View Full Version : Fantasy Band(dead musicians included)

Dublin12
20/01/2006, 10:32 AM
Who would you have in your band then?.Got me thinking a bit and it's not as easy as it seems cos there's always somebody else that you'd want in.Here's mine anyway:

Singer -Thom Yorke
Guitarist - Jimi Hendrix
Guitarist 2 -Kevin Siields
Bass - Jah Wobble
Drums - Keith Moon
Keyboards - Lee Perry
Strings - Warren Ellis
Novelty act-Bez:D

Don't know what I'd call them yet!

Fire away then,whats yours.

20/01/2006, 11:01 AM
Singer - Ian McCulloch
guitarist - Dave Gilmour
Guitarist 2 -Noel Gallagher
Bass - Peter Hook
Drums - Mel Gaynor
-Keyboards - Jean Michelle Jarre
-
Novelty act- Frank Sidebottom:cool:

20/01/2006, 11:05 AM
Singer - Elvis
Bass - Tim Commerford
Guitar - Slash
Guitar2 - Dave Navarro
Drums - Dave Grohl

Novelty - the freak who used to dance on stage with Limerick band woodstar. He's in the video for "Last Sad Verse In A Dumb Punk Song"

Not quite sure what they'd sound like, but it would be one hell of an after party!

noby
20/01/2006, 11:31 AM
Mark E.Smith, Morrissey, Kevin Rowland, Stuart Staples - Barbershop quartet

Reni playing the spoons during the intermission

ken foree
20/01/2006, 2:34 PM
Who would you have in your band then?.Got me thinking a bit and it's not as easy as it seems cos there's always somebody else that you'd want in.Here's mine anyway:

Singer -Thom Yorke
Guitarist - Jimi Hendrix
Guitarist 2 -Kevin Siields
Bass - Jah Wobble
Drums - Keith Moon
Keyboards - Lee Perry
Strings - Warren Ellis
Novelty act-Bez:D

Don't know what I'd call them yet!

The Dirty Eight? :D

Dublin12
20/01/2006, 2:45 PM
The Dirty Eight? :D

LOL,yeah good one that!

hamish
20/01/2006, 3:00 PM
Drums : Ian Paice (Purple)

Bass: Tiran Porter (Doobie Brothers) or Roger Glover (Purple)

Rhythm guitar/vocals: Steve Earl

Lead guitar: Jan Akkerman (Focus)

Piano: Billy Preston

Organ/Synth etc: Jon Lord (ex-Purple) or Ricky Wakeman (Yes)

Saxaphone/Keyboards/Guitar: Alto Reed (AKA Tommy Cartmell - Silver Bullet Band)

Lead vocals/guitar: John Fogerty (ex-Creedence)

Lead Female vocals: Maria McKee (ex Lone Justice)

Groupie Inspector and Evaluator: Hamish:D

I left out dead rock stars.:D

20/01/2006, 3:42 PM
or Ricky Wakeman

I left out dead rock stars.:D

Are you sure?:D :rolleyes:

ThatGuy
20/01/2006, 3:45 PM
Drums - Alan Wren
Bass - John Enthwistle
Lead Guitar - John Squire
Rythm Guitar & Vocals - Lee Mavers

Neish
20/01/2006, 4:32 PM
Bass: Peter Hook
Drummer:Reni (With Keith moon on the Bongos)
Vocalist:Ian Curtis
Guitarists: Johnny Marr & John Squire

hamish
20/01/2006, 4:45 PM
Are you sure?

Hee hee. Poor Rick - great creac when he's on Never mind the buzzcocks.

He was an awful man for the drink when Yes were at their pompous peak and he constantly tricked interviewers in the bar after a gig if they asked him, "Where are you playing next?"

He'd reply, "Myrand".

Interviewer. "Myrand??":confused:

Wakeman, "I'll have a double scotch, thanks very much":D

I remember that sceal from an old Melody Maker. He was notorious for that scam.

20/01/2006, 6:51 PM
I'm surprised nobody has put Philip Lynott in any of their bands....

hamish
20/01/2006, 7:39 PM
I'm surprised nobody has put Philip Lynott in any of their bands....

eh..........he's dead.

Does this thread include dead musicians too???

20/01/2006, 7:42 PM
eh..........he's dead.

