View Full Version : Funniest Moment seen in eL

Pages : 1 [2] 3

20/01/2006, 4:08 PM
Why is every single thread ruined by an interfering BITTER Rovers fan? Really annoying at this stage.

???????? How is harmless slagging "bitter"? Poor kid you annoyed? Aw go tell mammy:rolleyes:

tallaghtfornia
20/01/2006, 4:15 PM
I think you'll find Drogheda and Bray are Jackeen suburbs too! ;)

try sayin that in a pub surrounded by drogheda or bray fans, i agree with the bray comment drogheda bein in dublin cause we all know its just a small town in dundalk;)

StarandCrescent
20/01/2006, 4:47 PM
My father tells a great story about a break in play during a match in the Lourdes Stadium years ago. While a player was being treated the water bottle was being passed round, the ref was a small man and was looking to have a drink of the water. However the players genuinely didn't notice him trying to get their attention to get a drink. There was relative silence in the crowd when some smart @rse shouts out 'a FFS will someone give the little fella a sup', que much hysterics on the terrace even the players heard it and were roaring with laughter.

20/01/2006, 5:00 PM
Funniest thing was when Sligo played GAlway in The Showgrounds a few years ago in the Cup 1/4 final.
Don O'Riordon was in charge at the time so we were obviously losing,1-0 at the time.
Ref was giving some bad dicisions so one Rovers fan,Diner Coyle,Jumped the wall,onto the pitch and ran towards the ref.
All Galway and Sligo fans will agree.

One of the best games ive ever been at!
Vaguely remember that but there was alot happening at that match...what a night!

20/01/2006, 5:12 PM
What did you have to eat that day? :p :D

Spam and corned-beef sandwiches. Rationing were still in-effect way back then.... :D

20/01/2006, 6:03 PM
One of the best games ive ever been at!
Vaguely remember that but there was alot happening at that match...what a night!
Agree,great night.....even if we did lose it will live long in the memory:)

20/01/2006, 6:07 PM
That fella running after the ref was classic alright. Also, whenever a dog runs on and nobody can catch him, that's pretty good too:D.

20/01/2006, 6:18 PM
Paul Duddy in full flight is funny aswell....First Division fans will know what im on about.

Speranza
20/01/2006, 6:27 PM
City fans buy out every shops allocation of blow-up sheep before we hold our noses and take the trip to bogland. harps fans concoct some rubbish about how every person in Derry owns a greyhound.

Play-off final and Kevin Mc Hugh scores to level it, runs to the bogmen to celebrate and does an impression of a greyhound on the track.

Must have been hilarious for the sheep but we got the last laugh when we won and celebrated in front of them. To cap it all Mc Hugh signed for the succesful north-west club on a FREE few weeks ago.:)

20/01/2006, 6:30 PM
To cap it all Mc Hugh signed for the succesful north-west club on a FREE few weeks ago.:)McHugh signed for us?:eek: When?:confused:.

On a side note, would Derry not be more North than North West?

20/01/2006, 6:35 PM
try sayin that in a pub surrounded by drogheda or bray fans
Say it yourself! Oh, wait...I see...:p

What about Alan Bennett's own goal for Cork against Rovers in the Cup a few years back? Lobbing his keeper with a slide tackle from half-way!

Partizan
20/01/2006, 6:40 PM
In my 20 years following the Blues, i have seen some classic moments:

1984/85 season against, (jaysus cant remember), Tiao Brazil hit the far corner flag from a free kick

Johnny Matthews ran onto the pitch with the Superman outfit after we beat Sligo in Kilcohan in 1990 to get promoted. The opening day of the 1990/91 season when hundreds of fans staged a demonstration to demand that Johnny be reinstated which held the game up briefly.

The unofficial opening of the stand in the RSC against CHF in a blizzard in January 1996 when 150 of us stormed at the fencing that surrounded the stand much to the consternation of Milo Corcoran.

But the time under Jimmy McGeough and the almighty tussles against the
C/\wkies in 2003/04 go down as legend. Dan Connor sitting on the ball in the RSC as we beat the F@t P@ck 3-0, Connor doing again that previous summer when he squirted his water bottle into the Shed only afterwards to see about 100 angst ridden pubescents getting chased away outside the ground by some elderly stewards.... to Pat Purcell's winning goal at the X in April 2004 right in front of the Shed. I have that picture somewhere....... priceless.

