an unhealthy dose of Glenroe. Deal or No Deal is ok. It will get very boring quickly though. Noel Edmonds looks like he was stuck in a cyrogentic chamber. Doesn't look a day older than the days of the Late Late Breakfast.

25/01/2006, 3:35 PM
I think anyone who has seen the Australian version of Deal or No Deal prior to seeing the UK version is left very disappointed.

Everything about the Oz one is better than the UK version.

What really annoys me is the way they all become best friends and cry when a person does bad. What a joke - give me the hard Ozzies any day.

what do the Aussies do in that situation? Reminds me of the Russian version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire, the audience for the 'Ask the Audience' question there, apparantly they deliberately give out the wrong answer, because they're jealous of the person on TV who's trying to win!

finlma
25/01/2006, 3:45 PM
what do the Aussies do in that situation? Reminds me of the Russian version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire, the audience for the 'Ask the Audience' question there, apparantly they deliberately give out the wrong answer, because they're jealous of the person on TV who's trying to win!

When the Ozzies open their suitcase/box they guess the amount thats in it and if they are correct they win a few grand.

There's none of that telephone rubbish either - they just display the amount on the screen.

They have a good laugh if a person mucks up - I only made that bit up.

27/01/2006, 8:58 AM
Buzz is very entertaining and funny after a few beers.

$Leon$
27/01/2006, 9:07 AM
my favourite is definately 15 to 1. it's not on any more there showin that deal no deal on ch4 instead

27/01/2006, 9:12 AM
Buzz is very entertaining and funny after a few beers.
best game/quizshow ever.....get a few mates around,a few bottles and its better than going to the pub

27/01/2006, 9:23 AM
For cheapo prizes & format the old RTE show "Quicksilver" would take some topping.Bunny Carr was the presenter and they had some old man ( stormin-Norman Metcalffe) playing the piano to give hints which were usually useless to the contestants.Stop the lights.............

While it was years ago the questions started at value about 10p.:eek:

hamish
27/01/2006, 9:29 AM
It was Julie Noel.Jaysus she looked like that big fcuking whale washed up in London when I knew her in school. I would be a millionaire if I could get the ingredients to the gear she threw down her throat to lose all that weight.

How's it going Farbeag - haven't chatted with you for a while. :)

Yeah, Julie's the name - can remember her being tallish but I can't remember her being big TBH. Her sister Anne was big and strong but not fat or anything - just a big Canadian girl but well shaped.

Hardly recognised her on that programme 'cos she had shorter hair but the accent gave her away. Plastered in awful make up too.

How I hated that Micro Quizism programme. Always reminds me of boring Sunday nights with Monday not far away.

27/01/2006, 10:48 AM
are they still doing the Lyrics Board back home? what a godawful show that is.... does anyone here confess to liking it? Go on i dare you!

27/01/2006, 10:54 AM
[QUOTE=PAURO 7]are they still doing the Lyrics Board back home? what a godawful show that is.... QUOTE]

Truely dire alright,for some strange reason its a big hit all over Europe with umpteen TV Networks buying it:eek:

27/01/2006, 11:54 AM
are they still doing the Lyrics Board back home? what a godawful show that is.... does anyone here confess to liking it? Go on i dare you!
I accept that dare.:eek: :cool:
Always plonkers on it but a good format and good to play along with at home.:)

27/01/2006, 10:29 PM
The Lyrics board is a good format, but when the band suddenly strikes up the exact song the contestants randomly choose, it's obvious it's fixed. And when you add in fixed with the compulsory Louis Walsh starlet, it just turns into an LW promo...

27/01/2006, 10:36 PM
Blackboard Jungle anyone:rolleyes:

My brother was on it 3 consecutive years. In the 2nd and 3rd years he reached the semis and then the final. He went into the last second of the final round on a tie and the lad on his team blurted out the right answer one second too late resulting in them losing a point instead or gaining was it one or two?

My brother had been asked a question I think it was: In which world war did the Battle of Flanders take place? Whichever answer he gave was deemed wrong and it turned out both answers were right. RTÉ bought off the school with £5000 worth of media equipment for this gaffe.

My favourite quiz was 15 to 1 for the challenge and Millionaire for the drama and Crystal Maze for the laugh.:D

28/01/2006, 12:27 AM
Anybody see a show called "Fort Bayord".Its Set in an old prison on an Island off the Atlantic Coast Of France?.You (contestants) have to complete several tasks and gain keys etc ?

FarBeag
28/01/2006, 12:40 AM
How's it going Farbeag - haven't chatted with you for a while. :)

Yeah, Julie's the name - can remember her being tallish but I can't remember her being big TBH. Her sister Anne was big and strong but not fat or anything - just a big Canadian girl but well shaped.

Hardly recognised her on that programme 'cos she had shorter hair but the accent gave her away. Plastered in awful make up too.

How I hated that Micro Quizism programme. Always reminds me of boring Sunday nights with Monday not far away.

Noel...How’s things in good old Ballinasloe? Hope the health is better with you now.You might be right with Julie, maybe I am getting mixed up but there was two birds from Canada living somewhere near Fr Jordan one way about 6’7 tall and the other about the same width.There was another portumna girl called Mary.Maybe that was her.Jaysus I hope they never log onto this site or I won’t be able to set foot in Curleys again.

28/01/2006, 12:29 PM
Anybody see a show called "Fort Bayord".Its Set in an old prison on an Island off the Atlantic Coast Of France?.You (contestants) have to complete several tasks and gain keys etc ?
Ya i used to watch it in Spanish (i think, on tve)
and was amazed at it being a big crystal maze fan.
Melinda Messenger did an english version of it.

Anybody see a show called "Fort Bayord".Its Set in an old prison on an Island off the Atlantic Coast Of France?.You (contestants) have to complete several tasks and gain keys etc ?Oops, must have been french so. :o

28/01/2006, 12:45 PM
probably shouldnt say this but what the hell... applied to be a contestant on Deal or no Deal a few weeks ago. And got a call from them yesterday, im going for an audition!!! not sure if it means that im going on the show, guess ill know in a few weeks!!!!

28/01/2006, 12:52 PM
Ha ha.
Well done Pauro, best of luck.

applied to be a contestant on Deal or no Deal a few weeks ago.
How do ya go about that?

28/01/2006, 12:58 PM
Ha ha.
Well done Pauro, best of luck.

How do ya go about that?

check on the channel 4 website.... if you want the email address ill pm it to ya... dont know too much about it yet, but the show is filmed in Bristol, and im kinda guessing that ill have to stay there for a few weeks till im on. Its all very vague at the moment, not sure if im up against 150 people or will they all be on the show. guess ill have to wait and see..

28/01/2006, 7:13 PM
Anybody see a show called "Fort Bayord".Its Set in an old prison on an Island off the Atlantic Coast Of France?.You (contestants) have to complete several tasks and gain keys etc ?Yeah, Melinda Messenger:cool:. It be's on Challenge TV on SKY Digital sometimes.