View Full Version : Pat Dolan runs down the league
19/01/2006, 10:31 AM
This is taken from another message board
Did anyone else watch the FAI press conference unvailing of Wet Sponge Staunton and "his team" on setanta sports yesterday. Well all was a tad boring with the usual meet and greet of it all but in the studio they had bernard o'byrne (former ceo of the fai) and Pat Dolan.
As much as i hate to say alot of what Dolan said made sence except for on part:
When asked about whether any eircom league players would be blooded into the international set up he came out with an unbelievable answer. For a league which has made his name, gave him everything he has got this far his reply was there are not many players of international standard in the eircom league and (a direct quote) "lets be honest the eircom league is a joke anyway".
If this actually took place, then it is impossible that people will defend his actions without anyone then being able to question their intentions for defending this run down of the league, the league that gave Pat Dolan his soapbox to preach off for so many years. You cannot defend this under any conditions what so ever.
Speranza
19/01/2006, 10:37 AM
As much as I hate the man and his two-faced fake ways I think he was referring to the F.A.I. and how they run the league. He often bases his column around giving the F.A.I abuse so I wouldn't be surprised if that is what he was blabbering about.
ThatGuy
19/01/2006, 10:50 AM
Damn that Pat Dolan for speaking the truth. He should have gone on TV and lied.
Why didn't he tell us that the Eircom League is superb in every way? All the clubs are superbly run, the administration is great, the stadiums are top class, attendances are high, the youth structures are second to none, and we have a league full of players who could cut it against the likes of France at international level. :rolleyes:
19/01/2006, 10:55 AM
Yes, fair enough but you don't say something about the hand that once fed you!
He clearly could have said it differently. Dolan has made his living by working in the eL & wasn't so long ago he was praising the virtue of professional irish football.
19/01/2006, 10:56 AM
Pat Dolan called the league a joke??
Wow, the rumours are true he has been in Limerick checking out our facilities :eek: :p
ThatGuy
19/01/2006, 10:58 AM
The Eircom League is a joke. I am a member of an Eircom League club, I will go to around 25 games this year and I will spend a fortune doing so. You can't be offended by someone telling the truth, and Dolan is a man who would (sadly enough) probably die for the league to become great given the chance.
liamon
19/01/2006, 11:09 AM
.. and Dolan is a man who would (sadly enough) probably die for the league to become great given the chance.
And how wil it become great if it keeps getting abuse in the media?
We need positive publicity and spin to generate the interest to move this league on. Dolan should know this.
19/01/2006, 11:13 AM
Thanks for enlightening us on that TG.
I had all on my own twigged that we didn't have La Liga or the E. Premiership to boast about. Still, in my delusion I thought that the EL was composed of some talented players and a lot of honest folk doing their best to keep the beautiful game alive in Ireland difficult circumstances -- an uphill struggle in the face of some maladministration and deep political antipathy, but principally the kind of philistinism referred to. And that teams were supported by motivated, passionate and knowledgeable fans, albeit all too few in number.
Now that we know that the EL is indeed a joke, and its managers are to be applauded for telling it like it is, I suppose we should all look for better things to do with ourselves on Friday nights.
19/01/2006, 11:30 AM
I guess the main question here is which of the following 3 things was he ACTUALLY saying in-context :
1) That the Eircom League IS a joke - full stop (i.e. reporting fact).
2) That HE himself thinks the Eircom League is a joke (i.e. reporting HIS opinion).
3) That everyone ELSE thinks the Eircom League is a jone (i.e. reporting popular perception - particularly in reference to the Ireland Manager).
He could've been saying any of the 3 possible meanings above - none of which is great, but 2 or more of which he can hardly be hung for as he's just 'telling it like it is'.
As they tell alcoholics and gamblers - stage one to solving a problem is to first of all acknowledge that it exists....
19/01/2006, 11:34 AM
Did anyone actually see that programme on Setanta? He said it in an ironic kind of way. He was actually giving out that our manager will not be based in Ireland and that the whole going searching for players under the "granny rule" approach being adopted was not best for the long term. He said something like: Is it acceptable that we do not train our own players? Is it acceptable that players like Kevin Doyle need to move abroad to be considered for an international callup? Well apparantly in Ireland it is because lets be honest the eircom league is a joke anyway.
