View Full Version : Reading star rules out Irish switch(now says he would consider it)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

20/01/2006, 3:45 PM
Fair play to Kitson - a refreshing change to hear this kind of thing - Kevin Hunt has the same opinion on declaring for Ireland as Kitson

Morrison is nothing but a mercenery full stop.

Tired&Emotional
20/01/2006, 3:46 PM
Where did I say that my view is the only important one? I merely stated my view that I'd prefer if mercenaries like Morrison didn't play for Ireland.

And where did I say your view is not the only important one?
I only asked the question....!!
And I even acknowledged your opinion...

Bottom line: the rule is in the FIFA rulebook, accept it and move on.

20/01/2006, 3:48 PM
And where did I say your view is not the only important one?
there are others who get a say:rolleyes:

ThatGuy
20/01/2006, 3:53 PM
Fair play to Kitson, I agree with him 100%.

Tired&Emotional
20/01/2006, 4:02 PM

"Important" being the key word.....

Bottom line: the rule is in the FIFA rulebook, accept it and move on.

20/01/2006, 4:51 PM
Why do some people assume that saying that Morrison is not irish is having a go at 2G irish here? You should really be more secure in your own irishness than react like that. Besides there is a difference between having irish roots (lets say 5th generation) & qualifying to play for the National team.

zinedineontour
21/01/2006, 1:27 PM
Glad Kitson said what he did .. Least hes honest rather than thinking what he said and still playing for us regardless ... Nobody can fault the likes of clint for effort anyway ..

Saint Tom
21/01/2006, 2:54 PM
I must say I admire Kitsons statement. to play for your country is an honour and motivation in itself. He wouldn't do a job for us if he has no motivation to play.

lopez
21/01/2006, 9:52 PM
What's all this 'FIFA rule' sh*te? FIFA rules state that if a person is entitled to citizenship of a country (Tans, Welsh, Scotland, NI, Puerto Rico, etc. totally different case obvioulsy) then you can play for that country - hence the NI lads. It's not a FIFA rule; it's a national rule. Ireland, until recently, has allowed anyone born there to play for them, even if they were dropped by someone on a extraordinary rendition flight getting refueled at Shannon. Others are more choosy - until it comes to football of course (Cue Germany and Qatar) and they just hand out passports like the clap. If anyone has a problem with the criteria for citizenship, then have a go at the Justice Department, not FIFA.

22/01/2006, 12:17 AM
If anyone has a problem with the criteria for citizenship, then have a go at the Justice Department, not FIFA.
I don't think people mind anybody getting citizenship. Its the active pursuit of players, with the promise of helpoing their career, that I don't like. If Clinton Morrison or Matt Holland had've got their Irish passport at age 15 they'd be treated differently

lopez
22/01/2006, 10:29 AM
I don't think people mind anybody getting citizenship. Its the active pursuit of players, with the promise of helpoing their career, that I don't like. If Clinton Morrison or Matt Holland had've got their Irish passport at age 15 they'd be treated differentlyMaybe not you, but a couple of muppetts on this thread do mind that people that haven't been born or brought up in Ireland are getting citizenship.

A least someone like Matt Holland is entitled to citizenship in the way an Irish born applicant is (Clinton needs a Foreign Births Certificate). What about a situation where constitutionally a country declares no foreigners are entitled to citizenship and then if they are good at football they are chased. Qatar is a small country, but Germany??

Let's also turn this on its head and ask what about those born in the Irish republic who don't identify with the country? I can think of two off the top of my head still alive that would get into Celebrity Big Brother. Four more that are dead who'd still manage it. Must be hundreds, if not thousands, more in the general population. (BTW: These are people of foreign parentage. Add the likes of Bob Geldof or Terry Wogan and it's no wonder the FAI have to look abroad for players who have the commitment to perform at international level :rolleyes: ).

22/01/2006, 11:32 AM
But that commitment is a professional commitment only. Those same players try just as hard for Crystal Palace or Liverpool or whoever, it does not mean they should play for Ireland.