Does this thread include dead musicians too???Eh, look at the thread title:D :p.

Gerrit
20/01/2006, 7:53 PM
as a die-hard Echo & The Bunnymen fan, I gotta name those and build my band around them.

VOCALS - Ian McCulloch
GUITAR - Will Sergeant
GUITAR 2 - Daniel Ash
BASS - Nicky Wire
DRUMS - Rat Scabies (if he promises to ditch his bullying and pay Dave Vanian the loyalties he deserves)
KEYBOARDS - Andy Barlow or Gary Numan

LYRICS - Ian McCulloch, plus a few songs by Nicky Wire

hamish
20/01/2006, 8:18 PM
Eh, look at the thread title

Jaysus, I'm even further off the planet than usual today, sligoman. Sorry about that:o :D

I saw Lynott a good few times when Lizzy were at the peak - don't think he was that great a bass player but maybe his overall contribution - great frontman, vocalist, shaper:D would make him a candidate for the perfect band list.

Also, if I'd been fully awake I'd have Rory Gallagher in place of Jan Akkerman.

The most together live band I ever saw were The Silver Bullet Band - they were tighter than a camel's hole in a sandstorm -really tight.

21/01/2006, 4:14 PM
Jaysus, I'm even further off the planet than usual today, sligoman. Sorry about that:o :DCan't believe you fell for that Hamish, I edited the thread title after it to include the "dead musicians included" bit. Haha, :p.

21/01/2006, 4:21 PM
PHIL LYNOTT(Thin Lizzy) - Vocals
JOHN BONHAM(Led Zep) - Drums
JIMMY PAGE(Led Zep) - Lead Guitar
RORY GALLAGHER(Solo artist/Taste) - Guitar
JACK BRUCE(Cream) - Bass

Here is a simiar thread i put up recently on TFO website
http://forum.thefulloctave.com/viewtopic.php?t=60

hamish
21/01/2006, 7:31 PM
PHIL LYNOTT(Thin Lizzy) - Vocals
JOHN BONHAM(Led Zep) - Drums
JIMMY PAGE(Led Zep) - Lead Guitar
RORY GALLAGHER(Solo artist/Taste) - Guitar
JACK BRUCE(Cream) - Bass

Here is a simiar thread i put up recently on TFO website
http://forum.thefulloctave.com/viewtopic.php?t=60

WTF - no Ian Gillan on vocals???:eek: :eek:

and you left out Glover on bass:p

Can't believe you fell for that Hamish, I edited the thread title after it to include the "dead musicians included" bit. Haha,

Feck it, I was going to say that in my above post that the dead bit wasn't in the title when I first posted - anyway Beeslow are playing Strand Celtic tomorrow in the Connacht Cup and we'll take it out on ye.:D

Forgot to mention the Muscle Shoals as backing musicians for my superband,

21/01/2006, 7:34 PM
Beeslow are playing Strand Celtic tomorrow in the Connacht Cup and we'll take it out on ye.:DWhat age team is that? I know a few guys that play for the u-18's I think.

hamish
21/01/2006, 7:56 PM
What age team is that? I know a few guys that play for the u-18's I think.

Junior level I think Sligioman. Saw it on page 552 on aertel. If I feel well enough I might go down to see some of it.

All time band full of mad, bad and irrititable tempered fcukers:D

Vocals: Morrissey
Lead Guitar: Richie Blackmore
Guitar/Saxaphone: Van Morrison
Bass: Lemmy
Drums: Keith Moon
Keyboards: Keith Emerson

21/01/2006, 7:59 PM
Saw it on page 552 on aertel.Oh yeah, I see it there (http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p552.htm):rolleyes: :p.

21/01/2006, 8:32 PM
only dead lads

drums keith moon
bass john entwhistle
lead guitar jimi hendrix
rhythm guitar /vocals kurt cobain
piano /vocals freddy mercury

hamish
21/01/2006, 10:08 PM
Oh yeah, I see it there (http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p552.htm)

HUH?? I meant aertel on the telly.

Best ever Sligo rock band

Drums:
Bass:
Guitar:
Vocals:
Keyboards:

Groupie:
http://www.escort-ireland.com/488/Angel/irish-escort.html

:p :D :D

21/01/2006, 10:13 PM