View Full Version : Love Ulster March

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

02/02/2006, 5:55 PM
I've actually lost all interest in this topic and just want to see what the freaky story with the non-existant "page 6" is.

2 more posts I think should give us the answer That's fueled my last few posts too.
EDIT: Hey, no phantom page 7!

Thunderblaster
02/02/2006, 11:56 PM
I hope that this thread is not haunted by ghosts!!:eek: :D

06/02/2006, 11:00 AM
Rank hypocrisy. You view the GPO as hallowed ground obviously due to the struggle for freedom that occured there but then couldn't care less about the same search for freedom continuing in the six counties which make up Northern Ireland.

Great Post.
and it will be the same hypocrites that will turn out on the day with stones and buckets of P!ss etc.
as a genuine republican I hope the march doesn't go ahead because the reason for the march is to get a reaction. I for one won't be anywhere near it and would urge all sane nationalists/republican's to ignore the bigot's and leave them to it. unfortunetly I would put money on serious trouble on the day

22/02/2006, 12:18 PM
Just to follow up on my previous post......
In the local the other night a certain brand of off-shoot so called republicans where handing out fliers with their weekly newspaper asking people to gather at the garden of rememberance on the morning of the march to protest. looks like they've got their reaction all right

23/02/2006, 11:50 PM
When is the Love Ulster event anyways ?

klein4
24/02/2006, 8:16 AM
tomorrow as far as I can gather.

24/02/2006, 8:37 AM
These guy's really are nuts(IMO)

http://elblogador.blogspot.com/2006/01/dublin-dander.html

Dotsy
24/02/2006, 9:01 AM
These guy's really are nuts(IMO)

http://elblogador.blogspot.com/2006/01/dublin-dander.html

That discussion on that blog looks reasonable to me. Not quite sure why you think they are nuts. I don't agree with some of the points made by some of the posters but it seems like a well moderated debate.

klein4
24/02/2006, 9:13 AM
Is anyone going in to it?

24/02/2006, 1:42 PM
That discussion on that blog looks reasonable to me. Not quite sure why you think they are nuts. I don't agree with some of the points made by some of the posters but it seems like a well moderated debate.

Posted the wrong link and now the correct one wont open for me I'll try again later. basically its a blog about supposed collaberation between the IRA and the Gardai:rolleyes: , also claims that the Dail assisted in the formation of the Provo's when they split from the Officials:eek: . they plan to bring all this up in a rally outside the Dail tomorrow might go in for the comedy value alone :D

24/02/2006, 3:58 PM
I'm heading up tommorow alright, to take some photos of it, not to protest. The Love Ulster parade is starting at 12.30 at Parnell Square North and is moving on to O'Connell St. afterwards and then to Grafton Street. Sinn Fein are organising their protest against this around the Parnell monument, so if anyones looking to take some pictures, cause some trouble or both then thats gonna be the place

24/02/2006, 6:52 PM
Sinn Fein are organising their protest against this around the Parnell monument,

You sure its Sinn Fein? you might want to check that that there is not a republican in front of that

Dr.Nightdub
25/02/2006, 2:42 AM
Posted the wrong link and now the correct one wont open for me I'll try again later. basically its a blog about supposed collaberation between the IRA and the Gardai:rolleyes: , also claims that the Dail assisted in the formation of the Provo's when they split from the Officials:eek: . they plan to bring all this up in a rally outside the Dail tomorrow might go in for the comedy value alone :D

BGR, if you're interested in exploring this, go search out a copy of "Orders for the Captain" by James Kelly, the Irish Army officer who was given the responsibility for channeling weapons from the government down here to northern Republicans in 1969 -1970. The Sunday Times Insight team's book "Ulster" is also instructive. The transcripts of the Haughey / Gibbons arms trial of 1970 should also be in the public domain.

If you really wanna hit paydirt, try tracking down a copy of what was known as "The Black Book". I can't remember the exact title and I can't be ársed digging out my da's copy of it which I now have, but it was an anonymously-published pamphlet, brought out not long after the Provos split from the Officials, setting out the process by which that split happened and the role the Dublin government played in it.