I don't know how any German fans feel about their government's attitude to talented Turks (et al) so I can't compare my attitude to theirs. Obviously the German immigration laws are flexible, and their attitude to non talents (?) is shocking BUT I'd have no problem is someone born outside of Ireland but having lived here for 5 years playing for Ireland. Much prefer that to the 3g's never having been here and discovering their Irishnesss purely to advance their career. Our Situation is actually closer to the Qatari one. Its both down to individuals finding a country willing to help their career.

(And before anyone starts, read my previous posts on this topic elsewhere, I have absolutely NO problem with people born outside of Ireland playing for us when they've always felt Irish (Kilbane, Babb, Kenny etc) )

lopez
22/01/2006, 1:09 PM
...I don't know how any German fans feel about their government's attitude to talented Turks (et al) so I can't compare my attitude to theirs.
As a country that disenfranchised, marginalised and then murdered a group of its own people with the complicity of a large part of the nation, I don't think I'll go there. Perhaps Germans' attitudes are like the Irish. Majority are that if the player performs, then good on him. But unlike Ireland, the citizenship laws are blood centred (therefore its hard to get citizenship for German born foreigners or naturalisation). However, when it comes to granny rules, Germany is far more generous than Ireland, who calls it a day at 3g. With Germany you can go back to Catherine the Great of Russia or the American Revolution to have that land-birth link to citizenship (100 years before the German state was created).

I'd have no problem is someone born outside of Ireland but having lived here for 5 years playing for Ireland. Much prefer that to the 3g's never having been here and discovering their Irishnesss purely to advance their career. Our Situation is actually closer to the Qatari one. Its both down to individuals finding a country willing to help their career.Again this suggests that being born/growing up in Ireland (26C) automatically means that you consider yourself Irish. This isn't always true.

However I agree these players are using citizenship for a career move and I understand that you don't consider them Irish in the way you would Kilbane et al. However, we're not alone in this, so why cut off our own noses? The only foreign press I've ever seen complaining about our team are the Tans, the hipocritical b*stards (Did you ever see the compilation of their cricket team in the eighties?) - nice to see that they have their readers on this board: That pint of Guinness joke is copyright of The Scum.

Every FA is guilty of this practice and even if they don't solicit citizenship for a player they like, their clubs certainly do. Don't be surprised if you see some of these Americans and Aussies in Europe who are 'gaining our respect' for baulking at playing for Ireland, possessing an Irish passport to ensure they are registered as a EU player and therefore safeguard their lucrative career in Europe.

23/01/2006, 1:46 AM
But unlike Ireland, the citizenship laws are blood centred (therefore its hard to get citizenship for German born foreigners or naturalisation). However, when it comes to granny rules, Germany is far more generous than Ireland, who calls it a day at 3g.Remember Paul Butler?

Again this suggests that being born/growing up in Ireland (26C) automatically means that you consider yourself Irish. This isn't always true. True but the argument isn't about people who don't want to play for Ireland. The other is a separate argument and as of now hasn't come into it in a footballing sense.

However I agree these players are using citizenship for a career move and I understand that you don't consider them Irish in the way you would Kilbane et al. However, we're not alone in this, so why cut off our own noses?
Well I'd consider it as doing the right thing

The only foreign press I've ever seen complaining about our team are the Tans, the hipocritical b*stards (Did you ever see the compilation of their cricket team in the eighties?) - nice to see that they have their readers on this board: That pint of Guinness joke is copyright of The Scum.
With due respect whats that got to do with anything? I've never read the sun in my life and like most here I've formed my opinions without their help

Every FA is guilty of this practice and even if they don't solicit citizenship for a player they like, their clubs certainly do. Don't be surprised if you see some of these Americans and Aussies in Europe who are 'gaining our respect' for baulking at playing for Ireland, possessing an Irish passport to ensure they are registered as a EU player and therefore safeguard their lucrative career in Europe.
Again I'd have no problem with this. I really don't mind who has an Irish passport. Its the people representing Ireland I care about