20/01/2006, 6:41 PM
McHugh signed for us?:eek: When?:confused:.

On a side note, would Derry not be more North than North West?

He said "successful" - not dreadful. One minor trophy in 11 years does not equal success.... :D

And you're right - Derry would be more North than North-West. Just like Sligo would be more West than North-West....

20/01/2006, 9:07 PM
afterwards to see about 100 angst ridden pubescents getting chased away outside the ground by some elderly stewards

I think it is rose tinted glasses there my friend, the gardai were there an hour an a half after the game, It was Jimmy McGeough coming out into the middle of the crowd pleading with them that sorted that. Connors was no where to be seen either. I have photos of all of that.

Student Mullet
20/01/2006, 11:12 PM
Once after hitting the post in Belfield twice before kicking his shot wide Petit walked over to Dermot Morgan who was standing behind the goal and asked him, "did you bless that post father?".

21/01/2006, 12:56 AM
funniest ever for me happened in the last winter season. gareth gorman got nailed in the balls&went off for treatment right in front of me&my mates on da old stand side. he was off for bout 5mins&da look on his face was priceless. eventually he went back on&within a minute he got another smack in the balls&hit da deck like a sack of potatoes, i was in agony laughing by this stage. any1 who ever supported a team containing gorman will appreciate this story far more

Bald Student
21/01/2006, 1:10 AM
The day after Beckham scored against Wimbledon from the half way line, Andy Myler did the same against Finn Harps. Anything you can do, I can do better!

21/01/2006, 8:33 AM
Robbie Doyle scored from a free kick Vs. Longford for Bohs, runs to the bohs fans and trys to jump the hordings, creams himself ! classic stuff......

or we were playing Shels a few seasons back at the Carlisle, it was a big family day event and Rocky the seagull was behind the nets with kids etc.... on a bouncy castle, Owen Heary boots the ball, goes way to far, out of play, ball smashes Rocky on the head, his mask comes flying off, he goes flying himself, kids start to cry....... brilliant !
Remember them both! Classics.... Robbies actually caught on camera to!

21/01/2006, 8:41 AM
try sayin that in a pub surrounded by drogheda or bray fans, i agree with the bray comment drogheda bein in dublin cause we all know its just a small town in dundalk;)
We are not and will never ever be a Dublin club, FACT! So give it a rest!

21/01/2006, 8:59 AM
yeah, Derry(ok maybe Harps when they are up) and Cork. You dont leave the Jackeen suburbs the rest of the time

Well now in 2006 there will be
Waterford... 100 miles from Dubin how is that a suburb? It's closer to C**k or chrissakes... Sligo 140 miles from Dublin.... how is that a suburb of Dublin?
Longford is 80 miles from Dublin... that is the same distance as Cork is from Waterford..

You clearly didn't do honours Geogo in the leaving did you boy?:D

1 9 2 8
21/01/2006, 12:45 PM
A good few years back when we were playing Harps their supporters were in the Railway end. When a train passed they all turned around and started waving at it. Then the Shed started singing "what's it like to see a train"

21/01/2006, 12:53 PM
about 2 years ago when we were going no where and in front of me this kid stood up to give the ball back to someone...but he didnt realize the seat went back up and he hurt himself badly....was laughing for about 10mins

or when gorman was playing bad[dont know why i said that,everyone should assume] and seanie should "G,wtf was that" and everyone started laughing at him

there are more,cant beat the showgies

oh when we were beating galway 4-1 and lally did something stupid and all the shed heads starting running down towards him

and when it was near full time we all started taking the pi$$ of the invisible galway fans:cool:

21/01/2006, 12:55 PM
i forgot

darren jack

what a guy

aido_b
21/01/2006, 1:17 PM
A few definitely come to mind,

Seeing Richie Baker give Robbie "Mad Dog" Brunton a bit of stick a few seasons back in Dalymount. Brunton ran from left backn to left wing on a wet pitch, slid about 10 yards from Baker and creamed him into the advertising boards in front of the Jodi stand, classic!

Another one which comes to mind is seeing Trevor Molloy kicking a corner flag when taking a corner for Pats vs Bohs. From that same game, Ricky O Flaherty (st pats overweight striker) attempting a bicycle kick and landing on poor oul Maurice O Driscoil!Blocker was in bits for days!