Its basic thesis is that both Dublin and Maynooth were well worried by the leftward tack the Republican movement had taken in the early to mid-60s. When the North erupted in August 1969, the civil and religious authorities down here were therefore all too eager to channel support to anyone who didn't have a commie leftie slant to them - Jack Lynch, who was Taoiseach at the time, famously stated that the government wouldn't "stand idly by" and in hindsight, it seems they didn't.

At the same time, the likes of Gerry Adams, Billy McKee, Joe Cahill & co, stung by the "I Ran Away" taunts of 1969, were desperate and would have got into bed with anyone who was offering them guns and ammo, and so they paid the price demanded.

I mention Gerry Adams because it was widely accepted back then that he was the OC of the 'Ra in Ballymurphy - I can't remember whch battalion of the Belfast Brigade that was, it was in the days before the Provos adopted the Active Service Unit mode of organisation. One of my da's favourite pieces of memorabilia from those times is a hand-carved Celtic harp, smuggled out of Long Kesh in the early 70s, signed by all the inmates of hut number whatever, one of whom was "Gearóid Mac Adaim".

At one time in the North, mere possession of "The Black Book" was in itself an arrestable offence (they had an abundance of well dodgy legislation at their disposal e.g. Special Powers Act = internment). Because it was published anonymously, there was all sorts of theories about its origins. Some said it was Stickie (Official IRA / Sinn Fein) propaganda, born out of resent,emt at being eclipsed by the Provos. Some said it was MI5 black propaganda, aimed at discrediting the Provos. It could just as equally have been the truth.

From talking to my da, who had dealings with a lot of the major figures of the time, I'm inclined to believe that James Kelly and "The Black Book" was pretty close to the mark - that the Irish government, acting secretly without the knowledge of the Dail, had a significant input into the split of the Provos from the Officials. So your rolling eyes may be a wee bit premature.

25/02/2006, 1:01 PM
There would be no trouble, of course :rolleyes: (http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/7475012?view=Eircomnet)

liam88
25/02/2006, 1:23 PM
glad to hear the marchers didn't make it to the GPO-well done to thos ewho stopped it.....shame on those who hurt the guards though

onenilgameover
25/02/2006, 1:25 PM
glad to hear the marchers didn't make it to the GPO-well done to all involved :D

i was just in there and it was nasty stuff....very embarassing....those that stopped the march ripped up the place.turned on each other and the guards. I wouldn't be glad of that..

liam88
25/02/2006, 1:27 PM
i was just in there and it was nasty stuff....very embarassing....those that stopped the march ripped up the place.turned on each other and the guards. I would be glad of that..

So tell us-how far did the marchers actually get? Was it as bad as news is making out? Any marchers hurt?

25/02/2006, 1:33 PM
i was just in there and it was nasty stuff....very embarassing

It just shows why the march should never have been given the go-ahead. :mad:

In a normal administration, heads would roll over this. But then, this is Ireland, and TD'S here don't resign over anything. :rolleyes:

Remember lads, the march is not even halfway through at the moment. Plenty of potential for more destruction yet. :(

onenilgameover
25/02/2006, 1:36 PM
So tell us-how far did the marchers actually get? Was it as bad as news is making out? Any marchers hurt?

They didnt get anywhere really....they were attacked and **** was thrown on top of them. Was bad stuff. i listened to the news and they played it down if anything. The ''republicans'' where pushed by riot police from parnell to the gpo. where there was a bit of a stand off. as i walked home to smithfield 8 buses carrying the ''love Ulster'' paraders went by down past the cobblestone with police escort...

Ridiculous of our government to think a march past the gpo etc. would go off peacefully.

25/02/2006, 1:42 PM
Ridiculous of our government to think a march past the gpo etc. would go off peacefully.

It's no surprise when British people wish to march down our city, banging their drums, and spewing anti-Irish vitriol. I wouldn't call the government stupid over this, as that would be an insult to stupid people!! :mad:

25/02/2006, 1:43 PM
Shame on those who did this. You'd think people would have been smart enough to take the approach of utterly ignoring it therefore rendering its taking place pointless. Instead they're stoned out of it, vindicating their protest against Republican violence.

liam88
25/02/2006, 1:48 PM
so what happens now? is it all over?