Tired&Emotional
23/01/2006, 10:23 AM
What's all this 'FIFA rule' sh*te? FIFA rules state that if a person is entitled to citizenship of a country (Tans, Welsh, Scotland, NI, Puerto Rico, etc. totally different case obvioulsy) then you can play for that country - hence the NI lads. It's not a FIFA rule; it's a national rule. Ireland, until recently, has allowed anyone born there to play for them, even if they were dropped by someone on a extraordinary rendition flight getting refueled at Shannon. Others are more choosy - until it comes to football of course (Cue Germany and Qatar) and they just hand out passports like the clap. If anyone has a problem with the criteria for citizenship, then have a go at the Justice Department, not FIFA.

The FIFA rule "sh*te" as you call it states that players with grandparents born in a given nation can play for that country....the "granny rule" I believe they call it!

23/01/2006, 10:31 AM
No, there's no such rule. FIFA allow anybody with Citizenship to play for that country. Some of our lads qualified for an Irish passport due to an Irish born granny, hence the nickname...

23/01/2006, 10:36 AM
Paul Butler qualified by marriage I think. Other countries have capped players who've been eligible purely by residency.

Tired&Emotional
23/01/2006, 10:39 AM
I obviously hadn't researched this one well at all! I suppose when every other country is doing it I wrongly assumed it was a FIFA thing...

This actually changes my stance now and having read earlier posts (incl yours and Lopez's) and TH's article today I would be leaning more toward agreement with you...

Cowboy
23/01/2006, 11:16 AM
I obviously hadn't researched this one well at all! I suppose when every other country is doing it I wrongly assumed it was a FIFA thing...

This actually changes my stance now and having read earlier posts (incl yours and Lopez's) and TH's article today I would be leaning more toward agreement with you...

In the past FIFA only asked that you qualified for citizenship until the early 90's (stand to be corrected on this datewise) when the insisted all players being passport holders. I remember being annoyed at some players using British passports in Budapest Airport when we played there in 89 or therabouts. Was there not a Brazilian who was granted a passpoprt by special decree in poland a few years back? I also remember Tony Dorigo and Gary Bailey playing for england simply on the basis of residency so the english are in no position to slag us off on this issue. (dont read them so dont really know if they stiull do this)

23/01/2006, 11:21 AM
Was there not a Brazilian who was granted a passpoprt by special decree in poland a few years back?

Nigerian? Olyisedebe (spelling?)
I think he played in Poland for a few years & then left for Greece.

23/01/2006, 11:25 AM
I also remember Tony Dorigo and Gary Bailey playing for england simply on the basis of residency so the english are in no position to slag us off on this issue.
Residency is a far more valid argument that having an Irish grand parent IMO. At least they've contributed something to the country

livehead1
23/01/2006, 11:43 AM

yeh that is him and he plays for portsmouth

lopez
23/01/2006, 12:04 PM
Remember Paul Butler?
Paul Butler who married an Irish citizen? Once upon a time a woman always took on the citizenship of her husband whether she liked it or not. Remember it wasn't long ago that they were de facto serfs who couldn't open bank accounts, etc without their husband's permission. In Ireland this extended to a consitutional rulling that they were obliged to give up work. These days in Europe, this act is contrary to human rights (obviously) and sexually discriminates. I know that if a woman marries a German male she too could become German. I'd be surprised if that didn't happen vice versa. Perhaps that's how Asamoah played for Germany.

Well I'd consider it as doing the right thing
That of course is your opinion. But it leaves Ireland at a disadvantage with the only benefit would be that I'd get tickets a lot easier.