Shaun Maher pulling out a Cryuff turn on Youri Djorkaeff against Kaisurslatuen has to be up there, and all the Bohs fans chanting, you can stick your world cup medals up your a*se, Maher made him look like a fool!

My favourite however is Paul Byrne being slagged off with you fat b*stard after he left Bohs as he walked along the bottom of the jodi only to return a few minutes later eating a hotdog and chips! classic!

21/01/2006, 1:26 PM
In "de jacks" a few years ago three Kildare County players bashed into each other at the half way line knocking out tow of them!

Dangers run onto the field and calling a certain black player a few names :rolleyes:

Fran Hitchcock going in goals and saving a peno against de drogs from barry o'connor thus cealing his move to shamrock rovers (o'connor that is)

before longford became a club they visited with the usual team bus from Dublin, some clubs still do this :cool: Center half gets injured and the left full is asked by his manager to go onto the middle, "but no, he roars in a broad dub accent, i wont know what to do!" And of course how the limerick faithfull can wind up certain players no end and get them sent off that usually makes me cry with laughter. :)

21/01/2006, 2:17 PM
AT the Showgrounds singing to fatboy Davey and the stewards....
"were only hear to annoy you....here to annoy you"
It had the Guards and the rest of us laughing...Brillaint!

Also this year in Athlone when they scored they finally broke into song....
to the tune of the great escape!:D There faces when we started slagging them!

A couple of years ago we were watching the boys do there warm up and tony Folan twice got smashed in the balls.....it was especially funny caus the second time he was still on the sideline recovering from the 1st time!:p

21/01/2006, 2:26 PM
UCD -V- Longford(???) a couple of years back.

There was a throw in for Longford, defender stands in his way- and with that the thrower bounces the ball off his head!

Fcuking marvellous stuff!
It was Eric Lavine that got hit with the ball that night.

Dont know what game it was last season, but Paul Keegan went over the wall near section o in Flancare hilarious stuff.

Wasnt funny at the time but I think it is now, Stephen Paisley scoring in the Setanta Cup last season and then sent off for his shirtless celebrations.

Mad Tom handing out his Christmas cards, telling people to give them to their mammys :p

Bosco
21/01/2006, 3:04 PM
Rob McAuley firing a throw full force into a Longford player's head and getting booked for it. :D

Edit: Just noticed the second page. I assume this is the same incident Raheny Red is thinking of.

Into Lavines face as far as i can remember!

"Ye must have banned your home fans"-Rovers fans in flancare during the game they were nearly banned from attending.

Aaron O'callaghan kicking a ball at pat fenlon while nutsy and matthews were arguing during our 4-1 demolition of shels last year!

21/01/2006, 3:10 PM
Into Lavines face as far as i can remember!

"Ye must have banned your home fans"-Rovers fans in flancare during the game they were nearly banned from attending.

Aaron O'callaghan kicking a ball at pat fenlon while nutsy and matthews were arguing during our 4-1 demolition of shels last year!
Aaron also threw water over Robbie Doyle I think it was, as they were going into the dressing rooms in Flancare one night, what a messer

Neish
21/01/2006, 3:25 PM
My top 3 from the crazy world of the F.B.T.N Explained below

No.1
http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/2116/jp13iw.jpg
No.2
http://homepage.eircom.net/~rdcomputing/Pages/Features/Scrapbook/pages/fbtn_firstdivcupfinal_jpg.htm
No.3
http://img482.imageshack.us/img482/512/riffraff1ic.jpg

No1= Our infamous & ex-head stewart John Patton tackling a streeker, What the pic doesn't show is the strEeker dodged john's lunge and John ended up mouth and nose in the pitch:D
No2 = The F.B.T.N. leather hats possie
No3: The F.BT.N no drink protest after we were demomised in a local journilist

hoopy
21/01/2006, 5:49 PM
When manager of Pats, Dolan running past us in the main stand in Tolka with his arms up, then slipping and hitting the mud

21/01/2006, 6:27 PM
When manager of Pats, Dolan running past us in the main stand in Tolka with his arms up, then slipping and hitting the mudThat reminds me of an incident in Finn Park a few years ago. One of their main stewards(always trying to show his authority to the Rovers fans:mad: ) was giving out to one of our fans and then when he was finished, he was walking away and slipped and landed on his arse with muck all over him, all of us had a good laugh at that bit:D

21/01/2006, 8:40 PM

Think he was aiming for Eamon Collins by all accounts! I also remember Pat Dolan munching his way through about four Mars bars one after the other pitchside one night when with Pats. He started roaring about some decision and somebody shouts "ah shut up and eat a Mars bar Dolan!". He actually laughed if I remember rightly.