Clifford
19/01/2006, 11:49 AM
Did anyone actually see that programme on Setanta? He said it in an ironic kind of way. He was actually giving out that our manager will not be based in Ireland and that the whole going searching for players under the "granny rule" approach being adopted was not best for the long term. He said something like: Is it acceptable that we do not train our own players? Is it acceptable that players like Kevin Doyle need to move abroad to be considered for an international callup? Well apparantly in Ireland it is because lets be honest the eircom league is a joke anyway.
That's what I saw and wonder how someone who saw the interview could think differently. The guy loves the EL and can't believe that the scene keeps getting overlooked by international managers so consistantly.
19/01/2006, 11:56 AM
That sounds much more plausible.
harry crumb
19/01/2006, 12:08 PM
Dolan has praised this league more than anybody else in Ireland since he has come home from England.
And you pick a partial quote that may be taken out of context.
Give the guy a break.:mad:
19/01/2006, 2:12 PM
Dolan has praised this league more than anybody else in Ireland since he has come home from England.
Spot on.
BTW the "other MB" wasnt a cork one was it??:rolleyes:
Just on a point of order. He didn't come home to Ireland.
Obsessed, me? Nah...
19/01/2006, 3:45 PM
Is it acceptable that players like Kevin Doyle need to move abroad to be considered for an international callup?
The ironing is delicious....:rolleyes: :D
In fairness, don't mind A face, he's just obsessed with Dolan and has something against him for some reason!
As you said Harry, he's always praising our league and to pick a quote out of context like that is just plain wrong.
When I saw the beginning of this thread I couldn't believe it. Having listened to Dolan over the years, and despite the amount of league supporters who despise him, I've never heard ANYONE speak up for the league as much as he has, and I find it hard to think of anyone over the last decade who has generated as much publicity for the league. In fact I've seen him slated for over-hyping the game here. I found it amazing that he could have said what was in the original qoute. To then read the full quote of what he actually said puts it in a totally different light. To be honest the amount of venom directed towards Pat Dolan, from fans, other managers, commentataors etc always amazes me. OK, he shoots his mouth off a lot, but always to try and talk up the league. Why is this a hanging offence in some peoples eyes ? I don't know how many of you listen to "The Absolute Game" on Monday evenings on Anna Livia radio, but not a week goes by without Billy Bagster(Ex Monaghan manager) making some snide remark about Dolan, usually connected with his weight. Such personal remarks coming from someone who looks like a cross between Mr Beans Dad and the "Man from Del Monte" are a bit rich.
How do Limerick fans feel when they look set to appoint someone to help them in their "joke" of a league, just to add to his wallet?
19/01/2006, 9:40 PM
The ironing is delicious....:rolleyes: :D
Indeed, that is some quote from him in fairness.
Feech
19/01/2006, 10:43 PM
Just on a point of order. He didn't come home to Ireland.
Obsessed, me? Nah...
Point of order, you are wrong as Ireland was where he was born.
19/01/2006, 11:02 PM
No, he was born in Daegenham, Essex.
20/01/2006, 12:51 AM
How do Limerick fans feel when they look set to appoint someone to help them in their "joke" of a league, just to add to his wallet?
What the feck...?!?! :confused:
EnDai - have you actually been reading this thread...?
And sure -Dolan's only in the league purely and simply to make money. He doesn't even have a hint of any other form of motivation.... :rolleyes:
No, he was born in Daegenham, Essex.
No he was born in Ardrahan, Co. Galway but spent most of his childhood in Dagenham. FACT!
Rochey
20/01/2006, 9:12 AM
the minute i seen this topic I taught to myself that this is a definite cork fan posting this. Get over it will you :rolleyes:
20/01/2006, 9:14 AM
Point of order/pedant's corner: neither your point of order about Dodge's point of order, nor Dodge's point of order about ... what was it about? ... is a point of order.
They are points of information.
Just sayin'! :p
No he was born in Ardrahan, Co. Galway but spent most of his childhood in Dagenham. FACT!