With due respect whats that got to do with anything? I've never read the sun in my life and like most here I've formed my opinions without their help
The comment about second rate Brits and pints of guinness from el muppo on page 1 suggests that he reads the Sun or from another writer who's read it, because it's a plagiarised line from Jimmy Greaves (I also read the Scum myself as people leave it behind on trains). I've read a similar but more sophisticated line in more highbrow British rags. Point is that British newspapers have more than a fair share of the paper media in Ireland and clearly not only do some people form their opinions from it and what football they follow, but, more pathetically, they are bothered what they think of us.

The other point is that having read Spanish newspapers - the only other language I can speak well - after our seven competitive games since the early eighties, I've yet to read them complaining about Ireland's use of the granny rule. Suarez and/or Clemente complained about the state of the Lansdowne Road pitch, the aggressiveness of the players (1989:'Los lobos verdes') and other petty items. Not once did I see John Aldridge or Michael Robinson's great grandmother dragged up. Perhaps they think that's a bit rich because having already played Ferenc Puskas, Alfredo Di Stefano or Ladislao Kubalas.

Residency is a far more valid argument that having an Irish grand parent IMO. At least they've contributed something to the country
I was begginning to think you were someone who knew about Irish emigration, but this statement suggests that you're as clued up as Stars and Pablo. Would it have been better if their one Irish grandparent had stayed at home and 'contributed' to the country by being a burden to it? Ever heard of the Donelly Visas and how the Irish government pleaded with the US to give them an unfair allocation of Green cards? Or that Brian Lenihan told us that Ireland is too small a country to accomodate more than 4 million people? :rolleyes: Instead these people sent home large ammounts of money to help their families and Ireland's economy. So please, don't bring up the old 'they've contributed nothing' argument. They're granny probably contributed more than any of the numerous scroungers that the state still bankrolls, some of which are parents of current internationals.

23/01/2006, 8:29 PM
FFS I've said numerous times I'm not against people of Irish heritage playing for Ireland. I just sadi I think someone living in the country for 5 years has a better claim for representing ireland. Nowehere did I say the grankids didn't have a any rights...

Oh ans of course the Spanish don't complain, they're not our neighbours.

On the Pai Butler thing, wouldn't that mean his wife would become a British citizen? If anything it'd help my arguement. Can't get citizenship that way anymore.

But it leaves Ireland at a disadvantage with the only benefit would be that I'd get tickets a lot easier.
Well thats if you consider success the only thing that matters re the national team. Myself I'm ****ing embarressed by the whoring of the shirt. Tom Humphries article today summed up my opinion perfectly

Cowboy
23/01/2006, 9:06 PM

I stand corrected

Cowboy
23/01/2006, 9:10 PM

I'm not so sure if its for a short period, when criteria like this are open to interpretation I think it devalues international football.

23/01/2006, 9:44 PM
Well in Ireland, its 5 years and one day. Not too short a time IMO

lopez
24/01/2006, 10:07 AM
FFS I've said numerous times I'm not against people of Irish heritage playing for Ireland. I just sadi I think someone living in the country for 5 years has a better claim for representing ireland. Nowehere did I say the grankids didn't have a any rights...
As your response was to a Nigerian who left Poland for richer pickings shortly after gaining citizenship to play international football, I thought this was a poor choice of suggesting residents contribute more.

Oh ans of course the Spanish don't complain, they're not our neighbours.
Spain doesn't complain because they aren't our neighbours. It's because 5 - 10% (close to 100% regarding NI) of its population doesn't qualify to play for Ireland. That's what the British FAs are worried about. England have consistently shown that they are willing to utilise the granny rule. They took advantage of Rhodesia and South Africa's isolation in the seventies/eighties. When someone does it to them, their press goes into overdrive. The tans believe they 'lost' some decent players to the 'poaching' of the Irish (some who would have played for them; some who wouldn't). O'Leary, McGrath, Lawrenson, Townsend, etc. They'd love the residency style situation that operated before the sixties.

