View Full Version : Morrisey
18/01/2006, 1:52 PM
No, not a thread about whether or not hes a knob, its just having previously dismissed him (as a knob :p ) I laid hands on "Singles" by the Smiths for eight quid in HMV, a bargain which has only been matched by The Stone Roses Greatest Hits for a tenner.
Just wondering if anyone can recommend some good solo stuff :confused:
Well, he also has a singles collection out, called Suedehead, so you could start there.
Otherwise I would say Your Arsenal and Vauxhall & I, both of which you should pick up at a reasonable price too.
18/01/2006, 2:03 PM
I laid hands on "Singles" by the Smiths for eight quid in HMV, a bargain which has only been matched by The Stone Roses Greatest Hits for a tenner.
Speaking of bargains I got P I L's compilation cd for 8 euro :cool:
18/01/2006, 2:12 PM
Well, he also has a singles collection out, called Suedehead, so you could start there.
Otherwise I would say Your Arsenal and Vauxhall & I, both of which you should pick up at a reasonable price too.
Thanks.
Is it much like the Smiths stuff. My knowledge of solo Morrisey extends only as far as Irish Blood and that song with the video with James Deans grave whos name escapes me :o
18/01/2006, 2:15 PM
a bargain which has only been matched by The Stone Roses Greatest Hits for a tenner.
€6.95 in Golden Discs.
Everyone should buy it.
Anyway back on topic . . . . . . I like Roy the Keen window-cleaner if that's the name of the song.
I like Roy the Keen window-cleaner if that's the name of the song.Roy's Keen
Viva Hate or Vauxhall & I are my own personal favourites
Roy's Keen
Viva Hate or Vauxhall & I are my own personal favourites
Supplement with Bona Drag and you get the best of Mozzers solo stuff
dcfc_1928
18/01/2006, 6:42 PM
Bona Drag - definitely
http://images-eu.amazon.com/images/P/B000025W0Q.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
Supplement with Bona Drag and you get the best of Mozzers solo stuff
19/01/2006, 9:16 AM
yeah ...Bona Drag (1989) and Vauxhall & I (1994).
my personal standout tracks on Bona Drag would be 'Ouiija Board Ouiija Board', 'Interesting Drug' and 'Yes I am Blind'
From 'Vauxhall & I' ....'Now My Heart Is Full', 'The More You Ignore Me (The Closer I Get') and 'The Lazy Sunbathers'
With the exception of the two singles 'Irish Blood English Heart' and 'First of the Gang To Die' 2004s 'You Are The Quarry' is a bit thin I think. It just doesn't sound like he stretched himself much on a lot of it.
Full UK tour here (http://www.nme.com/news/morrissey/21972)
Wonder will he play Ireland ?
19/01/2006, 2:41 PM
heard from "an industry source" who heard from ...um ...another industry source that he's going to do three Irish dates the week before the UK. two in the olympia in Dublin and one in Killarney INEC.
Remember who told you first :cool:
Gerrit
19/01/2006, 5:41 PM
Killarney?
And no Belfast? :eek: Why a date in a hole like Killarney and not here?! It makes no sense...:confused:
19/01/2006, 5:50 PM
Killarney?
And no Belfast? :eek: Why a date in a hole like Killarney and not here?! It makes no sense...:confused:
Just remember Gerrit -you heard it here first.
He apparently ASKED for a gig in Athlone but a suitable venue couldn't be found. Does the IT in Athlone not have a concert hall no?
Don't know why he asked for an Athlone gig. Family connection maybe? Thought his folks were from Galway.
20/01/2006, 10:34 AM
Surely Belfast would have been mentioned as part of the UK tour, No ??
Gerrit
20/01/2006, 7:49 PM
Most bands tend to call our wee town part of their Ireland tour. Well, whenever I see band t-shirts with the tourdates on the back, it says "Belfast, Ireland" or "Belfast, NI"
Anyway, Moz's tourdates don't mention Belfast. Maybe he doesn't like us :( It makes no sense though to include Killarney in a tour and skip the second biggest city on the isle.
hamish
20/01/2006, 9:18 PM
Just remember Gerrit -you heard it here first.
He apparently ASKED for a gig in Athlone but a suitable venue couldn't be found. Does the IT in Athlone not have a concert hall no?
Don't know why he asked for an Athlone gig. Family connection maybe? Thought his folks were from Galway.
Supermac wanted to build a big circa 8,000 seater concert hall in Athlone but local objections finished off that project. Jaysus, I'd have loved to have seen Morrissey live there.
Given the number of programmed, NICE stars about now, what I love about Morrissey is his contrary nature. Remember when Jool Holland wanted to jest with him on his BBC2 show last year and he just wouldn't play ball. Brilliant.:D Have his last album and while I'm not a Morrissey fanatic some great stuff on it.
22/01/2006, 10:34 PM
I got it as well but I didn't like the version of This Is Not A Love SOng that was on it. The original 7" edit was the best one. But it's overall quite good.
22/01/2006, 10:35 PM
Surely Belfast would have been mentioned as part of the UK tour, No ??
Belfast was on the island of Ireland last time I looked !!