21/01/2006, 9:37 PM
The Enda-McGuill Cup final last season in the Carlisle. Maurice Dunne chases down a ball that is going out of play (towards the seats about 10 yards past the halfway line towards the Bowling Alley). Maurice continues chasing 'till the ball is gone over the line (he never looked like getting to it TBH) and he cant slow himself down in thime to avoid a collision with the wall. Legs hit the wall and over he goes, only to re-appear some 5-10 seconds later looking a bit dazed:D

sfc red
22/01/2006, 12:12 AM
Funniest moment in EL history for me has to be Dolan getting sent off for Pats against Shels and then hopping over the fence and running around the perimeter of the field doing laps :D

Student Mullet
22/01/2006, 2:14 AM
Two more:

Told to me by a dublin born Harps fan: Pat Dolan was walking along the sideline before a Cork game when he said, "The pitch is a bit soft.", my friend shouted back; "The pitch isn't soft, you're a fat *******.".

During the infamous battle of Belfield, UCD (as we were then known) took the lead against Limerick. Myself, Aberdonian Stu and two supporters not on this forum jumped up, hugged, then fell over and started rolling down the hill in one big 60 stone mass. Pat Dolan and Eoin Hand, below us on the slope, moved faster than I've ever seen a fat ******* and someone recovering from cancer move in my life.

Student Mullet
22/01/2006, 2:23 AM
RE: My above post.
******* means b a s t a r d

22/01/2006, 11:10 AM
Originally posted by Student Mullet
******* means b a s t a r d

Really :eek:

I couldn't sleep all night, I was tossing and turning trying to figure that one out!

22/01/2006, 12:06 PM
******* means b a s t a r dEver hear of the EDIT button?:).

monzo
22/01/2006, 3:24 PM
I started a thread on the same topic not so long ago... [/Nostalgic]

For me when a local photographer suddenly turned around and caltered the linesman was funny (last season against Pat's iirc), and he then had to be replaced!

Against Bray last season (first home match) when a black dog ran onto the pitch escaping everyones attempts to grab it. Some stewards came onto the pitch only to be booed!

When Chris Breen scored in our league match against Galway in 2004 to give us what I think was the winner the heavens poured exactly the moment the ball hit the back of the net!

Paddy McGrenaghan (or Rivaldo as he was nicknamed) was warming up with some free-kicks at half-time (final game of last season versus Bray, and what was also Paddy's last game for Harps) and took one which went a bit wide and ended hitting some woman's soup, which ended up splattering all over her! :D She spent about five minutes cleaning herself before going back to order another soup!

That match also the linesman was having a bit of a sh*te game and at the beginning of the second half some fan started verbally abusing him all on his own (he wasn't really serious though, more of having a laugh): "F*cking hell linesman could ye not f*cking see the ball was out you f*cking c*nt" or something like that, going on for a good minute. What made it more funny was that the ground was half empty (what with the title decider being on TV / us having F-all to play for). I was nearly in stitches laughing - as was another guy although I could see he was trying his best not to as his wife wasn't too humoured!

Isn't really funny now but at the time about 60 harps fans belting out "You can stick your f*cking treble up your hole *drum* *drum*" when we were playing well against Derry in the league was quite funny.

22/01/2006, 3:33 PM
[/Nostalgic]
When Chris Breen scored in our league match against Galway in 2004 to give us what I think was the winner the heavens poured exactly the moment the ball hit the back of the net!

Was that the game up in Ballbofey were yee scored 2 goals in the last few minutes too beat us 2-1.That was the biggest sickner!:(

Speranza
22/01/2006, 4:38 PM
Isn't really funny now but at the time about 60 harps fans belting out "You can stick your f*cking treble up your hole *drum* *drum*" when we were playing well against Derry in the league was quite funny.

Hilarious, fans of one of the least succesful eL clubs EVER teeling us to stuff our trophies. You have made my day. :D

rebs23
22/01/2006, 8:10 PM
I think it is rose tinted glasses there my friend, the gardai were there an hour an a half after the game, It was Jimmy McGeough coming out into the middle of the crowd pleading with them that sorted that. Connors was no where to be seen either. I have photos of all of that.