Now their clubs intimidate vulnerable 2G youngsters to be one-cap-wonders at 16 so that their options are curtailed. While you should know who you are at that age, not everyone is sufficiently brave nor politically sophisiticated as Kilbane and Breen. I met the mother of a QPR YTS youth (Trevor Challis ??) at a RoISSC meeting in 94 who told me that the options her son were given by Gerry Francis was either play for England Youth or face his career being terminated.

On the Pai Butler thing, wouldn't that mean his wife would become a British citizen? If anything it'd help my arguement. Can't get citizenship that way anymore.
I mentioned that the system was revamped in response to sexual equality legislation. The first time I saw this was in the early eighties when a German played for Austria by being married to an Austrian. There's no doubt that Butler used it purely to benefit himself.

Well thats if you consider success the only thing that matters re the national team. Myself I'm ****ing embarressed by the whoring of the shirt. Tom Humphries article today summed up my opinion perfectlyWhere's the whoring of the shirt? These people are entitled to Irish citizenship. As I said before if anyone doesn't like it, contact the Minister for Justice. The problem is approaching people to gain Irish citizenship. While I certainly find it unsavoury, I think its hardly embarrassing, not just because I couldn't give a f*ck what the British press masquerading as Irish newspapers think - and let's be honest here, that's who you are embarrased by, because who else is complaining? - (in fact if it p*sses them off so much, then IMHO go for it); but because it is a common practice throughout the Europe and the World.

24/01/2006, 3:59 PM
I respect Kitsons opinion, However, I happen to disagree with it.

can't fault the guy for being fortright in his views though.

Nationality and citizenship are purely legal matters and there to be availed of or not by those entitled to avail of them.

Beyond footballing merit, the only line you can draw on who plays for us and who doesn't is what they are entitled to under civil or state law. Thereafter, if they've not contravened any football rule, FIFA couldn't give a flying fcuk ...and nor should they.

co. down green
26/01/2006, 7:34 PM
http://oneteaminireland.bravehost.com/

DAVE Kitson has done an about turn with regard to his international future. He now says he will consider playing for Ireland if Steve Staunton comes knocking.This is in complete contrast to his remarks last week when he said he had no intention of declaring for Ireland.

But Reading's 25-year-old striker insisted he has had no contact from the new Republic boss.

Staunton will soon name his Ireland squad for their friendly against England's World Cup group opponents Sweden at Lansdowne Road on March 1.

Royals striker Kevin Doyle is almost certain to be involved and winger Stephen Hunt also has a chance following his recent impressive form.

But so far Kitson, who qualifies through an Irish grandmother, has had no contact with the Irish FA.

However, ex-Liverpool star Staunton has been keeping track of Kitson and was at the Madejski Stadium recently when he banged in a brace in the 2-0 victory over Coventry City.

Kitson, who has 17 goals in all competitions this season, admitted: "If they (Republic of Ireland) decide to make a move I would have to think about it.

"I don't want to be presumptuous so we will have to see. Until that happens I can't say one way or the other.

"But if you want to play international football and you're eligible for two countries you have to have a serious think.

"You have to be pretty outstanding to play for England these days and Ireland to a lesser extent because they have a smaller population.

"They've worked the 'grand-parent rule' well in the past as have Scotland and Wales and it's certainly helped them.

"Smaller countries have to explore every avenue but nobody has telephoned me yet and until that happens I won't be thinking about it."

If Staunton is trying to rebuild the morale of the team and instill the fighting spirit back into the squad, he should look no further than Kitson's Reading team mates Kevin Doyle and Shane Long.

Dave Kitson has no real desire to play for Ireland and hopefully that knock at the door will not come from Staunton.

26/01/2006, 8:23 PM
i take back all i thought about him now especially due to his previous stance

26/01/2006, 9:12 PM
Aye, it seems he has been persuaded by a few people.

Condex
26/01/2006, 10:30 PM
Whats the difference between Kitson and Morrisson, apart from being a better player Kitson is more honest...