25/02/2006, 1:52 PM
Shame on those who did this. You'd think people would have been smart enough to take the approach of utterly ignoring it therefore rendering its taking place pointless.

Extremely naive, would be the best way I'd put that.

Instead they're stoned out of it, vindicating their protest against Republican violence.

Sure, that's what they wanted, isn't it? :confused: They didn't want to protest, they wanted trouble. They got what they wanted, now go home!
British marchers are not welcome in Dublin. Hope they understand that now, and keep it for future reference.

raytown red
25/02/2006, 2:02 PM
just at to comin home from work, in clare street, about 5 minutes from the Dail. we had to shut the shop because the riots had spilled onto clare street. the only people i seen causing chaos was little scummers smashing up shops and singing unofficial Republican song i.e. the i..de.i...de IRA. All that these little scummers have done is given more bad publicity bad publicity to sinn fein. i was totally against this march in the first place as i new it was a recipe for disaster!!!!!

25/02/2006, 2:03 PM
Don't patronise me calling me "naive". You know well that would have been the best approach. They wanted attention and publicity and to highlight a point and they got their desired reaction. Idiots played into their hands.

25/02/2006, 2:08 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0225/loyalist.html
sounds rough alright.why are these idoits so niave
Should have ignored the bigots

liam88
25/02/2006, 2:12 PM
http://www.newstalk.ie/

Guys listen-it's crazy! Cars blown up!!
People on busses came it to attack!

raytown red
25/02/2006, 2:13 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0225/loyalist.html
sounds rough alright.why are these idoits so niave
Should have ignored the bigots

our worthless government should never allowed the march to take place, it was always going to end in disaster!

liam88
25/02/2006, 2:17 PM
Loyalists may carry Dublin bomber pictures

by Ciarán Barnes

23/02/2006

Organisers of a loyalist march through Dublin have said they cannot guarantee that images of a man accused of murdering 26 people in the city will not not be displayed during the demonstration.

Speaking to Daily Ireland yesterday, Love Ulster organiser Willie Frazer said: “I can’t give a guarantee a photograph of Robert McConnell will not be carried because I wouldn’t be against anyone carrying Robert’s photograph.”

Robert McConnell was a dual member of the Ulster Defence Regiment and Ulster Volunteer Force. He murdered scores of Catholics in the 1970s.
He played a part in the 1974 Dublin and Monaghan bombings in which 33 people died. Twenty-six died in the Dublin attack.

Speaking in 1999, John Weir, a former member of the RUC with whom Robert McConnell went on murder missions, implicated him in a further eight killings.
The mass murderer was shot dead by the IRA in 1976. Images of him have been carried at previous rallies organised by Mr Frazer’s victims group Families Acting for Innocent Relatives.

Despite the weight of evidence linking McConnell to at least 41 sectarian murders, Mr Frazer defended the killer’s reputation.
“Anybody I know who knew Robert would say there is no way he was involved in anything. He was involved with the security forces and he helped the SAS and stuff like that but a lot of people would say that was just part of his job,” said Mr Frazer.
Relatives of those murdered in the Dublin and Monaghan bombings criticised Mr Frazer. Margaret Irwin of the Justice for the Forgotten group said his defence of McConnell was “very insensitive”.
She said: “We have very good information that McConnell was involved with the gang who we are convinced carried out the Dublin and Monaghan bombings.
“We believe McConnell was involved in up to 55 murders. There can be no doubt he was heavily involved with loyalist paramilitaries.”
Up to 1,000 loyalists and six bands are expected to take part in Saturday’s Love Ulster parade along O’Connell Street. The march is to start at 12.30pm and is expected to last one hour.
Orange Order members will take part but will not wear sashes or collarettes.
Yesterday morning, Republican Sinn Féin held a press conference in Dublin at which the party unveiled plans to protest against the march. The Continuity IRA has also vowed to disrupt the parade.
Love Ulster held a victims rally in Belfast last October. The event was widely criticised because it failed to give any mention to those who had suffered at the hands of loyalists and the state.
Loyalists paramilitaries such as Ulster Defence Association leader Jackie McDonald helped launch the Love Ulster campaign last September.

raytown red
25/02/2006, 2:21 PM
does anyone know were the riots are at this moment. and does anyone know if there is ant pictures up on the web yet?