Trust me Colm, he wasn't. He was born in Dagenham. I've seen his UK issued birth cert
20/01/2006, 9:36 AM
Trust me Colm, he wasn't. He was born in Dagenham. I've seen his UK issued birth cert
Point of odour, it was actually his twin brother Eamonn who was born in Dagenham - FACTISSIMO!!!
So I can see why you'd be confused.
20/01/2006, 9:58 AM
Jesus christ having an argument about where Pat Dolan was born!! :eek:
I've seen it all now!
20/01/2006, 10:01 AM
Here is your man with his facts again !! :rolleyes: :p
Roverstillidie
20/01/2006, 10:02 AM
Point of odour, it was actually his twin brother Eamonn who was born in Dagenham - FACTISSIMO!!!
So I can see why you'd be confused.
:D :D
Dolan was clearly a big suppoerter of the league but he seems to have got very cynical & now just snipes from the long grass.
20/01/2006, 11:59 AM
In fairness, don't mind A face, he's just obsessed with Dolan and has something against him for some reason!
Colm, for the most part these days, its people say the exact same thing about you being obsessed with Dolan, the guy can do no wrong in your eyes. I dont like the guy as a direct result of his actions. imo he took off with the rope and hung himself. You are like that with most things that happen at the club aswell, you give out yards about the club on one hand and then you seems to think that its only fair that Kearney be given riches beyond his wildest dreams and thats OK. Double standards, its like you want your cake but you have eaten it.
20/01/2006, 12:07 PM
Theres 2 indisputable fact in Colms eyes
1. Dolan is the messiah!
2. He's as Irish as a leprauchan!
21/01/2006, 9:53 PM
Jaysus, glad this aint true. If it were, you could argue the opinion in England about the EL would be getting better than our one when you consider things at Reading at the moment.
Whenever Steve Copell is on TV (Sky Spotrs News etc) and they talk about him pulling Kevin Doyle out of the a*se of nowhere he talks about scouting visits to Ireland enjoying some good football in a progressive league etc. Thats why I cringe sometimes when I'd see Roddy on TV, just waitng for him to come out with some slanderous comment. Love Dolan when he's on Euro panel's on RTE, oozes enthusiasm and belief, the type of character the league needs.
21/01/2006, 11:52 PM
I cringe sometimes when I'd see Roddy on TV, just waitng for him to come out with some slanderous comment. Love Dolan when he's on Euro panel's on RTE, oozes enthusiasm and belief, the type of character the league needs.
agree 100%
Student Mullet
22/01/2006, 2:20 AM
Point of order/pedant's corner: neither your point of order about Dodge's point of order, nor Dodge's point of order about ... what was it about? ... is a point of order.
They are points of information.
Just sayin'! :pI was going to mention that myself, but I tought I'd just be called a lazy grant sponging student.
22/01/2006, 5:03 PM
The league is a bit of a mess but thats no reason for fat boy to have a go
stevieontour
23/01/2006, 5:26 AM
It's all Relativity my dear Gentlemen.
I live in Australia and everyone here reckons that the new A-League is World class. As the games are so slow, there looks like they players have skills, but they wouldn't in a competitive league.
The Eircom League's biggest problem is it's proximity to the English Premier League, probably the best league in the world.
People in Ireland see English Football every week. Aussies see very little foreign football.
So if you compare it to the Premier League, it is a joke. Compared to the A-League, it's world Class!! :)
The question here is .. Is the Glass half full, or is the Glass half empty ??
So if you compare it to the Premier League, it is a joke. Compared to the A-League, it's world Class!! :)
Watched Crystal Palace v Reading last friday (2 of them best teams in the Championship) & neither team displayed more technique than the top eL sides. The players were a bit bigger & more physical but Cork City players have more skill.
The improvement in European performances so that top teams get maybe 6 games in europe per season along with summer football on good pitches has vastly improved the skill & tactial abilities of the eL. For €1-2m you could buy the best of the eL & get promotion from the Championshoip to the Premiership.
The eL is vastly underrated as product looks poor due to small crowds & bad facilities. What does the future hold?
geezer
23/01/2006, 10:46 AM
watched this tripe
if someone can tell me that the likes of fletcher, o shea, kewell, sissoko are miles ahead of anything i see in the first division i would laugh
they couldnt pass, tackle or use their brains overrated ****e