TheJamaicanP.M.
26/01/2006, 10:36 PM
I reckon there has been contact between Staunton and Kitson's people. I think Kitson has been convinced that he should play for Ireland. Otherwise, I don't think he'd have made such a u-turn. We might not see him in the squad for the Sweden game but I think he will be called up before the real action starts in the autumn.
Are the likes of Zat Knight and Marlon King still looking to throw their lot in with the Oirish?

We could end up with the following striking options:
Robbie Keane
Clinton Morrison
Kevin Doyle
Stephen Elliott
David Connolly
Dave Kitson
Gary McSheffrey
Lee Trundle
Marlon King
Michael Reddy ...
:D :D

FarBeag
26/01/2006, 11:23 PM
No way. He can stick it where the sun dont shine.I cant support players using us as a second option when they cant get a game for their preferred country.

livehead1
26/01/2006, 11:48 PM
I reckon there has been contact between Staunton and Kitson's people. I think Kitson has been convinced that he should play for Ireland. Otherwise, I don't think he'd have made such a u-turn. We might not see him in the squad for the Sweden game but I think he will be called up before the real action starts in the autumn.
Are the likes of Zat Knight and Marlon King still looking to throw their lot in with the Oirish?

We could end up with the following striking options:
Robbie Keane
Clinton Morrison
Kevin Doyle
Stephen Elliott
David Connolly
Dave Kitson
Gary McSheffrey
Lee Trundle
Marlon King
Michael Reddy ...
:D :D
knight has played for england and king for jamaica

Qwerty
26/01/2006, 11:59 PM
This is more depressing news to add to the Gary McSheffrey announcement. It just goes to show how unprincipled people can be.

What I don't understand, though, is why people seem to be more upset about the likes of Kitson or McSheffrey playing for Ireland after they have clearly explained that they would have preferred to play for England, while at the same time they are pleased to see the likes of Holland or Morrisson playing for Ireland. Do people really think that someone like Holland, who had never even set foot in the country before he acquired citizenship and was selected to play for us, dreamt of playing for Ireland when he was a kid? Come on! Kitson and McSheffrey are just too more Englishmen, like Cascarino,Townsend and the rest of them, who will play for Ireland because it suits them, and as Kitson himself explained, they will be taking the places of Irishmen who actually wanted to represent their country.

Cas played under Eoin Hand, I think that gives him a pass. I was not happy about Townsend, Holland or Morrison but once they are in the squad there doesn't seem to much point in wasting enery disliking them. And besides they all have played and behaved when representing Ireland.

One Irish grandparent doesn't cut the Colman's for me - except for guys like McGeady who sign up at an early age. I think Stan has been unwise in being so public about the Granny-rule, it's makes us look bad, I think if we use the Granny-rule it should be at youth level preferably U-19 but I can live with U-21.

McSheffrey isn't eligible fullstop . If I'm wrong please correct me.

27/01/2006, 8:14 AM
taken from www.independent.ie

Kitson about-turn as Reading striker admits he would consider Irish offer
Gerry McDermott
in Montreux

AS Ireland manager Steve Staunton prepared himself for this morning's Euro 2008 qualifying draw in Switzerland, he was boosted by the news that Reading striker Dave Kitson is having second thoughts about not declaring for Ireland.

Last week, Kitson stated he wouldn't be putting himself forward for selection, even though he qualifies though his paternal grandfather, because he didn't believe in the 'granny rule'. But Staunton confirmed last night that there has been contact, although the player insists he has yet to speak to the Dundalk man. However, Kitson, who has scored 17 goals this season, admits he is having second thoughts about saying he would not declare for Ireland.

"If they decide to make a move I would have to think about it," said Kitson.

"I don't want to be presumptuous, so we will have to see. But if you want to play international football and you're eligible for two countries you have to have a serious think."

Staunton confirmed last night in Montreux, where he is attending today's Euro 2008 draw, that he intends to talk to Kitson. He watched the 25-year-old score twice against Coventry two weeks ago and he admitted he is also trying to sort out the eligibility of Coventry's Gary McSheffrey.