Your worse to repsond to a fella from the Workers Party, probably claims to have seen Stalin knocking down the Berlin Wall!!

stevieontour
23/01/2006, 5:33 AM
Bohs v Shels ,, I think '94

One of the Bohs' Stewards running towards our area to scare people from climbing up the Fence in the Connaught Stand.

Only problem being, it was a very wet day and the poor lad lost his footing and went crashing into the Advertising on his Ass to the Delight of all the Shels fans :D

sfc red
23/01/2006, 7:11 AM
94? Are ya mad that was only a year or two ago if we're talking about the same incident!

23/01/2006, 11:26 AM
That was definitly not '94 more like '04 - obviously a typo there!

How did I manage to forget that one, what a moment???:D :D

23/01/2006, 11:48 AM
Not on the pitch but I remember chatting to Rovers (Sligo that is) legend ;)
Johnny Hoakes. He was cycling around town so we accosted him around
JFK Parade. I think he was trying to show off by doing a wheelie but ended
up nearly breaking himself, and the bike in two :D Kind of had to be there
but I was priceless!

sparkey
23/01/2006, 1:17 PM
When John Stacey rewrote the rule book by moving the Ball back ten yards from the Defencive Wall at a free kick for the Town in Flancare.:eek:

Colin Nataros Olympic standard Dive for the peno down in the RSC :D

At Half time in a friendly against Celtic in the Rugby Grounds in 1985 a streaker ran onto the pitch and the woman next gto me shouted out that she had seen better legs hanging out of a snack box.

And especially funny was the day Section O wound up Ritchie Baker so much that he had a go back at them and Keeley had to move him across to the other side of the pitch. Priceless

23/01/2006, 1:40 PM
Courtesy of Patsy McGowan's legendary book. In the 70s Harps were playing at home in a downpour and only one lunatic was standing on the open far side. So p1ssed off was he at the linesman that he got a plank of wood, 5 feet long apparently, and belted the linesman with it.:D :D

Think I laughed all the way home! Thanks Rodney.

23/01/2006, 2:39 PM
Many moons ago .....Athlone Goalkeeper (Mick O Brien ?)swinging out of the crossbar which then snapped:D

From the Indo.......

The loneliness of the long-term goalie

There is something about the predicament of the 'keeper which can drive a man over the bar, writes Declan Lynch

IT IS 25 years or more since Athlone Town played Finn Harps in the FAI Cup semi-final in Oriel Park. But those of us who were there , especially those of us who were supporting Athlone, saw things that day which put the antics of the crazed Fabien Barthez into some sort of perspective.

We saw things that day that no-one should see.

We saw the colourful Athlone goalkeeper Mick O'Brien swinging from the crossbar and breaking it. Twice.

And some of us can still hear the public address announcement: is there a carpenter in the ground ?

RTE had some sort of a black-and-white camera at the match, and soon these harrowing images were being screened on English television. They were all laughing at us.

"Wot a plonkah!," they chortled.

And yet it was all quite unjust. Athlone lost five-nil that day, and they were lucky to get nil. But O'Brien, an agile and charismatic 'keeper and perhaps the fittest man in Ireland, was hardly the chief culprit.

At times on that terrible day he seemed like the only Athlone player on the park who was in any way troubled by the general awfulness of the display. He cared. And perhaps in the end, he cared too much.

Because when it all started to unravel, and he found himself up there, where he could hear the strange music, he clearly forgot that the crossbars at Oriel Park were made of wood, and not the metal of St Mel's Park, Athlone from which he had been swinging to his heart's content for years.

The first breakage took about 15 minutes to fix. When the teams came out again, Harps scored twice to make it four-nil, at which point O'Brien was seen to climb the netting and to throw himself bodily onto the bar, collapsing the goal for a second time.

"He is very dedicated and a bit headstrong," his manager explained. Sent off and pilloried by the Dublin Four media, the player himself added :"I was trying to fix it, when it came crashing down on top of me. The corner of the post seemed a bit loose so I jumped up to try and mend it. When I touched it the post came away in my hand."

He also explained that it was his habit to swing from the crossbar to make sure the ball went over, and to keep the crowd happy by doing somersaults in the goalmouth. "There's a third reason," he added darkly. "I think I might be over-fit." :D