25/02/2006, 2:23 PM
Battleground update :( (http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0225/loyalist.html) In fairness, the "marchers" have already gone home, leaving the "republicans" to take on their own police force.

Any eejit knew this was going to happen yonks ago. Take note Ahern, Harney, and McDowell. HEADS MUST ROLL!!!!!

liam88
25/02/2006, 2:29 PM
listen to

http://www.newstalk.ie/

eyewitnesses talking now-it's madness!

raytown red
25/02/2006, 2:35 PM
Battleground update :( (http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/7477621?view=Eircomnet)

In fairness, the "marchers" have already gone home.
they aint "Republicans"!! they little scummers
these scummers dont give a **** they don't care about the march it was jus a reason to cause murder!!!

25/02/2006, 2:36 PM
Just Listening to news talk: It seems to be under control the Gardai have split the rioters into three groups and hve them "coraled" on the south quay's, in Nassau street and in Temple Bar!

Organisers have called it "an afront on human rights on a scale never witnessed in the civilised world" bit ott:rolleyes:

liam88
25/02/2006, 2:36 PM
It's all over-police have it under control, march officially called off, 4 gardai and a reporter in hospital

25/02/2006, 2:40 PM
HEADS MUST ROLL!!!!!
yeah but they wont

raytown red
25/02/2006, 2:47 PM
I have jus heard a rumour that a gardai on a bike, was kicked off a bike down lane, don't now how badly was hurt. did anybody else hear this??

25/02/2006, 2:50 PM
100 people approx have now started to loot the jervis center

raytown red
25/02/2006, 2:53 PM
sounds like they have it under control alright!!

25/02/2006, 2:57 PM
Hearing in Newstalk now : they(the Gardai) forced them down the south quays but didn't cover the bridges so they've crossed over and charged up the north quays and into jervis st.(great crowd control:rolleyes: )

25/02/2006, 3:01 PM
sounds like they have it under control alright!!

100 people approx have now started to loot the jervis center

Or maybe not...

raytown red
25/02/2006, 3:13 PM
just bin told by a lad on the phone in town that there was gunshots fired in the thick of the riots!!

25/02/2006, 3:17 PM
just bin told by a lad on the phone in town that there was gunshots fired in the thick of the riots!!

Is this reliable? nothing on newstalk to even suggest this
and they've several reporters around the city

25/02/2006, 3:19 PM
Who exactly orchestrated this protest against the march?

25/02/2006, 3:20 PM
News talk: Nailbombs and blastbombs thrown ! although this did come from one of the marchers!:rolleyes:

25/02/2006, 3:20 PM
Who exactly orchestrated this protest against the march?

Republican SinnFein

25/02/2006, 3:27 PM
BBC video report here: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/default.stm

You'll notice a couple of dudes with lepreachan hats - those ole olers are everywhere :D

25/02/2006, 3:27 PM
The only one similiar to this one in Dublin that I can recall, was the infamous RDS riot in July 1981, which led to widespread violence. Sadly, tourists and foreigners in our capital city don't understand the political background to all this, and it's them I feel sorry for.

All the warnings and public safety fears were blatantly ignored/dismissed by our government, who are 100% at fault for the trouble. It was they who permitted it to happen, now they have to answer why. :mad:

25/02/2006, 3:29 PM
Republican SinnFein

Are they won of those of SF splinter groups from a few decades back?

liam88
25/02/2006, 3:51 PM
The only one similiar to this one in Dublin that I can recall, was the infamous RDS riot in July 1981, which led to widespread violence. Sadly, tourists and foreigners in our capital city don't understand the political background to all this, and it's them I feel sorry for.

All the warnings and public safety fears were blatantly ignored/dismissed by our government, who are 100% at fault for the trouble. It was they who permitted it to happen, now they have to answer why. :mad:

Talking of the tourists apprently a lot of Welsh rugby fans over for the game tommorrow were out for a walk around Dublin-guy on newstalk shouting at them shouting at them "get in the pub! get in the pub!"

guy on Newstalk "we should give medals to these fine young people defending our city"