The striker has played non-competitive football for England's U20 side but there is an unconfirmed suggestion he may have played two competitive games for England's U19 side, which would rule himout of playing for Ireland as he is over 21 and thus unable to change his international allegiance.

Staunton also revealed that he is very happy with the response to his appeal last week for information about players who qualify under the 'granny rule'.

"I don't want to say who they are out of respect to them and their clubs but we have had a very encouraging response," said the Ireland manager.

dr_peepee
27/01/2006, 11:27 AM
Thats about the 2nd or 3rd time in the last year or so I've read mixed signals from him over this...:rolleyes:

lopez
27/01/2006, 11:55 AM
Surprise, surprise!! Another principled footballer.

Cas played under Eoin Hand, I think that gives him a pass.Not at all. Tony Galvin hummed and harghed about playing for Ireland and both he and his relevent parent didn't have a clue where his grandfather was from, delaying his first cap.

One Irish grandparent doesn't cut the Colman's for me - except for guys like McGeady who sign up at an early age.I agree with you there, although I'd be surprised that McGeady had just the one Irish grandparent seeing his attitude.

27/01/2006, 12:32 PM
Whats the difference between Kitson and Morrisson, apart from being a better player Kitson is more honest...

No difference, they should be both told to f**k off

as_i_say
27/01/2006, 12:54 PM
this is astonishing stuff really re:kitson. he obviously spoke from the heart about how he felt and if he makes a u-turn now he will surely come under stick from a lot of the irish public. its just ridiculous that we should even consider a guy that has said publicly that he is not irish.

same deal with kevin nolan.

Noelys Guitar
27/01/2006, 1:07 PM
The "interview" he supposedly gave was printed in the Indo. This is the same paper which stated categorically that Kerr was going to be appointed the new South Africa manager. Kerr himself has completely refuted this story. They stated that Kevin Nolan was inelligble to declare for Ireland. Completely wrong again. They NEVER retract their barstool top of the head stories. Every week there is a number of made up stories on the football pages relating to Irish football. I would like a journo from anywhere else other than O'Reillys sheets to ask Kitson directly exactly what he said to the Indo. Did they even contact him. Or is it AGAIN just another fabrication.

27/01/2006, 1:19 PM
"I don't want to be presumptuous, so we will have to see. But if you want to play international football and you're eligible for two countries you have to have a serious think." --- Kitson

Hardly earth shattering news. He'll have a think about it. Did he not think prior to his previous utterances - being a footballer, perhaps not. Anyway I don't take that as a sign he'll declare for us. It is, as usual, a "story" driven by a few quotes.

livehead1
27/01/2006, 2:16 PM
don't you bloody worry, there is no doubt at all that he will declare. Hes seen a great oppurtunity here with an international team, something to tell the grandkids if nothing else...

27/01/2006, 2:50 PM
so much for principles :(

Leinster Lim
27/01/2006, 3:15 PM
I would love to see Kitson lining out for Ireland our attack was so bad in the WC qualifiers that it sucked, bigtime. Let Staunton pick whoever he wants and see what happens we can't get any worse.

27/01/2006, 4:19 PM
What I don't understand, though, is why people seem to be more upset about the likes of Kitson or McSheffrey playing for Ireland after they have clearly explained that they would have preferred to play for England, while at the same time they are pleased to see the likes of Holland or Morrisson playing for Ireland.
I doubt people are "more upset". Just because we haven't stopped supporting the Ireland national team doesn't mean we support previous Ireland manager's decisions to call these players up. There's nothing the average fan can do about it.

Closed Account 2
28/01/2006, 2:35 PM
We could always play the likes of McSheffery and Kitson, bringing them on as subs in the final few minutes of a Unity Cup match and then not play them again.

In the long run that might filter out some of the more mercenaric declarations.

28/01/2006, 2:59 PM
`How would it?