It makes no sense though to include Killarney in a tour and skip the second biggest city on the isle. I know what you're saying but living in Cork, Killarney is a lot more preferable to Dublin never mind Belfast.
Belfast was on the island of Ireland last time I looked !!Not meaning to be controversial, cos there enough threads for that already. but when UK bands/artists normally do a UK tour Belfast is normally mentioned as part of that.
Gerrit
23/01/2006, 7:17 PM
From Cork Killarney is a good option of course, but we have to travel to at least Dublin or even Killarney on the other end of the isle :eek:
Anyway, am curious for the setlist, hopefully some Smiths songs just like last time.
In NME there's an interview with Moz, and a round-up/introduction to all tracks on the new album.
30/01/2006, 11:10 AM
Well we were told
Holland and Ireland tour dates
28 January 2006
Amsterdam Heineken Music Hall (Monday April 10th)
Killarney INEC (Thursday April 13th)
Dublin Olympia (Saturday April 15th and Sunday April 16th)
United Kingdom tour support
28 January 2006
The support on the UK dates will be Sons & Daughters and Tiger Army.
30/01/2006, 11:49 AM
heard from "an industry source" who heard from ...um ...another industry source that he's going to do three Irish dates the week before the UK. two in the olympia in Dublin and one in Killarney INEC.
Remember who told you first :cool:
...............Lionel Ritchie turns ...he switches ........he shoots .........oooohhh HE SCORES!!!!!!!!!!!
:cool:
31/01/2006, 2:01 PM
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a8/weemex/moz-coverart.jpg
I don't see many pics on foot.ie so if I'm breaking a rule I apologise in advance and just include a link instead http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a8/weemex/moz-coverart.jpg in case the mods see fit to delete.
This is reportedly the cover of the new Moz album.
I saw that in reference to the Palladium shows and thought it was just to promote them. Seems it is the album alright, though. Better than a tommy gun anyway, eh?
When are the Irish tickets going on sale?
Tickets now on sale on ticketmaster.ie
Full UK tour here (http://www.nme.com/news/morrissey/21972)
Wonder will he play Ireland ?
He is see: http://www.ticketmaster.ie/artist/770791?tm_link=tm_home_f1
Gareth
03/02/2006, 11:33 AM
i have my tickets.
07/02/2006, 12:30 PM
Balcony seats for Killarney booked.:cool:
Tonight is the night.
All excited. Killarney here we come.
CraftyToePoke
13/04/2006, 11:23 PM
Just wondering if anyone can recommend some good solo stuff :confused:
vauxhall and i for sure, the recent offering was a bit of a let down despite some decent singles on it.
14/04/2006, 8:19 AM
"Irish blood, English heart". Pah. Go sing it to Kevin Nolan. :rolleyes:
:ball: PP
14/04/2006, 9:03 AM
I could be wrong, but the version of ' This Is Not A Love Song' on the compilation is NOT the hit single version but a vastly inferior album track recorded with the Hotel Cabaret band line up from 1984 as opposed to the single version from 1983 with Keith Levene(guitar) and Martin Atkins (Drums) the final track with the classic line-up. Then again I could be Right :D
Gareth
15/04/2006, 4:08 PM
Leaving the house now and heading to this gig. :) Looking forward to it now!! :)
15/04/2006, 4:12 PM
Leaving the house now and heading to this gigYou've brought your laptop have you?:confused: :p.
Gareth
16/04/2006, 2:36 PM
Haha no, I left it at home :)
Great gig. Drank more than 3 pints for the first time this year and my body was not ready. Wasn't the best today. Thats the end of drink for another few months :)
adamd164
16/04/2006, 6:31 PM
How were the gigs lads?
Killarney was excellent, did 90 minutes including encore.
Some moron threw some drink on him during the 1st song but he never flinched and carried on regardless, plenty of chat between songs and the new songs sounded super live.
19/04/2006, 4:03 PM
thought Killlarney was okay. only okay though. Still going through this slightly irksome "crooner" phase so he is ...and the jokes were ..um...sad.
Not a great set and I didn't think the band were particularly tight either. quite a few of what Gilesy would call 'schoolboy errors' being made.
Neish
19/04/2006, 11:39 PM
He is playing Marley Park on August 22nd, good support acts too. See link http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/18003C8C90BC69D7?artistid=770791&majorcatid=10001&minorcatid=60
22/04/2006, 11:39 PM
overrated whiney whingey git who claims 2b irish.
BULLPLOP!
overrated whiney whingey git
We're all entitled to our opinion...
who claims 2b irish.
...but surely, with two Irish parents, he has a right to 'claim' to have Irish blood.
25/04/2006, 12:27 PM
Couldn't affors to go to Kilarney but might strech to Marlay Park. However people have said to me that Morrisey simply doesn't work outdoors, anyone confirm/deny this??
Also anyone else think the media are making far too much of this whole libido finding thing in the new album, I mean to me the guys written loads of songs about love in the past (Although admitedly not in the traditional sense)
As a relatively new/young Morrisey fan am I completely missing the point somewhere??? :o
I agree the press seem to be over doing the 'kegs between my legs' line. It seems to be mentioned on every press release.
01/05/2006, 8:44 PM
Morrissey.... my cousin met him and got his autograph once... it was all in block capitals.